Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,351 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Freestyle accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments

problem #14

Apr 122012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the instrument panel became inoperable. The failure recurred whenever the vehicle was in operation. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who informed the contact that the instrument panel would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000. Updated 5/22/13

- Asheville, NC, USA

problem #13

Sep 012009


  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while driving over 5 mph, all of the gauges on the instrument panel failed. The vehicle momentarily surged forward. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on numerous occasions where various repairs were performed but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 40,000. Updated 09/15/11

- Broadalbin, NY, USA

problem #12

Sep 252010


  • 100,000 miles
When driving my 2005 Ford Freestyle down the road the entire cluster will start cutting out all the lights will come on. The first time this happened I was driving 30 mile per hour. I pulled over and shut off my vehicle, a few seconds later I restarted my vehicle the lights still came on they stayed on for about 20 minutes and then stayed off for about a 9 days. The second time it happened they stayed on for 4 days. I called our nearest Ford dealership the same day they came on and was told it could be the battery causing it or could be the cluster cutting out. We checked and cleaned our battery which is only 9 months old. It was not the battery. Then on the 4th day all the warning lights in the cluster went off except the check engine light. After a day or so it to went out. The biggest problem with this the speedometer does not work when this occurs....I feel this is very dangerous, especially on the curvy and winding roads where I live. And it is a problem I thoroughly checked out many people are having problem with this issue yet Ford has not had a recall on it or the other problem with the throttle body (lurching and surging). Both are safety issues and manufacturing defects. Bad enough the ac problem and having bought 5 sets of tires since I have bought the 2005 Freestyle. I have owned Ford products for many years and being they do not back their products I will not continue purchasing from Ford.

- Cherokee Village, AR, USA

problem #11

Jan 102010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles


Request to re-open NHTSA defect investigation #PE07058 - instrument cluster failure: Electrical system: Instrument panel the NHTSA should re-open the NHTSA defect investigation #PE07058 because the car's reverse lights incorrectly turn on during this problem and seem to be related this issue. Ford's own technical service bulletins (tsb #0662 and tsb #06179) even state that the reverse lights are part of the problem. We have seen this problem first hand. My Ford 2005 Freestyle is experiencing the instrument cluster failure problem researched in NHTSA defect investigation #PE07058 and causes the car's reverse lights to come on while car is driving forward or in park. We have witnessed the reverse lights come on while the car is in park and also when the car is driving forward. This is in contradiction to the defect investigation that said the exterior lights were not affected. Quote from #PE07058: "... Ford states, "the vehicle's exterior lighting would not fail to illuminate even in the event of power interruption to the cluster because the exterior lights are powered separately and do not rely on any signal from the cluster."additionally, ODI contacted complainants who affirmed the intermittent condition and that none of the exterior lights on the subject vehicles would be affected by power interruptions to the instrument cluster. Here are Ford's technical service bulletins that contradict your research findings: Tsb #0662 -- intermittent instrument cluster gauge sweep/reset - multiple warning lights on - reverse lights on - vehicles built before 2/17/2006. (NHTSA id #10019951, January 01 2006) tsb #06179 -- intermittent instrument cluster operation - including gauges sweep/reset - multiple warning lights illuminated and/or reverse lights stay on. This applies to vehicles built before 02-17-06. (NHTSA id #10021037, no date provided).

- Hudson, MA, USA

problem #10

Jun 172009

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. He stated that while driving approximately 35 mph and making a turn the entire instrumental panel stopped working. The RPM needle began moving rapidly, yet the panel did not illuminate. The failure has occurred twice a day on a daily basis. The dealer stated that there was no warranty and they were unable to duplicate the failure. There were no repairs made to the vehicle. The failure mileage was 38,000. The current mileage was 57,222. Updated 11/16/10 the consumer stated he has ran out of gas several times, because the gas gauge was not accurate. Also, the instrument panel would become dark. Updated 11/23/10

- Richmond, MI, USA

problem #9

May 162008


  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The instrument cluster shut off and all of the warning lights illuminated which also caused the headlights to flash on and off. He noticed the malfunction on a frequent basis and over time it has become progressively worse since May 2008. He had not taken the vehicle to the dealer when the complaint was filed. A local mechanic stated that the instrument cluster needed to be replaced. He called the manufacturer and was told that because there was no safety recall, they could not assist him with the repairs. The current mileage was approximately 88,000. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000.

- Purcellville, VA, USA

problem #8

Aug 202007


  • 71,300 miles


Instrument cluster and PCM failure with 2005 Ford Freestyle (tsb06-17-9). Both items need to be replaced. Manufacturer, Ford Motor Company, will not assume or acknowledge responsibility or liability for replacement of defective parts.

- Pickerington, OH, USA

problem #7

Mar 302008


  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. On March 30, 2008, while driving 50 mph, all the instrument panel gauges dropped to zero. Approximately 1/3 of a mile later, the failure recurred, but the gauges returned back to normal. The failure recurred for the third time a short while later and the wrench light illuminated. The contact took the vehicle to have the oil checked and was informed that there was no error code. Approximately three days later, the failure recurred. The contact took the vehicle back to the service center, but they found no failures. On April 9, 2008, the failure recurred for the fifth time and the vehicle began to jerk. Afterwards, every red warning light illuminated. The mileage dial began moving sporadically. The contact took the vehicle back to the dealer and they could still not find any failures. They finally concluded that the failure was related to the instrument cluster. The vehicle is currently at the dealer. The VIN, purchase date, engine size, number of cylinders, and powertrain were unknown. The current mileage was 67,000 and failure mileage was 66,000.

- Eclectic, AL, USA

problem #6

Apr 032008

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,001 miles
Lost operation of instrument cluster and when this occurs the back-up lights operate. The danger is when power is lost in the instrument cluster you do not know your speed, this is crucial when driving through school zones. The back-up light cause people behind my car to believe I am backing-up. Also when driving at night, the instrument cluster looses power. All this is a distraction to driving. I have ordered the part to replace instrument cluster. The dealer informed me it will take over a month to receive the part.

- Carmel, IN, USA

problem #5

Apr 152007


  • miles
2005 Ford Freestyle is having intermittent dash board problems. Gauges on digital dashboard will go to zero for no apparent reason while driving. Speedometer will show zero even though the vehicle is traveling at 60 mph.

- Houghton, MI, USA

problem #4

Mar 282007

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,100 miles


3/28/2007 while driving down the freeway at 65 the wrench light came on and the car completely lost power, I had to pull over to the shoulder. I shut the car off and re-started it and the problem was gone. This was the third time. Second was yesterday my wife was backing out of the driveway and the car did the same thing. Also 3/25/2007 while pulling into my subdivision I made a left turn and got to about 15 mph and the car shuttered and the wrench light came on again, I drove it with almost no power for another 15 yards to my driveway, shut the car off and restarted it and no problems. I purchased this car used on 3/23/2007 with 55000 miles on it. I have contacted the Ford dealership where I purchased it.

- Villa Rica, GA, USA

problem #3

Apr 102005

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10 miles
I own a Ford Freestyle. Since the first days I drove it, I cannot see the information lighted panels on the dash when outside light is normal brightness. These lighted letter panels should be made bright enough to read at a glance, so that you do not need to take your eyes off the road for long when you need the information. Other cars, in the past, and now have panels that can be read easily enough. I believe accidents are being caused by people studying these dim panels and not watching the road at a critical time. I have placed a separate compass on the dash to help myself, for example, so that I don't have to try to see the lighted compass. Ford made cars in years past that had readable panels. They should do so again. The service people at Ford garages can do nothing to help this condition. Sincerely,

- Hendersonville, NC, USA

problem #2

Aug 012006

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 50 mph on dry roads, the instrument panel gauges raised up to the highest readings, then dropped down to the lowest and subsequently did not function. Also, while stopped at a traffic light, the vehicle surged forward without warning while the brake pedal was depressed. Finally, even though the vehicle has a continuous transmission, there was still a moderate shift shock between gears. The vehicle was taken to a service dealer, where the cause of the problems were unable to be determined. The manufacturer was also notified.

- Elkton, MD, USA

problem #1

Mar 272006

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,500 miles
: the contact stated while driving at no particular speed, the air bag lamp illuminated and the instrument gauges fell to zero. This lasted for a few seconds, but occurred intermittently on several other occasions. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection. Updated 10/06/06.

- Austin, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?