Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,695 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Freestar transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Freestar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Freestar Owner Comments (Page 11 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #176

Mar 302010


  • 76,000 miles


2005 Ford Freestar, would not go into reverse. Once it did, and I began driving, car just stopped in the middle of intersection. I was able to restart and pull over to safer area. No previous signs of a problem.

- East Norriton, PA, USA

problem #175

Mar 192010


  • 80,100 miles
On March 19th, I traveled to port lavaca (30 miles) to see my aunt and take her out to eat. After picking her up at her home we were on hwy. 35 travelling about 45 mph when the vehicle dropped to 20 mph and would not accelerate. I was able to maneuver it enough to move right into a driveway. The vehicle was on, but would not drive. I sat in shock with my mother, my daughter, and my aunt. I never had any warning that the transmission was going out. No noise, no trouble shifting gears, nothing. I had the van picked up and taken back to victoria and it is now at the local Ford dealership waiting for us to gather the money for a new transmission (a little over $3000).

- Victoria, TX, USA

problem #174

Mar 262010


  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestar. The contact was attempting to make a right turn at speeds of 25 mph when the vehicle would not respond to the contact?S attempts to accelerate. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the contact was advised that the transmission needed to be replaced. There were no warning lights indicating that there was a failure. The manufacturer was notified and stated that there were no recalls or warranty's for the failure. Repairs will be made at the owners expense. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 83,000.

- Gahanna, OH, USA

problem #173

Mar 282010


  • 54,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestar. The contact was driving at approximately 30 mph and making a left turn when the engine began to rev and the rpms increased. The vehicle was towed to the contacts residence. He stated that he believed the failure to be attributed to the transmission. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was approximately 54,000. Updated 05/11/10.

- Edwardsville, IL, USA

problem #172

Mar 282010


  • 27,000 miles
While driving vehicle approx 25 mph, vehicle had slight surge then came to a stop. Would not go into drive or reverse. Acted as if it was always in neutral. Occurred only once, currently at dealership. Indicating failed torque converter. Need to replace torque converter and overhaul transmission for $2500.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #171

Mar 282010


  • 27,000 miles
While driving vehicle approx 25 mph, vehicle had slight surge then came to a stop. Would not go into drive or reverse. Acted as if it was always in neutral. Occurred only once, currently at dealership. Indicating failed torque converter. Need to replace torque converter and overhaul transmission for $2500.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #170

Mar 282010


  • 67,066 miles


2005 Ford Freestar. 67066 miles lost power while driving. Engine starts none of the gears work. The vehicle will not drive

- Chickasaw, AL, USA

problem #169

Mar 152010


  • 118,554 miles
We experienced 3 failures of the power train module of our 2005 Ford Freestar van from October 2009 to March 2010. The 1st and 3rd failures occurred after rain. Fortunately, all three times we were traveling at low speeds, at times of day with light traffic and did not have children in the van. On the October 9 the failure resulted in the van bucking then shutting off without warning with very limited ability to steer the van. We were told that moisture had entered the power train module. The module was dried and passed diagnostic tests. On October 22 the van would not reverse and jerked going into gear. The module required replacement. When asked, Ford denied this was a known problem. On March 15, 2010 the van again bucked then shut off without warning. This time I narrowly avoided an accident on a rural road with no shoulder and trees close on either side. The police parked behind the van blocking the lane of travel until aaa arrived. I was told the new module failed due to moisture. The module was dried and passed diagnostic tests. Again Ford denied knowledge of a problem with the part and even put their ┐transmission expert┐ on the phone to tell me so. Upon checking the internet, we discovered the problem with this part is, in fact, known. We informed Ford who again denied the problem until we pointed out the number of complaints filed with NHTSA. Then Ford did acknowledge that they had a bulletin on the part but, as we knew, there was no recall. Ford told us that a warped plastic cowl and seal contributed to the problem. Both were replaced at our expense. To date this part failure has cost us $1,600. The transmission is still not working properly and has to be replaced again. To their credit, a Ford dealer is covering the cost of the second module since the failure occurred so soon after the part was replaced. However, if this part fails again, we may not be so lucky. We would like to see a permanent fix for this problem.

- Harrisville, RI, USA

problem #168

Feb 202010


  • 50,000 miles
Transmission failure while driving in traffic.

- Ellenburg Depot, NY, USA

problem #167

Sep 012008


  • 50,800 miles
My family and I pulled into the bank to get some money then when we were pulling out across a four lane highway our van acted like it was pulled into nutrual. I coasted it back into parking lot. We called Ford and they said it was not covered under warranty because it had 50,800 miles on it and the warranty ran out at 50,000 miles. I had an independent mechanic fix it. Also it has been up at our local dealer 5 times since 10/1/2009 because it was shuting off in the middle of the raod whne it rained.they changed the computer and said that was what the problem was but it did it again. I was informed the next time it was the trans. Again. It turned out that the fire wall was leeking water on the wiring harnes.

- Loganville, GA, USA

problem #166

Mar 202008


  • 58,500 miles


While driving 65 mph the transmission failed completely. Pulled to the side of the road and transmission never engaged in any gear again. In repair shop.

- Mount Prospect, IL, USA

problem #165

Mar 142010

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Sudden loss of power, the torque converter failed.

- Des Plaines, IL, USA

problem #164

Apr 202007

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
I backed my Ford 2005 Freestar van out of my drive which is on an incline. The transmission went without warning as I was backing up. Barely got the van stopped before cascading down the hill at the side of my house. The Ford Freestar was bought new in 2005 and had less than 45000 miles on it. Put in new torque converter and fixed transmission at an expense of app. $1000. Now new converter and transmission is going out. This makes two transmissions in the life of this car which is only 5 years old. This time I was on the interstate when the vehicle started to shake and was hard to control. Shop tells me its the transmission again. After research I find that hundreds of these vans have transmission problems yet no recall has been initiated. Ford knows of these problems yet people continue to be put at risk and are encountering great expenses to fix these pieces of junk.

- Red Bay, AL, USA

problem #163

Jan 082010

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 117,000 miles
PE09033 & EA09-016, a sudden and unexpected loss of motive power due to an internal transmission failure in the subject vehicles. From what I understand the transmission was replaced around 50,000 miles for this same reason and now it has happened again.

- Decatur, IL, USA

problem #162

Feb 202010

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 114,913 miles
On 2/20/2010 I went to back out of a driveway. I put my 2005 Ford Freestar into reverse and it did not move. The engine was running, the gear shifter went into reverse, but my van didn't move. When I pressed the gas pedal, my tires didn't spin to move. I had to have van towed back to my home there were no problems or signs of problems prior to the event, or prior to the day this happened. There were no sounds, misses, dash warning lights, or any other clue that something was wrong. My car was driving fine prior to and up to the point that I turned into the driveway. I am now out of a car for about a month as of 3/8/2010. I had another adult in my van, and she also did not hear or feel anything that suggested there was a problem. My van just stopped, no warnings of any kind.

- Geneva, OH, USA

problem #161

Mar 072010

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 80,500 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). I have a 2005 Ford Freestar minivan, [xxx]. I was driving it tonight at 75 mph on interstate 75 in eight lanes of traffic in atlanta, ga and the transmission went out completely and shifted to neutral with no warning. I was forced to try and get over to the shoulder and could not. I called 911 and had to block the interstate to move my vehicle out of the middle of it. I had my six year old child in the car and we could have been badly injured or killed. I read on posting boards on the internet that several other people are having the same problem with their Ford Freestar. I plan on calling Ford also. I am very angry.

- Euharlee, GA, USA

problem #160

Feb 052010

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
My wife was driving our 2005 Ford Freestar with six kids in the van to school this morning, all of sudden, the transmission was dead on I-95 of jacksonville, fl, the lost of transmission came so suddenly in I-95 without any earlier indications, she finally cruise it to the left should of I-95 and with the help of two police officers and one road Ranger, all the passengers got transferred to a safe place. The van was towed to a repair shop where we were told the transmission needs to be changed at cost of at least more than $2000.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #159

Feb 132010

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
We have a 2005 Ford Freestar VIN #[xxx] with 89,000 miles on it, it has been serviced on a regular basis. We are the third owners. The transmission quit while my wife was driving on a two lane road with no shoulders when the transmission quit working with out warning. It is going to cost $2700 to repair. This is not a safe thing to happen and from what I have gathered this happens a lot. Why have we not had a recall of this or at least a safety notice. Ford knows it has a problem with this minivan. I hope you are doing something about this issue. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Washington, IA, USA

problem #158

Jun 302009

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 113,000 miles
While my wife and daughter were driving down I-24, the engine started revving. The vehicle started to loose speed and she coasted off the intestate and stopped in a lane of traffic. Had it towed to local mechanic for diagnosis. They stated it was the torque converter and would run 2500+ to fix. Van has 113,000+/- miles on it.

- Murfreesboro, TN, USA

problem #157

Mar 112009


  • 45,000 miles
Around 45,000 miles our transmission went out. No warning nothing. Having my kids in the car scared to death and no one at krieger Ford wanted to help and said had that no one else had these problems. I get on the computer and find hundreds of complaints.... after getting it fix a year later now it is not starting at times. No cause or reason. We are a family of 6 living check to check and scared to death to drive this car. My four kids are my life and fell if I take them some where in this van I am putting there life at risk. Something need to be done and someone needs to fix these problems.

- Columbus, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?