Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,836 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Freestyle accessories - exterior problems

accessories - exterior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments

problem #14

Dec 012014

Freestyle

  • 122,798 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the driver side door latch remained in the open position and would not shut. The failure occurred on a daily basis. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 122,798. Mailed out 01/13/15

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #13

Dec 152010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
I filed a complaint on January 3rd, 2012 and never heard back from anyone regarding this. It is still happening and is still an issue. My original complaint number is 10442220. I own a 2005 Ford Freestyle. I was entering the vehicle when the front driver side door failed to close properly. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was contacted and they confirmed to the contact that the VIN did not qualify for repairs under NHTSA campaign id number: 06V383000(latches/locks/linkages:doors:latch). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 65,000 and the current mileage was 81,000.

- Williamston, MI, USA

problem #12

Nov 122012

Freestyle

  • 136,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that all of the doors and latches around the vehicle could not be closed or they would bounce back open during colder weather. The dealer was notified who advised the contact that there was a recall for the failure under NHTSA campaign id number: 06V383000(latches/locks/linkages: Doors: Latch) however, the vehicle was previously repaired under the recall. The manufacturer was notified who advised the contact that the recall was repaired and they would not repair the vehicle a second time. The failure mileage was 136,000.

- Spring Valley, WI, USA

problem #11

Dec 122011

Freestyle

  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the driver and passenger doors would not close. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 06V383000 (latches/locks/linkages:doors:latch) but the contact was advised by the dealer and the manufacturer that the vehicle was not included in the recall. A local mechanic attempted to repair the defect, but the failure recurred. The failure mileage was 91,000 and the current mileage 96,000.

- Tobyhanna, PA, USA

problem #10

Jan 032012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 99,905 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford free style. The contact was driving 40-50 mph when the rear driver's side door flew open without warning. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 99,905 and the current mileage was 99,910. Updated 02/15/12 updated 02/17/12

- Vernon Center, NY, USA

problem #9

Dec 092010

Freestyle

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that during cold weather the drivers side door does not latch and or remain closed. The vehicle was included in a recall NHTSA campaign id number: 06V383000(latches/locks/linkages:doors:latch) and the recall repair was performed. The failure continued to occur. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the door latch was replaced. The failure continued and the vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the technicians stated that the strike plate was loose. The vehicle was repaired and the failure continued to occur. The third time the vehicle was taken into the dealer the technicians stated the door latch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure also occurred one time on the rear passenger side door. The dealer stated that the repairs would have to be covered by the contact because the warranty expired. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Auburn, NY, USA

problem #8

Jun 092008

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The vehicle was parked when the contact noticed that the door latch on all four doors would not close securely which resulted in the doors opening even when in motion. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer four times where they sprayed a solution on the door latch mechanism. Also, the vehicle was repaired under the nhsta campaign id number 06V383000 (latches/locks/linkages: Doors: Latch); however, the failure continued to occur. The failure mileage was 5,000. Updated 03/16/11 the consumer stated the doors do not close when the temperature is 20F or lower. When they did close, they would open while making a turn. The consumer has returned to the dealer several times for the same problem. The dealer sprayed the inside door. Also, the alternator was replaced. Updated 08/31/11...update 01/20/12 status update. Update 01/25/12

- Biddeford, ME, USA

problem #7

Jan 262011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Regarding campaign number 06V383000 dealer installed shield over front latches. Fix did not work. Latch won't reset can't close door also worried door can pop open. The orignal fix never really worked. Happens each winter. Grease has been re applied to latch.

- Plainveiw, NY, USA

problem #6

Dec 152009

Freestyle

  • 85,000 miles
I own a 2005 Ford Freestyle that had the same problems described in NHTSA campaign id # 06V383000. During the winter, the latch on my front driver door froze and my door flew open while driving. After finding out about this recall, I contacted Ford Motor Company directly; I was told my vehicle was not involved in the recall. I assume it is possible for other cars to be defective besides just the ones they repaired. I was told that I would have to pay for any repair myself; Ford will not assume any responsibility. The repair charges are outrageous!

- Belton, MO, USA

problem #5

Dec 012009

Freestyle

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the door latches are defective. Recall number 06V383000, latches, locks, linkages and door latch was previously repaired; however, the failure recurred. The door latch sticks and the door reopens when attempting to close it. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to have the locks and latches repaired again; however, the repair cost is $300 to repair each door latch. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Spencer Port, NY, USA

problem #4

Dec 032008

Freestyle

  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The driver side power locking device, and door latch failed to function. As a consequence the door would not fully close. The failure occurred whenever the weather temperatures were cool. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection. The vehicle was previously repaired according to recall campaign id number 06V383000 (latches/locks/linkages:doors:latch). The repair did not remedy the failure. The failure mileage was 32,000. The current mileage was 40,000.

- Olathe, KS, USA

problem #3

Dec 022007

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
Rear doors fail to latch in cold weather. The front doors had the same problem that was repaired under a Ford Motor Company recall in 2006 that focused on about 20 northern states, Washington was not included in the recall letter. Repairs were done on the front doors in wa. State on owners request. The rear doors suffer the same latching failure that has not been addressed. 2005 Ford Freestyles that move North from southern states will likely suffer front and rear door latching problems in winter.

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #2

Dec 012006

Freestyle

  • miles
Re. NHTSA campaign id # 06V383000 : I had my local dealer perform the service outlined in the recall in late November. Since then, on two occasions the drivers door has failed to latch without repeated hard slamming. I don't think what they did has fixed the problem.

- Mason, MI, USA

problem #1

Aug 012005

Freestyle

  • miles
After purchasing a new 2005 Ford Freestyle I noticed that the rear doors would not unlock from inside or outside after the engine was turned off. I was told by Ford dealer that it is a safety issue. In order to open the rear doors, you have to hit the electronic door lock switch from the driver or pull the lock rod located at each door. My concern is that if an accident occurred and something happened to the electrical system, the rear passengers would be trapped and rescuers on the outside could not open the doors. My wife drives daily with young grandchildren inside and they could not open the doors using the lock-rods. If this really was a safety situation as Ford describes it, then the front doors should not open either. Upon further investigation, I found that my 2003 Ford Expedition operates in the same manner. This potential problem could be taken care of with a simple computer code change. As it stands, I believe that serious injuries could be expected with trapped children or handicapped in the rear seats.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

Not what you are looking for?