Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,540 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Freestyle engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 15 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #137

Jul 022011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 52,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We are experiencing the lunging and sudden acceleration at idle speed on our 2007 Ford Freestyle. When moving in a parking lot, it is very apparent, particularly as you change from reverse to forward. You really need to pay attention, and keep your foot on the brake because the vehicle does lunge. We recently have had another issue with this vehicle while driving on vacation. The little "wrench" appeared near the end of our trip and the vehicle appeared to be losing "power" to the wheels. After the vehicle cooled down, it operated normally and the wrench did not appear again, yet.

- Macedonia, OH, USA

problem #136

Jul 082011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
2005 and 2007 Ford Freestyle. In warm weather the car will suddenly surge when stopped with the brake applied, slowing with the break, or reversing with the brake pressed. Believed to be the throttle body and confirmed by auto repair shop. Research has revealed tons of owners with similar problems with the throttle body on these vehicles. Seems quite dangerous to have your car lurch out into an intersection.

- Newalla, OK, USA

problem #135

Jan 012009

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
When I put my car in reverse, it will suddenly lurch backward without me putting my foot on the accelerator. It occurs occasionally, but not always. I have learned to anticipate this and always keep my foot on the brake until I am sure the area behind the car is clear. I am concerned about this since my daughter will soon be driving. This could be very dangerous for a new and inexperienced driver.

- Loveland, OH, USA

problem #134

Jun 142011

Freestyle

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle lunged forward when attempting to brake at low speeds. The failure occurred while in drive or reverse. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 43,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Saint Augustine, FL, USA

problem #133

Sep 012010

Freestyle

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. When the contact disengaged the brake pedal to engage the accelerator pedal, the vehicle suddenly lunged forward. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technicians were unable to diagnose the failure. The failure occurred intermittently. The contact only noticed the failure while the air conditioner was turned on. The vehicle was not repaired. There was an open investigation under NHTSA action number: PE11018 (vehicle speed control) that may be related to the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Woodstock, OH, USA

problem #132

Jun 252011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 44,100 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated while driving 45 mph and the air condition was on the throttle body would cause the vehicle to accelerate. Each time the vehicle would accelerate the brake was depress and the vehicle would slowed down. After the vehicle slowed down she started to park put the gear in reversed it jump back at least three feet. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated the throttle body needed to be replaced. They replace the throttle body with an "a" kit-throttle control body and reprogram it. This was a cost of $877 there was no recall or warranty for this failure. The manufacturer was contacted who offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 44,100. Updated 08/01/11 updated 08/08/11

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #131

Aug 042010

Freestyle

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Several times a week, my car is unexpectedly lunging forward. At this point, it has gone no further than a foot, and it stops as soon as I brake. The trigger seems to be running the air conditioning, and idling. For example, when I was waiting in the line for the drive through bank teller, I took my foot off the brake to roll forward and instead lunged approximately a foot. I immediately put my foot on the brake and the car stopped. It has happened at stop lights and parking places as well. The first time it happened was the end of the summer 2010. It only happened a few times than stopped during the winter, so I assumed it was not longer an issue. It started again this summer, thus the guess about the air conditioning, and is happening more frequently as the summer progresses.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #130

Jun 122010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
While slowing down, backing up or parking, with the ac on, the engine suddenly surges 500-800 RPM's. it has not happened with the ac off. The dealer claimed it was normal operation, because of the type of auto it is; automatic. Updated 07/05/11 updated 08/04/11

- Staunton, VA, USA

problem #129

Jun 242010

Freestyle

  • 53,805 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that when driving at low speeds with the air conditioner in activation, the vehicle would lunge forward abnormally. The vehicle was taken to the dealer regarding the failure and the dealer advised that the failure was normal. The contact called the manufacturer and the manufacturer informed the contact of NHTSA defect investigation number: PE11018 (vehicle speed control). The contact believed that the vehicle was unsafe to drive. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 53,805.

- Perrysburg, OH, USA

problem #128

Jun 012010

Freestyle

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while driving into a parking space and the vehicle stopped, it began to lunge forward or in reverse. The vehicle was not inspected by a dealer nor was it repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was approximately 80,000.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #127

Mar 012011

Freestyle

  • 56,148 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that whenever she shifts from park to reverse gear or from park to drive gear the vehicle would lunge forward. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 56,148.

- Wilmington , NC, USA

problem #126

Jun 272010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated while driving low speeds whether in reverse or driving forward, he noticed that the vehicle would surge on its own or the rpms would increase. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who advised him that they were unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was approximately 53,000. Updated 09/14/2011 updated 12/07/11

- San Angelo, TX, USA

problem #125

Jun 222011

Freestyle

  • 78,000 miles
I just purchased a Ford Freestyle 2007 and took it to a tach day after the purchase due to the fact that the car surges and cuts of and then will loose power. Tech advised me he couldn't find anything wrong test drove it several times and it never happened after we got home with the car it being to do it a few more times this seems to be something that will get you killed or your family killed I sure hope Ford realizes if someone does get hurt but the car surging like this that the company will be at fault and I hope they fix the issue soon for good.

- Taylors , SC, USA

problem #124

May 242011

Freestyle

  • 54,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while attempting to park, with the brake pedal depressed, the vehicle surged forward. The failure was experienced several times. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer to be diagnosed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and the contact was informed that the failure was under investigation. The failure mileage was 54,500 and the current mileage was 55,000.

- Mason , OH, USA

problem #123

Jun 152011

Freestyle

  • 53,000 miles
Repeatedly car surges forward from a stop when at idle and air conditioning is running. If foot is lightly on brake, car will surge forward into intersection.

- Centennial, CO, USA

problem #122

May 132011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle would lunge forward with the brakes depressed. The consumer rear ended another vehicle while sitting in a drive-through window. Neither vehicle was damaged in the incident. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and they replaced the throttle body. The contact was concerned that the failure could be a recurring problem. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 70,000. Updated 03/05/12

- Swarthmore, PA, USA

problem #121

Nov 102010

Freestyle

  • miles
The engine revved up and lunged forward on multiple occasions. It started occurring occasionally, but happened more often when the car idled or was being parked. The dealer has not corrected it yet.

- Meadows Of Dan, VA, USA

problem #120

May 012010

Freestyle

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle would surge forward regardless of what gear the vehicle was engaged. The vehicle would also stall without warning when the air conditioner was activated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they inspected the vehicle and advised the contact that the throttle body would need replacing. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure yet no repairs were performed on the vehicle. The current mileage was 54,000 and the approximate failure mileage was unknown.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #119

Jun 152010

Freestyle

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated when the vehicle came to a complete stop the vehicle surged forward. The contact stated the failure occurred whenever the air conditioner was turned on. The dealer stated the contact was not applying enough pressure to the brake pedal. The contact stated the vehicle was unsafe to drive and feared it could cause a crash. The failure mileage was 53,000.

- Alexandria, LA, USA

problem #118

Jul 012010

Freestyle

  • 50,000 miles
Noticed my 2007 Ford Freestyle "surge" while baking out of my driveway. I stopped to let a car pass and the car jumped out into the street. It done it again later that day, but went many days without doing it again. Then we started noticing it was "surging" or doing an acceleration jump when shifting from park, drive, reverse, and any other time we're having to hold the brake. Our mechanic checked it out and diagnosed it as the throttle bottle. Called the local Ford dealership and was informed that Ford was aware of the issue, and that the replacement parts were being reworked to remove the flaw and on backorder. Dealer said that owners would receive a notice when the new parts were available, but that Ford was not going to issue a recall at this time. My car had just rolled 50,000 miles, it now has nearly 60,000 and I've not received a notice/call. I nearly hit a child crossing between me and another car in the school pick up line because this car surged (while holding the brake all the way down). We are now having A/C issues and it is "surging" more frequently. As it's become too dangerous and costly to drive, we are considering parking it! Ford should take responsibility for this flaw before there is a loss of life...

- Petal, MS, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?