Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
13 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,908 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Fusion seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #108

Nov 182016

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall ;etter rec'd July 2016. Told no air bags available at that time and would be contacted when they had. Have heard nothing as of 11-18-2016. Called Ford today and told by "mary" part not available, can't provide estimate of time when it would be available.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #107

Jul 012016

Fusion

  • 105,000 miles
Takata recall. Received recall notice (16S26/NHTSA recall 16V-384) July 2016 from Ford. Today is November 7, 2016. Notice of repair schedule and fix for of defective airbag is not timely and has not yet been made yet.

- Northlake, TX, USA

problem #106

Jul 192016

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Danville, IL, USA

problem #105

Jun 192016

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

About the same time my recall notice was sent the leather on the dash lifted that was attached to the cap holding the air bag. I could not get it to slip back so now I have an opening on the dash in front of the air bag. I did take it to Ford the said it was not going to open up all the way unless I had an accident. I am still waiting for a recall for the airbag to be fixed but I feel that this was not a coincident that the leather lifted. I am worried that the air bag will deploy and someone in the front driver side will be hurt. I know the car is an older model but I keep this car in perfect condition.

- Williamstown, NJ, USA

problem #104

Oct 282016

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #103

Jun 012016

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #102

Jul 012016

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall I got a recall letter in the mail in July about my passenger side airbag inflator may rupture in the event of a crash necessitating airbag deployment. A ruptured inflator may result in metal fragments striking vehicle occupants causing serious injury or death. I've been very scared to drive my car every since. I do not feel like this issue is being resolved in a timely manner.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #101

Jul 012016

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall it is taking an inordinate amount of time for takata to have a remedy provided. When I just checked the website it said remedy not available yet.

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #100

Oct 262016

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V38400 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #99

Jul 012015

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall: I do not think that enough pressure is being applied to get the problem fixed. My car should be pulled and a rental car provided at no cost. That will get them to fix the problem faster. I do not have full use of my vehicle as I no longer allow a passenger to ride in the front seat. Only the passenger side airbag is impacted on my vehicle. Ground all vehicles impacted and see how fast they get the problem corrected. It has been long enough. Take the gloves off and get tough!

- Beavercreek, OH, USA

problem #98

Jun 112016

Fusion

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the front passenger side of the dashboard bubbled. The dealer was notified of the failure, but the vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. In addition, the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 120,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #97

Dec 012010

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
Illegal, unethical, immoral decisions made by Ford in waiting eight years to notify me about driving a dangerous unsafe car for many years. If there are laws to follow in notifying you or the consumer when a manufacturer discovers a serious and dangerous defect in a product they offer, then they most have been violated in my case and hundreds of millions of consumers cases. For eight or nine years I have owned and my wife has driven the vehicle listed. I would like you to determine when did Ford know about their cars having dangerous air bags.takata has been in the news for years. Which people knew. Did these people follow your laws concerning notifying NHTSA, consumers and other government offices" I received safety recall notice 16S26/NHTSA recall 16V-384 in July of 2016 after driving this car for eight or nine years. If you find the true answers to my questions then it is difficult to believe that no violations occurred. The actions taken by Ford over the past eight years must violate NHTSA codes, consumer rights, product safety codes and many other codes. When national Ford employees can not give approximate date to get unsafe car repaired to the nearest month and they do not return call as promised, then if no codes are violated then surely that is an example of unethical or immoral decisions made over the past nine years. So again I ask. When did Ford know of the problem? who knew? but more importantly what laws were violated" in closing I would like to say that "statistically speaking" I find it very difficult to believe that a car could go eight or nine years with a defective product (especially a takata air bag) and all codes especially related to timely notifications to you and the consumer were met. Thank you [xxx] ps I have a 2008 Ford Fusion sitting in the garage for three months for sale if you know any one who would buy a Ford? information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Scott Depot, WV, USA

problem #96

Oct 052016

Fusion

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the front passenger side air bag was protruding from the dashboard. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 62,000.

- Redford Charter Twp, MI, USA

problem #95

Jul 082013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
"takata recall" - I purchased a 2008 Ford Fusion in 2010 with only 19,000 miles. During the month of July 2013, it was a very hot summer day, 90 degrees and my car windows were shut tight. My car sat in the parking lot during working hours at least 9 hours. At this time, I had 33,000 miles on this car and my first Ford vehicle purchased. I entered inside, I noticed on the instrument panel on the front passenger side the air bag had popped up along the perimeter. I was able to see the foam material underneath the airbag. Immediately, I was concerned and notified the hq Ford Motor Company. I request to be transferred to the recall department. I asked if they had any complaints or recalls on the Ford Fusion front passenger airbag. Her response was "no". I informed her of the occurrence in detail and felt action must be taken immediately. I requested to please note this in file for any future calls. I had offered to send a picture of it but I was told it was not necessary. I politely asked what my options were and what steps are needed. She replied, it was not Ford's responsibility and recommend I drive my vehicle to the nearest dealership. I expressed how imperative it was to forward this information. I took my vehicle to the nearest dealership, explained the safety issue and it must be taken care of immediately. I was told it was not their responsibility, the cost would be $2,500 out of my pocket. I was shocked! I left the dealership unhappy and disappointed. It is now 2016, I have 72,000 on my vehicle, the problem remains the same. It has not been repaired, I refuse to pay. I never received any notice in the mail. I am very disturbed by this. As it stands, there is a recall on the front passenger ip but unable to repair due to part not available? I would appreciate if someone can please help and assist me. Thank you!

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #94

Sep 092016

Fusion

  • 160,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags) was received in June. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Baldwin Park, CA, USA

problem #93

Sep 132016

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #92

Aug 262016

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags) however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 10/05/16

- Halifax, PA, USA

problem #91

Aug 012011

Fusion

  • 11,000 miles
Have been notified that as of August 1, 2011, there is a recall on my car's passenger airbag. They still cannot fix the problem and it is unsafe for me to have a passenger sitting in the front of my car. My family has no choice to use the front seat of the car-. with only 15,000 miles on car the dealer would not repair also paid for 100,000 bumperto bumper warranty when aquiring the vechile needs to be safe per us. Gov. And ntsb

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #90

Jan 121015

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall we cant sell the car with this problem and the passanger is afraid to be in it.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #89

Jun 012016

Fusion

  • miles
I have been notified that as of June 1, 2016, there is a recall on my car's passenger airbag. They still cannot fix the problem and it is unsafe for me to have a passenger sitting in the front of my car. My family has no choice to use the front seat of the car. What other help can I get to have my family in a safe vehicle.

- Pinon Hills, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?