Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
25 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,887 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford Freestyle engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 23 of 30)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #147

Jul 172010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that when he started the vehicle and it was idle, the vehicle would suddenly surge or lunge forward. He had to quickly apply the brakes in order to avoid a crash. The failure occurred at least once a month. The vehicle was inspected by an authorized dealer who stated the throttle body was the cause of failure but could not duplicate the failure. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The current mileage was approximately 72,000. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000. Updated 06/24/11 *bfupdated 11/23/11

- Britton, MI, USA

problem #146

Apr 152011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
2006 Ford Freestyle ([xxx]) lunges forward when the brake pedal is released. Almost rearended vehicle in front of me. It appears this happens more frequently when going really slow in drive thru lanes and trying to park in parking lots. I feel this is a major problem that needs immediate attention. I have become very learning of driving it more than necessary with my kids inside the car. I feel it is not meeting the safety standards that Ford usually stands behind. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Woodbury, TN, USA

problem #145

May 172010

Freestyle

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated while waiting at a traffic light, the vehicle would suddenly lunge forward. The failure also occurred while driving various speeds and the vehicle would accelerate excessively and become uncontrollable. The vehicle was not inspected by a dealer nor had it been repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and advised her that there were no related recalls. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Belton, SC, USA

problem #144

Apr 012011

Freestyle

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that when he removed his foot off of the brake pedal the vehicle would lunge forward while in drive and backwards while in reverse. The vehicle was not taken to a dealership for inspection. The failure mileage was 50,000. The current mileage was 51,000.

- Avon Park, FL, USA

problem #143

Aug 102008

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 53,672 miles
I have been having trouble with my car lunging frontwards and backwards. I first thought it was an issue when the car had been in idle for a long period of time but I have now noticed it happening more frequently upon initial start and after being in idle with the heat or air running. This is a very dangerous situation especially in a parking lot or drive way where there are other vehicles parked closely or people walking near by.

- London, KY, USA

problem #142

Jan 012011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
I am having the lunging problem on my Ford Freestyle. It happens almost daily at different times. It happens when I try to park or back out of a park or driving at low speeds.

- Jonesboro, GA, USA

problem #141

May 132011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Ford Freestyle started trying to drive forward on its own. Brakes were applied, but you could still feel it pulling and the vehicle started rocking back and forth for a few seconds. We have owned the vehicle for almost 3 months and this was the first time. It was a hot day and the ac was on as reported by other owners of this same vehicle. Since seeing the report this morning I have decided not to run the ac for the time being while the investigation continues. There needs to be a recall because sudden lunging could be very dangerous. I thought maybe it was an isolated incident when my wife told me what had happened, but it appears it is common.

- Pleasant Grove, UT, USA

problem #140

Apr 302011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 44,900 miles
On or about Saturday, April 30, 2011 I was driving my 2006 Ford Freestyle. I had been driving at speeds of about 40 mph for about a half hour and was entering onto the highway. I was coming around the onramp curve and was not pressing on the gas. I felt the car accelerate which at first I attributed to a slight downhill pitch in the highway. I did hear a ¿revving¿ sound typical of when I would be accelerating to enter the highway, but since I was not pressing on the gas I assumed that it was the sound of the car next to me. As the road began to rise in pitch, I prepared to step on the gas ¿ but when I went to step on the pedal, it was not within the normal reach of my foot. At that moment, I realized that the car was continuing to accelerate even uphill and that the revving sound was indeed coming from my own car, even though I was not pressing on the gas at all. I scooted forward on the seat a bit to try to reach the gas pedal and realized the gas pedal was somehow pulled completely down to the floor. I tried not to panic and was considering whether I should shift into neutral. But then I realized that my first course of action should be to try the brake. As soon as I did, the revving stopped and the accelerator returned to its normal position. I told my husband, who was in the back seat, what just happened and he suggested I check the floor mat. I pulled over into the breakdown lane. I could see that the floor mat was twisted (rather than going straight, it was turned to the right by about 20 degrees), so when I pulled it to straighten it I did get a tiny bit of resistance initially, as though maybe the floor mat had been caught in the pedal. However, the resistance was small. While it did seem possible that the mat could have been holding the pedal in place if I had been pressing on the pedal, I could not understand how it could "pull" the pedal down to the floor out of my reach. My mechanic could see no problems. Is this related to the lunging?

- Haverhill, MA, USA

problem #139

Jul 192010

Freestyle

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle would sporadically accelerate when driving at low speeds. The contact had to forcefully depress the brake pedal and shift into neutral to avoid a crash. The failure was most prominent when the air conditioner was activated and there were warmer weather temperatures. The vehicle was not inspected or repaired and the manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The current mileage was approximately 144,000 and the failure mileage was approximately 125,000.

- Bloomsburg, PA, USA

problem #138

Jun 092009

Freestyle

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while idling, the vehicle would rapidly accelerate without intention. When pressure was firmly applied to the brake pedal, the vehicle would come to a stop. The vehicle was taken to an independent auto shop and authorized dealer where both were unable to determine the cause of failure. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was made aware of the unintended acceleration failure. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000.

- Piedmont , SC, USA

problem #137

Jan 062010

Freestyle

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle has, on numerous occasions, lunged forward while idling. The rpms all the sudden rev up and the car lurches forward or back depending on the gear. I have noticed this mostly while parking or backing out of a parking place. Braking hard stops the car, but you can still hear the engine revving.

- Spring Lake, NC, USA

problem #136

Jul 312010

Freestyle

  • 85,000 miles
When placed in reverse or drive vehicle suddenly and unexpectedly accelerated. This happens even when driver's foot is on the brake petal and usually when A/C is on. Typically happens when the car is first started and placed into gear but will happen even if car has been running a while, stopped, and changed into a different gear.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #135

Jul 242010

Freestyle

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while in the idle position, the vehicle suddenly lunged forward. She forcefully applied the brake pedal to stop the vehicle. The failure occurred approximately five to six times. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop where it was being inspected. The vehicle had not been repaired. The contact called the manufacturer who filed a complaint about the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The current mileage was approximately 81,000. The failure mileage was approximately 75,000.

- Bussey, IA, USA

problem #134

Mar 172011

Freestyle

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle lunged forward and would suddenly accelerate. On one occasion, it lunged so forcefully that it went over a curb. The air conditioner compressor also failed. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the throttle body sensor was replaced. The manufacturer had not been notified. The VIN was unavailable. The current mileage was approximately 120,000. The failure mileage was approximately 100,000.

- Stillwater, OK, USA

problem #133

Jan 012008

Freestyle

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated the vehicle would momentarily surge forward while driving approximately 5 mph. The failure recurred intermittently while driving and applying the brakes at low speeds. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they were unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 25,000 and the current mileage was 76,041.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #132

Aug 092007

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,141 miles
I purchased 2006 Ford Freestyle in April 2007 with 16823 miles. On August 9, 2007 I took the car back to dealership with an acceleration problem when put in drive or reverse. Dealership performed eec test no codes detected. July 23, 2008 took the car to an auto repair they found codes P21068 and P061B looked up the codes and gave me information from Ford on recall for these codes the auto repair suggested I go back to dealership with the recall info. July 28, 2008 took car back to dealership with same issue of lunging diagnostic check showed code P061B and P2106. They replaced valve after keeping my car for 3 weeks I had to pay for part of the cost. April 21, 2009 II took car back with ac problem paid $611 for ac condenser later found out there was a recall on ac that the dealership did not tell me. June 22, 2010 took the car back to dealership with the same issue was told it was the trottle body and I would have to pay for the repair. I called Ford complaint dept and was told there was no fix for my problem. I continue top have problems with the car lunging updated 06/24/11 updated IVOQ. 06/30/11

- Laurel, MS, USA

problem #131

May 152010

Freestyle

  • 82,247 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. While attempting to drive in reverse the contact stated the vehicle lunged backwards. The contact also stated the vehicle stalled approximately ten times at low speeds. The failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technicians stated the throttle control and fuel module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. There was an open investigation under NHTSA action number PE11018 (vehicle speed control) that may be related to the failure the contact experienced.the approximate failure mileage was 82,247. Updated 07/20/11 updated 2/29/12

- Los Lunes, NM, USA

problem #130

May 162011

Freestyle

  • miles
This is the same as PE11018, but is for the 2006 model year. My Freestyle lunges, especially in reverse at slow speeds. Pressing firmly on the brake brings it to a stop like normal.

- Rapid City, SD, USA

problem #129

Jan 012007

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated while the vehicle was idle it lunged forward. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance since the warranty had expired. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 10,000 and current mileage was 100,000. Updated 06/17/11 updated 06/21/11

- Jackson , MS, USA

problem #128

Aug 172010

Freestyle

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated while driving in reverse, the vehicle suddenly accelerated; it also lunged forward at times. She forcefully applied the brakes to avoid a crash. The contact believed that the failure only occurred when it was hot outside. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop but the mechanic could not find the root of the problem. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The current mileage was 126,550. The failure mileage was approximately 90,000.

- New Bremen, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?