Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
25 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,887 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford Freestyle engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 17 of 30)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #267

Jul 222011

Freestyle

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was backing out of a parking place when my Freestyle lunged backward, narrowly missing people walking. The red 'wrench' light came on indicating there was an engine problem. The motor ran very rough but we did get to our destination. I remember reading an article regarding this issue with the Freestyle, lunging forward or backward. I researched this and concluded many other Freestyle owners have had the same problem. We did have this problem corrected at a hefty price of $700. Hopefully, the Ford Motor Company will recall these Freestyles before a fatal accident occurs.

- Walhalla, MI, USA

problem #266

Jul 232011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 58,565 miles
I own a 2006 Ford Freestyle and as I was in rush hour traffic on a very hot day with the A/C on, my car suddenly lunged forward and I had to slam on breaks to prevent a rear end collision with the car in front of me. The car then shut off and the check engine light and wrench light went on. I have taken the car to a local mechanic for diagnostic and received code for a faulty throttle body. This did not surprise me as I have heard of this problem from other Freestyle owners on edmonds website. My car has 59,000 miles. This a dangerous situation and this car should be recalled for this!

- Elmwood Park, NJ, USA

problem #265

Jun 012010

Freestyle

  • 70,000 miles
Vehicle lunges forward when at a stop with foot on brake. Also happens when going into a parking space in forward and when backing out in reverse. This happened a few times last summer. Never happened all winter. Now has been doing it regularly this summer. The closest we came to an accident was in our garage. Barely got it stopped before hitting the wall. My son and a friend has the same vehicle and both of them does it also. I don't know what component is involved for sure. I explained the symptoms to my service advisor at my Ford dealer he said it could be the throttle body which would be about $800 repair. I have been trying to hold out to see if there would be a recall.

- St. Peters, MO, USA

problem #264

Apr 142011

Freestyle

  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle would lunge forward or backward, depending on whether it was in drive or reverse. An authorized dealer was notified and stated that there were no recalls related to the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 58,000. Updated 08/31/11 updated 2/21/12

- Taylors, SC, USA

problem #263

Jun 302011

Freestyle

  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle would suddenly accelerate while the brakes were depressed or while the vehicle was sitting idle. The contact also stated that the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer two years ago where the throttle body was replaced. The vehicle was taken back to an authorized dealer where they were unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 94,000 and the current mileage was 152,000. Ford has sense been notified. Gets worse the hotter the temp outside gets. Updated 09/29/2011

- Gower, MO, USA

problem #262

Jul 262011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that whenever the air conditioner was activated, the vehicle would lunge forward or backward, depending on whether the vehicle was in drive or reverse. On one occasion, the vehicle lunged forward and nearly crashed. The check engine light illuminated on the instrument panel and the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the contact was informed that the throttle body was faulty. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and advised the contact to take the vehicle to a dealer. The failure mileage was 75,000. Updated 08/15/11 updated 08/24/11

- Crouse, NC, USA

problem #261

Jan 012010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while reversing and attempting to park the vehicle with the brakes engaged, the vehicle surged forward. The gear was then shifted into drive and the vehicle stalled. The failure was experienced numerous times. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they were unable to diagnose the failure, but the mass air flow sensor was replaced. The failure continued. The vehicle was not taken back for additional repairs. The failure mileage was 80,000 and the current mileage was 102,000. Updated 8/29/11 since the initial recall, the throttle body was cleaned. Updated 10/03/11

- Elizabethtown , PA, USA

problem #260

May 252011

Freestyle

  • 134,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact started the ignition and while slightly turning the steering wheel and applying the brake pedal, the vehicle unexpectedly lunged forward. Also, there was an abnormal increase in engine rpms. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the throttle body was replaced. The acceleration problem was a continuous failure which recurred whenever the vehicle was in operation. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 134,000.

- Kenersville, NC, USA

problem #259

Jul 122011

Freestyle

  • miles
Vehicle accelerates when the air conditioner is on. It accelerates on its own and there have been a few occasions when I have almost rear-ended people. I now know that I have to stay more than the usual distance from the car ahead of me, in order to avoid a collision. This happens all the time when the air conditioner is on. This is not an occasional occurrence. At times, it also seems like the car is going to stale out. I have not taken it to the dealership or to a repair shop, due to a lack of funds to try to diagnose and correct the issue.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #258

Jun 272011

Freestyle

  • 104,679 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle would surge forward or backward, if you were in drive or reverse, when pressure was released from the brake pedal. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was also not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 104,679.

- Belgrade, MT, USA

problem #257

Jun 302011

Freestyle

  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while attempting to park at 2 mph, the brakes were applied and the vehicle suddenly accelerated for six feet without warning. The failure occurred on six different occasions. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they were unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 91,000.

- Port St. Lucie, FL, USA

problem #256

Apr 012011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
2006 Ford Freestyle lurches when coming to a stop or departing from a stop. To prevent the car from involuntarily moving, heavy brake pressure is required. These events started in April 2011 when vehicle had approximately 97,000 miles on it (26 July 2011 odometer reading 99,150 miles). Symptoms occur every time the vehicle is put into reverse; less frequent when in forward gears.

- Biloxi, MS, USA

problem #255

Jul 242011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles
While driving into a driveway, my 2006 Ford Freestyle, suddenly revved and lurched forward. I had to compress the brakes hard to stop the car from hitting another car. Later that day, I was in a drive thru (stopped) and the car revved up and lurched forward again. Both times the ac was on full blast and the temp outside was over 100. After taking it into Ford today, they found no codes but assume it's the throttle body. Although I have a of the line Ford warranty, it doesn't include this part. The part alone was almost 600 dollars. Since there are so many near misses with the Ford Freestyles having the same mechanical problem, Ford should be concerned. It causes quite a scare to have your vehicle do this while you are in such a slow mode. Updated IVOQ 09/08/11... updated 10/26/11 updated 11/28/11

- North Charleston, SC, USA

problem #254

Jul 122010

Freestyle

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated while driving into a car wash the vehicle surged forward almost hitting a pedestrian. The contact stated the failure occurred two dozen times. The air conditioner was in use when the vehicle surged forward. The contact had not taken the vehicle to a dealer or called the manufacturer but stated there were numerous complaints regarding surging for his year, make and model. The failure mileage was 68,000.

- Lee Summit, MO, USA

problem #253

Mar 212010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. While switching the gear shift from park to drive the vehicle suddenly lunged forward. The contact had to apply excessive force to the brake pedal in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle also lunged forward and stalled when making a left or right turn. The engine warning light illuminated on the instrument panel intermittently. The contact stated the failure occurred more frequently when the air conditioner was activated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated the ECM needed to be updated. The ECM was reprogrammed and the failure recurred a month later. The vehicle was not repaired. There was an open investigation under NHTSA action number: PE11018 (vehicle speed control) that may be related to the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 08/31/11 the consumer also stated the sudden acceleration happened when the vehicle was in put in rverese. Updated 09/07/11

- Dyersburg, TN, USA

problem #252

Jun 272011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 56,280 miles
Car surged forward after pulling into a parking spot pressed brake and car engine revved and moved forward and hit curb and caused damage to lower finder and right tire. Had to replace tire on right front passenger side and finder still cracked. Now car will rev up without pushing gas in drive and reverse up to 6 feet at a time then stall when brake is pressed. About ran over a child when they got out for practice. Ford dealership said no problems were found and have issues with throttle body and said it might do the same thing and cost $800. Now it does it all the time and also will lose speed when backing out on a road to take off will not get over 30 mph. Very dangerous.

- Lima, OH, USA

problem #251

Jul 232011

Freestyle

  • 89,000 miles
Two separate incidents of Ford Freestyle engine revving without the driver's foot on the gas pedal. On 7/17/11 car lurched forward after engine revved as we were pulling into a restaurant drive through. Almost rear ended vehicle in front of us. On 7/23/11 car lurched backward after engine revved as we were backing up from a parking spot. Check engine light came on immediately following and now will not turn off. In both cases, the steering wheel was turned quite a bit but in opposite directions. Temperature this entire week has been well over 95 degrees with heat index over 105 so air conditioning was turned on maximum for front and back areas of the vehicle. We were extremely fortunate no one got hurt in either incident.

- Warrensburg, MO, USA

problem #250

Jul 212011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 77,363 miles
2006 Ford Freestyle lunged forward suddenly while going thru a bank drive thru. It then stalled. After restarting the vehicle it would barely move. Then it lunged forward again and stalled. The wrench light was on and I was able to get it to a Ford dealership where it was diagnosed as needing a throttle body. That very night after "being fixed" the wrench light appeared again but there was no lunging or stalling. This is a serious safety issue and Ford needs to address it.

- Mertztown, PA, USA

problem #249

Jul 122011

Freestyle

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. While driving, the contact stated that the vehicle would surge back and forth and would stall sporadically. The dealer diagnosed that the throttle body needed to be replaced and the vehicle was remedied. The contact was uncertain if the manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 25,000 and the current mileage was 54,133.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #248

Jun 082011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
Car lunges while backing of driving forward at slow speeds without for on accelerator peddle. Have hit a wooden pole causing minor damage to rear bumper. Surges seams worse with ac on or turning stering wheel sharply.

- Enon, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?