Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,332 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Freestyle engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 28 of 29)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #29

Jun 052010

Freestyle

  • 125,483 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Ford Freestyle. Started to notice it felt like it would lunge forward after idling for a few minutes in park. I thought it was my imagination at first. This happened at least 6 times when I drove it (this is not the car I usually drive). Then on June 5, 2010 I was in park at a gas station with the engine on and I put it in reverse and it lunged backwards...I slammed on the brakes and they didn't work...I switched it to neutral and then the engine stalled out and all the dash lights came on (oil, repair, engine, fail mode). I turned the key switch to off, waited a few minutes, then restarted it and all the lights were off. I was able to return home safely. I was just glad no one was behind me. This is a serious problem/defect!! I'm scared to drive it now! especially after reading about all the other people who have complained about having this problem with their Freestyles.

- Van Wert, OH, USA

problem #28

Jun 012010

Freestyle

  • 64,700 miles
2005 Ford Freestyle with 64,879 miles has started to surge in and out of park and when stopping for traffic. It also surges from park when in reverse and I am going to back out of my garage. I have had this Freestyle since it was new and have maintained all regular maintenance as required. I also continue to have problems with the middle passenger seat where it will not work and have had it repaired at least 4 times now. Ford has not charged me for these repairs but it is very inconvenient to have this ongoing problem with my seat. My main concern is with this sudden surging especially in light of the recent problems that Toyota has had with its vehicles. I would welcome your investigators to my home to experience first-hand. I have not yet contacted my local Ford dealer but intend to do so this week. This problem with surging has just begun within the past 2 weeks.

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #27

May 312010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 79,100 miles
While on out of state vacation, our 2005 Ford Freestyle was idling in park with the ac running. When the car was placed in reverse, it accelerated quickly (unintended) with no input at the accelerator pedal. Once I stopped the car, the engine died. When it was restarted, it idled roughly for a minute and then ran ok. This type of unintended acceleration has randomly occurred 6 times total within a period of one week. The last time this occurred, the engine died once the vehicle was stopped. When it was restarted, the wrench light illuminated on the instrument panel. We drove the car to an autoparts store where the codes were read. The codes were P2106 & P061B. When the engine restarted, the wrench light on the instrument panel did not illuminate. We took the car to a local Ford dealer and described the events in detail. The Ford dealer performed a diagnostic test but no codes were detected. They said we needed a new throttle body. They came to this conclusion because of a technical services bulletin issued by Ford (tsb 06-21-1). The car has 79,857 miles so the dealer said it was out of warranty and that there were no recalls on the throttle body. I called Ford customer relationship center and was told the same thing. I expressed my concern about the safety issue of the unintended acceleration but their only comment was that is was my responsibility to pay for repairs. We have talked to another party who has had the same occurance with their Freestyle. Their throttle body was replaced under warranty but has once again started the unattended acceleration. I have also seen several posts on internet forums from people having the same problem. It appears that the replacement throttle bodies have the same defect and this is only a temporary fix. This problem could easily result in a crash or a pedestrian being struck. Our car has not been repaired. The defective throttle body is still intact on the car. The car is also very slow to decelerate.

- Woodbury, TN, USA

problem #26

Jun 092010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle surges in hot weather. Throttle gets stuck.

- Berwyn, IL, USA

problem #25

May 202009

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
2005 Ford Freestyle, car has unexpected acceleration when placing car in reverse and/or drive. Car inspected at Ford garage. Nothing reported.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #24

Jun 072010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
Vehicle accelerates unexpectedly at low speeds.

- Murphy, TX, USA

problem #23

Nov 062006

Freestyle

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. While the contact was driving at speeds under 20 mph, the vehicle unexpectently accelerated and the engine slightly revved. The failure continued to occur, spontaneously and with increased frequency. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer fifty times for the identical failures where the technician was unable to duplicate the problem. Recently, the failure occurred repeatedly when the brakes were applied, when coming to a stop. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer in which the failure was contributed to the throttle body. Also, the engine support bracket had broken. The vehicle was in the process of being repaired at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was 20,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 10/27/10.

- Winter Haven, FL, USA

problem #22

Mar 232009

Freestyle

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The vehicle suddenly surged and then stalled although the contacts foot was on the brake pedal. The failure occurred again where the vehicle surged and lunged forward. The failure occurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership where the contact was informed that the failure was caused by the throttle body sensor. The vehicle was at the dealership awaiting repair at the time of the complaint. The current mileage was approximately 62,000. The failure mileage was approximately 55,000. Updated 11/03/10.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #21

Jul 152009

Freestyle

  • 95,000 miles
2005 Ford Freestyle, we went to Florida back on 07/2009 it was very hot. The car started jerking, than it accelerated on its own. Than it almost stopped. Than it would not go faster than 35. And than it accelerated unexpectedly which we almost ran into the back of someone. When we arrived back home to nc we took it too the Ford dealer who said it was the computer module. We took it in and left it for repair. The service manager called and said that we had a walmart air filter, and it needed a Ford air filter. They tried to say that was the problem. But before we got the car back, we received a post card from the dealer saying our computer module that was ordered from the dealer has arrived. So the dealer told us it was the air filter when in fact it was the computer module. We beleive the dealer replaced the computer module but told us it was the air filter to avoid a costly recall. I have found on this website that this vehicle was recalled it certain parts of the usa for this reason but not in our region. The recall was due because in warmer climates this problem may occur. All of this vehicles should be repaired, because someone with this vehicle may travel to areas that are warmer than other during business trips or vacation trips.

- Lincolnton, NC, USA

problem #20

Jul 212009

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 54,980 miles
First time in myrtle beach, SC. Car accelerated forward without warning. Foot on brake made no difference. Wrench symbol came on dashboard indicating it was the throttle body valve to go to a dealer immediately. Contacted dealer. Dealer indicated throttle body valves were on back order and recommended not driving car. After returning to Pennsylvania vehicle did the same thing again. Took it to the dealer. Dealer checked the computer indicating throttle body valve was the problem. Back order about 3 months before repairs were made. Dealer recommended not driving the vehicle. Approximately $500 later vehicle is supposedly safe.

- Mcmurray, PA, USA

problem #19

Aug 152009

Freestyle

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car would hesitate when pushing on gas pedal, then suddenly catch and accelerate after some time pressing on the accelerator. Had it checked previously with the suggestion to replace fuel filter. After a few months, problem got worse, another service station found the throttle body needed to be replaced, the throttle position sensor was bad. Had it replaced at a cost of $672.33 parts and labor. Found out this problem is shared by many Ford Freestyle owners, checked with local Ford dealer if a recall had been done or a technical service bulletin, was told not and they would not do anything for me about it.

- Menlo Park, CA, USA

problem #18

Jul 152009

Freestyle

  • 95,000 miles
2005 Ford Freestyle is having the same problems Toyota is having. Our car started accelerating on its own. Dale jarrett Ford replaced the computer. And since than the problem stopped. They told us that they didn't replace the computer. But we received a card in the mail from them that our computer module is in and ready to be installed.

- Lincolnton, NC, USA

problem #17

Sep 012009

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
1. early last year, my wife and I noticed that the vehicle developed a tendency to lunge (accelerate) when braking toward a stoplight or a parking spot. 2. the frequency of the occurrence increases once the vehicle engine is warmed up to operating temperature or after the vehicle has been driven long distances. 3. last September, we took the vehicle to a local Ford service center to have it looked at. The problem was identified as a faulty throttle body. We were told at the time that the part was not available, and we would be notified when the part became available. We have not received that call. We were also informed that the repair would be approximately $600. Internet research found that this is a apparently a very common problem with this vehicle, with some owners reporting that their vehicle is no longer operational. I feel that this is a safety issue. I also feel that Ford, like Toyota has recently, should initiate a recall to fix the problem. At the very least, they need to make the part available, so that the repair can be made. As far as I know, the part is still not available.

- Draper, UT, USA

problem #16

Nov 282007

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that whenever the vehicle was moving at various speeds and when her foot was on the brake pedal, it lunged forward. The failure also occurred when she drove in reverse. The failure has occurred over 50 times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who repaired the throttle body, air compressor and the alternator; however, the failure continued to occur. The vehicle malfunctioned more frequently during the summer months. The vehicle has been diagnosed 4 times and each time the mechanic stated that it was repaired. The dealer will not make any additional repairs since the warranty was no longer valid. The failure mileage was 32000. The current mileage is 95000. Updated 3/16/10 upadted 07/07/10.

- Rockwall, TX, USA

problem #15

Jan 102010

Freestyle

  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. While driving 55 mph the vehicle would not accelerate. The contact pulled over, turn the vehicle off and then restarted it; however, the vehicle continued not to accelerate. The failure has occurred on three occasions. The instrument cluster and the gear shift remained in drive. The gear shift console and the throttle place assembly were also repaired by a local mechanic. The contact is concerned about the safety risk since a crash could have occurred due to a lack of acceleration. The failure mileage was 96,000.

- Nolensville, TN, USA

problem #14

Nov 212009

Freestyle

  • 34,000 miles
I have a 2005 Ford Freestyle about a month ago started to accelerate by itself for very short seconds. As time passed accelerations were stronger. I notice they were more noticeable when turning the wheel while in reverse. A week ago as soon as I put the car on reverse revolution when up quickly and I hit a pole. The car remained accelerate so I turned it off. Haven't had the time to take it to a service station to check it out.

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #13

Sep 112009

Freestyle

  • 48,100 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. When applying pressure to the accelerator pedal at 45 mph, the vehicle would not accelerate. He was able to pull to the side of the road to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, and the technician concluded that the throttle body failed. The vehicle has not been repaired due to the unavailability of the part. The failure mileage was 47,900. The current mileage was 48,100. The vehicle identification number was unavailable.

- Hickory , NC, USA

problem #12

Sep 162009

Freestyle

  • 42,130 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. While the vehicle was idling, the rpms increased 2500 to 3000 without vehicle acceleration. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, and the throttle body was replaced. The failure and current mileages were 42130.

- Grapevine, TX, USA

problem #11

Jul 122009

Freestyle

  • 44,000 miles
I own a 2005 Ford Freestyle that has been on Ford lot for 67 days now. It needs a new throttle body and they are not starting production on them until Oct 31st 2009. Which means they will not be tested and ready for install until next year which means I will have gone 6 months without my car which I am still paying for because I just bought it last year.

- Glen Burnie, MD, USA

problem #10

Feb 122009

Freestyle

  • 51,870 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact was driving approximately 30 mph on normal road conditions. When proceeding from a complete stop at a traffic signal there was a reduction in the engine power significantly. The contact continued to drive the vehicle with caution. There were two separate occasions that the "fail safe mode" and "engine" warning light indicators illuminated on the instrument panel intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the authorized dealer for inspection and the technician stated that the failure was contributed to the throttle body assembly. The technician also stated that the part was on a national back order. The vehicle is inoperable and has not been repaired for the malfunctions. There were concerns of the safety risks involved and the uncertainty of the availability of the part. The failure and current mileages were 51,870.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?