Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.7

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
100,318 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford Freestar transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford Freestar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford Freestar Owner Comments

problem #11

Mar 042016

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 164,421 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestar. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was unable to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the torque converter needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 164,421. Updated 07/12/16 the torque converter was replaced at a cost of $ $1083.32. Updated 08/02/16.

- Griffin, GA, USA

problem #10

Jan 102015

Freestar

  • 113,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestar. While driving at 25 mph, the transmission would not engage into gear and the service engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The mechanic diagnosed that the torque converter needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 113,000.

- Greenfield, OH, USA

problem #9

Nov 152014

Freestar

  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestar. While driving approximately 15 mph, the vehicle failed to accelerate when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who stated that the transmission torque converter shaft failed. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN provided was invalid. The failure mileage was 96,000.

- St Louis, MO, USA

problem #8

Mar 212014

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestar. While driving approximately 30 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the torque converter needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V006000 (power train). The failure mileage was 61,791. Updated 12/2/14 the consumer stated the vehicle did not stall. It would not accelerate. It coasted to the parking spot. Updated 5/7/2015

- Dearborn Heights, MI, USA

problem #7

May 062014

Freestar

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that while traveling 40 mph, the vehicle suddenly lost acceleration power. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was found that the torque converter needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 140,000.

- Taylor, MI, USA

problem #6

Apr 102014

Freestar

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to a certified mechanic and they stated that the torque converter needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 140,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #5

Apr 172013

Freestar

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestar. The contact stated while driving approximately 55 mph, there was a sudden loss of engine power and the mil illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the torque converter needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000 and the current mileage was 104,000.

- Mars, PA, USA

problem #4

Aug 102013

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph, the vehicle lost power without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the torque converter was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 79,000. Updated 9/4/13 the vehicle was reapired at a cost of $ 1,550.

- Capitol Heights , MD, USA

problem #3

Feb 012013

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2006 Ford Freestar. Consumer writes in regards to transmission malfunction. The consumer stated the vehicle slowed to a stop, in the middle of the interstate.

- Punta Gorda, FL, USA

problem #2

May 102012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
I am usually satisfied with the Ford that I have possessed. Until I leased a 2006 Ford Freestar. As my husband was driving with our 3 young children, the van had stalled in the middle of high traffic as we were entering. Thank god that none of the other vehicles had hit us. Come to find out that it was the torque converter. We had also found out that the Ford Freestar 2004 an 2005 torque converters have been recalled. It is obvious that it is a flaw of the model. Now we are on foot having to pay the 1100 expense out of pocket. How are we to do that when we are having financial situation as it is.

- Amarillo, TX, USA

problem #1

Apr 202010

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,076 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled while attempting a turn, without warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the dealer performed a diagnostic and located the failure at the torque converter. The dealer replaced the torque converter. The manufacturer was notified of the failure but denied any assistance with the repair. The failure mileage was 76,076 and the current mileage is 78,000. Updated 03/05/12 updated 02/07/12.

- Clinton Township, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?