Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
25 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,887 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford Freestyle engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 20 of 30)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #207

Jul 022011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Saturday, July 2, 2011 we had been driving the car for about 40 minutes to our destination when the vehicle started acting up at a stop. I was idling at a stop with my foot on the brake when the vehicle suddenly increased rpms to 3 4K. I had to turn the car off to get it to stop. The indicator light that looks like a wrench and an engine came on during this time. I had a difficult time starting the vehicle shortly after tuning it off. The temperature on that day was right at 100 degrees and I had the air conditioner running while driving and at the stop when this occured.

- O'fallon, MO, USA

problem #206

Jan 052011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated while driving at low speeds in forward or reverse the vehicle would suddenly lunge in either direction. He also, noticed that while driving at various speeds the RPM's would increase excessively. The vehicle was not inspected nor had it been repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 65,000. Updated 08/31/2011

- Phoenixville, PA, USA

problem #205

May 052011

Freestyle

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated while driving at low speeds and driving into a parking space, he noticed that the RPM's would increase excessively. When his foot was also on the brake pedal the vehicle seemed to lunge forward as well. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who had not given the contact a diagnosis. The failure mileage was approximately 85,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 10/05/2011

- Wake Forrest, NC, USA

problem #204

Jun 032011

Freestyle

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated the vehicle experienced sudden acceleration several times. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and they changed the codes on the vehicles computer, but the problem still persists. The failure mileage was 90,000 and the current mileage was 93,444.

- Danville, KY, USA

problem #203

Jun 182011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated while driving in reverse with the brake pedal depressed the vehicle suddenly accelerated the check engine light illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who performed a diagnostic test that located the failure within the throttle body and it was replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 61,000 and the current mileage was 61,300. The consumer stated the wrench light illuminated, and the vehicle surged while in reverse and then stalled. Updated 09/01/11

- Kernersville, NC, USA

problem #202

Jul 022011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 99,722 miles
When driving my 2006 Ford Freestyle when running the air conditioning, the vehicle will lunge either in drive or reverse. I have not taken this in yet to be looked at, but is seeming to worsen. I am in fear for my children, family and whom ever happens to cross the path of this vehicle when it "acts up". I have even had it happen at stop signs and red lights. I am afraid my car will run someone over or Ram into another vehicle at its discretion. There needs to be a recall on this vehicle to resolve this problem long term. The vehicle is becoming unsafe to drive. This problem happens randomly without any pre-indicators as to when it will occur, except for the vehicle RPM's revving immediately before it happens.

- Huffman, TX, USA

problem #201

Jan 012010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Lunging problem for 2006 Ford Freestyle - I just went to the Ford website to check for any recalls because we are experiencing a lunging problem. The official website does not list one but I found info listed thru your website with the same issue. It does happen at low speeds, we couldn't figure it out and we've spent money already trying to stop the issue but it keeps happening, it first happened about a year and a half ago and we replaced the throttle body. Normally it's from going from park to reverse or from park forward. It accelerates when you don't have your foot on the pedal. The issue is starting to get worse.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #200

Jul 012011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph the vehicle stalled. Upon restart, the vehicle operated as normal. A check engine light was also illuminating on the instrument panel upon restart. The contact also stated that the vehicle was experiencing a recurring failure in which it would momentarily surge forward. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was in the process of being repaired. The failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 08/01/11 the consumer stated he had an accident last year in a private parking lot. The consumer stated the vehicle surged when it was placed into gear. The throttle body was replaced in 2011. Updated 01/30/12

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #199

Jun 142011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 85,970 miles
My 2006 Ford Freestyle is lunging away from me at slow speeds and even when my foot is on the pedal. The wrench indicator has come on twice, but neither of the mechanics I have taken it to have been able to retrieve the codes. I am so scared I'm going to hit another vehicle, a person, or drive into my garage wall when I'm parking. The rpms are staying up even when I ease off the gas.

- Blanco, TX, USA

problem #198

Jan 162011

Freestyle

  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle suddenly accelerated while the brakes were applied. The contact was unable to stop the vehicle and crashed into a drive-thru sign. The vehicle was not destroyed and a police report was filed. The contact stated that the vehicle would lunge forward sporadically, especially when the air conditioner was activated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where the dealer was unable to duplicate or locate a failure. The contact stated that the sudden acceleration failure was becoming worse over time and was concerned with the possibility of another crash. The failure mileage was 103,000.

- Rogers, AR, USA

problem #197

Jul 092009

Freestyle

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated whenever the vehicle was at a complete stop with the air conditioner in operation and the brake pedal depressed, the vehicle would accelerate abnormally. The throttle body was replaced in 2009 under the extended service warranty yet the vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired for the most recent failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact referecned an investigation related to the defect under NHTSA action number: PE11018 (vehicle speed control). The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Wharton, TX, USA

problem #196

Apr 102011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Vehicle lunges - noticed lunging in April 2011. When vehicle is ignited and put in park or foot is applied to brake, after driving, vehicle lunges forward - RPM register can rev up to at least "3" or above and then rev down to normal idle. Lunging is worse and more powerful if ac is on. Vehicle has also lunged in reverse when vehicle is ignited and put in reverse while foot is applied to brake. This failure described above, happens each time the car is driven. We have begun turning off the ac when approaching stops and during stops. This tactic causes the lunging to not be as powerful - put is does not correct the problem. No parts have been replaced or repaired. Have not taken the vehicle to a repair-place as personal budget restricts this during some summer months.

- Willow Spring, NC, USA

problem #195

Jun 292011

Freestyle

  • 47,000 miles
I have a 2006 Ford Freestyle that has recently started "lurching" forward, despite having the brake pedal depressed. This seems to occur at low speeds (I.e. - parking a car). The issue seems to appear more frequently when the car/temperature is hot.

- Lebanon, TN, USA

problem #194

May 202009

Freestyle

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. While driving approximately 5 mph into a parking space, the vehicle began to lunge forward unexpectedly when pressure was applied to the brake pedal. The failure occurred on five separate occasions during the time the air conditioner was activated. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated the throttle body would need to be replaced. The vehicle was in the process of being repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Grovetown, GA, USA

problem #193

May 152011

Freestyle

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that when she placed the vehicle in reverse or park the engine rpms would increase and the vehicle would lunge forward. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who refused to diagnose the failure unless the contact paid for the diagnostic test. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 108,000 and the current mileage was 110,000. Updated 09/19/11 the consumer stated the car lurches forward and reverse and the consumer had to slam on the brake to keep the vehicle from jumping. Also, when the consumer was attempting to park, the vehicle lurched forward and she hit a fence causing cosmetic damage. Updated 10/03/11

- Troy , MI, USA

problem #192

Jun 012011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
Several months ago car started lunging when backing out of garage. Last week when trying to back out of tight parking place in parking garage car lunged, hit parking garage wall and died. Yesterday when trying to make right turn onto major street out of a parking lot and with several cars behind me, car lunged and died. The last 2 incidents happened when A/C was on and outside temperatures over 100. Lunging out of garage has happened with various temperatures.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #191

Jun 142011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while stopped, the vehicle momentarily surged forward. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. The contact also stated that a similar failure occurred once before. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 41,000. Updated 09/15/11 the consumer also stated the vehicle would lung forward while driving down the road. Updated 09/21/11

- Lakeland , FL, USA

problem #190

May 052011

Freestyle

  • 56,000 miles
The automobile surges when initialing engaging into either reverse or drive. Extreme pressure needs to be applied to the break to prevent the car from surging 5 to 10 feet, either backwards or forwards depending on which gear is selected. Took the car to danvers Ford in danvers, Massachusetts. There service manager stated he had not heard of any surging problems. No error codes were detected. He contacted Ford Motor Company and the recommended the "throttle body" be replaced. For obvious safety reasons reasons, we complied and replaced the throttle body at an out-of-pocket expense to us of roughly $650.

- Marblehead, MA, USA

problem #189

Jun 232011

Freestyle

  • miles
My 2006 Ford Freestyle is having surging problems. Every time while at a stop light, at turns, or when backing my car surges. It is very scary an I am afraid I am going to hit someone or runover someone. I was at drive through at mcdonald's today and my car surged and came inches from hitting a child. This has got to stop. After researching this I am not the only one having this problem. This is very scary and I am frustrated that this many people have had such a dangerous problem and it hasn't been addressed or recalled. This has to be taken care of before someone his hurt or killed because of Ford's neglect.

- Abilene, TX, USA

problem #188

Jun 182011

Freestyle

  • 94,200 miles
When backing out of the garage in reverse, the engine revved wildly causing a big increase in acceleration backwards. Thankfully I slammed on the brakes to stop (before I clipped the side of the garage) and put the car in neutral to see if the revving would continue...it did. For the next minute or so, the engine revved from about 800 rpms to 2500 rpms in neutral, with my foot on the brake....the engine acted the same way in neutral as it did in reverse (increased rpms = inadvertent acceleration). After a minute, I cautiously continued backing out and everything was ok then. Other conditions to consider in your evaluation: -it was hot outside (100 degrees) -engine was warm from previously running errands -ac on -wheels turned slightly -two adults and 3 children in the vehicle at the time

- Denton, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?