If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

2.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
79,709 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Fusion electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #26

Apr 072014

Fusion

  • 145,994 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Throttle body issue - confirmed since I just spent $930 at the Ford dealership to replace. Wife got in car at mall. First car would not start loose contact on terminal. She called me I jiggled wire, car started but you could push the pedal all the way down and only very slight power (wrench light on...). she parked the car as it would only go about 3 miles an hour and I turned it off and restarted the car to see if it would drive and it would not. Had to get it towed to planet Ford dealership who replaced the throttle body. The exact same issue had happened one week earlier but when I turned the car off and restarted the engine it ran fine. I had a mechanic do the codes the first time and it was throttle body and the Ford dealership did it the second time.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #25

Mar 142014

Fusion

  • 93,000 miles
Went to pass a slow moving vehicle and when gas pedal was pressed the vehicle responded with no power, shuddered, and stalled. Had towed to a local trusted mechanic who was unable to diagnose a specific problem because the he was getting "crazy problem codes". vehicle was towed to a Ford dealer who discovered the coils were destroyed due to a PCM failure. Coils and PCM replaced at the cost of $2,200. Driving home after vehicle was "repaired" check engine light came on. Took vehicle back to dealership, diagnosed a catalytic converter failure. Catalytic converter failed due to the PCM/coil failure. Vehicle will not pass emissions inspection until converter is repaired/replaced at an additional cost of $2,000+. dealership indicated that nothing could have been done to prevent the PCM/coil failed, it "just happened". basic research shows that this happens with enough frequency that Ford must be aware of the problem. Vehicle 2007 Ford Fusion V6 AWD.

- Ambler, PA, USA

problem #24

Dec 162013

Fusion

  • 100,800 miles
Vehicle was missing, thought it was plugs or needed tuneup. Mechanic said 2 coils were burnt out and needed replacement along with plugs. Had two replaced and 6 plugs replaced. The next week same problem, took back to mechanic, said another coil burnt out, checked computer and said dealer would need to look at problem, may be an onboard computer issue called PCM. Result: Ford dealer dx computer issue, calling for replacement and also all coils and plugs. Total cost of mechanics and dealer... $581 plus 2015= 2596. No problems since, but was warned that this could happen again by dealer, and that this would be warrantied. Not sure if that is true. Dealer would not admit to any problems with other Fusion, nor would regional Ford customer service rep. Will keep car for a year or so and see what happens, most likely trading within the next two years. Dont want that same problem to happen again.

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #23

Mar 122014

Fusion

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

PCM shorted out the number 4 coil and caught on fire. Coil was on fire when mechanic pulled it out. Have investigated on internet several problems with this but not a recall yet. Cost $800 to fix. Co worker had same thing happen this week on a V6 Ford escape

- Westville, IL, USA

problem #22

Feb 032014

Fusion

  • 71,895 miles
On Feb 19 2014 at 8:30 as I parked my 2007 Ford Fusion in my driveway I was unable to remove my key from the ignition. I noticed my steering wheel would not lock. Made sure the vehicle was in park and still the key would not turn all the way back so that the wheel could lock and key could be removed.I looked online to see hundreds of same problem with key getting stuck. And most of them had to do with gear shift silver button not releasing to let key turn all the way. Seeing these many same problem should warrant a recall to this problem.

- North Port, FL, USA

problem #21

Jan 262014

Fusion

  • 99,552 miles
PCM failed causing vehicle to lose power and burn up ignition coils.

- St Peters, MO, USA

problem #20

Jan 112014

Fusion

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The engine control module or PCM burned due to an electrical short at cylinder #4. it is a 2007 Ford Fusion with 100,000 miles. This appears to be a safety issue and there is was no fail-safe to shut the computer to avoid a possible engine fire. The mechanic advised if this car was driven anymore you would have had an engine fire.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #19

Dec 112013

Fusion

  • 84,000 miles
I was driving to work on December 11, 2013 down rte 3A at approximately 8am. When I took a left onto westford rd., and accelerated up the hill the vehicle suddenly cut out to the point it would not go any further. I almost was hit from a car from behind me who also was accelerating up the hill, but fortunately he swerved around me in time. I called triple aaa and they towed it to palmer''s automotive. According to the mechanic, the diagnostic showed one of the coil packs malfunctioned.. upon replacement, the coil pack overheated and blew again. Finding it odd, the mechanic contacted Ford. Working with the Ford technician, a bulletin was found stating the car had a known issue with the PCM, the computer module for the vehicle. Ford told the mechanic, the part would be there in 2 weeks. 2 weeks went by and on christmas eve, our mechanic was told there is a national back order on the part and it would be 2 to 4 more weeks. Also, the repair would cost in the vicinity of $1700 dollars. It is now 1/12/14 and we still have no car and no word on when it will be fixed. Ford''s recent ads infuriate me on tv about their reliability etc compared to other brands. The warrantee expired at 80K miles and this car has 84K on it. We are still making payments on a car that is inoperable for the past 6 weeks, as well as facing a huge repair bill, which adds insult to injury. Most importantly, I think about what may have happened if I had decided to take the highway instead of rte 3A to work that day, the results may have been tragic.

- Lowell, MA, USA

problem #18

Aug 072013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
My son was traveling down road and car completely shut down. Computer and coils shorted out. Thank goodness he was able to move into turning lane. This would have been dangerous if he had been on the interstate. Need part number 7U7Z12A650dla. Car is currently at dealership in waiting on part. It has been there over 2 weeks. We have been told 1000 Fusion are waiting on this part. Ford case number - cas[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Talking Rock , GA, USA

problem #17

Jul 232013

Fusion

  • 63,500 miles
During an oil change, the mechanic noticed that the right front turn signal was not working and changed the bulb. When the new bulb didn't work, he checked closer and determined that it was flashing very dimly. The dealer informed us that the smart junction box is the problem and will cost $600 to replace. There was no indication to the driver that a turn signal was not working and it was simply luck that the issue was spotted by an alert mechanic. This is dangerous if the driver thinks he is signaling a turn or lane change when nothing is visible outside the vehicle.

- Westmont, IL, USA

problem #16

Jun 072013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 85,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Came home from work, went back out to car to go to store noticed left front turn signal bulb was on steady. Changed bulbs stayed on still. Had it checked out said it was the smart junction box. This is a common problem many people are having and something needs to be done to fix it. Ford needs to do a recall and make it right !

- Norfolk, NY, USA

problem #15

Jun 032013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 93,500 miles
Lost power while trying to pass a car had no throttle and almost had a head on collision got got home had a air injection code P0491 in the system. Found a bad air injection pump loaded with water replaced the air pump and the problem is solved I see Ford has a lot of issues with water getting into these pumps but refuses to do anything about it.contacted Ford with no response. I worked in Ford dealerships for over 25 years so I know how to diagnose these problems. I am not concerned about the money for fixing this problem I just feel the issue should be corrected before someone gets hurt or killed. Plate # New York [xxx] VIN #[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Claverack, NY, USA

problem #14

Jun 132013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The front left turn signal is not working and the vehicle gives no warning of this fact (like when the bulb goes out and the turn signal blinks faster). The bulb and fuse are fine and according to the dealer it is the smart junction box which costs six hundred dollars to replace. My research online indicates that this is a common problem and I fail to see how Ford does not consider inoperable turn signals to be anything other than a safety issue. Every turn or four way stop is a safety issue as others drives have no idea which direction we will be traveling.

- Vermilion, OH, USA

problem #13

May 042011

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
I have owned my Ford Fusion sel V6 since June of 2009. In may of 2011 my ac went out within minutes of being used. I had stopped at my house for a minute in between errands and the ac worked when I turned the car off. When I got back in to leave again the ac would not work. A few weeks after that, my driver side inside door handle broke and I am no longer able to open the door from the inside. Now in May 2013, my passenger side door handle is broken the same as the driver side and the two back door locks have to be locked from inside because they don't work from the remote. I have also been experiencing a loud humming sound that sounds like the tires. However, after having the car looked at, I have been told that it is a problem with my transmission (not my tires at all) I see here where many of these issues have been reported but nothing is being done about any of these issues by Ford. This is the first Ford I have owned and it is going to be the last. I am looking at getting a different car asap.

- Provo, UT, USA

problem #12

Jul 172012

Fusion

  • 75,000 miles
Complete loss of electrical power. Appears random to the driver. RPM instability. Dead battery after having just turned the vehicle off.

- Plainwell, MI, USA

problem #11

Nov 052012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 73,350 miles
Airbag light stays on for the driver's side; sometimes I can get it to turn off if I restart the car. Not sure what would happen with the indicator light on; afraid that the airbag may deploy. Electrical: Two things with the electrical. The first is the compass error. This actually occurred January 2012 (don't remember the mileage). I was parked in a parking lot and turned my vehicle on to have it warm up while I was cleaning the snow off of the car. Since it didn't affect how the car handled, I didn't have it looked at. The second issue occurred 11/10/12 which was the driver's door lock would not disengage (mileage was approximately 73,350). I was parked to get out to gas up my car and pulled on the driver's door handle to unlocked the car, it wouldn't open. Then I pushed the "unlock" button of the door and the driver's door still would not open. I ended up crawling over to the passenger's door to exit the vehicle. I attempted to enter the car using the door key and it did not disengage the lock. I am taking the vehicle into the Ford dealer on Monday 11/11/12 to have these problems resolved. Please let me know if I need to do anything. Thank you.

- New Castle, PA, USA

problem #10

Jun 012012

Fusion

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the electrical system failed and the vehicle would accelerate slowly. In addition, the contact mentioned that the engine could not be turned off. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not contacted and the vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 75,000. The VIN was not available.

- Tucson , AZ, USA

problem #9

Jan 242012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,055 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the vehicle could not be started. The battery was jump started and the vehicle began to operate for a short period before the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated the battery connectors were severely corroded. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 29,055. Updated 03/14/12

- Cranston, RI, USA

problem #8

Jul 012011

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
The A/C suddenly started blowing hot air. The A/C system had over 200 psi which burned up the A/C compressor. Compressor was changed and now it is reading that it is 40 degrees. Failure in the A/C evaporator temperature switch.

- Marshall, MI, USA

problem #7

May 252011

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
2007 Ford Fusion--my keys are getting stuck in the ignition which to me cause a risk of someone stealing your car. The key will not release and if the warranty or extended warranty has expired, Ford will not pay to have the car repaired. This problem has been in existence with the Focus & Fusion since 2003 and Ford has not issued a recall. I had to leave my car unlocked after lunch because I could not get the keys out of the ignition. I work at a place where the parking lot is large and I was on edge all afternoon praying that no one would steal my car. I called Ford customer relations and they were no help at all. It was like an "oh well". my issue is, if Ford knows of this issue with the ignition, why haven't Ford recalled these cars and fix the problem. I googled this problem and you will be amazed as to the complaints of keys getting stuck in the ignition. The Ford dealerships states that the shifter knob assembly is why mine was stuck and I also saw the same problem when I googled this issue. Please, please help me to help other consumers as myself in getting Ford to address this issue. Thanks

- Rex, GA, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?