10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
13 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,399 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Fusion seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 7)

problem #123

Jul 012016

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received notice of recall notice 6 months ago and the problem has not been resolve yet. Concerned about the safety of my passengers that ride in the front seat.

- Barnegat, NJ, USA

problem #122

Jul 262016

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Visalia, CA, USA

problem #121

Jun 012016

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Huntingdon Valley, PA, USA

problem #120

Jul 152016

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #119

Jul 012016

Fusion

  • 65,000 miles
Received recall on airbags 6 months ago and as of 1/3/2017 has not been taken care of. Ford dealership says they have not received the parts yet. Also the brakes go soft when braking and have not received any recall about this problem. 2 very dangerous problems that need to be taken care of.

- Weston, OH, USA

problem #118

Nov 242016

Fusion

  • 172,000 miles
Dash is bubbling around the driver's side vent on dash and around the passenger side airbag. Vent is protruding from the dash. Airbag light on dash also comes on intermittently but is not constant. Also involved in the takata recall

- Holdrege, NE, USA

problem #117

Jun 012014

Fusion

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger side dashboard air bag cover has seperated exposing foam insulation and exposes air bag pocket. This occurred in 2014 gradually over time. Milage of vehicle is 65K.

- Zephyrhills, FL, USA

problem #116

Jul 012016

Fusion

  • miles
I received recall letter back in July 2016 regarding the passenger air bag recall. Safety recall notice 16S26/NHTSA recall 16V-384. And the issue hasn't been correct to date. I am nervous drfiving my car with a passenger and now the dash is peeling away from the air bag site.

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #115

Jul 152016

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. I own a 2008 Ford Fusion with the takata airbag recall. I have been informed 6+ months ago of this recall. Still to this day I am told there is no available parts for this remedy! I have concern every time I drive my vehicle. My vehicle has 145000 miles on it will this be fixed before my car goes to the grave yard god forbid I get in an accident and someone gets injured further because of this such a big lawsuit to be had, I have been driving this car since 2008 and just now we are finding this out" shame on every party involved including nthsa! when will this be remedied so I could have peace of mind again while commuting in my vehicle! so if I have to drive my car in fear for the remainder of its life who do I bring forth my complaints and lawsuit to god forbid an injury occurs? this is so far beyond unacceptable that it is sickening! lets quit with all this vague information and step up our game and get these older cars remedied sooner than later! is my car safe to drive? is it unsafe to drive? what do you recommend just keep on driving and hope for the best" you people need to find a solution and quick this is way outta hand! please advise of your recommendations I'm am interested to hear this....... sincerely concerned consumer!

- Huntley, IL, USA

problem #114

Jun 012016

Fusion

  • miles
I have grand children that need to ride in the vehicle and with a recalled takata passenger airbag with no time set for fixing this problem is a very unsafe car

- Bryant, AR, USA

problem #113

Jun 012016

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #112

Jul 142016

Fusion

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated at least four times per week for the past six months. The contact also mentioned that the dashboard became unglued near the air bag area. The contact was informed that the failure had nothing to do with the air bag warning indicator. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Star, ID, USA

problem #111

Jul 012016

Fusion

  • miles
Recall repair has been ignored by dealership and manufacturer to date. I responded to the safety recall letter 7/2016 and nothing more than - no parts- no target date for parts-no there is no one who knows or can do anything more. Just have to wait. For what?? until there is an injury or death. The alarm has been sounded - then no remedy available. The access on the top of the front dash has pulled apart and now have been notified that the airbag may deploy at any time.

- Bloomington, IN, USA

problem #110

Dec 022016

Fusion

  • miles
Passenger side airbag is affected by the takata recall. My complaint is that Ford has known since June 2016 that the passenger airbag needs to be replaced, but has yet to send notification. I only became aware of the recall by researching on my own. Ford has an obligation to notify owners of a recall even if parts are not immediately available.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #109

Jul 012016

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. I received a recall notice July, 2016. I have called Ford as well as my local dealer and they still have no timeline for when the parts will be available to repair this defect. I have not as of yet had an issue, but I am very unhappy with the lack of progress inresolving this issue.

- Bath, PA, USA

problem #108

Nov 182016

Fusion

  • miles
Recall ;etter rec'd July 2016. Told no air bags available at that time and would be contacted when they had. Have heard nothing as of 11-18-2016. Called Ford today and told by "mary" part not available, can't provide estimate of time when it would be available.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #107

Jul 012016

Fusion

  • 105,000 miles
Takata recall. Received recall notice (16S26/NHTSA recall 16V-384) July 2016 from Ford. Today is November 7, 2016. Notice of repair schedule and fix for of defective airbag is not timely and has not yet been made yet.

- Northlake, TX, USA

problem #106

Jul 192016

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Danville, IL, USA

problem #105

Jun 192016

Fusion

  • miles
About the same time my recall notice was sent the leather on the dash lifted that was attached to the cap holding the air bag. I could not get it to slip back so now I have an opening on the dash in front of the air bag. I did take it to Ford the said it was not going to open up all the way unless I had an accident. I am still waiting for a recall for the airbag to be fixed but I feel that this was not a coincident that the leather lifted. I am worried that the air bag will deploy and someone in the front driver side will be hurt. I know the car is an older model but I keep this car in perfect condition.

- Williamstown, NJ, USA

problem #104

Oct 282016

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Clovis, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?