Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,994 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Freestyle transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Freestyle:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Freestyle Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #89

Jul 292014


  • 72,631 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle was making an abnormal noise while in neutral or park. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 72,631.

- Shirley, MA, USA

problem #88

Apr 012014


  • 121,492 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while shifting into park or reverse, the vehicle would jerk. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 121,492 and the current mileage was 121,692. Updated 08/19/14

- Portlan , ME, USA

problem #87

Jun 222012

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 111,000 miles
My 2007 Ford Freestyle has a cvt transmission problem. When I arrived at the hotel, the valet parking driver almost hit the car on the front because of sudden accelerator of the transmission. I also almost hit another car after that.

- Tujunga, CA, USA

problem #86

Apr 022012


  • 88,000 miles


When transmission is placed into reverse or drive, the engine will surge at idle speed. It creates a very scary situation especially in parking lots. The surge usually happens right after the transmission shift and then can happen at any time, usually at idle speed. Took it to the dealer for repair and they said it need a new throttle body. I've seen hundreds of other posts about this same issue with model years 05-07 Freestyles.

- Beaverton, OR, USA

problem #85

Oct 142010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 31,000 miles
Car lunges at stops and low speeds.

- Charleston, WV, USA

problem #84

Jul 092011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
The first time the problem occurred, I was waiting in a line to exit a parking lot so I was idling when the car surged forward. I slammed on the brakes and the car stalled out. I was able to re-start but then it would surge again. I put the car in neutral and was able to make it out. The car chugged a bit but when I got going it worked fine. A few days later, when idling, the car would either chug and stall or surge. The problem was particularly bad one day and had been doing it a few times. We then were entering the highway and it was like the car wasn't getting any gas, it took awhile to get the car over 25 mph. We took it to the Ford dealership and they said they weren't sure what they problem was but the readout said it was the throttle body but they weren't familiar with anyone else having the problem. It seems the problem occurs when it is very hot and the air conditioning is running.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #83

Aug 142009


  • 70,000 miles


On about 10 occasions my Ford Freestyle has lunged forward or backward while in reverse without me engaging the gas pedal. It will stop if the brake is applied but it often catches me off guard. About half of the times the car then cuts off (once while attempting to turn onto a very busy street). The car will restart but often cuts off about 2 more times before deciding to run correctly. Usually the check engine light and wrench symbol will illuminate. This is a very scary and dangerous problem. On one occasion, after dropping of my mother at a store I took my foot off of the brake and the car lunged forward coming quite close to my mom who was crossing in front of my car. After taking the car to a mechanic, the P061B code came up for internal control mod torque calculation performance. When we googled this code I was shocked at the number of people who have posted on various websites about this same problem. Thanks for your time!

- Clemmons, NC, USA

problem #82

Sep 142010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 40,125 miles
When shifting from park to drive or reverse to drive, the car randomly surges forward even when the accelerator is not depressed. It also occurs when stopped or moving slowly forward such as at a stoplight or when parking. The problem is more pronounced when the air conditioner is on. It is a concern that this surging problem may cause an accident at some time.

- Orange, CA, USA

problem #81

Aug 242011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 85,933 miles
2007 Ford Freestyle lunges forward even when your foot is on the brakes. As you shift into reverse or forward with you foot on the brake, the vehicle lunges ahead. Taken it to 3 different Ford dealerships in austin Texas and have been told that I need injector flush and gas and air filters changed which may result in problem going away. Another dealer wants to change the throttle body assembly blaming the problem on ethanol in the gasoline. They also want to do the previous services as well. Costs have ranged from $616 to $1200. Found numerous forums about this issue with hundreds or more complaints about the same problems but Ford is saying that this is not a serious problem or that they do not see many of these issues. The problem of lunging has been more apparent over the last 10,000 miles (car is at 86000miles) there does not seem.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #80

Oct 212010

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 78,769 miles
My 2007 Ford Freestyle lunges forward & backward uncontrollably. Had vehicle serviced at Ford dealership on 10-21-2010 and was diagnosed and advised to replace all plugs and 1 coil and 7 boots, mileage 78,436. Completed the service as advised, cost $931.35. The problem still existed and engine light came on June of 2011. Had same dealership diagnose and the same diagnosis came back but everything checked out ok. I had the dealership replace the throttle body at my request because of safety issue with the uncontrollable lunging and other Ford Freestyle's having the same problem at mileage 85,976 at a cost of $740.41. Today, 8-18-2011 with mileage at 87,600, I have not had any problems with the vehicle lunging uncontrollably. Based on the above description, I believe the throttle body was defective and should be recalled. Additionally, I also believe that there was a misdiagnosis of the initial problem and should be reimbursed both costs. Please contact me if you need further information and documentation. Thank you.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #79

Jun 232011


  • miles


Vehicle lunges when brake is released. Vehicle will move forward or reverse once vehicle is put in gear and the brake is released and also when stopping for example at a red light, once brake is released the vehicle will jerk forward without stepping on the accelerator.

- Burgaw, NC, USA

problem #78

Jun 082011


  • 44,000 miles
I recently bought a used 2007 Ford Freestyle from a used car dealership. After owning the car for a couple of months, I was sitting in a drive-thru line when I noticed my car started surging forward while my foot was on the brake. I became concerned that I might hit the car ahead of me so I got out of line and parked the car. After some down time I was able to re-start the car and for that night had no other problems. Now over the last month I have noticed the surging more and more often and am concerned I will be in a situation where I can't just get out of line and some damage will happen or injury. I have found by researching on-line that is a known problem with the Ford Freestyle and I would just like to report that I feel continued driving of this vehicle may be dangerous but, it is the only vehicle I have to drive and have no other choices.

- Wamego, KS, USA

problem #77

Jul 282011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
I have a 2007 Ford Freestyle and its just getting worse and worse as the mileage goes up. The car seems to have a mind of its own. I cant even use my A/C or heater as this causes the car to lunge forward hard and eventually the car cuts off causing engine and wrench light to cut on. While backing into my parking garage I ran into the building because the car lunged back by itself, this could be very dangerous, could cause me to hit someone or something very badly. Im afraid to drive my vehicle but don't have any other choice, have to go to work. This is scary, I need help with this. Just bought this car don't have the cash to have it checked out.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #76

Jul 282011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
I have a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The transmission has gone out in my car. I have experience unconditional "surging" while the car was in gear. I have gone without running the air conditioner, thinking that was the "cause" of the car surging (taking off). The increase acceleration (revving) of the speedometer and RPM gauges were very alarming. The occurrences were many throughout the two years of me driving the car. The wrench appeared while I was driving, the car died. I pulled over and started the car back up. It hesitated after two tries, it finally turned over. I preceded to go to T my next destination three hours later, after transporting the athletes that I coach, the car stop as we were traveling down the road (on going traffic).there is where "everything " went pieces. The car was not getting any gas, it would not go into drive nor reverse. I was scared and devastated, the kids were frightened, screaming out that we were going to die. I am praying that Ford would make a justifiable decision on recalling this make and model before "tragedy" stumble upon their company, confused & concern.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #75

Aug 062011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 41,124 miles
PCM has needed to be replaced 4 (possibly 5) times; mileage on 2007 Ford Freestyle sel has 41,124 miles. Last PCM and throttle body replaced at over 37,000 miles. Ist repair August 2010; 2nd repair October 2010; 3rd repair decembeer 2010; 4th repair June 2011; 5th repair August 2011. Dies while driving down road - twice on I75 at 70mph. No RPM's, no acceleration, wrench appears and car will not drive. Ford roadside assistance will tow vehicle and last email stated vehicle is not under warranty (powertrain warranty is 5 years/60,000 miles)? each dealer has replaced parts but I had to pay a deductible under the extended GM major repair plan. Should not have paid. Ford refuses to take any responsibility. Bought vehicle used at only 32,000 miles.

- Lincoln Park, MI, USA

problem #74

Feb 052007

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
We own a 2007 Ford Freestyle. When we come to a stop, for instance at a traffic light, the engine will rev up and the vehicle will lurch forward. This often causes the vehicle to then stall. This happens all the time if we are running the air conditioner. Now we shut the air conditioner off while driving in town. We have avoided any incidents so far. Although many times have had to apply extreme pressure to the brakes to keep from lurching into a vehicle in front of us. The vehicle will still lurch, but so far we have been able to stop it in time. As I said before the pressure we have to apply to the brakes is extreme. This also will happen when backing up. The engine will rev up and then die.

- Grand View, ID, USA

problem #73

Jun 012010


  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that while in drive, the vehicle would surge forward while accelerating, and surge backward when the vehicle was in reverse. Also, when attempting to make a turn in either direction, the vehicle would stall. The vehicle was taken to the dealer; however, they did not perform a diagnostic test. A private mechanic inspected the vehicle and informed the contact that the transmission was faulty and that he should take it to the dealer for confirmation. The manufacturer had not been notified nor was the vehicle repaired. The current mileage was 50,000. The approximate failure mileage was 36,000.

- Plantation, FL, USA

problem #72

May 312011


  • 99,000 miles
2007 Ford Freestyle lunges forward without warning we thought it was when the A/C was running but it happens without I the A/C on. We have almost hit a few cars when in traffic. I know that they are investigating this situation, but something needs to be fixed. We cant be having this happening with out son in the car.

- Mertztown, PA, USA

problem #71

Jul 282011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
Vehicle experiences sudden unexpected acceleration (or lurching) when idling or moving at a very slow speed. Occurs in forward or reverse directions, occurs more frequently in hot weather.

- West Chester, OH, USA

problem #70

Feb 022011

Freestyle 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Freestyle. The contact stated that the vehicle would surge forward, while the air conditioning unit was activated, then the vehicle would suddenly stall and he would notice a warning light on the instrument panel. The dealer inspected the vehicle and informed the contact to have the throttle body replaced. No repairs were performed. The current mileages were 30,000. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 9/13/11 the consumer also stated if the ac was on, the vehicle would surge forward. The dealer informed the consumer models starting from 2006 and up had a problem with the transmission body valve. Updated 10/05/11

- Statesville, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?