If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

4.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,546 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford Freestyle AC / heater problems

AC / heater problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments

problem #4

Feb 062012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. While driving approximately 55 mph with the heater activated, a burning odor emitted throughout the vents. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who stated the air conditioner compressor was leaking and would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 58,000. Updated 03/14/12

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #3

Aug 092007

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,141 miles
I purchased 2006 Ford Freestyle in April 2007 with 16823 miles. On August 9, 2007 I took the car back to dealership with an acceleration problem when put in drive or reverse. Dealership performed eec test no codes detected. July 23, 2008 took the car to an auto repair they found codes P21068 and P061B looked up the codes and gave me information from Ford on recall for these codes the auto repair suggested I go back to dealership with the recall info. July 28, 2008 took car back to dealership with same issue of lunging diagnostic check showed code P061B and P2106. They replaced valve after keeping my car for 3 weeks I had to pay for part of the cost. April 21, 2009 II took car back with ac problem paid $611 for ac condenser later found out there was a recall on ac that the dealership did not tell me. June 22, 2010 took the car back to dealership with the same issue was told it was the trottle body and I would have to pay for the repair. I called Ford complaint dept and was told there was no fix for my problem. I continue top have problems with the car lunging updated 06/24/11 updated IVOQ. 06/30/11

- Laurel, MS, USA

problem #2

May 172007

Freestyle

  • 24,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact was attempting to reverse when the vehicle abnormally accelerated with the illumination of the wrench warning light. The contact shut off the vehicle and when restarting, the failure recurred before stalling yet the warning light was no longer illuminated. The vehicle was restarted again and the vehicle stalled but then independently restarted. The dealer made repairs to the computer and the fuel injection system was cleaned. The failure recurred. The wrench warning light was re-illuminated and the vehicle independently decelerated before stalling. The vehicle was taken to a local repair facility where the mechanic advised that he was unable to duplicate the failure but advised that the throttle body was defective. The contact noticed that the failure would occur when the air conditioner was on activated on high or medium high. Additionally, the air conditioning compressor had also failed. The manufacturer offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 24,000 and the current mileage was 67,001.

- El Dorado, AR, USA

problem #1

Jun 092006

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45 miles
Bought a 2006 Freestyle less than 24 hours ago. Noticed the A/C not working and the acceleration not working and lots of smoke. Pulled over off the highway and then the car broke down approximately 18 hours after the deal was done with 45 miles on the car.

- Newtown Square, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?