Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,695 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Freestar transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Freestar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Freestar Owner Comments (Page 2 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #356

Jul 252005

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 45,895 miles


I was driving on the freeway at night in heavy traffic when my car suddenly lost power. I was able to coast to the shoulder before it lost power completely. The engine was still running, but when I put it in drive nothing happened. No engine lights came on before this happened. About a week ago, I noticed the windshield wiper fluid wasn't working and refilled it. It worked one time. When I tried to use it yesterday, it only worked in the back and not in the front. I had it towed to a transmission dealer and they are looking at it now.

- Westminster, CA, USA

problem #355

Jul 232011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 86,108 miles
Last Saturday, July 23, 2011, my husband was driving our 2005 Ford Freestar (just over 86,000 miles) in reverse. He stopped, put it into drive and it would not go into gear. Not reverse, not drive, not first or third--nothing. Fortunately he was able to get it pushed into a parking stall and out of the road. Upon looking online to find out information regarding a transmission warranty, he discovered that many, many other people have had this same problem with '04 and '05 Freestars and that Ford's only response is to replace the defective part with another same, defective part. We were not hurt in any way, but it won't be long before someone is on a freeway or in an intersection and is involved in a serious--maybe even fatal--accident because their transmission is suddenly no longer functional. Ford needs to recognize this oversight and recall all '04 and '05 Ford Freestars. We have not been able to get the vehicle to a mechanic as of yet, but will be doing so this week. Cost of repair: Unknown.

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #354

Jul 242011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,300 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestar. While driving 65 mph, the contact stated the rpms would increase and shift into neutral and slowly decrease. The dealer was not notified of the failure. The manufacturer was contacted, but denied any assistance to the vehicle failure. A local mechanic diagnosed a transmission failure. The vehicle was in the process of being repaired. The failure and current mileage was 66,300 updated 08/31/11 the consumer stated the engine revved up and then the vehicle slipped out of gear and the vehicle lost all power to go forward. There was no warning of any kind that something was wrong. Updated 09/0/11

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #353

Jul 022011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 129,000 miles


Moving on interstate at 65 mph in high gear. Transmission suddenly fails without warning resulting in sudden complete loss of power. Tachometer rises to 6000 RPM's. able to pull onto shoulder. Transmission repaired at Ford dealer for $3400.

- Dallas, PA, USA

problem #352

Jul 062011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 118,091 miles
Torque converter failed on 2005 Freestar.

- Burton, OH, USA

problem #351

Jun 152011


  • 74,912 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestar. The contact stated as she was driving away from a traffic light at 5 mph the torque converted failed. The failure caused the vehicle to stall in the middle of the road. The vehicle was pushed to the side of the road and then towed to a mechanic. After inspection they replaced the torque converter for $1459 at the contacts expense. The dealer was contacted and offered no assistance. The manufacturer was contacted, stated there was no recall and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 74,912.

- Wallace, NC, USA

problem #350

Jun 272011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 131,982 miles


November of 2010 we were coming off of an exit ramp and the van died. No warning, no lights, not a thing. The transmission had been a little sluggish coming from 2nd to 3rd gear the day before but fine that day. Had to replace the transmission. July 2012. Transmission began to jerk when going into or out of any gear. Power train light kept coming on. Had to replace the transmission. 3600 and some change later, it still jerks coming out of 1st to 2nd. We now know that this is a common problem with the vehicle that Ford knows about.

- Conway, AR, USA

problem #349

Jul 022011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
I have a 05 Ford Freestar in the garage with transmission problems described by many on the internet. My wife was going to work and the van loss all power from the transmission. She was in heavy traffic and it just quit. After coasting to a stop she called me. We had to call a wrecker and had it towed to the garage close to home. After calling Ford, (their price over three thousand) I had it towed to aamco for an estimate, $2,500. I've been told this could happen again, this is dangerous and we are beside ourselves that this could happen. My wife is 70 years old and the van only has 66,000 miles. P.S I've been told this could be an electronics problem that Ford knows about. [xxx]. if there's a class action lawsuit outthere, I'm in!!!!!!! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Austell, GA, USA

problem #348

May 012011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
2005 Ford Freestar, 94,000 miles. Transmission slips slightly and engages hard when shifting from park to reverse and also from neutral into drive. This problem is intermittent. Occurs mostly when backing out of garage and then pulling forward onto street.

- Maineville, OH, USA

problem #347

Jun 252011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
My transmission just failed. Luckily my wife was driving on a local street and was able to safely pull into a bus stop. The car had to be towed and just found out that the transmission has to be rebuilt. We still have payments left and we only one vehicle. It could take upto a week to fix.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #346

Jun 262011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles


I have not had any problem with my 2005 Ford Freestar in the past. I was driving along on an interstate and experienced a loss of power. The vehicle slowed down and would not accelerate anymore.

- Cleveland , MS, USA

problem #345

Jun 202011


  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestar. While driving 45 mph, the contact stated that she attempted to accelerate forward when the vehicle stalled without warning. The dealer advised the contact that there was no valid warranty and offered no further assistance. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but provided no assistance. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic who inspected the vehicle and informed the contact that the transmission pump failed and needed to be replaced. The contact was awaiting repairs. The current and failure mileage was 77,000.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #344

Jun 192011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 81,434 miles
Driving from abilene, tx to padre island, on ih-10 between junction and kerrville, tx. Cruise set for 70-71. Toped a grade in road, instead of returning to regualr gear transmission quit, speedometer started droping and tachometer reved up to 6,000 RPM. Engine ran normally before incident and runs normally after incident; when transmission put in any gear vehicle acts like there is no transmission in it. There was no noise, no fluid leaks spoted, no warning indicators on instrument panel. Park position does work will hold vehicle as designed. Cost (so far) $640 for towing from ih-10 to abilene, tx. Estimated cost of repair $750 - $1600. Refer to NHTSA case no.'s PE09033 and EA09016 found on the NHTSA web-site. Suspect either torque convertor failure or splines on shaft striped. Towed in today June 20, 2100 for repairs, so actual cause not known at this time.

- Abilene, TX, USA

problem #343

Jun 132011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
2005 Ford Freestar. Driving normally, stopped at traffic light, when light changed to proceed van stalled. Started vehicle but would stall once shifted into gear. Managed to drive in reverse into a parking lot until tow truck arrived.

- Huntington Woods, MI, USA

problem #342

Jun 012011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 128,794 miles
Driving in the far left lane of I-75 at approximately 70 mph when the engine RPM's rose and I had to coast across two lanes of traffic to the right shoulder of I-L75. My transmission had went out. I could put the transmission in gear but it would not engage. I could have been injured or could have injured someone else. The transmission went out without any kind of warning. At this time I have been told that I need to replace the transmission with a new one from the Ford dealer because my mechanic said that you cannot rebuild it because you can't get parts for it.

- Gibraltar, MI, USA

problem #341

Sep 232010

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 76,172 miles
When attempting to accelerate from a traffic light the car would not move. The engine revved up but the car did not move. The car blocked traffic until a police officer arrived and pushed the car to the side of the road. Fortunately this incident did not cause an accident. The care was towed to a Ford dealership where the transmission/torque converter was replaced at substantial cost.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #340

Jun 042011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that at approximately 68,000 miles the vehicle had problems with the transmission. The contact was traveling 60 mph on the highway when the rpms started to increase. The contact disengaged the cruise control when the vehicle came to a stop. The contact spoke to the dealer and was told that the splines were stripping on the torque converter. The failure and current mileage was 68,000. Updated 07/08/11 updated 07/18/11

- Karlstad, MN, USA

problem #339

May 132011


  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestar. The contact was driving 75 mph when the vehicle gradually decelerated and would not longer accelerate. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic where they diagnosed that the torque inverter and transmission failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 66,000.

- Wheat Ridge, CO, USA

problem #338

May 062011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
2005 Ford Freestar 3.9L 130,000 mile. While driving down major state route with my 6 year old in the car my engine just stopped, lost power steering, brakes but was able to pull over on side of road. Had to wait two hours for a tow truck to come. After shop inspected, they found the PCM was full of water and had to be replaced. Due to the complete loss of power this could have caused a tragic accident if my son and I would not have been able to get off the road.

- Port Clinton, OH, USA

problem #337

Apr 112011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that the transmission indicator light illuminated and the vehicle began to lose power. The contact stated that the vehicle would eventually stall and immediately restart but the vehicle would not go into drive or reverse. The vehicle was repaired by having the transmission rebuilt. The failure and current mileage was 74,000. Updated 06/16/11 the consumer no longer owns the vehicle. Updated 06/27/11

- Peidmont, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?