Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,220 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Freestyle drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 11 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #45

Jun 132011


  • miles


I am filing a complaint against the Ford "Freestyle" model yr. 2007. I purchased the car in December 2009 from a reputable used car dealership. I discovered from the salesman there were only a few left as the car had been discontinued by Ford. What began happening almost immediately, I noticed the car would, as I first described, "popped" when I let off the brake from an idle, and would surge forward. I told my husband about the problem he told me to wait and see if the problem would work out. But, it became far more dramatic when I was in "carpool" even after turning off the ac (a problem in tx.), the car would surge forward so quickly my children would be afraid as well. I was terrified because there are many children and I was afraid that I would lose control. (this is a very scary scenario). My husband took the car to the Ford dealership soon thereafter where we were told after a few days of diagnostics that the car had no identifiable issues. The problem has never 'corrected' itself and has worsened. I have had several 'near misses' for traffic accidents as a result. I have a very real and scary problem and I feel my children are at risk.

- Richardson, TX, USA

problem #44

Jun 112011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 60,527 miles
2007 Ford Freestyle; continual surging forward and backward; stalling; inability to accelerate; wrench and engine lights come on; unable to repair because everytime it happens, by the time I get it into service, it is running well again. More recently spoke with service after occurrence and he is very familiar with the problem, repairs them all the time so I am scheduled for an $800 throttle body replacement tomorrow; the problem leaves me vulnerable while driving so I am unable to wait for recall, it needs to be replaced immediately.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #43

Jun 082011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
2007 Ford Freestyle surges up to 2000 RPM when slowly turning into a parking space, driveway, etc. Brakes have to be forcefully applied to avoid the vehicle surging forward and hitting something or someone.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #42

Apr 012010


  • 36,000 miles


This started last year, when warm weather started, tried to back up after vehicle had been idling for awhile, Freestyle stalled out and tried to jump, about three times in a row, before we could get in drive. This seems to be an on going intermittent problem that happens in warm weather. Took a friend to the hospital on 05/25/11. Drove to East gate from my house to pick her up, stopped at fast food place, had to wait for food, noticed gauge needles all jumped up and then fell back down while waiting w/A/C and engine running in park. Pulled out, went to downtown cincinnati, got into parking garage, vehicle started to lurch when I took my foot from the brake. I slammed both feet on brake, to keep from hitting anyone, or anything, vehicle stalled. I restarted, and kept both feet on the brake, the vehicle again tried to lurch out, and then died. This happen 3 or 4 times in succession, finally got vehicle under control, and parked it. It was parked about 30 minutes, drove back to eastgate, and then home. Wrench and transmission light came on at time of incident. It was still on when I got home. It went off after a couple of days. On 5/30/11, dropped off friend from work, on my way home, talked in car for awhile with engine and A/C running while in park. Upon driving to main road, vehicle stalled, restarted no acceleration, when I hit the gas, vehicle stalled again. Pulled over to side, turned everything off, removed key, restarted and drove home. Dealership called today, said it was the throttle body and will cost me about $600 to install a new throttle body. This is a safety issue that many people are having, after reading info on updated 06/0/8/11

- Batavia, OH, USA

problem #41

May 212011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
Throttle body on 2007 Ford Freestyle and transmission bad and car kept lunging forward. Dealership will repair but there had been many with the same problem.

- Dearborn Heights, MI, USA

problem #40

Jul 092010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
I own a 2007 Ford Freestyle sel and this event has happened 5 times within the last year. After starting the vehicle and turning on the air conditioning, when the car is shifted from park to either reverse or drive, the car's engine will surge and immediately the service engine light as well as another indicator light will come on. There were two occasions where my wife told me that if she had not had her foot firmly on the brake pedal, she would have struck another vehicle. Fortunately that did not happen. I've read that this is a persistent problem with this make and model of vehicle. I've also read that the repair for this is quite expensive. My wife and I both love this vehicle and wish to keep it.

- Warner Robins, GA, USA

problem #39

Jan 082009

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles


The engine surges when idling as well as lurches forward (while in drive thru lane) and it lurches in reverse. It is a major concern when parking and backing out of said location. It has already caused me to hit a concrete pillar in the parking garage!

- Dearborn, MI, USA

problem #38

May 302011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
2007 Ford Freestyle that lunges forward or backward depending on what gear it is in. I saw where Ford was looking into this for a possible recall, mine does this on occasion. But 5/30/11 mine did it very badly and the car died. The check engine light and transmission light both came on. I did get the car started and back into a parking spot, with it lunging forward and my foot on the brake. The car is at carmax now as I had bought the extended warranty they offer. Waiting on the outcome.

- Spring Hill, TN, USA

problem #37

May 142011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 52,500 miles
My car after being in park, when placed into drive lurched forward. Once I started the engine did not seem to go quite right and I had an orange wrench light appear. I pulled over and turned off car and the light was off when I restarted it and it acted fine. I have had 3 subsequent similar incidences...the lurches have had me come close to hitting a car and a person. The light always goes away when I turn off the car and turn it right back on.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #36

May 152011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Car lunges accelerates forward and backwards while driving in and out of driveway or parking spaces. It has happened numerous times over the last year.

- Huntington Woods, MI, USA

problem #35

Jul 122010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 46,901 miles


I own a 2007 Ford Freestyle that was surging when in drive or reverse I had to always make sure that I kept my foot on the brake until the surge was over it would also stall the engine sometimes when it surged. I took it into the dealer and was told it was the throttle body and had to wait two weeks for the part to come in. The dealer provided me with a loaner because I didn't feel safe driving the car because it was becoming worse. I would shake you around at times the surge was so strong. It seemed ok when we picked it up but I have put about 8000 mile on it since the repair and I am starting to notice that it is starting to act up again not to a bad point yet but that is how it started out the first time. The repair was $650 and it is looking like it will have to be repaired again.

- Catlettsburg, KY, USA

problem #34

May 062011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 59,080 miles
Our 2007 Ford Freestyle is exhibiting vehicle lunging and/or engine revving when a foot is not on the accelerator, and occasionally at low speed when it is.. this is now occurring daily, and has worsened since having one repair (replaced engine/transmission mount) done last week.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #33

Apr 172010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
My 2007 Ford Freestyle will jump forward or backward when put into gear. It is worse when the airconditoner is on or if you have had your foot on the break while the car is in gear. At times when it jumps it causes the car to go dead and it will have to be restarted. This has been happening since we bought the car in 2010.

- Wellington, AL, USA

problem #32

Jan 152011


  • 46,000 miles
2007 Ford Freestyle surging. Our Freestyle has the surging issue. First started last year when we turned on the air, the Ford surged and threw 2 rods. Ford rebuilt the engine, luckily still under warranty. Since then it has done the surge at least five more times, it seems turning on the defrost, air condition, or when the all wheel drive starts, it happens. I have taken vehicle to Ford 2 additional times and they cannot seem to find nothing wrong.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #31

May 142011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 53,267 miles
We own a 2007 Ford Freestyle. It has roughly 51,000 miles on it which have been all city/highway miles. We have never towed with this vehicle. We have been experiencing problems with surging followed by lack of power for about a month. To get power back, you must put the gas pedal to the floor and wait for it the power to kick back in. We took our vehicle in to lithia Ford in boise, id where we reside and where we purchased the vehicle and have had it maintained. They informed us that the throttle body needs to be replaced. Of course, this is not covered under the powertrain warranty, even though it is required for the vehicle to drive. The estimated cost is $954! I guess we are lucky that it has not failed on us yet as there have been numerous frightening stories about this type of failure. We will need to have it replaced within the week and will be retaining the old part. However, this appears to be a systemic issue with Ford Freestyles and certainly a safety issue. I have owned a Ford all of my driving life and, for the first time, am regretting buying this one. We would ask that you take note of the overwhelming number of complaints from other Freestyle owners, especially for the 2007, and immediately open an investigation on behalf of us consumers. Thank you!

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #30

May 082011


  • 50,600 miles
I had my brakes repaired this spring. Two weeks ago I had to have my A/C compressor replaced. On 5/8/11 I was backing out of a parking space with my foot applied gently to the brake when my Ford Freestyle suddenly surged and then shut off. When I restarted it the wrench light was lit. I took it to the dealership the next day and was told I needed a new throttle body, not covered under powertrain warranty as it is outside the engine. I researched these issues online when I got home and there are many discussions regarding all of these issues. Some even state after repair the vehicle continues to surge and has even hit other vehicles.

- Mandeville, LA, USA

problem #29

May 082011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles - is the link for the several different customer complaints regarding the Ford Freestyle. Question - why is Ford not forced to do a recall on the Freestyle due to surging forward and backward. Other car manufactures are being held accountable. Yesterday on May 8, 2011 - 2007 limited Ford Freestyle - was in walmart parking lot - put the car in reverse - surged backward - car just about hit a child in the parking lot if I was not quick to put on brakes. Took out of gear - put back in reverse - small surge backward. To drive forward - put car in gear - jerked - about to fail but finally surged forward - noise as if gear are stripping - drove to stop light - made a right hand turn - car just about shut down - my husband and grandchildren in the car. - thankful no cars were behind me. Dangerous on the road and in parking lots - be hit or hit people or other vehicles. - per all the complaints posted appears there is a throttle problem that has been identified and replacements are in short supply. Going to the media to see if this will get someone attention.

- Fort Mill, SC, USA

problem #28

Jan 282011


  • 84,134 miles
Noise coming from engine. Took it to dealer found that the transmission is bad, do to a bent shaft.

- Michigan City, IN, USA

problem #27

Jan 312011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 Ford Freestyle is stalling, and stopping in middle of highway, the transmission is not shifting, from my understanding, many owners have the same problem. RPM is racing. I have to turn the car off and wait a few minutes I have called Ford many times and reported the problem to them. Today, 1-31-2011, the Ford Freestyle 2007, shut completely off in the middle of I-85. There could have been an car crash if I didn't think quickly on what to do. Something needs to be done about this, Ford should be held liable because of so many owners have the same problem.

- Timberlake, NC, USA

problem #26

Dec 122010


  • 50,000 miles
2007 Freestyle sel AWD w/50,000 miles surges at low speeds and stalls at high speeds. The wrench light comes on and the vehicle enters "limp" mode until vehicle is restarted. The dealership was unable to recover error codes when I took it in for diagnostics. However, based on my verbal description of the problem alone he suggested replacement of the entire throttle body assembly, saying "this is a very common issue for the Freestyle, 500, and edge." I am still deciding whether to spend the $1000 they quoted me for replacement (a Firestone service center quoted me $750). For one, I can't understand how such a dangerous malfunction is allowed to go unaddressed. Two, how can the throttle body assembly, which controls the entire powertrain, not be covered by a powertrain warranty" and three, if it is such a common problem that by verbal description alone, a dealer knows a major component needs replacement, why is this not being addressed by Ford at a national level" here's my vote of no confidence.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?