Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,332 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Freestyle engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 22 of 29)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #149

Jun 082009

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that when shifting into drive, the vehicle would surge forward abnormally. The dealer advised the contact that there were no known issues pertaining to the failure. The manufacturer was not informed of the issue and the vehicle was not repaired. The current mileage was approximately 62,000 and the failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 9/13/11 the consumer also stated the vehicle would lurched backward while in reverse. Also, the vehicle would shut off and go in fail safe mode. Updated 09/28/11

- Magnolia , DE, USA

problem #148

Aug 152010

Freestyle

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that when shifting to drive, the vehicle lunged forward abnormally. Also, when shifting from park to reverse, the vehicle would lunge backward. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the throttle was cleaned. There was an open investigation under NHTSA action number: PE11018 ( vehicle speed control) that the contact beleived could have been related to the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #147

May 012009

Freestyle

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle lunged forward abnormally when shifting gears. The check engine and the wrench warning lights were illuminated when the failure occurred. The dealer was contacted and they replaced the air cleaner but the failure later recurred. The failure mileage was 20,000 and the current mileage was 40,000.

- East Norriton, PA, USA

problem #146

Jun 182010

Freestyle

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact shifted into drive and the vehicle unexpectedly accelerated without warning. The brakes were engaged to stop the vehicle. The failure recurred intermittently and the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they were unable to determine the cause of failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure and the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Middletown, OH, USA

problem #145

May 012009

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
2005 Ford Freestyle surges. If brakes are not immediately applied, the vehicle will hit the care in front. This occurs while stopped and waiting for traffic or traffic signal. This has been happening off and on for the last two years.

- New Jersey, NJ, USA

problem #144

May 192008

Freestyle

  • 131,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle would lunge forward unexpectedly while driving at low speeds or idling. The contact stated that the failure would only occur in hotter weather temperatures. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was contacted and provided no assistance. The failure mileage was 131,000.

- Lorain, OH, USA

problem #143

May 012010

Freestyle 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated the vehicle would momentarily surge forward while driving at various speeds. The failure would also occur while the brakes were engaged. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer but the failure was not diagnosed and the vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but no assistance was offered. The failure mileage was 80,000 and the current mileage was 101,000. Updated 06/17/11 updated 06/27/11

- Iva, SC, USA

problem #142

Aug 072010

Freestyle

  • 62,000 miles
Multiple incidents of acceleration when coasting (no gas). Most noticeable when parking and backing up. Have had fuel system checked and maintained multiple times without improvement.

- Oak Grove, LA, USA

problem #141

Oct 012010

Freestyle

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle would jerk backward or forward. The contact stated that the failure would sporadically occur when the vehicle was idle and neither the accelerator nor brake pedal was depressed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who advised that the vehicle needed an unknown part replaced at the contacts expense. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and advised the contact that there were no recalls for the failure and would provide no further assistance. The failure mileage was 50,000 and the current mileage was 55,000.

- Rockledge, FL, USA

problem #140

Jul 152005

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 17,000 miles
Began when car was about one year old. It occurs just about every time it's driven. I took car to garage and they said it was O.K. it lungs in forward and reverse.

- Avon Park, FL, USA

problem #139

Apr 012010

Freestyle

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had my car accelerate without my foot being on the pedal. This would usually happen as I would get ready to go into reverse or just putting the car in gear to go forward. I immediately brake hard to stop the problem, which solves the issue. My accelerator has also had problems getting stuck and I have to pull it forward with my foot. This began about a year ago, and happens occasionally.

- Kennerdell, PA, USA

problem #138

May 102011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • miles
The car continually wants to take off on its own when in an idle situation or moving slowly. Mainly happens when air conditioner is running. Will pretty much happen once car has been running for a little while and you slow to a stop at a light, stop sign, or any other situation that you would move very slowly or idle in. When the vehicle was bought, vehicle was taken back to Ford dealership to investigate, but were told they could find nothing wrong. First couple of years, did not happen that much, but as it got older, happens quite a bit. When the issue occurs, it throws the vehicle into a fail safe mode if you do not turn the air conditioner off in time. Never have gotten the vehicle fixed.

- Dickson, TN, USA

problem #137

May 142011

Freestyle

  • 120,000 miles
2005 Ford Freestyle lunges forward when stopped. If foot isn't on the brake good and firm, the lunge almost rear ends the vehicle in front of you. I have had this vehicle since 2006 and it has done this since day one. Ford garage always says that they cannot find anything wrong.

- Hilliard, OH, USA

problem #136

Jan 012009

Freestyle

  • 50,000 miles
I heard about the 2005-2007 Ford Freestyle investigation regarding sudden acceleration. My wife drives a 2005 Freestyle. This same thing has happened to me when I have driven her car. My foot has been on the brake so it has not caused an accident. The acceleration is pronounced and is potentially dangerous. I have not noticed this happening for a while however. Maybe computer updates at the dealership have already corrected this?

- Dacula, GA, USA

problem #135

Jan 082011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,400 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while parking her vehicle at a low speed the vehicle suddenly accelerated, crashed into a tree and two vehicles. The driver was not injured. The police were called, but did not arrive. The vehicle was then towed to an independent mechanic. The dealer rebooted the throttle body computer system. The manufacturer was then contacted and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 63,400. Updated 6/8/11 updated 06/13/11

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #134

Feb 202011

Freestyle

  • miles
The contact owns 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated when the vehicle was idle the rpms increased and the vehicle lunged forward. The contact stated the failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was not inspected. The VIN and failure mileage were unknown. The current mileage was 150,000.

- Aliquitta, PA, USA

problem #133

Mar 012011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Unintended acceleration of my 2005 Ford Freestyle. It would happen most often when backing out of my garage or turning into a parking space. Noticed it more when A/C was running and wheel was turned. I took the car to the dealer and they replaced the throttle body. No old parts are available because I did not know this was a wide spread problem until I saw the news release today.

- Georgetown, KY, USA

problem #132

Jun 092009

Freestyle

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated the vehicle suddenly accelerated several times. The contact stated when this happened the vehicle shifted into safety mode and the vehicle would not accelerate over 35 mph. The contact had the vehicle inspected and was told the throttle body needed to be replaced. The contact stated the failure occurred more when the weather was warm. The failure mileage was 62,000 and the current mileage was 91,000.

- Erie, MI, USA

problem #131

May 092011

Freestyle

  • 94,969 miles
2005 Ford Freestyle AWD limited, car surges forward, when stopped and when steering wheel is turned. Car also stalls while driving or if hitting the gas.

- Antioch, IL, USA

problem #130

May 162006

Freestyle

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated whenever the air conditioner was on for a long time and the vehicle was shifted into reverse gear it would lunge forward. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who advised her that they were unable to diagnose the failure. In addition, she also experienced brake failure when driving at low speeds and decelerating; the vehicle would not stop. The vehicle was inspected by an independent mechanic who advised her that the metal part of the brake pedal fractured through the calipers causing it to leak the fluid. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Savierville, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?