If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

2.3

hardy worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,178 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Ford Fusion electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Ford Fusion Owner Comments

problem #18

Aug 072013

Fusion

  • 81,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My son was traveling down road and car completely shut down. Computer and coils shorted out. Thank goodness he was able to move into turning lane. This would have been dangerous if he had been on the interstate. Need part number 7U7Z12A650dla. Car is currently at dealership in waiting on part. It has been there over 2 weeks. We have been told 1000 Fusion are waiting on this part. Ford case number - cas-3034662

- Talking Rock , GA, USA

problem #17

Jul 232013

Fusion

  • 63,500 miles
During an oil change, the mechanic noticed that the right front turn signal was not working and changed the bulb. When the new bulb didn't work, he checked closer and determined that it was flashing very dimly. The dealer informed us that the smart junction box is the problem and will cost $600 to replace. There was no indication to the driver that a turn signal was not working and it was simply luck that the issue was spotted by an alert mechanic. This is dangerous if the driver thinks he is signaling a turn or lane change when nothing is visible outside the vehicle.

- Westmont, IL, USA

problem #16

Jun 072013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 85,500 miles
Came home from work, went back out to car to go to store noticed left front turn signal bulb was on steady. Changed bulbs stayed on still. Had it checked out said it was the smart junction box. This is a common problem many people are having and something needs to be done to fix it. Ford needs to do a recall and make it right !

- Norfolk, NY, USA

problem #15

Jun 032013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 93,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Lost power while trying to pass a car had no throttle and almost had a head on collision got got home had a air injection code P0491 in the system. Found a bad air injection pump loaded with water replaced the air pump and the problem is solved I see Ford has a lot of issues with water getting into these pumps but refuses to do anything about it.contacted Ford with no response. I worked in Ford dealerships for over 25 years so I know how to diagnose these problems. I am not concerned about the money for fixing this problem I just feel the issue should be corrected before someone gets hurt or killed. Plate # New York [xxx] VIN #[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Claverack, NY, USA

problem #14

Jun 132013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The front left turn signal is not working and the vehicle gives no warning of this fact (like when the bulb goes out and the turn signal blinks faster). The bulb and fuse are fine and according to the dealer it is the smart junction box which costs six hundred dollars to replace. My research online indicates that this is a common problem and I fail to see how Ford does not consider inoperable turn signals to be anything other than a safety issue. Every turn or four way stop is a safety issue as others drives have no idea which direction we will be traveling.

- Vermilion, OH, USA

problem #13

May 042011

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
I have owned my Ford Fusion sel V6 since June of 2009. In may of 2011 my ac went out within minutes of being used. I had stopped at my house for a minute in between errands and the ac worked when I turned the car off. When I got back in to leave again the ac would not work. A few weeks after that, my driver side inside door handle broke and I am no longer able to open the door from the inside. Now in May 2013, my passenger side door handle is broken the same as the driver side and the two back door locks have to be locked from inside because they don't work from the remote. I have also been experiencing a loud humming sound that sounds like the tires. However, after having the car looked at, I have been told that it is a problem with my transmission (not my tires at all) I see here where many of these issues have been reported but nothing is being done about any of these issues by Ford. This is the first Ford I have owned and it is going to be the last. I am looking at getting a different car asap.

- Provo, UT, USA

problem #12

Jul 172012

Fusion

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Complete loss of electrical power. Appears random to the driver. RPM instability. Dead battery after having just turned the vehicle off.

- Plainwell, MI, USA

problem #11

Nov 052012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 73,350 miles
Airbag light stays on for the driver's side; sometimes I can get it to turn off if I restart the car. Not sure what would happen with the indicator light on; afraid that the airbag may deploy. Electrical: Two things with the electrical. The first is the compass error. This actually occurred January 2012 (don't remember the mileage). I was parked in a parking lot and turned my vehicle on to have it warm up while I was cleaning the snow off of the car. Since it didn't affect how the car handled, I didn't have it looked at. The second issue occurred 11/10/12 which was the driver's door lock would not disengage (mileage was approximately 73,350). I was parked to get out to gas up my car and pulled on the driver's door handle to unlocked the car, it wouldn't open. Then I pushed the "unlock" button of the door and the driver's door still would not open. I ended up crawling over to the passenger's door to exit the vehicle. I attempted to enter the car using the door key and it did not disengage the lock. I am taking the vehicle into the Ford dealer on Monday 11/11/12 to have these problems resolved. Please let me know if I need to do anything. Thank you.

- New Castle, PA, USA

problem #10

Jun 012012

Fusion

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the electrical system failed and the vehicle would accelerate slowly. In addition, the contact mentioned that the engine could not be turned off. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not contacted and the vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 75,000. The VIN was not available.

- Tucson , AZ, USA

problem #9

Jan 242012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,055 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the vehicle could not be started. The battery was jump started and the vehicle began to operate for a short period before the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated the battery connectors were severely corroded. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 29,055. Updated 03/14/12

- Cranston, RI, USA

problem #8

Jul 012011

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The A/C suddenly started blowing hot air. The A/C system had over 200 psi which burned up the A/C compressor. Compressor was changed and now it is reading that it is 40 degrees. Failure in the A/C evaporator temperature switch.

- Marshall, MI, USA

problem #7

May 252011

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
2007 Ford Fusion--my keys are getting stuck in the ignition which to me cause a risk of someone stealing your car. The key will not release and if the warranty or extended warranty has expired, Ford will not pay to have the car repaired. This problem has been in existence with the Focus & Fusion since 2003 and Ford has not issued a recall. I had to leave my car unlocked after lunch because I could not get the keys out of the ignition. I work at a place where the parking lot is large and I was on edge all afternoon praying that no one would steal my car. I called Ford customer relations and they were no help at all. It was like an "oh well". my issue is, if Ford knows of this issue with the ignition, why haven't Ford recalled these cars and fix the problem. I googled this problem and you will be amazed as to the complaints of keys getting stuck in the ignition. The Ford dealerships states that the shifter knob assembly is why mine was stuck and I also saw the same problem when I googled this issue. Please, please help me to help other consumers as myself in getting Ford to address this issue. Thanks

- Rex, GA, USA

problem #6

Feb 112011

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 46,600 miles
The dash panel on my 2007 Fusion suddenly lit up - oil light, air bag light, etc. - and after stopping the car it would not start again. The battery cables (especially the positive one) were highly corroded. After removing the corrosion and replacing the battery it started. Five weeks later it failed to start again. Both times the radio and lights worked but the car would not start. I tried jumping it off, but it did not even try to turn over. Had it towed to the dealership and they said the battery cables and 20 feet of cable wire were completely corroded and would have to be replaced. The car has fewer than 48,000 miles on it. I do not live in a high salt area either. Apparently this is not under warranty either. I believe that substandard equipment was used and that there should be a notice sent out to other Fusion owners to take any precautionary steps to avoid this if there are any. Ultimately, I think Ford should cover this repair. It is clearly due to shoddy cables and wiring.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #5

Dec 172010

Fusion

  • 92,000 miles
I parked my 2007 Ford Fusion at my house and I was unable to remove my key from the ignition. My steering wheel would not lock. I made sure that my car was in park, and still my key would not come put of the ignition. My boyfriend disconnected the battery, and tried to turn the key backwards and this was the only way the key could come out. We replaced the ignition switch, and the ignition switch sensor and it still not working. I would like for this to be reported and I would like to know how to fix the problem.

- Cloverdale , CA, USA

problem #4

Apr 072010

Fusion

  • 42,700 miles
Unable to remove key from ignition. Shift lever button will not fully extend to allow the selector to go into proper position so that the key can be moved. I have pushed and let it snap back out and have been able to get it out once or twice but now stays in most of the time. This has just started on this 2007 Fusion with in last 7 days.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #3

May 252009

Fusion 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Ford Fusion. Approximately fifteen minutes after the vehicle was parked, it caught fire. There were no injuries. The fire department extinguished the flames. It was ruled as an electrical fire. The vehicle was destroyed and a report was filed. The failure mileage was 28,000. Updated 8/24/09 updated 08/26/09.

- Hasbrouck Heights, NJ, USA

problem #2

Apr 232009

Fusion

  • 43,000 miles
No A/C, electrical not supplied to compressor, no help from Ford, lack oc concern.

- Richmond, TX, USA

problem #1

Feb 142009

Fusion

  • 42,000 miles
The 2007 Ford Fusion developed erratic electrical power and starting failure. Dealership found that the battery cables had essentially disintegrated from battery posts along considerable length of the cables, also destroying the battery with excessive corrosion and splitting the plastic cable sheaths. Vehicle was only 2 years old but had 42,000 mi. A quick internet search immediately found 3 other 2006-2007 Fusion with same occurrence, all just slightly over the 36,000mi warranty and not covered. Ford has not issued a tsb, has not volunteered to cover any of the $428 cost. This is a clear quality control product failure, unacceptable on any 2-yr-old vehicle, and could have resulted in a fire or stranding situation.

- Greenfield, IN, USA

Not what you are looking for?