Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,332 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Freestyle engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 3 of 29)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #529

Feb 142014

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In drive at 40 mph to 55 mph the car almost stalls and goes I to fail safe mode. In fail safe mode the car runs at 15 mph. The dealer says they can not duplicate the problem.

- East Stroudsburg, PA, USA

problem #528

Sep 012013

Freestyle

  • 120,000 miles
The dash turned off. All of the dash components are not working including the mileage, speedometer, gas, oil, turn signals etc. It is not safe to drive. It fails several times during the day and at night keeping me guessing if I am driving the speed limit or not and if my turn signals are working. The airbag safety light also is not working, flashing on and off keeping me wondering if I have any safety at all. This problem is not just happening with my car but others in my year and make. It is not safe for the driver, passenger, and other cars on the road. This needs to be fixed. As of now, the bug has not fixed itself. The electronics have been off for a full day and I am worried they won't turn back on. Please do some further work on this problem. Thank you.

- Addison, IL, USA

problem #527

Nov 032013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
In 2011 the throttle body failed on my 2005 Ford Freestyle. Ford recommended cleaning the throttle body and I had this done at a Ford dealer. Ford later extended the warranty on this part and reimbursed me. Following this, I found that the car occasionally lunged and the rpms would race. On November 3, 2013 the vehicle went into fail safe mode while driving at 45 mph. I was in heavy traffic and the entire engine stopped accelerating. I immediately hit my brakes and began to pull over. I restarted the vehicle and tried to make my way home at 15 mph. On Monday I made an appointment to have my car seen. I was told it was still covered by the extended warranty. On Tuesday the car again went into fail safe mode and shut down while driving. I was almost rear ended. On inspection, the dealer found that the throttle body was at fault. The part was faulty, and could not be cleaned to fix. It would have to be replaced, but Ford would not cover the cost (over $900) even though they know there is a problem with this part. When calling, I was told that they would only cover a one time cleaning. The cleaning did not fix the problem, and this is a massive safety issue. The car shuts down in traffic, leaving you vulnerable.

- Hales Corners, WI, USA

problem #526

Jun 202013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 118,223 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had a previous recall done to clean throttle body for cold start stall it ran fin for a couple of weeks when one Sunday we were on the interstate my wife was driving at the time when suddenly it was like some one shut the engine off, we were in very heavy traffic with traffic moving fast my wife become very scared she had no power steering or brakes cars were locking their brakes blowing horns and passing around us I shifted the car to neutral for we were still rolling about 50 by then and had her try and restart car which it did and we resumed speed to the next pull over, I contacted the dealer and someone in Ford quality and was told I would have to pay check out fees and it was not a warranty nor goodwill item. Since we reluctantly take the Ford we use our older Chevy instead, I have used the Ford several times since the incident and it acts up every time, I am on disability and cannot afford the cost for check. Out fees after reading dozens of blogs there seems to be a problem in the throttle body, and this is a big safety issue, I am a retired Ford technician forced to due to cancer, we need help with our car and for you to be aware of the dangerous problem these cars are having, had I not been with my wife the first time this occurred there could have been a serious accident, I have been on line and talked with many other people with the same problem, some not as lucky as us. I think Ford needs to first ck the recall they did and then find out why I am having this dilemma, after 24 years. As a Ford tech I have never come across something as scary and dangerous as this. A word of feedback would be greatly appreciated thank [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Brookville, OH, USA

problem #525

Oct 012013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 79,661 miles
We purchased a used 2005 Ford Freestyle on April 4, 2013. It had 74,590 miles on it. On October 1, 2013 the ctv transmission began to fail. Check engine and check transmission warnings came on, the car would not accelerate past 10mph, it lurched and crunched at 3500-4000rpms. We made it less than one block before it just stopped in the road. Turning the engine off and back one, I was able to get back to ten mph and limp it back home. Later that day after disconnecting the battery for ten minutes, the car fired up no problem and was drivable until the October 3, 2013 where this action repeated but it didn't even make it a block before stopping. Again, by turning the engine off and back on I was able to limp it home. My husband was able to get it started one more time and took it to the mechanic. After an afternoon of full diagnoses, we were told it needed a new refurbed (so not even new) transmission for $6400! we were able to limp it home from the mechanics while we consider our options. After researching online this appears to be a well known problem with the ctv transmissions that Ford is fully aware of and has no plans to correct. We would like to know what our options are with this lemon! we haven't even had it for 6 months and it has low mileage. Thank you.

- Bellingham, WA, USA

problem #524

Sep 102013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
Happens both when taking off and going over 40mph veh makes thumping sound from rear end and hesitates until thumping goes away then able to accelerate without problem.

- Noblesville, IN, USA

problem #523

Sep 112013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on the freeway the wrench light, and check engine light came on. The car lost significant power, almost resulting in accident would only allow me to drive 40mph, pulled over around 11 times and restarted the car. I was an hour away from home. I had the throttle body cleaned a few months ago at the Ford dealership, they assured me that this would fix the previous problem because the car was lunging forward (which I have already made a formal complaint). However they also stated that it really should be replaced but they were only instructed to clean it and eventually it would get clogged again. When I spoke to them today they stated that there was nothing they could do and I would have to fix at my own expense. I could understand if it was normal wear and tear on the vehicle. However this is a major safety issue. Someone is going to end up hurt by this. I am a family of six and I am really scared for my families safety while in this vehicle. First the lunging backward and forward.... now the car loosing significant power while driving on the freeway... seriously this is not appropriate... please have Ford look further into this or eventually they will be sued by someone. As I was pulled over on the side of the road. Another gentleman stopped and told me that he as well owns a Freestyle and he is having same issues and currently is in the process of a lawsuit with Ford. Too many safety complaints on the vehicle/transmission for Ford not to recall. !!!!!!!!!

- Modesto, CA, USA

problem #522

Sep 112013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 172,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated after starting the vehicle she shifted it in reverse gear but the vehicle accelerated forward. After a considerable amount of time the vehicle began to function as designed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing and the contact was informed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure and current mileage was 172,000. Updated 11/13/13 throttle body was cleaned and reprogrammed. Updated 11/18/13

- Pinckney, MI, USA

problem #521

Aug 282013

Freestyle

  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while the brake pedal was being depressed, the vehicle lunged forward abnormally. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 43,000.

- Lakewood, CO, USA

problem #520

May 182013

Freestyle

  • 101,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while traveling various speeds, the vehicle suddenly lost acceleration power and made a strange noise. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 101,000.

- Miami Lakes, FL, USA

problem #519

Aug 272013

Freestyle

  • 96,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was sitting in a drive thru when the engine suddenly revved up and the car lurched forward. The gas pedal was not being pressed at the time, only the brake. I applied more pressure to the brake pedal and the car stopped. The engine continued to rev and then it shut off. When the car was restarted, the check engine light was on. The error code was P061B.

- Richmond, TX, USA

problem #518

May 172013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 198,000 miles
2005 Freestyle sat parked at idle (in parking lot) for approximately 7 minutes. Brake pedal was then pressed and gear shift put into "drive". vehicle RPM's immediately went up out of control without foot on accelerator. Vehicle quickly lurched forward about 10 feet before brake pedal was depressed far enough to cease the movement. Speed estimated at 8mph. RPM's continued to increase and vehicle lurched again and traveled about a foot before brake pedal was further depressed enough to cease movement. For about one-half second after brake pedal was depressed, rpms stayed high and then vehicle shook violently and stalled. Dash readout said, "engine failsafe mode". fortunately, no persons were in front of vehicle during incident. One hour later, same day, vehicle would not properly accelerate during passing attempt. Unknown if this issue was related. The next morning, vehicle would not start and hasn't started since. Vehicle currently in auto repair shop (we've been afraid to drive vehicle and will not drive it until situation is rectified).

- Harrisville, MI, USA

problem #517

Oct 102011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
I purchased my Ford Freestyle in June 2011 and shortly after my car began lunging forward when the air conditioner was on. My car began doing it in forward and reverse gear. I have taken my car to the dealer twice before. They replaced the air compressor, cleaned the throttle body, and reset the computer. This will treat the problem for awhile but it will always come back. Last week I nearly hit a pedestrian in a cross walk when my car decided to lunge forward at a red light with my foot on the brake. My wife has nearly hit cars in drive through lines. Again I put my car in the shop and they are doing the same work as before. I have been pushed into intersections and nearly T-boned. I have almost hit cars when trying to back up. This car is not safe because even with my foot on the brake the car can move 5-8 feet. When the car lunges forward or backward it will most of the time rumble then die, which is dangerous when I am sent into an intersection with cars coming at me. Sometimes I am able to depress the gas pedal all the way, driving at 4000 rpms and slowly move out of the way. I worry about my family of six safety as well as any innocent that may get hurt because of Ford incapability to fix the problem they have created.

- Granger, TX, USA

problem #516

Jul 172013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 86,780 miles
We were driving on the freeway (hwy 350) and the car just stalled out, again in traffic on take off the car stalled in the middle of traffic, once getting on I-70 it just stalled, . we took it to dick smith Ford here in raytown, Missouri, [xxx] the service person said it was covered under extended warranty. So I left the car with them, and about 3:00 pm I got a call, [xxx] said the car was ready, he said they fixed the problem, but it is doing the same thing. This time it stopped with my wife in the heat of traffic, well I called [xxx] at the dealership again and he said it must be something else, well I had a test done, the test indicated it is the same problem the throttle body. I know the problem could not be a tune-up because I just spent $ $900 for that at the same Ford place, yes over nine hundred dollars. Please advise what to do. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Raytown, MO, USA

problem #515

May 072013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 62,125 miles
Car suddenly slowed to approximately 5 mph and then stopped. Accelerator stopped functioning. I waited for ten minutes, turned the engine on and limped home at 5 mph. This breakdown occurred after worked was performed at varsity Ford in ann arbor, Michigan for this same problem. Dealer advised that the worked performed (cleaning the throttle body and reprogramming the powertrain train module) did not work. After detailed discussions with the dealership, I was advised that I needed a complete replacement of the throttle body module at my expense. Why should I be held liable for the repair when Ford had already admitted that this was a known problem by calling it in for cleaning. This is certainly an issue for the NHTSA to act on. I think that the $882.73 repair bill should be Ford's burden, not mine.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #514

Jul 242012

Freestyle

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph, the vehicle accelerated without manual force on two separate occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis but they were unable to duplicate the problem. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Lincoln , NE, USA

problem #513

Apr 252013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
Had recall 12N03 performed due to surging, after repair car continued to surge when cold. When approaching stop car would not want to slow down, would put gear in neutral and tach would surge over 2000 RPM's, does this on a consistent basis. Continued to drive until car died while driving, got message for throttle body error, took to dealership and was informed that throttle body needs to be replaced at over $600. Recall repair done in April and car failed in July.

- Whispering Pines, NC, USA

problem #512

Jul 172013

Freestyle

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while at a complete stop, the vehicle erroneously accelerated. The contact also stated that the failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Cuyahoga Falls, OH, USA

problem #511

Jul 182013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
When I was reversing out of a parking space my car lunged backwards and then a few weeks later the same thing happened to me when I pulled out onto a street and went into safe mode. And would only go 40mph. It seems to be happening more frequently when I go into drive or reverse my car will lungebackwards. This vehicle is becoming more and more unsafe to drive. The cost of a new cvt transmission will run me alot of $$$$$. I am aware there is currently a class action lawsuit pending against Ford for this matter. I just purchased this vehicle this year if I would have known I would not have bought this car. With four children in the car I am very scared to drive the car.

- Modesto, CA, USA

problem #510

Feb 072013

Freestyle

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle surged forward while in drive and backwards while in reverse. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where the failure was unable to be replicated. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000. The current mileage was 167,000. The VIN was not available.

- Montgomery, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?