Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,332 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Freestyle engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 26 of 29)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #69

Jul 052010

Freestyle

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle accelerated and decelerated on its own. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing and was advised that the failure was caused by the throttle body. The dealer stated that the part was on back order. The VIN was not available. The failure and the current mileages were 95,000.

- East Berlin, PA, USA

problem #68

Jan 122010

Freestyle

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that whenever the vehicle came to a complete stop, she had to shift into park so that the vehicle would not accelerate on its own. The vehicle had accelerated on its own multiple times where the contact was forced to apply extreme pressure to the brakes in order to stop the vehicle. The dealer was contacted and stated that the throttle needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired since the parts were on back order. The failure and current mileages were 55000.

- North Platte, NE, USA

problem #67

May 202010

Freestyle

  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact started the vehicle and the rpms increased excessively. The failure occurred upon initial start up and when the vehicle was in operation. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the technician stated that the failure was contributed to the throttle body gasket which needed to be replaced; however, the part was unavailable. There were 2,300 throttle body repair kits on a massive back order. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was approximately 79,000.

- Broadtop, PA, USA

problem #66

Jul 162010

Freestyle

  • 113,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Ford Freestyle lunges forward when 1) engine is warm, 2)A/C is on, 3) at complete stop with brakes engaged and 4) begin to turn steering wheel to make turn. 5) engine stalls. Dealer diagnosed defective throttle body. Very unsafe!!!

- Lombard, IL, USA

problem #65

Jul 012010

Freestyle

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated while reversing from a residential driveway at a relatively low speed, the vehicle abnormally accelerated and crashed into a fence post. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for a diagnosis of the failure. On a separate occasion while at a complete stop, the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The contact stated she would shut off the engine when the failure would occur. The failure would occur intermittently. The dealer advised that the throttle body was defective and would need to be replaced at the contact's expense. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 85,000 and the current mileage was approximately 95,000.

- Senecaville, OH, USA

problem #64

Jul 012010

Freestyle

  • 85,000 miles
I have a 2005 Ford Freestyle it has been giving its own gas it happens alot and I have two children I feel unsafe having in car with me it dont matter if you are stopped or driving it goes faster when it wants I was backing up and couldnt get it too stop and busted tail lite out! I had it too a shop they said throttle body but its $800 I have extended coverage they say its not covered and I dont know why this has too be a Ford problem I have talked and looked online its not uncommon too hear I want help before my babies are hurt!!!!

- Senecaville, OH, USA

problem #63

Jul 252010

Freestyle

  • 94,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Ford Freestyle has problems with throttle body - which appears to be a very common problem. Why no recall from Ford?

- Plattsburg, MO, USA

problem #62

Feb 102010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. While sitting at a complete stop with the brake depressed, the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The contact then applied extreme pressure to the brakes and was able to stop the vehicle. The contact stated the failure would occur whenever the vehicle was being operated. The dealer performed a diagnostic test and found that the throttle had failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 55,000 and the current mileage was 55,003. Updated 11/9/10 updated 11/16/10 updated 11/23/10

- Superior, CO, USA

problem #61

Jun 092010

Freestyle

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. While the contact was driving approximately between 30-35 mph, the engine revved with an extremely slow power response. The vehicle was pulled over to the side of the road, and the engine turned off. The vehicle restarted and resumed normally. In addition, the vehicle exhibited unintended acceleration during braking. The failures occurred intermittent. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the technician informed that the throttle body would need to be replaced at an estimated cost of $800. The repair part arrival date was August of 2010. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was approximately 58,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 10/13/10 updated 10/21/10

- Yuma, AZ, USA

problem #60

May 202010

Freestyle

  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while driving at 60 mph, the vehicle stalled. The check engine warning light was illuminated. The dealer advised the throttle body was defective and would need to be replaced. The part needed to make the repair was not readily available. The contact was advised by the dealer that the part was on back order for six weeks due to the frequency of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was awaiting repairs. The failure mileage on the vehicle was 61,000 and the current mileage was 68,000.

- Connelly Springs, NC, USA

problem #59

Jul 122006

Freestyle

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Ford Freestyle sudden accelerations and motor revs while at slow speed or at a full stop. Motor revs and then stalls also the car goes into "safe" mode. I have owned the car since new 9/05 and every summer we go through this the problem has be mis-diagnosed by Ford dealers several times capitol Ford in san jose ca, has put a "patch" in computer, litha Ford in fresno, replaced M.a.F sensor, and future Ford in clovis blamed incorrect air box installation after the car was serviced and air filter replaced. Each warm season the car does this. Drove the car 2 miles from future Ford only to have it repeat the same problem we came in with.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #58

Jul 172009

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact was stopped at a traffic stop with the air conditioner activated when there was an abnormal increase in engine rpms. The consumer attempted to accelerate but the contact applied the brakes to avoid crashing into the vehicle ahead of her. The vehicle then stalled. The contact was able to immediately restart the vehicle and shut off the air conditioner. The dealer advised having a diagnostic performed on the vehicle but the contact declined. The failure recurred twice followed by the illumination of the check engine, check transmission and throttle control warning lights illuminated. Each time, the contact would shut off the engine and when restarting, the vehicle would resume normal operation. In addition, the cruise control was no longer operable. The manufacturer advised that there were no related recalls and would not provide any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000 and the current mileage was approximately 83,000. Updated 10/21/10. Lj the vehicle was diagnosed as having internal failure in the transmisson. Updated 10/26/10

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #57

Jul 262010

Freestyle

  • 37,000 miles
I was driving my car (pulling out of a mall) approaching the highway, I stopped for traffic to clear. With my foot on the brake, my car suddenly leapt forward toward traffic. Thinking that maybe I didn't have my brake pedal pushed hard enough (scaring me) I pushed my foot harder on the brake pedal. But the car kept lurching forward. Luckily the traffic cleared & I proceeded onto the highway. Then, the car didn't seem to move, so I pressed the gas pedal a little harder. The car acted like it was in neutral, then moved forward very slowly. I pushed the gas pedal harder, and again, the car acted like it was in neutral, then finally moved forward very slowly. Traffic was coming from behind so I kept going forward. Luckily the Ford dealership was just a couple blocks away (around the corner). So I drove it very carefully straight to the dealership service department. At most I was going about 30-35 miles per hour. The dealership says the problem is the throttle body needs to be replaced. They have to order parts. Luckily my extended warranty is in effect, so it's supposed to be covered, except for a $100. Deductible. (plus we"ll need to pay charges to have the parts shipped asap). Today, my husband checked online and found that this has been an ongoing problem with Ford Freestyle's. this is absolutely dangerous! my car could easily have lurched out into heavy 40-45 mile per hr traffic, if I hadn't had fast reflexes! or if I had pulled out in front of the higher speed traffic I could have been hit from behind! my car has only about 37,000 miles. I've had about four incidences of electrical problems with it. First, they replaced my alternator. Then my battery. Then my instrument cluster panels & (in the dashboard) airconditioning panels. At least they're the things that I know they've done (because the don't tell you all the things they've fixed or replaced). I don"T know if these things are connected. Also according to the internet, these parts have be hard to find.

- Ridge Manor, FL, USA

problem #56

Jul 242010

Freestyle

  • 89,000 miles
Just after placing car into reverse, it started accelerating backwards and required high pressure on the brake pedal to stop it. This is the 3rd or 4th time this has happened. The first time or 2, I thought it was me. Each time I looked down at my foot to make sure I was not pressing both pedals and I was not (I'm a high-speed driving instructor). The last time it happened, I applied full brake pressure, the engine stalled and the message "engine failsafe mode" appeared on the warning cluster. We've stopped driving the car until it's fixed. Many many people are reporting throttle body issues. This is dangerous.

- Ambler, PA, USA

problem #55

Jul 192010

Freestyle

  • 47,670 miles
2005 Ford Freestyle while stopped a traffic light suddenly accelerated without anything touching the gas pedal. I had to apply a lot of pressure to the brake to prevent the vehicle from entering the intersection. The vehicle then died and when restarted the check engine light and wrench symbol were lit up. I took the vehicle to the dealer who said it was due to a failed throttle body. It has been 6 days and the vehicle has not been repaired due to no parts available and from what I am seeing on the internet this is a common problem and I think it could cause serious accidents if the problem is not resolved.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #54

Jul 232010

Freestyle

  • 79,000 miles
Failure of throttle body almost caused multiple accidents within 1 day (July 23, 2010). Waiting to pull out of gas station, the car took off while my foot was on the brake and put myself and my family into oncoming traffic! on the same day, I was reversing out of a parking spot and the car again accelerated by itself and I almost hit the parked car behind me. The car has 79,000 miles. At about 36,000 miles, I had same problems and the dealer fixed. I researched forums on the internet and found that several other families having similar problems. This is very dangerous!!!

- Burlington, KY, USA

problem #53

Jul 142010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,900 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle accelerated on its own as the contact applied the brakes with extreme pressure in order to stop the vehicle. The failure occurred three additional times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was being repaired by the dealer when the complaint was filed. The failure mileage was 79,900. The current mileage is 80,907 updated 10/13/10. Updated 10/19/19

- Dallas, GA, USA

problem #52

Jul 232010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. While driving 2 mph the contact noticed that the vehicle would suddenly lunge forward without warning; however, when the brakes were applied the vehicle failed to malfunction. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where a throttle body kit repair was performed on the vehicle; however, the failure continued to occur. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the contact was informed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 65000. The current mileage was 103000. Updated 10/13/10. The dealer informed the consumer the throttle body needed to be replaced. Updated 10/19/10

- Foster , RI, USA

problem #51

Jul 182010

Freestyle

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while making a left turn the vehicle stalled. The contact stated that the warning lights illuminated when the failure occurred. The dealer stated that the throttle body needed to be replaced on the vehicle. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 55000.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #50

Jun 212010

Freestyle

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. While driving in reverse and engaging the brake pedal, the vehicle lunged forward and then backwards. A mechanic inspected the vehicle and stated that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The dealer was contacted and informed her to bring the vehicle in to be repaired at an estimated cost of $1000 since there was no warranty or related recalls. The manufacturer was also notified stating that there were no recalls and she would be responsible for the cost. The failure and current mileages were 75,000.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?