Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,926 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Freestyle engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 28 of 29)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #25

May 202009

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles


2005 Ford Freestyle, car has unexpected acceleration when placing car in reverse and/or drive. Car inspected at Ford garage. Nothing reported.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #24

Jun 072010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
Vehicle accelerates unexpectedly at low speeds.

- Murphy, TX, USA

problem #23

Nov 062006


  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. While the contact was driving at speeds under 20 mph, the vehicle unexpectently accelerated and the engine slightly revved. The failure continued to occur, spontaneously and with increased frequency. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer fifty times for the identical failures where the technician was unable to duplicate the problem. Recently, the failure occurred repeatedly when the brakes were applied, when coming to a stop. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer in which the failure was contributed to the throttle body. Also, the engine support bracket had broken. The vehicle was in the process of being repaired at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was 20,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 10/27/10.

- Winter Haven, FL, USA

problem #22

Mar 232009


  • 55,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The vehicle suddenly surged and then stalled although the contacts foot was on the brake pedal. The failure occurred again where the vehicle surged and lunged forward. The failure occurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership where the contact was informed that the failure was caused by the throttle body sensor. The vehicle was at the dealership awaiting repair at the time of the complaint. The current mileage was approximately 62,000. The failure mileage was approximately 55,000. Updated 11/03/10.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #21

Jul 152009


  • 95,000 miles
2005 Ford Freestyle, we went to Florida back on 07/2009 it was very hot. The car started jerking, than it accelerated on its own. Than it almost stopped. Than it would not go faster than 35. And than it accelerated unexpectedly which we almost ran into the back of someone. When we arrived back home to nc we took it too the Ford dealer who said it was the computer module. We took it in and left it for repair. The service manager called and said that we had a walmart air filter, and it needed a Ford air filter. They tried to say that was the problem. But before we got the car back, we received a post card from the dealer saying our computer module that was ordered from the dealer has arrived. So the dealer told us it was the air filter when in fact it was the computer module. We beleive the dealer replaced the computer module but told us it was the air filter to avoid a costly recall. I have found on this website that this vehicle was recalled it certain parts of the usa for this reason but not in our region. The recall was due because in warmer climates this problem may occur. All of this vehicles should be repaired, because someone with this vehicle may travel to areas that are warmer than other during business trips or vacation trips.

- Lincolnton, NC, USA

problem #20

Jul 212009

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 54,980 miles
First time in myrtle beach, SC. Car accelerated forward without warning. Foot on brake made no difference. Wrench symbol came on dashboard indicating it was the throttle body valve to go to a dealer immediately. Contacted dealer. Dealer indicated throttle body valves were on back order and recommended not driving car. After returning to Pennsylvania vehicle did the same thing again. Took it to the dealer. Dealer checked the computer indicating throttle body valve was the problem. Back order about 3 months before repairs were made. Dealer recommended not driving the vehicle. Approximately $500 later vehicle is supposedly safe.

- Mcmurray, PA, USA

problem #19

Aug 152009


  • 50,000 miles


Car would hesitate when pushing on gas pedal, then suddenly catch and accelerate after some time pressing on the accelerator. Had it checked previously with the suggestion to replace fuel filter. After a few months, problem got worse, another service station found the throttle body needed to be replaced, the throttle position sensor was bad. Had it replaced at a cost of $672.33 parts and labor. Found out this problem is shared by many Ford Freestyle owners, checked with local Ford dealer if a recall had been done or a technical service bulletin, was told not and they would not do anything for me about it.

- Menlo Park, CA, USA

problem #18

Jul 152009


  • 95,000 miles
2005 Ford Freestyle is having the same problems Toyota is having. Our car started accelerating on its own. Dale jarrett Ford replaced the computer. And since than the problem stopped. They told us that they didn't replace the computer. But we received a card in the mail from them that our computer module is in and ready to be installed.

- Lincolnton, NC, USA

problem #17

Sep 012009

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
1. early last year, my wife and I noticed that the vehicle developed a tendency to lunge (accelerate) when braking toward a stoplight or a parking spot. 2. the frequency of the occurrence increases once the vehicle engine is warmed up to operating temperature or after the vehicle has been driven long distances. 3. last September, we took the vehicle to a local Ford service center to have it looked at. The problem was identified as a faulty throttle body. We were told at the time that the part was not available, and we would be notified when the part became available. We have not received that call. We were also informed that the repair would be approximately $600. Internet research found that this is a apparently a very common problem with this vehicle, with some owners reporting that their vehicle is no longer operational. I feel that this is a safety issue. I also feel that Ford, like Toyota has recently, should initiate a recall to fix the problem. At the very least, they need to make the part available, so that the repair can be made. As far as I know, the part is still not available.

- Draper, UT, USA

problem #16

Nov 282007

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that whenever the vehicle was moving at various speeds and when her foot was on the brake pedal, it lunged forward. The failure also occurred when she drove in reverse. The failure has occurred over 50 times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who repaired the throttle body, air compressor and the alternator; however, the failure continued to occur. The vehicle malfunctioned more frequently during the summer months. The vehicle has been diagnosed 4 times and each time the mechanic stated that it was repaired. The dealer will not make any additional repairs since the warranty was no longer valid. The failure mileage was 32000. The current mileage is 95000. Updated 3/16/10 upadted 07/07/10.

- Rockwall, TX, USA

problem #15

Jan 102010


  • 96,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. While driving 55 mph the vehicle would not accelerate. The contact pulled over, turn the vehicle off and then restarted it; however, the vehicle continued not to accelerate. The failure has occurred on three occasions. The instrument cluster and the gear shift remained in drive. The gear shift console and the throttle place assembly were also repaired by a local mechanic. The contact is concerned about the safety risk since a crash could have occurred due to a lack of acceleration. The failure mileage was 96,000.

- Nolensville, TN, USA

problem #14

Nov 212009


  • 34,000 miles
I have a 2005 Ford Freestyle about a month ago started to accelerate by itself for very short seconds. As time passed accelerations were stronger. I notice they were more noticeable when turning the wheel while in reverse. A week ago as soon as I put the car on reverse revolution when up quickly and I hit a pole. The car remained accelerate so I turned it off. Haven't had the time to take it to a service station to check it out.

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #13

Sep 112009


  • 48,100 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. When applying pressure to the accelerator pedal at 45 mph, the vehicle would not accelerate. He was able to pull to the side of the road to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, and the technician concluded that the throttle body failed. The vehicle has not been repaired due to the unavailability of the part. The failure mileage was 47,900. The current mileage was 48,100. The vehicle identification number was unavailable.

- Hickory , NC, USA

problem #12

Sep 162009


  • 42,130 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. While the vehicle was idling, the rpms increased 2500 to 3000 without vehicle acceleration. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, and the throttle body was replaced. The failure and current mileages were 42130.

- Grapevine, TX, USA

problem #11

Jul 122009


  • 44,000 miles
I own a 2005 Ford Freestyle that has been on Ford lot for 67 days now. It needs a new throttle body and they are not starting production on them until Oct 31st 2009. Which means they will not be tested and ready for install until next year which means I will have gone 6 months without my car which I am still paying for because I just bought it last year.

- Glen Burnie, MD, USA

problem #10

Feb 122009


  • 51,870 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact was driving approximately 30 mph on normal road conditions. When proceeding from a complete stop at a traffic signal there was a reduction in the engine power significantly. The contact continued to drive the vehicle with caution. There were two separate occasions that the "fail safe mode" and "engine" warning light indicators illuminated on the instrument panel intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the authorized dealer for inspection and the technician stated that the failure was contributed to the throttle body assembly. The technician also stated that the part was on a national back order. The vehicle is inoperable and has not been repaired for the malfunctions. There were concerns of the safety risks involved and the uncertainty of the availability of the part. The failure and current mileages were 51,870.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #9

Aug 092009


  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the failure of the throttle body caused unintended vehicle acceleration. Unintended vehicle acceleration increased the risk of vehicle crash. An authorized technician advised her that since the parts were on back order until December 2009, no repairs could be made. The failure and current mileages were 23,000.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #8

Aug 312009


  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated while driving 35 mph her vehicle stalled. The fail safe engine light illuminated on the dashboard. The contact shut the vehicle off, restarted it and was able to drive normally. The dealer stated that the failure could be related to the throttle body. The contact continued to experience multiple failures and the check engine light remained illuminated. The dealer inspected the vehicle and advised the contact that the vehicle could not be repaired since the part was on national back order. The manufacturer advised the contact to purchase the part from the junk yard. The contact requested a rental vehicle and the manufacturer denied the request since the warranty had expired. The vehicle has not yet been repaired. The failure mileage was 100,000 and the current mileage was 100,200.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #7

Sep 052009


  • 65,000 miles
2006 Ford Freestyle would be driving and suddenly the car would jump forward and the fail safe engine light would come on. Then car would only drive at 20 mph which is very dangerous on the freeway.

- Euclid, OH, USA

problem #6

Aug 072009


  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. While driving 40 mph, the contact noticed a message illuminating, stating "check transmission". she pressed the reset button and continued to drive. A few minutes later, the light illuminated again. The contact stopped the vehicle and had it towed to the dealer. It was determined that the throttle body failed. The manufacturer that produced the part was no longer in business; therefore, it would take months to have the vehicle repaired. The repair cost was estimated at $345. The contact is currently driving a rental vehicle while she waits for the manufacturer to decide if they will cover the cost of the rental. The manufacturer would not provide compensation because there were no recalls. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 94,000.

- Surprise, AZ, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?