Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
86,023 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford Freestyle drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 1 of 17)

problem #323

Aug 152016

Freestyle

  • 190,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. While the vehicle was being operated, the rpms revved up and down although the speed remained the same. During the failure, the wrench indicator illuminated. In addition, after the engine was restarted, the vehicle failed to accelerate over 25 mph. The contact mentioned that the failure recurred intermittently. The cause of the failures was not diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The manufacturer was not notified of the failures. The failure mileage was 190,000. The VIN was not available.

- Croswell, MI, USA

problem #322

Nov 112015

Freestyle

  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. While the gear shifter stick was placed in reverse, the rpms rapidly increased with a loud noise. The vehicle independently lunged backwards without the accelerator pedal being depressed. The contact immediately depressed the brake pedal to stop the vehicle. As a result, the vehicle stalled and the check engine and wrench warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was able to restart. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed, but the cause of the failure was not found. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failures. The failure mileage was 44,000.

- Weldon, CA, USA

problem #321

Jan 012012

Freestyle

  • 100,000 miles
This makes the second time I have complained about this problem. It seems that Ford has no plans to rectify the "throttle body" issue although there are many that have voiced the same concern with their vehicles. This issue is a severe safety risk. I have had several incidences, all involving surging, followed by a sudden loss of power. There have also been instances of sudden loss of power upon acceleration after idling at a stop sign or red light. This happens randomly and there is no warning beforehand. Once, I was passing a truck and pulled into the passing lane and the Freestyle completely lost power. I was "hanging" in the passing lane with no power and no way to avert a collision had there been oncoming traffic or traffic behind me. Thank goodness, I had time to brake and force the Freestyle onto the shoulder. This also happenes at stop signs and red lights when I accelerate. Very dangerous.

- Allen, OK, USA

problem #320

Nov 202015

Freestyle

  • 10,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmisson whine, , Ford claims it must be replaced at my cost 5 to 6 grand.

- Sheffield Village, OH, USA

problem #319

May 292016

Freestyle

  • 126,000 miles
While driving, vehicle goes into limp mode without warning. Happens in both city and highway driving. Wrench indicator and check engine indicators light on dash. Vehicle slows and can barely accelerate causing near-accident. Resetting code P0701 allows normal operation till cycle repeats in short and random time of driving. Engine shut down/restart clears wrench light till cycle repeats. Took car to 2 Ford dealers and independent transmission specialist. All advised that the cvt transmission cannot be rebuilt or repaired and that replacement transmissions are generally not available. All advised not repairing the car because even if a new transmission were available, cost is $4500-$5500 for the unit plus over $1000 labor to remove/replace transmission. Research shows this is a common complaint about this car and it's similar models (Ford 500) of all years (2005-2007).

- Audubon, PA, USA

problem #318

Sep 012013

Freestyle

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. While driving 60 mph, or over 30 minutes of driving, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was not able to exceed 30 mph. The contact replaced the transmission twice, but the failure recurred several times. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Middleburg, FL, USA

problem #317

Dec 102015

Freestyle

  • 99,750 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission was replaced at 36000 miles, car now has 99750 miles an transmission is broken again. Car is out of warranty new transmission is $6000

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #316

Sep 132015

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 124,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. While driving at any speed, there was a loud noise coming from the transmission. The faster the vehicle accelerated, the louder the noise sounded. In addition, when the gear shifter was in all gears except reverse, the noise became louder. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the cvt transmission failed and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 124,000. Updated 06/15/16 the consumer has since sold the vehicle. Updated 06/29/16.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #315

Jan 212016

Freestyle

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. While idling, the vehicle experienced a complete loss of power. The check engine and maintenance warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was able to be operated after a few minutes, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the transmission failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 105,000.

- Erwin, TN, USA

problem #314

Nov 012015

Freestyle

  • miles
Throttle body in car check engine and wrench lights come on, the vehicle will not move even when put in gear I have to let car warm up for at least 45 min then cut car off N on a couple times the RPM not moving speedometer not moving

- Dekalb, IL, USA

problem #313

Aug 112015

Freestyle

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. While accelerating from a complete stop, the transmission exhibited a delay. As a result, the vehicle lunged forward. The failure occurred whenever the vehicle was in operation. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the transmission would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Talbott, TN, USA

problem #312

Jan 022016

Freestyle

  • 128,700 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. While driving below 20 mph, the vehicle suddenly failed to accelerate. On occasion, the vehicle would stall or not move at all when depressing the accelerator pedal. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 128,700.

- Chesterton, IN, USA

problem #311

Aug 202014

Freestyle

  • 110,256 miles
Takata inflators surging, transmission bad

- Murfreesboro, TN, USA

problem #310

Mar 252015

Freestyle

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. While driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle jerked and slowed down independently. In addition, the check engine warning light illuminated. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Ellenwood, GA, USA

problem #309

Nov 122015

Freestyle

  • 156,000 miles
We own a 2006 Ford Freestyle and are only the 2nd owners of this car! we bought it in 2011 and are at our boiling point with it! the previous owners had to get the transmission rebuilt, we had owned the car for less than a year and had to get the transmission rebuilt again at almost $4,000! now 3 years after we fixed the transmission we are back at the same juncture where our transmission is causing us a problem again! I took it in because it was overheating and I ended up having to have the radiator and a portion of the water hose replaced at almost $1000! two days later I'm driving and as I pull off from a light I notice the car does a pretty heavy jerk forward! I thought I hit the pedal too hard so I didn't think much of it! but on my way back home each time I take off at a light my car is heaving forward and then it starts jerking a little violently and finally as I'm heading to the shop it starts stalling out and feeling like it's not catching gears to change! I have checked against other complaints for this same car and apparently this is a common issue, unfortunately, it looks like it's time for Ford Motor Company to step up to the plate and stop making your faithful car owners go for broke fixing an issue that is clearly a manufacturing issue/defect! they need to look into all the complaints and issue a recall and fix this problem once and for all free of charge! most people do not have thousands of dollars sitting around to fix their transmission every 3 years! we need our car fixed immediately as this is our only family car! please fix this issue for us!!!!!

- Dallas, GA, USA

problem #308

Oct 272015

Freestyle

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. While driving at 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the transmission failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 150,000.

- Jacksonville, AL, USA

problem #307

Aug 152015

Freestyle

  • 162,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. While driving approximately 50 mph, the vehicle jerked and accelerated when the brake pedal was depressed. The failure recurred ten times. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where the failure was not determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 162,000.

- Spring Hill, FL, USA

problem #306

Sep 302015

Freestyle

  • 176,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. While driving over 60 mph, the vehicle independently downshifted and then jerked forward. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic; however, the mechanic declined to diagnose the failure because he thought it was recalled. The dealer stated that there were no recalls for the failure. The manufacturer was not alerted of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 176,000.

- Campbellsburg, KY, USA

problem #305

Apr 142014

Freestyle

  • 134,000 miles
I purchased a 2006 Ford Freestyle in April 2014. It has been a great truck except for the following problem: When driving at highway speed, the transmission will suddenly drop into low gear. The transmission will not go into any other forward gear without shifting into ┐park┐, shutting down the engine, waiting a minute, and re-starting the engine. This can be quite dangerous on a fast moving freeway! in normal city driving, the truck runs fine. On long road trips, the transmission may do this dozens of times before reaching my destination. It is especially a problem going up long grades. It can also occur when overtaking a slow-moving vehicle, decelerating, and then speeding back up to pass. I checked a forum for Freestyle problems and there have been several instances of others having the same problem. Some paid hundreds of dollars to have their transmissions fixed, but the problem persists. I talked to a Ford mechanic about the problem and he said that the Freestyle (made only in 2006 and 2007) has been known to have problems with the cvt transmissions. He said there is a faulty temperature sensor in the housing of the transmission that sends a problem signal to the computer that ┐locks the transmission into ┐limp┐ mode so the driver can pull over┐. to replace it requires buying the housing because the sensor is part of the housing. But, the company that made the part for Ford went out of business in 2008. So no part has been available. I was told that Ford had contracted another company to make the part in December 2014 and the part would be available in June 2015. In June, I checked, and now the part will not be available until the end of 2015. I complained on the Ford website and they deny any problems with the transmissions so no recall has been issued. I can┐T use the cruise control because the transmission will go off and the high RPM can blow the engine.

- Gardena, CA, USA

problem #304

Aug 172015

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that when the transmission was shifted to the drive position, the contact noticed an abnormal noise underneath the vehicle. The power train warning light illuminated. The contact also stated that while driving, the vehicle would lunge forward. The vehicle was towed to a dealer and diagnosed for transmission throttle failure. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000. Updated 11/18/15 updated 1/14/2016

- Ocean City, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?