Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,332 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Freestyle engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 4 of 29)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #509

Jun 202013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

It is about NHTSA campaign id number: PE11018. I started experiencing the exact same condition described in this investigation summary. Then I researched on web, and found about this investigation. I was shocked by that the investigation was closed 2 years ago, and they concluded "no recall", "no safety issue"... it is safety issue!! I have been having the bad dreams these days because of this problem... in my dream, I totally lost control of the car, and the car kept going & going..... please have Ford fix this problem. Please!

- Sherman Oaks, CA, USA

problem #508

Jun 192013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
Car has a history of lunging when idling. It has happened several times over the years.

- Aledo, TX, USA

problem #507

Jun 082011

Freestyle

  • 135,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle surged forward while in drive. The contact stated that the failure only occurred while the air conditioner was running. The contact stated that the air failed and the problem did not resurface until the air conditioner was fixed. The dealer inspected the vehicle and stated that the throttle body needed to be cleaned. The repair did not correct the problem. The failure mileage was 135,000 and the current mileage was 158,000.

- Morristown, TN, USA

problem #506

Aug 272012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Issue 1: the car lunges periodically and without warning. It is very startling and causes panic-reactions to slam the brake to stop. I don't believe the counter-measures I've been using are a very good long-term "defensive-driving" strategy especially if it gets worse nor do I feel its a situation a driver with a family should have to face on a repeat and regular basis. It usually occurs at very low speeds like moving in or out of a parking position (I've almost driven through my garage door and inside garage wall or hit parked cars in parking lots on several occasions), approaching or leaving stop signs and lights (I now slow down triple what I would in another vehicle to avoid getting close to other vehicles in case it lunges), and usually more frequently when the air conditioning is running. This has been on-going for several months but I thought it was my imagination. Finally when I researched recalls, I noticed other complaints and feel this is a serious concern if its happening to others as well and should be resolved before someone is seriously injured. My biggest fear is needing to stop suddenly to avoid something like a car or person and the car lunging and striking it anyway. Issue 2: the car is losing about 100 miles per gallon of gas compared to 1 year ago and 150 miles per gallon of gas compared to 2 years ago. When I bought the car in Dec 2010 it got about 430 miles per tank. Now it gets about 280 miles per tank.

- Post Falls, ID, USA

problem #505

Feb 192013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 124,000 miles
Well after I received the recall letter for cleaning of the throttle body, the following week I began hearing a noise as if I was in an airplane when before that was not the case. The I was headed to work one morning and I could not accelerate over 40 mph and my truck started jerking so I immediately pulled over and turned my truck off. I started back up heading straight to Ford service dept. As I'm driving the wrench symbol came on which I had seen but when I brought it up to the service man the day they did the recall, he informed me that it was nothing. Yet, this particular day when I got to them I just left my truck running to make sure he sees and hears what I am just for him to tell me that I would need a new throttle body and I now need a transmission over 5900 dollars that I didn't think was fair. Then he goes on telling me that after this recall they always have trouble with acceleration and transmission problems. So, I asked him why he didn't inform me ? his response was that they only do what Ford manufacturer tells them.. so they should be responsible considering they have been aware of this cvt problem.

- Meridian, MS, USA

problem #504

Oct 292012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
The car lunges forward when at a complete stop; nearly causing accidents (I would rear end someone if I didn't allow more space between the other vehicle and mine than legally allowed.). when you try to run the air conditioning the car shuts off immediately, no matter what speed you are driving at. The car makes noise when turning the steering wheel to the left. I just purchased this car 4 months ago and am now being told I need to replace the transmission, the air compressor and a valve. I noticed the lunging immediately and was able to allow myself more space to make up for the differential, however other people on the road are not aware of my issues with lunging and when they pull in front of me, I may not be able to slow myself. I am highly perturbed by the continuing issues. In looking online I find that I am just one of many people with these very same issues with the Freestyle. I absolutely love this car and quite frankly I have 3 more years of paying for it but I need it to run properly. I have 2 young children that I haul in my car as well as their friends and other family members and it's scary. My son is asthmatic and will not be able to stand the car come summer since I am unable to run the air conditioning until I can afford to replace the air compressor. I just wish that I had known that the car was not the "steal" I thought it to be before I bought it. I even spent $2000 more than I had planned to because I liked this car so much..

- Inman, SC, USA

problem #503

Mar 122013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car stalls daily three times while driving, dealer cleaned the throttle body still stalls, another dealer cleaned the maf and changed the spark plugs and change cvt transmission fluid, still stalling. Need a new throttle body it is a common defect with Ford and very dangerous some one will get killed because of it. My cvt transmission start to slip and needs replacement.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #502

Jan 142013

Freestyle

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact was driving 10 mph uphill when the vehicle unexpectedly lunged forward without the brake pedal or the accelerator pedal being engaged. The vehicle came to a stop when pressure was applied to the brake pedal. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. There was a concurrent investigation under NHTSA action number: PE11018 (vehicle speed control). The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000.

- Barre, VT, USA

problem #501

Oct 122011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
The vehicle began to surge on the hwy. The rpms would surge forward and relax to normal RPM speed. I received a recall letter a few day's ago. My worry is that I have taken it to repair facilities and they found nothing wrong. I am worried that I will have transmission problems because of the recall defect. I have read many posts about cvt transmission failure, it would appear that Ford is doing nothing about the transmission problems. I have owned Ford for over thirty years and if the cvt problems are not addressed. I will not buy another, my family will not buy again either.

- Monticello, GA, USA

problem #500

Jul 092012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Car surges when at low speeds without applying pressure of gas, transmission is shifting very wierd, kicks hard then the next day works.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #499

Jan 112012

Freestyle

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The first incident my fuel gauge is off & producing incorrect data of gas remaining in car & driver window would roll up and down when trying to just roll it up. I took the car back to the dealership they did not fix the issue. Another incident I was on the highway and the stalled while driving. Third incident I was at a stop light with my 5 year old daughter in the car, all of a sudden the car made a loud revving up noise then shot us forward into oncoming traffic. I was barely able to back up before the cars reached us. Another time I was driving with my daughter taking her to daycare then going to work and we were going through a school zone. We stopped at a stop sign and there was a family with 3 children crossing and the car shot us forward again and we almost hit the family. Several times when picking up my daughter I would put the car in reverse and my foot was on the brake pedal still all of a sudden the car shot us back into the cars behind us. This car is very unsafe. I fear for the safety of others and my daughters and my life when getting into this car. Ford should recall this vehicle and replace it with a new car. People shouldn't be at risk for this.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #498

Jun 042012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 125,283 miles
Car was parked in rear of apartment complex.when I put it in reverse it lunged back without my foot on the gas, smashing the rear of the car into the apartment building wall. I did have a seat belt on but the impact caused severe neck trauma as my head was turned at the time of impact. I shut the car off. Approximately an hour later I started the car, put it in drive, and as I attempted to drive the car home, it would "lose power", the wrench light would come on, and the car would have no transmission power. I had to pull the car over, turn it off and restart it. This happened repeatedly. The local Ford dealership incorrectly diagnosed and charged me a repair for cleaning the sensor - and refused to refund me my diagnostic charges even though my car was not fixed. I did my own research to learn it was a throttle body issue. The service manager stated they would apply the credit towards replacing the throttle body....but not all the charges. They were horrible to deal with in customer service after completely failing to fix my car and charging me almost $500.

- Sun Prairie, WI, USA

problem #497

Sep 272012

Freestyle

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle was difficult to start. Also, the contact stated that while driving at various speeds the vehicle lunged forward independently. Both failures recurred numerous times. The dealer and the manufacturer were notified of the failure. However, neither offered any assistance. The failure mileage was 45,000 and the current mileage was 50,329.

- Winchendon, MA, USA

problem #496

Nov 142011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The vehicle lurches/lunge just before stop. On numerous occasions, it would lurch/lunge just as it is stopping. Has been going on for a year; had vehicle serviced/repaired but still continues to malfunction.

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #495

Nov 202011

Freestyle

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that when sitting at a complete stop, the vehicle would lunge forward abnormally. The vehicle would then engage in fail safe mode. The vehicle was able to be driven at lower speeds and was taken to a dealer for diagnosis. After diagnosis, they advised her that she needed to replace the transmission. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was approximately 98,000. The current mileage was approximately 117,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Destrehan, LA, USA

problem #494

Oct 142012

Freestyle

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 to 70 mph the vehicle would stall without any warning and then turned it self back on. Also, the vehicle would lunge forward on an intermittent basis. The vehicle has not been inspected by a dealer or an independent mechanic. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 75,000. The current mileage was approximately 80,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Norton Shores, MI, USA

problem #493

Sep 082012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 71,700 miles
Unintended acceleration-I stopped at traffic light and the engine stayed at a high RPM and did not drop to idle RPM. I was able to hold foot on brake until light turned green, the problem did not reoccur. I was not using cruise control. I took the car to my Ford dealer and they were unable to find anything wrong. This problem has not recurred but is very frightening when it occurs.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #492

Sep 242012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
On occasion we felt a little surge when backing up. Noticed primarily when backing out of our driver. Foot was not on the accelerator at the time. No accidents occurred. Surge was brief but braking would still stop the vehicle. Also observed a surge when driving at highway speeds. Cruise control was not on. The surge was brief, maybe lasting 1-2 secs. In addition we've experienced a loss of acceleration, sluggishness. The throttle control has been replaced.

- Bloomington, IN, USA

problem #491

Oct 072012

Freestyle

  • 86,000 miles
Was coming up to a stop light and the car started to accelerate. When I put on brakes, it accelerated more. To avoid hitting 3 cars in front of me, I went over a curb, up a hill and over and embankment. The car finally stopped in the middle of a side street. The impact of coming off the embankment blew 2 tires and totaled out the bottom of my car. The insurance company has totaled the car. As far as the speed of the car, I was doing 35 until the acceleration failed and when I put on the brakes, it went faster. I read on your website where Ford was having problems with lunging and this sounds like what happened with my car. Especially when I read from others that have posted there problems with this. I do believe that Ford needs to do a recall before someone gets hurt bad. I did go to the er to get checked out but besides seat belt burn, I was fine.

- St. Peters, MO, USA

problem #490

Jun 132011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 86,936 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while stopped in a parking space with the brake pedal applied the vehicle lunged forward. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the throttle body needed to be replaced and reprogrammed. After the repair the failure recurred two different times. The contact stated one of the times the vehicle lunged forward it crashed into a rail and steps leading to a shop. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who decided to reprogram the computer. There was an investigation under NHTSA action number: PE11018 (vehicle speed control) that may be related to the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated the information would be reviewed by there general counsel division but did not offer any further assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 86,936...updated11/21/12 updated 12/3/2012

- Cincinnati, ID, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?