Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
90,445 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford Freestyle electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #27

Jan 232012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 50 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was driving to work car picked up speed to where the brakes would not stop then the car just went off.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #26

Jan 052012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
Summary: I was putting gas in my car, as I entered the car after fueling, I was talking to my mother for a moment, and as I was about to place the key in the ignition, there was black smoke coming from the passenger mirror. I got out and ran over, and saw flames. I ripped the black cover with the mirror off, saw that there was an electrical fire. Burning myself, I put the fire out in time to keep it from getting out of control. With the fire safely out, I saw that it was from the led courtesy light assembly at the bottom of the passenger side mirror. It was completely melted and burned. I removed the part, (as well as the one from the driver side for safe measure), and took them to my local Ford dealership so they could report it as a faulty part. The part is the wagner part 71077. According to the driver side (I could not read the passenger side to see if it has the same part number, or if it is different for right and left.) the wire assembly, was burned near the base of the wires where they enter the assembly. Had I not been there to put out the fire, my car would have burnt to the ground!!! my hand is recovering at this time. Updated 09/19/13 the consumer sold the vehicle, a year ago. Updated 09/24/13

- Ottawa, KS, USA

problem #25

Dec 092011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 137,000 miles
Vehicle surges when idling or going slow. Accelerates at times like parking or moving through parking lots or when stopped at stoplights.

- Ararat, VA, USA

problem #24

Jul 132010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car when your at a stop or low speed, in drive or reverse the car will try to lurch. When driving down the highway it's fine but when you come to a stop the wrench light comes on. A couple of times the car wouldn't go right away but eventually it would sometimes after turning the car off and back on again the wrench would be gone and would be able to go. Sounds like sometimes the car isn't shifting right.the lurching is really noticeable when the A/C is on. Can't have the A/C on when at a stop or it will lurch.

- Cicero, IN, USA

problem #23

Jul 042011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Engine revs and vehicle lurches while placing the car in reverse, even with foot firmly on the brakes. Appears to be worse when air conditioner is on. Vehicle has lost virtually all power while driving. When this happens, you can floor the gas peddle but the vehicle won't go over 10-15mph. Pulling over to the side of the road, turning vehicle off, waiting 15 seconds or so, then restarting, seems to reset the vehicle to a more functional level. The vehicle also has an extensive exhaust smell and it is currently at the shop for a $566 repair for the diagnostic exam and that diagnosis indicating that the egr valve needs to be replaced. I called Ford and they do not have a current recall for the egr valve, or throttle body-which seems to be a correlated problem within the two.

- Little Elm, TX, USA

problem #22

Dec 132010

Freestyle

  • 40,000 miles
On multiple occasions my vehicle has lunged when in a stopped position. When backing out of a parking spot, while in reverse, but with the brake still applied the car has lunged feet backwards at a fast rate and nearly caused accidents. This is also true in regards to stopped at a light or stop sign. While in drive with the brake peddle depressed stopped behind another vehicle the car lunged forward a couple feet nearly hitting the car in front of me. I have four children and I feel unsafe in my own car. I don't know when it is going to happen so I have to be prepared for it at all times. Thank god that I haven't had any accidents when this happens. It is such a fast and unexpected movement that my children will scream. This needs to be taken seriously before someone has a serious accident.

- Parkersburg, WV, USA

problem #21

Sep 272011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was parked with car running for about 10 mins. When I went to back up the car, the car lunged backwards while my foot was still engaged on the brake. Car stalled but I was able to re-start car. Wrench and engine lights were on. I drove the car home but the fuel injection was labored and did not accelerate normally and would also accelerate unexpectedly while sitting at traffic light. I was able to get the car home, but check engine light was still lit after several days.

- Ormond Beach, FL, USA

problem #20

Aug 202011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
For about 2 months I had been experiencing some minor surging when car was put into reverse but thought it might have been bad gas or needed a new fuel or air filter. First major incident was in August when I started my car and put in reverse to back out of parking space. Before I took my foot off the brake, the car accelerated backwards and then stalled suddenly. This happened at least 3 times while I was in the parking lot before the car finally began to work properly and I could drive it home again. Both wrench and check engine lights were on.

- Ormond Beach, FL, USA

problem #19

Aug 012011

Freestyle

  • 86,000 miles
With the vehicle in gear, either forward or reverse, and with a foot on the break at idle RPM the engine surges causing the vehicle to lurch. Consequently, the vehicle will either stall or the "wrench" light will illuminate and the vehicle will not accelerate to over 30mph while driving the RPM's up well past normal for that rate of speed. This is also the case while at idle speed (no foot on break...just engine in gear and at idle...as if pulling into or out of a parking space). This has been ongoing, yet intermittent, for a little over a year though now it's a multiple-daily occurence.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #18

Jun 152011

Freestyle

  • 78,500 miles
The car is surging and lunging (see pending investigation from May 2011). Also, when running the A/C it starts to go off and on by itself, then the engine starts to shut off and on, and all gages go to zero, like the car is losing power.

- Bullard, TX, USA

problem #17

Jul 222011

Freestyle

  • 79,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Trying to park my car in a crowded parking lot, the car suddenly surged forward and then stalled. I tried to restart the car and it would not start. I waited a minute, turned off the radio, A/C, etc and then was able to restart. I have had a similar problem on two other occasions since.

- Exeter, ME, USA

problem #16

Jun 152011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
Auto-up/down function is erratic. Battery warning light goes off and on. Sudden acceleration at any speed.

- Howell, MI, USA

problem #15

Jul 222011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 83,247 miles
I have a 2006 Ford Freestyle I pulled off the interstate stopped at a stop sign when I went to pull away the car lunged forward almost hitting another car and died 3 times the check engine light came on. I went to pull back on the interstate and had no power had my foot to the floor and could barely get to 30 mph. I am an automotive tech took the car to work and pulled the codes po61B internal control torque calculation and P2106 throttle control system. After researching the codes I found that alot of people have experienced the same problem with the same codes and had to replace the throttle body. I am replacing the throttle body but realize this is a common and dangerous problem that Ford is not taking care of or even acknowledging there is a problem. Knowing that the throttle bodies were on back order not long ago means to me they are in big demand so there must be a problem.

- Marion, IA, USA

problem #14

Jul 172010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
Early July 2010 car would surge after started when placed into drive or reverse. July 17,2010 about 95 degrees ambient. Driving 55 mph car started to lose power and stall. Restarted and it went into limp mode with check engine light and occasional surges. I found a Ford dealer about 5 miles away. Diagnosis was a bad mass air flow sensor. Replaced and we were on our way again. Early June 2011 it was surging after starting when placed in drive or reverse. June 11,2011. Car stalled and went into limp mode again with check engine light on. Bought a new mass air flow sensor, installed it myself and cleared the code. July 5,2011 while driving to baltimore at 65 mph and 100 degree ambient, car stalled, restarted and it went into limp mode with check engine light on. I found a parking lot with shade and let it idle for about 20 minutes. Shut it off and restarted. Check engine light was off and it ran fine to baltimore. This appears to be an issue with the mass air flow circuit. NHTSA cannot ignore this flaw.

- Dillsburg, PA, USA

problem #13

Jul 162001

Freestyle

  • 124,600 miles
While putting car in reverse car surged backwards and the check engine wrench came on. Drove car home approx. Five blocks and shut car off because car was running rough. Started car back up and car ran smooth and the check engine wrench was off. I sat in parking lot for approx. Five minutes while my wife was shopping with car running and the air conditioning on. This is the second time in the last month that this car has done this. Both with the same issues. The car surges, then runs rough, then the check engine wrench comes on, then when you shut the car off and restart it the car runs smooth and the check engine wrench shuts off.

- Westland, MI, USA

problem #12

Jul 052011

Freestyle

  • 138,000 miles
My 2006 Ford Freestyle has an issue where the RPM stays at 1500 allowing my vehicle to move at speeds of 25 - 30 mph with my foot off of the gas pedal. While stopped at a traffic light, the RPM was at 1500 then dropped all of a sudden causing the engine to almost stall. The rpms then jumped up again to avoid the engine stall causing my vehicle to move forward. In researching possible causes on the internet, I found that many Ford owners have experienced the same issue and had to replace the throttle body (throttle position sensor). I called Ford customer service and despite the numerous consumer complaints, there was no recall or no issue reported related to this serious acceleration issue. I was told to take the vehicle to my local dealer, have it repaired, and if Ford decided to put out a recall that I may be reimbursed for this issue. My concern with Ford's approach is that if every owner pays for this repair without anyone in the consumer safety board being made aware of this that there will be no recall. Someone could get injured or killed with such a serious vehicle defect.

- Newton, NJ, USA

problem #11

Dec 142010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
2 months in (cruise control causes car to shut down) continues to do so when used at 35 mph or less. 3 mo. In (car looses power and surges randomly mainly in parking mode. Also power lost while driving down road between 30 mph and 60 mph 6 months in all lights surge when used. A/C usage agitates all symptoms but does not have to be in use for occurrence. One or all occurrences happen everytime driven, air filter changed(no help) car is now harder to start. Plans for throttle body cleaning in the next week though. Will update on results.

- Herndon, KY, USA

problem #10

Jun 012010

Freestyle

  • miles
June 2010 I started having problems with the vehicle lurching forward/backward while in gear and foot firmly on brake. The car would stall and I would have to wait 5-10 minutes to re-start. It seemed to be worse when the A/C was running. Still having problems today. Took the vehicle to dick masheter Ford in columbus, oh per Ford's customer service. They ran a diagnostic test (with a waived fee per Ford) and after letting the vehicle and A/C run for awhile they did notice a "light serge at idle in gear with A/C on and turning at the same time". I do not feel safe driving the vehicle when the A/C needs to be ran. It will lurch a good foot if not more when it is at its worst.

- Reynoldsburg, OH, USA

problem #9

Apr 052011

Freestyle

  • 87,000 miles
My 2006 Ford Freestyle has been giving a warning titled "AWD malfunction". no mechanic can find a problem and the warning comes on intermittently. Evidently it is a flaw in the electronic system.

- Fairfield, CT, USA

problem #8

Nov 022010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
I have a 2006 Ford Freestyle. Over the past 4-6 months I have noticed the car surging and lurching forward after coming to a complete stop with my foot still completely on the brake. I have almost collided with vehicles in front of me as well as pedestrians in the crosswalk! this also happens when the car is in reverse backing out of the driveway and stopping to shift into drive. The car will surge or lurch backwards and if you are not covering the brake while in drive or reverse, the car will accelerate without touching the gas pedal. I took the vehicle to frontier Ford in san jose, ca and the mechanic diagnosed this problem as a bad throttle body. From my research, this is a widespread problem with this make & model vehicle. I believe this problem may very well lead to a serious tragedy if this common problem is not recalled. Please help us owners of these cars remain safe and not kill someone because of this failure! a recall is badly needed !!!

- Santa Clara, CA, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?