Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,540 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Freestyle engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 3 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #377

Apr 152013

Freestyle

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving on interstate vehicle begins to slow down unexpectedly. No acceleration. Must pull to shoulder. Turn engine off. Wait a couple of minutes. Start engine resume travel-2 minutes later same incident-vehicle slows down. Pull to shoulder. Engine has difficulty starting. End result--vehicle has to be towed to dealership. Vehicle purchased March 2013- weeks after purchase 1st incident occurred. Car facility stated it was a throttle issue. Car facility supposed to have corrected the problem. May 2013 2nd incident--took vehicle to dealership (only for an oil change)--dealership stated a recall due to throttle issues. Now 3rd incident as noted above. Dealership stated for 3rd incident it is a throttle issue.

- Warsaw, NC, USA

problem #376

Aug 032013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 86,319 miles
My car lunges when I put the vehicle in reverse from park and also when I go from reverse to drive. The lunge is significant enough to hit a nearby vehicle.

- Columbus, TX, USA

problem #375

Dec 202012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 63,989 miles
12/20/12- veh idles high and wants to accelerate when braking as advised by a recall and Ford dealer stacher cleaned the throttle body and reprogrammed the PCM.program code; 12N03 repair type-31 wrty claim. Customer code A99. 4/25/13---veh is shutting off while driving. Had new throttle body put on at Firestone. Car cut off and stalled a few times. Firestone reinstalled old throttle body and when we took the van back to Ford dealer and they again verified concern and performed ids diagnosis, code po613B, secure map sensor hose and road tested 26 miles. Did not stall, stated it may have other issue. Invoice cost $93 4/30/13----veh shut off 4 or 5 times. Satcher dealer drove van and could not duplicate problem. 4/31/13 received car from dealer and after duplicating problem returned car back to dealer. 5/2-3/13 - rented enterprise vehicle. Invoice cost $98+. 5/07/13 advised to come get the car after 10 days without loaner car. No paperwork given although requested. When called and asked for paperwork advised there was none. When asked of work performed they said they reprogrammed PCM. 5/26/13 car stopped again several times and when taken back to the same dealer they hooked it to an onboard computer. Car driven for 5 weeks without it stopping again. 7/17/13 - dealer requires computer back and was taken off the car. Situation is dangerous because acceleration is unpredictable and engine power shuts down at any time..

- Aiken, SC, USA

problem #374

Jul 192013

Freestyle

  • 96,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while driving approximately 25 mph, the vehicle lunged forward abnormally before stalling. The contact stated that the wrench warning icon illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the electronic throttle body needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 96,000.

- Kansas City , MO, USA

problem #373

Jul 122013

Freestyle

  • 64,800 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle suddenly accelerated while reversing. The failure also occurred while in drive. The wrench warning icon illuminated after the failure occurred. The failure was experienced several times. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer to have a diagnostic performed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure and current mileage was 64,800. The VIN was not available.

- Saline , MI, USA

problem #372

May 242013

Freestyle

  • 93,300 miles
First happened the day I bought the vehicle used with 93,000 miles. I was backing out of a parking space and the vehicle lunged. It also turned off. It did it twice in a row. Then no problems for another few hundred miles. It does it every tank or so of gas. Occasionally it will be accompanied with the wrench light. I brought it to a local auto shop when the light was on (pure luck because it turns off quickly after) and it coded something but then when the searched the code it came up as not matching my vehicle! I am bringing it to a dealership next week for service before a long road trip and hope to have the throttle body cleaned. From what I gather this is a known and widespread problem with this vehicle. I really wish they would recall it and fix it!

- Beaver Bay, MN, USA

problem #371

Jul 162010

Freestyle 4WD 6-cyl

  • 60,001 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle would suddenly accelerate when idling or coasting (especially when turning) into a parking spot or driveway requiring hard braking to regain control of vehicle. Vehicle would stall when it came to a stop. Ford dealer diagnosed the problem as a "defective throttle body assembly" and charged $1200 for the repair and replacement. I recently discovered that Ford acknowledges this problem is frequent with the 2007 Freestyle model year and now performs a free throttle body "cleaning" to address the issue. Ford corporation and dealer refuse to refund the $1200 they charged for the "repair."

- Medford Lakes, NJ, USA

problem #370

Jun 122013

Freestyle

  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while accelerating from a traffic light, the vehicle lunged forward independently. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis and the contact was advised to take the vehicle to an authorized dealer for inspection. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 84,000.

- Melfa, VA, USA

problem #369

Jun 012013

Freestyle

  • 85,000 miles
When I have the car in park and am ready to reverse or drive forward, it seems like it wants to take off on its own before I even let go of the brake or give it gas. This can cause an accident to occur without me having an control over it. This is not safe!!

- Belton, TX, USA

problem #368

Jun 282013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 132,000 miles
After starting the 2007 Ford Freestyle it idols about 1000rpms. Upon putting it into drive or reverse when you lift off the brake the car will rev up the engine to about 2000rpms and speed forward or backward. This rev of the engine last approximately 1 second and then the car returns to normal idol speed. This creates a dangerous situation in which if you do not anticipate the acceleration you could have an accident.

- Longmont, CO, USA

problem #367

May 222013

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on the freeway, the wrench on the dash board lit up and the car started jerking, and RPM's went to 8000. Pulled off to side of the highway and towed the car home. The throttle body was "cleaned" by Ford and the car is still the same. Car jumps forward during traffic stops and goes into safe mode.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #366

May 222012

Freestyle

  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph in reverse, there was an unexpected increase in acceleration without warning. The brake pedal was depressed several times before coming to a stop. The vehicle was taken to three different independent mechanics and they were unable to duplicate the problem. In addition, the contact stated that all four power door locks failed to lock. The manufacturer was not notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 87,000.

- Crestview , FL, USA

problem #365

Jun 012012

Freestyle

  • 71,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle hesitated at start up and suddenly accelerated. The failure was experienced numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who cleaned the throttle body however, the failure was not corrected. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 71,000 and the current mileage was 72,159.

- Sudbury , MA, USA

problem #364

Jun 082011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while driving at low speeds, the vehicle would lunge forward or engage in reverse without warning. The contact mentioned that the vehicle stalled immediately after the failure would occur. The vehicle was taken to the dealer however, the technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 65,000 and the current mileage was 92,000....updated 07-24-13 the consumer took the vehicle to another vehicle, where they cleaned the throttle body upgraded the computer system.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #363

May 042012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
The 2007 Freestyle which was built near the end of 2006. It was ok when first purchased as used back in 2008. But as time went on its throttle began to surge unexpectedly. Eventually it began to happen often enough for my wife and I to notice how it usually happens when the ac is on. It's particularly a problem while pulling in and out of parking spaces. Now it happens every single day beginning when the car is backed out of the garage. We have learned to keep our foot on the brake to stop the car from crashing into anything. To me the problem seems to be getting worse. But I don't drive it as often as does my wife. She says that the progression of the problem seems to have slowed down. But she says she has gotten used to compensating for it. The car also has difficulty starting occasionally. Maybe that is related to the surging throttle. But so far we have not noticed the starting problem correlating with anything in particular. The local Ford dealer says there is a recall to have the throttle body cleaned. That has been scheduled.

- Accord, NY, USA

problem #362

Jul 312012

Freestyle

  • 114,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle would surge and jerk abnormally. The contact was concerned that the vehicle was attempting to accelerate. The wrench warning light was continuously illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic who performed a diagnostic test but the could not diagnose a failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 114,000.

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #361

Dec 292012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
First time driving in the snow today in my Freestyle and as I was coming to a stop sign. I was braking and my car accelerated all by itself and I could not stop and went through the stop sign! I had my two kids in the car with me and it scared me to death! I am just glad there was no other vehicles around at the time. My car has done this in the past and its not safe at all but driving in the snow is extremely dangerous and I am scared to drive my own vehicle it seems to be getting worse.

- Cincinnati , OH, USA

problem #360

Aug 012011

Freestyle

  • 81,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the vehicle suddenly lost acceleration power. The vehicle was moved to the shoulder. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was confirmed that the throttle body failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure and current mileages were 81,000.

- Apt 306, FL, USA

problem #359

Jan 032012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
While driving at a slow speed, my Ford Freestyle will lunge forward even while braking. I have jumped curbs because of this issue and feel that this problem should be addressed before it causes someone serious injury.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #358

Sep 152012

Freestyle

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while stopped at a stop sign the vehicle accelerated independently. Also, the failure happenned while in reverse as well. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic for diagnostic testing. The mechanic was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 89,000.

- Richmond, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?