Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,926 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Freestyle engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 2 of 29)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #545

Aug 222014


  • 70,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle accelerated when the brake pedal was depressed. The contact also stated that the vehicle accelerated at a high speed while in cruise control. Additionally, the tires were wearing out prematurely. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failures. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Winchendon, MA, USA

problem #544

Jun 012012


  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 30 mph, the vehicle shuddered, surged, and the engine stalled without warning. In addition the contact stated that when the brake pedal was depressed, the engine would rev. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was repaired, but the specifics of the repairs were unknown. The failure recurred after the initial repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Grand Prairie, TX, USA

problem #543

Aug 152014

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
A little over 3 years ago, I filed a complaint regarding a surging with my Ford Freestyle. We had our vehicle serviced and the throttle body cleaned. The problem was resolved for a while, but we recently started experiencing issues again. This time the Freestyle would lose acceleration, the rpms dropped, and a wrench-shaped warning light activated. At first it seemed to be an issue only when cruise control was activated, but has since happened during normal driving. We took our car into the dealer, and they completely replaced the throttle body for a total of $900, but we are still having issues.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #542

Nov 082014


  • 120,000 miles


We were pulling out of a parking lot into traffic on a highway and the wrench light came on and we lost all power to the vehicle. The vehicle had to be shut off and then started back up in the middle of the road. Another incident happened on my way to work and there were cars behind me. I was able to make it to the side of the road to start it back up. The third incident happened again on my way to work and then the engine light illuminated and when I had it checked the codes P2104 and P2111 came up. The throttle body was stuck opened and in a bind. I was almost hit during the second incident and feel that this is a serious safety issue. I am glad that I wasn't on the interstate going 65 or 70 mph. The car almost came to a complete stop on its own in the matter of a few yards.

- Salisbury, NC, USA

problem #541

Nov 122014

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
Own a 2005 Ford Freestyle, V6, 3.0, all wheel drive, limited edition. I started hearing loud grinding and knocking noises from the cvt transmission. The vehicle will start, and the rpms will increase and decrease uncontrollably. This is the reason the cvt transmission in these vehicles are going bad, malfunctioning, and breaking continuously. The rpms are delayed in the decreasing rpms process, which tells the computer to shift prematurely, or to quickly, causing any internal parts and external parts to be damaged. These vehicles are equipped with a computerized throttle positioning sensor that is attached to the actual throttle body. The computer is sending improper commands to the throttling position sensor, rpms, shifting delay and synchronized shifting sensors. This is putting too much of a load on the gears, bearings, clutches, and other parts pertaining to the functioning of the cvt transmission shifting and everyday use. Ford Motor Company (as stamped on the VIN and vehicle information sticker inside and on the driver side door jam of the vehicle) should have perfected and or recognized these issues during the manufacturing, testing, and or dino sessions. All vehicle designs are to be tested, diagnosed if any issues occur, and are to be fixed, redesigned, and replaced. Ford should take recognition to the customers and dealers that own these vehicles. People are purchasing these vehicles without the knowledge of possible failure and technical difficulties of these units. These issues can cause the vehicles, especially the vehicles that are all wheel drive, to lock up, brake, break, accelerate uncontrollably, and cause wrecks, fender benders, or more severe injuries, and even the lives of people of this great nation. The United States government will need to take action immediately, before Ford Motor Company vehicles kill, eliminate, and or decease people.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #540

Sep 262014

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • miles
It first started while driving down the street my traction control light and my wrench light suddenly came on. My vehicle was put into "safe mode"which caused my car to stop losing all power. I looked up my VIN number at and it said a recall is in action by the company to remedy a safety or emissions-related concern related to a vehicle to the dealer for service. I contacted the service department at Ford and the customer relationship center and was told its not a recall it was under an extended warranty that expired in May 31st 2013. Just on Oct 4 2014 I was driving on the expressway with my wife and children and the car suddenly put it into safe mode and abruptly stopped! im sorry but it sounds like a safety concern to me and should be considered a recall.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #539

Aug 152009

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 29,925 miles


The car stalled while I was in las vegas. I was driving on the street and all of the sudden the speed went down and I could control the speed ("failed engine safe mode" appeared in the panel). I parked the vehicle, turned it off and re-started it. The problem didn't happen again. On my way back, took it to fairway Ford in placentia, California. They replaced the throttle body, air intake and engine roll restrictor. Car was ok until 6/6/14 with 65,330 miles when the same thing happened while driving around my house, took it to fairway Ford and it was recall 12N03 on the vehicle (never received a notice from Ford), they cleaned the throttle body and re-programmed the PCM. 2 mos. Later, 8/28/14 same thing happened, and fairway Ford told me they have to replace the throttle body assembly again and I have to pay $860. Called Ford customer service at 800-392-3673, talked to [xxx] and she said I could get any financial assistance because the recall had expired. I escalated the situation, and a supervisor will call me back on Tuesday 9/2/14. If this happened on the freeway I could get rear ended and be killed. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #538

Jul 212014


  • 123,000 miles
Lunges forward or backward when put in to drive or reverse.check charging system comes on and off as it please. I have had it checked out 4 different times but no problems have been found. The next issue is now it is displaying the wrench light and says engine safe mode and check engine light is on. I really liked my car until this has started it is my only car and I have 3 small children I need to Transport daily and I am very scared to drive this car but have no other choice. Ford please help figure out these problems I have read a lot about other having these same problems.

- Bluff Dale , TX, USA

problem #537

Jul 202014

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 129,500 miles
Vehicle idling, vehicle put into reverse and instantly accelerated backwards, depressed brake and vehicle net into a safe fail mode. Engine light and a wrench dashboard light came on. Turned vehicle off and back on systems came up fine. Put vehicle in drive and vehicle accelerated and lunged forward. Engine light and wrench dashboard light came on and engine went into fail safe mode again. Drove vehicle home in fail safe mode. Vehicle was taken in for servicing September 08, 2010 for same issue, throttle body was replaced.

- Bradenton , FL, USA

problem #536

May 012014

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
* acceleration problems when parking or reversing at low speeds when the A/C is running on any fan level. - during high exterior temperatures when vehicle ac is on, vehicle drastically lunges forward if in drive - or backwards if in reverse. Research online states that this is a common problem among Ford vehicles, therefore if Ford does not act swiftly to correct this obvious safety defect in their manufacturing, I will contact my congressional/senate representatives. These vehicles Transport children, and Ford should do the right thing and not ignore these problems like Chevrolet and Toyota did. "man-up" Ford!

- Selinsgrove, PA, USA

problem #535

Jul 132014


  • 180,000 miles


I was driving on the freeway roughly 65-70 mph and the failsafe engine mode came on, which disabled my gas pedal. I could not accelerate. I was in the far left lane, and had to "coast" with my hazard lights on so I could turn the car off while in park on the shoulder. I restarted the car and it went away. Thankfully traffic was light! earlier in the week this same thinghappened on my way to work I was on a 35 mph rd, and it did this, lost all use of the gas. Had to kill the car and restart but that time the check engine codes P2106 and P061B were drawn.(not the first time I've had these codes I know they mean throttle body'sbad) I've kept my obdii scanner in the car cuz these codes come up once a week at least. I just keep erasing them, restarting the car, and drives fine till it randomly goes off again. Thus was the first time it has happened to me on the highway. It scared me to death that I would have been rear ended on a highway. These should be recalled. Ford claims there's no safety issue. I barely avoided a potential fatal crash!

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #534

Jul 042014

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • miles
My Ford Freestyle has began to experience acceleration problems when parking or reversing at low speeds only while the A/C is running on any fan level. Have come close to hitting a pedestrian while parking, but no serious injuries to report. Updated 3/17/2015

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #533

Jun 032011


  • miles
2005 Ford Freestyle continuously missing out and or lunges. If it's hot out & air is on car will drastically lunge forward or reverse. If it's raining out car misses out while just driving normally & acts as if it's going to stall out when going forward from a stop light or similar situations. There have been many near misses with both type of incidents. Also check fuel cap comes on periodically & goes off for no apparent reason as well. Vehicle has not felt safe for quite some time - but it's paid for. I've read many many concerns with these issues & am shocked that this has not been recalled by now - what does it take??

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #532

May 232014

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
On multiple occasions, this vehicle is lunging. Unexpected moving when foot not on accelerator. This happens at low speed. I have two kids under the age of 2 and I would like for you to recall this vehicle and repair it immediately. I don't deem it safe to drive. I see where this has been investigated since 2011 and you should recall the vehicles before someone get seriously injured. Please respond as to what you are waiting on.

- West Point, MS, USA

problem #531

Feb 152014


  • 140,243 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle would accelerate or decelerate independently. The failure was intermittent. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the throttle body valve needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,243.

- Mendon, OH, USA

problem #530

May 252014

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • miles
I am writing to complain about 2 issues that I have experienced with my 2005 Ford Freestyle VIN # [xxx]...I have read online by a lot of people complaining about the throttle car tries to accelerate on its own at times even when I am on the brake...also the ac problem I have that I have read about online by a lot of people. My car wont cool when idling but the driver side will cool when going down the highway. I do believe the problems should be addressed with all the complaints about them. Thanks for your time. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hartsville, SC, USA

problem #529

Feb 142014

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
In drive at 40 mph to 55 mph the car almost stalls and goes I to fail safe mode. In fail safe mode the car runs at 15 mph. The dealer says they can not duplicate the problem.

- East Stroudsburg, PA, USA

problem #528

Sep 012013


  • 120,000 miles
The dash turned off. All of the dash components are not working including the mileage, speedometer, gas, oil, turn signals etc. It is not safe to drive. It fails several times during the day and at night keeping me guessing if I am driving the speed limit or not and if my turn signals are working. The airbag safety light also is not working, flashing on and off keeping me wondering if I have any safety at all. This problem is not just happening with my car but others in my year and make. It is not safe for the driver, passenger, and other cars on the road. This needs to be fixed. As of now, the bug has not fixed itself. The electronics have been off for a full day and I am worried they won't turn back on. Please do some further work on this problem. Thank you.

- Addison, IL, USA

problem #527

Nov 032013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
In 2011 the throttle body failed on my 2005 Ford Freestyle. Ford recommended cleaning the throttle body and I had this done at a Ford dealer. Ford later extended the warranty on this part and reimbursed me. Following this, I found that the car occasionally lunged and the rpms would race. On November 3, 2013 the vehicle went into fail safe mode while driving at 45 mph. I was in heavy traffic and the entire engine stopped accelerating. I immediately hit my brakes and began to pull over. I restarted the vehicle and tried to make my way home at 15 mph. On Monday I made an appointment to have my car seen. I was told it was still covered by the extended warranty. On Tuesday the car again went into fail safe mode and shut down while driving. I was almost rear ended. On inspection, the dealer found that the throttle body was at fault. The part was faulty, and could not be cleaned to fix. It would have to be replaced, but Ford would not cover the cost (over $900) even though they know there is a problem with this part. When calling, I was told that they would only cover a one time cleaning. The cleaning did not fix the problem, and this is a massive safety issue. The car shuts down in traffic, leaving you vulnerable.

- Hales Corners, WI, USA

problem #526

Jun 202013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 118,223 miles
Had a previous recall done to clean throttle body for cold start stall it ran fin for a couple of weeks when one Sunday we were on the interstate my wife was driving at the time when suddenly it was like some one shut the engine off, we were in very heavy traffic with traffic moving fast my wife become very scared she had no power steering or brakes cars were locking their brakes blowing horns and passing around us I shifted the car to neutral for we were still rolling about 50 by then and had her try and restart car which it did and we resumed speed to the next pull over, I contacted the dealer and someone in Ford quality and was told I would have to pay check out fees and it was not a warranty nor goodwill item. Since we reluctantly take the Ford we use our older Chevy instead, I have used the Ford several times since the incident and it acts up every time, I am on disability and cannot afford the cost for check. Out fees after reading dozens of blogs there seems to be a problem in the throttle body, and this is a big safety issue, I am a retired Ford technician forced to due to cancer, we need help with our car and for you to be aware of the dangerous problem these cars are having, had I not been with my wife the first time this occurred there could have been a serious accident, I have been on line and talked with many other people with the same problem, some not as lucky as us. I think Ford needs to first ck the recall they did and then find out why I am having this dilemma, after 24 years. As a Ford tech I have never come across something as scary and dangerous as this. A word of feedback would be greatly appreciated thank [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Brookville, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?