Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,220 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Freestyle drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 7 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #125

Jul 142012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 65,250 miles


Bought vehicle used 8 days ago. On two occasions, once yesterday and once today, the vehicle seemed to throttle up with gas pedal not applied and foot on brake. Both instances were in a parking lot. On both instances...outside temperature was over 100 degrees F and the air conditioner was on in both front/back modes. I simply put the car in drive and as I was turning out of parking spot, foot on brake maneuvering turn...the vehicle lunged forward. Startled me on both occasions. I was able to stop vehicle, but some distance had occurred. Fortunately, no one was in front of me. The "lunge" almost feels like you "stomped" the gas pedal to the floor for just a second. That is the best description of what the discrepancy feels like. I'm very worried...just purchasing this vehicle. It's the weekend, so I will be in contact with a dealership first thing.

- Altus, OK, USA

problem #124

Jul 032009

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 24,223 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact started the ignition and shifted from park into reverse. The vehicle unexpectedly lunged backward with the illumination of the engine warning indicator. The malfunction also occurred when shifting into drive. The failure recurred sporadically in hot weather temperatures. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the throttle body was cleaned; however the failure recurred six months later. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 24,223. Updated 08/07/12 the consumer stated the vehicle will stall anywhere and the wrench light comes. The vehicle must be restarted in order to drive normal the check engine light does not always illuminate during failure. Updated 08/14/2012

- Grove Hill, AL, USA

problem #123

Jul 082011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
Vehicle surges forward whether the vehicle is in drive or reverse. I have had the throttle body replaced in 2011. I have had to replace brakes at 30,000 miles. The driver side back door will not lock with the key remote. On July 6 2012 with ac on driving slowly out of a parking lot car would not go. It started up and I went about 20ft and car just died. On July 10, 2012 took it to dealer in Virginia beach, va. On Tuesday, July 12, 2012 I was told it was something to do with the powertrain and the cost would be $1600. I went ballastic and asked to speak to manager and then asked for number to Ford company. I talked with someone there explained my financial situation and was given a claim number and said someone would get back to me in four (4) days about financial assistance, which is not what I was looking for. I told the Ford rep, that I had been looking on the internet about all the complaints about my 2007 Freestyle and asked why there was not a recall on this car. On Wednesday, July 11, 2012 dealer called and said the problem was not the $1600 deal but a pigtail (whatever that is) at the tune of $600. I am afraid of this car and I am looking to get rid of it as soon as possible.

- Portsmouth, VA, USA

problem #122

Jun 122012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 62,025 miles


When I started backing up my car with the A/C on it start to lung and even shut off at times. I love to back in my parking space and this had never happened so this was a surprise to me. I pulled forward then cut the wheel and the moment I would put the car in reverse it would lung when my foot is on the breaks lightly. I was so frighten by this I took the car back to the oil change place today (7-11-12) to see if something was done wrong when they change the oil. Then I took it to the car to the mechanic on 7-11-12 too; which all he could do for me was flush the throttle to see it that can help the problem.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #121

Jul 032012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
My car (2007 Ford Freestyle) was stopped at the drive through and a local eatery. My foot was on the brake and the car started surging/lunging several times. I almost hit the car in front of me. It scared me. The wrench light and the engine light came on and the car cut off. I have the extended warranty, but of course the throttle body was not covered. Upon investigating my problem, I found out the lunging has been a problem with many other Freestyles and an investigation had been started. Will there be a recall? this repair cost me almost $700 and I feel that Ford should pay for this repair. Any help would be appreciated!

- Douglas, GA, USA

problem #120

Jan 032011


  • 47,000 miles
My Ford Freestyle is constantly lunging or surging when I go from idling to driving. This happens most often when I am backing out of a parking space. This has almost caused me to have an accident on several different occasions. Many times after surging the vehicle cuts off.

- Edenton, NC, USA

problem #119

May 022011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles


Vehicle suddenly surges from stopped position without the accelerator being depressed, occurs in forward and reverse without warning, problem is intermittent.

- Swedesboro, NJ, USA

problem #118

Jun 292012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 77,469 miles
Vehicle speed surged without touching accelerator. I had to depress braking hard to stop vehicle. Vehicle cut off and when restarted the throttle light came on along with engine light. Very dangerous.

- Garner, NC, USA

problem #117

Jul 162011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
Was during the day of my niece wedding day. After we left from the church and headed to mcdonald's for a quick bite since we travel from a long distance to get there on time. My wife and I sat at the parking lot with the ac on cause it was very hot the day. When we finish are small meal I put the car in reverse and slowly release the brakes and the car just lunge so fast in reverse that I almost hit this person who was almost 15 to 20 feet away and my wife started to scream. We couldn't believe what just happen. This is not the first time it happen. Now, every time I put it in reverse or drive you can feel and see the car RPM go up. I didn't bother to take it to the dealer cause they will not find the problem. I have read so much of this problem being taken to the Ford dealer that they are charging so much money by changing all kind of parts and the problem is not resolve. I just wish some one who has some clout would be reading all this problem and tell the Ford dealer, hey what are you waiting for, for someone to be kill.

- Highland , NY, USA

problem #116

Jun 012011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
My 2007 Ford Freestyle has been lunging forward or backward when idling or at very low speeds, both in drive and reverse. For example, when pulling the car in or out of a parking space or when slowing at an intersection. It will lunge several feet sometimes, and I have nearly hit parked cars and once nearly hit a pedestrian. I have to slam on the brake to stop the car from hitting things! I have done some research and there are so many people experiencing this same exact problem with this vehicle. It is a safety hazard! this needs to be recalled and fixed by Ford, before many people get injured!

- Clarkston, MI, USA

problem #115

Jun 212010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles


I was backing my wife's car in and it started accelerating without me pressing the gas, actually my foot was on the brake thank goodness. We promptly took vehicle to Ford dealership and they said it was the throttle body, and that it needed to be replaced, and of course it was supposedly not under warranty. Then they charged me $900 to fix it.I have since done lots of research online as well as in person and have come to the realization that there are thousands upon thousands of this same complaint for the 2005-2007 Ford Freestyle. I have also found that almost everyone who has had a failed throttle body has had multiple failed throttle body's as well as A/C compressor failure.

- Columbia, MS, USA

problem #114

Jun 152012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
This vehicle will lurch forward, sometimes several feet when I have been stopped with my foot on the brake. If I lift my foot, the car will lurch forward before I touch the accelerator. Reapplying the brakes will stop the car, but sometimes have to turn off the engine before it will stop lurching. Last occurrence was when I was in line at carwash and was moving the car forward slowly. Each time I moved forward, it lunged. I haven't yet hit anyone or anything but this is dangerous and I know from researching that several hundred people have reported similar incidents, this is not normal, it is dangerous and should be recalled before someone is seriously injured.

- Springfield, IL, USA

problem #113

Aug 012011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
If you have your A/C on and leave your car idling for just a few minutes then when you put it in reverse or drive, it surges a few feet like 4 to 5 ft unless you really hold the brake down. It really seems to be getting worse as time goes on.

- Hempstead, TX, USA

problem #112

May 162012


  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled while driving on various occasions. The contact also stated that the vehicle hesitated to accelerate when the accelerator was depressed on a few occasions. In addition, the vehicle intermittently failed to respond when the brakes were applied. The failures recurred and became more severe. The failure was common when the vehicle had been idle or parked under the sun for a while. The power train and engine warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to dealer for a diagnostic test or repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 55,000 and the current mileage was 5,040.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #111

Aug 242011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
The car takes off even when in park. This has happened on more than one occasion. My husband or I can be sitting at a red light, stop sign, even in park in our driveway and the car will have a surge of going forward. This problem is extremely bad especially when we start the car or if we are idling with our foot on the brake. It is very scary. I reported this problem to my local Ford dealer. I was told there was not a problem.

- Lenoir City, TN, USA

problem #110

Jun 172012


  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled while driving in reverse. The vehicle was restarted and a light on the instrument panel illuminated, indicating there was a problem. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a diagnosis. The contact was informed that the vehicle would need a new throttle body and a new transmission. The manufacturer was notified but offered no assistance. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure and current mileages were 120,000.

- Harper Woods, MI, USA

problem #109

Jun 102009


  • 19,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, the transmission failed. The vehicle hesitated, surged, and emitted a loud noise. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for an inspection and they stated that the automatic transmission assembly needed to be repaired. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified and they stated that the vehicle was already repaired under warranty once. The contact would have to pay to have it repaired a second time. The failure mileage was 19,000.

- Thonotosassa, FL, USA

problem #108

Mar 292012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 72,567 miles
About a week after I bought my 2007 Ford Freestyle it started lunging when placed in gear (drive or reverse). It is the same as the many many other 05-07 Freestyles I have red about. Something needs to be done about this. Some day this may result in a death. The Freestyle is a family car, which means there are children around it. Think about what you would want done if this car attacked your child. Life is worth much more than a recall on a flawed car.

- Antlers, OK, USA

problem #107

Jun 052012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
As has been reported by others, the vehicle will accelerate unexpectedly at low speeds when in reverse and drive, while the brake is engaged or I'm just letting off the brakes. I have to mash the brakes hard and keep them engaged for several seconds until the acceleration slows to normal. The problem seems to happen more frequently when the A/C is on.

- Laramie, WY, USA

problem #106

Jun 102011


  • 70,000 miles
While holding brake and shifting to drive or reverse the RPM's increase causes the vehicle to lunge, almost hit a man in a parking lot, have came close to car's on different occasions. Was happening occasionally but now it's every time you drive the vehicle. Also the vehicle loses power during acceleration, then the wrench light comes on. You have to stop and turn the engine off. Then restart engine.

- Blue Ridge, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?