Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,128 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 21 of 38)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #342

Jul 022013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The first incident happened when pulling away from a stop light. When I pressed the accelerator there was no response yet the car was running and in gear. The wrench symbol was on the dash. I cut the car off and restarted. The problem was gone. Later that day I was driving on the interstate at 65 mph and the car just cut off. I pulled over, turned off the ignition and restarted and everything was again fine. Later it happened again while pulling away from a stop light. I shut the engine off mad restarted. This again worked but the engine light stayed on.

- Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #341

Jun 272013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 53,500 miles
Car stalls while driving at any speed.

- Wixom, MI, USA

problem #340

Jun 282013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 790,000 miles
I was driving on the freeway with my child when my car started jerking and the vehicle lost all power. I had to hurry and put my flashers on and try to get on the side of the road. The jerking caused my driver side seatbelt to pull tight and left marks on my shoulder. A wrench light by the park button came on and was lighted up. I put the car in park and restarted it. The car started and I proceeded to head to the dealership. The car did the exact same thing but this time the check engine light came on. I pulled over and had my car towed to the dealership. This morning they called and said my throttle body needs replaced. The service dept told me they have replaced several of these the last few months and the parts are on back order. He said it can be 7-10 days before the part comes in. This part needs to be recalled. Any passenger can get seriously hurt or injured if going high speeds on the interstate when this part goes out. Ford needs to do a voluntary recall but if not, the NHTSA needs to.

- Lonsdale, AR, USA

problem #339

Jun 212013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 48,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My wife was driving the car and it lost power and as she described "it started to buck". there was little response and the orange wrench light came on. She turned off the car and started it back up. The car was fine and a couple miles down the road the check engine light came on and it did it again. She turned the car off and started it again. She was able to get it home. I looked at it the following day and contacted my local Ford dealer. Speaking to a technician, he told me a diagnostic probably wouldn't bring anything up since the lights were now off and the computer had reset itself. On Sunday June 30th, 2013, I was driving approximately 55 mph when I pressed the accelerator to switch lanes and there was no response from the engine. The orange wrench light came on and my wife told me that that's exactly what had happened to her. Fortunately, there was little traffic and I was able to coast to a nearby parking lot. I turned the car off and let it sit for about 5 minutes. When I started it back up, it idled rough and quickly smoothed out. It sounds like there are many similar issues with the throttle body on this vehicle. I stopped reading after 55 reports all listing the same issue. A recall should be placed on this part since it causes a high hazard/major safety issue.

- Pawtucket , RI, USA

problem #338

Jun 302013

Fusion

  • 50,500 miles
Traveling in left lane at approx 60 to 65 mph, car begins to shudder and stalls. Narrowly avoided being rear ended by large truck, was able to pull over. Restarted car and engine light appears. Car is barely idling while in park. Attempt to drive again, car accelerates and shifts fine until reaching 50mph and stalls again. This event was repeated several times. Was able to drive car as long as it remained below 50mph. Got home, let car cool and started it again to find the engine light is now off. I'm sure this is just another instance in what seems to be many instances like this occurring. I have no other choice but to drive this car until a part can be found which after reading these testimonies seems can be a long wait. This is an obvious issue that should be addressed by Ford immediately. I do not feel safe in my own car. Unacceptable.

- Aston, PA, USA

problem #337

Jun 192013

Fusion

  • 65,058 miles
Without warning the motor shut down, no power and begin to misfire. After pulling over and waiting, I was able to restart the motor. This happened three times within 120 miles. The car was taken to a auto repair shop and diagnostic testing was done. The codes reveled throttle body problem.

- Collleyville, TX, USA

problem #336

Jun 262013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 64,270 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since I have owned the car it would occasionally fail to start on the first turn of the key. The engine would crank for 5+ seconds until I turned the key to the "off" position, removed the key and tried again. It would always start on the second try... just recently (beginning of June 2013) I noticed my tachometer was going from 7000 to 4000rpm at stop signs and traffic lights but the car never stalled. On 6/26/13 after accelerating from a stop sign to about 30 mph the car lost power, the wrench light came on but the car did not stall. I gradually pulled off to the side of the road with my hazards on trying not to cause alarm to the vehicles behind me. I put the car in park, turned the ignition key off and removed the key for 10-20 seconds and restarted the car. Everything seemed to be ok so I drove the car home. On 6/27/13 I drove my car approximately 100 miles to my destination without any problems but on the way back I was 20 miles into my return trip and driving at approximately 65mph on the garden state parkway when I experienced the same exact problem from the day before (yesterday). This time I was in heavy rush hour traffic coming out of nyc. I was very fortunate to get to the shoulder of the gsp. Again I waited 10-20 seconds and restarted. The idle was rough for a few seconds but was fine after that so I merged back onto the heavily congested road. After another 20-30 miles the car failed for the 3rd time. This time I was able to get to the shoulder easily because I stayed in the right lane knowing a power loss was just a matter of time. I have been fortunate so far because the car has started back up and it was still daylight. My fear is traveling at night on a road without a shoulder which I do a lot and not getting it started.

- Brick, NJ, USA

problem #335

Jan 242013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
I was driving to work when suddenly the car lost all forward power. I was in the middle of an intersection when the engine cut out, and a couple of people had to make some pretty severe emergency maneuvers to avoid accidents due to my almost-stalled car. I couldn't get any power out of it with the gas pedal. When I coasted off into someone's driveway, the car barely stayed running. It shook and missed like it didn't have enough air. There was a yellow wrench icon on, but no check engine light. I shut down and refired, and it ran perfectly. I took it to the local dealer, and they told me that there was no stored data to analyze, and that it didn't do it to them on the test drive. They said there wasn't a problem. 2 minutes of googling shows a huge problem with the throttle bodies on these cars. We need a recall!! what if people hadn't been paying attention when my car failed in the intersection? there could have been a big crash.

- Lawrenceburg, IN, USA

problem #334

Apr 202013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
I was driving my 2010 Ford Fusion on the interstate, at approximately 70 miles per hour, when I started feeling it "surge". it was in cruise control at the time, and it felt like it was surging up a couple of mph over the set point, and then falling back a couple of mph below the set point. It was like the cruise was hunting for the set speed. Suddenly, there was a lurch and I lost all power from the engine. Cruise disconnected and I started coasting down rapidly. There was very nearly a rear-end collision with the guy behind me as I was losing speed so quickly. There was a yellow wrench icon lit on my dashboard, but no check engine light. I managed to cost over to the right shoulder. When I stopped and put it in park, the engine ran extremely roughly. It stumbled and missed like it wasn't getting any air. I shut the engine off, waited a minute, refired it, and it ran perfectly. We continued our trip and had it looked at when we got back. Or local Ford dealer said "there are no stored codes, it didn't do it for us, and there isn't anything wrong." This has happened several times to me and every time the dealer says the same thing. 2 minutes worth of googling shows that there seems to be a massive problem with the throttle bodies that Ford has on these cars. We need a recall! we could have been injured or killed in a wreck on the interstate when this happened.

- Lawrenceburg, IN, USA

problem #333

Jun 252013

Fusion

  • 60,540 miles
Yesterday I was driving about 40 and also lost acceleration but still had power, it was weird the car was still on, but the yellow "wrench light" came on indicating it was a throttle control transmission problem! I pulled over put the car in park, turn off the ignition, and restart the car with out a problem. Its only 2010 Fusion so we shouldn't be having this issue.

- Citrus Heights, CA, USA

problem #332

Jun 192013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 27,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2010 Ford Fusion sel 2.5L automatic purchased in yonge/steeles Ford Lincoln in Canada. During normal driving, wrench light will suddenly be on: - cannot accelerate, speed cannot go beyond 60km/H, RPM cannot go beyond 2000 - sometimes vehicle will suddenly loose power and slow down. Almost got rear-ended a few times. - managed to pull over, stop the car, and restart, sometimes the problem will disappear after restart, sometimes the problem comes back in a few minutes took my car to markville Ford Lincoln on June 20th, 2013, and they claimed it was fixed. On the report, it is said: "DS12 diagnose engine light concern, locate and repair wiring to accelerator, replace sensor" "ftp fuel injectors & throttle body service plus PCM reprogram" 5 days later on June 25, 2013, the exact same problem happened again. I was almost rear-ended, and my 3 year old son was sitting in the back of the car. Very frustrated and upset. Took the car to markville Ford Lincoln first thing in the morning on June 26, 2013, and the wrench light was on my way to the dealer. I did not shutdown the engine and put the car in parking at the dealer. After a while, the engine suddenly started to rev up and down between 1500 and 2200 RPM. Voiced the concern of the throttle body issue to the dealer as I have seen this issue discussed all over the internet. Dealer still claim it is a PCM issue. The car is still in the dealership right now. Called Ford Canada customer relationship, and they will contact markville Ford Lincoln. Sorry the address doesn't allow Canadian address. So I simply put New York state.

- Markham, NY, USA

problem #331

Jun 242013

Fusion

  • 69,000 miles
While driving on 476 in pa, the car lost power and the gas pedal was unresponsive. I was able to pull over and when I turned off the engine a warning/event light went on indicating throttle/transmission issues. I was to call for assistence but waited a few minutes and started the car, and proceed to work ( about 40 minutes of driving. I called the dealership to make repair arrangement and was advised the car is drivable and that some of these throttle issues are "intermittent". the car stalled 3 more time on my way home, about 75 miles and it seemed to stall every 20 or so minutes. Car is now at the dealership awaiting replacement part(s).

- Bethlehem, PA, USA

problem #330

Mar 212013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
My 2010 Fusion is experiencing the same loss of power issues (complete loss of accelerator response, followed by the wrench light appearing) related to the defective throttle body control. While sporadic at first, the frequency of the incidents has increased to where failure now happens almost every time the car is driven (the 25+ failures have occurred in all situations, at all speeds: At highway speeds, on side streets, accelerating up hills, pulling away from stoplights, etc). I have stopped driving the car because the last throttle failure occurred as I crossed a busy 4 lane highway and could've resulted in a deadly accident. When attempting to have the problem fixed in April, my local dealer claimed Ford had placed a "hold" on all throttle bodies and that a new design of the throttle body part was being shipped from the supplier in mid-May. (the dealer also informed me that, despite this being a part of the engine, the throttle body is not covered by the powertrain warranty.) when my "new" throttle body arrived at the dealership in mid-June and I came in to have the part replaced, I was told Ford had placed another "hold" on the part and my car could not be serviced at this time. If Ford will not fix this problem on their own, it is imperative the NHTSA protect consumers by forcing the company to address this problem and to do so at no cost to the car owners. For owners who are forced to drive this car, this is a life and death issue.

- Jefferson City, MO, USA

problem #329

Apr 112013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 57,225 miles
We were traveling at about 30 mph on a moderately busy street. All of a sudden our car lost powder. It would barely move. Luckily we were not on a busy freeway or we would have been hit by on coming cars. We were able to go chug, a chug over to a nearby parking lot. We turned off the ignition and tried to decided what we should do. My husband started the car again and it seemed to be working. We managed to get home. We drove it around locally for the weekend without a problem. On Tuesday I was on a curving two lane road and it happened again. I was able to go chug, a chug until I reached a location where I could pull over to turn off the ignition. We immediately took it out to a Ford dealer. They said it needed an entire throttle pod. They replaced it for $685. Driving home we realized that the engine didn't return to idle after taking our foot off of the accelerator pedal. The rpms were set too high for safe driving. The car creeps excessively at stops. The engine continues to accelerate while applying the brake. At times, when we do press on the accelerator pedal and then remove our foot, the car has continued to advance for eight blocks with no foot on the pedal. We took the car back and were told the car was set that way from the factory because it doesn't have a "hill assist" as the 2013 cars have. These problems are extremely dangerous for safe driving.

- Hacienda Heights, CA, USA

problem #328

Jun 212009

Fusion

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated while driving 25 mph the vehicle began to jerk and lunge. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnosis and the contact was told the transmission needed to be flushed again. The vehicle was repaired. Two days later while driving 40 mph the vehicle failed to change gears, slowed down independently, and would not accelerate more than 25 mph. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnosis and the contact was informed that the transmission need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. Six months later, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 15,000 and the current mileage was 124,000.

- Shelby Township, MI, USA

problem #327

Jun 242013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 24,000 miles
The cars stalls while accelerating. The first time it happened was while driving on the expressway 8 months ago at 50mph. The car all of the sudden stopped accelerating a wrench icon appeared and had to pull over to the shoulder, turn the ignition off and the car started and was able to drive off with no problems. The second time was while driving on street at 25mph, had to repeat the process. On 6/25 it happened again after being stopped on a traffic light and turned left accelerated and car stalled again at 50mph had to pull over once again. This time the engine light appear. I had to drive 5 miles tapping the gas pedal to prevent the car from stalling. After that I was not able to reproduce the problem.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #326

Jun 242013

Fusion

  • 91,234 miles
I was driving and all of sudden my car stalled in the middle of traffic and almost caused an accident. A wrench symbol displayed on the dash as I tried to accelerate on the gas but could not move. I to hurry up and pull out of traffic before I got it. I turned the car off and waited a few minutes started it back up drive two blocks and it did it again. I only had the car less than a year and could have a caused a bad accident with the car stalling in the middle of traffic. I thanks god for watching over me. Im a single parent and need a vehicle and don't have money for costly repairs.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #325

Jun 222013

Fusion

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated while driving 40 mph the vehicle failed to accelerate. The contact turned the vehicle off and restarted it; the vehicle began to operate as designed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 77,000.

- Bristol, PA, USA

problem #324

Jun 212013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 56,200 miles
There has been several incidents over the past 2 days. The first time it happened I was making a left turn, I tried to accelerate but there was none. The engine felt like it was shaking. I pulled over after finally getting through the intersection, turned off the car and then after a few minutes, restarted it and it ran fine. That evening on my way home from work I was driving down the street and it did the same thing. A wrench light came on the dash display. The same thing has happened 6 times. Its almost like it resets itself if I turn the car on and off. The wrench light also turns off once I turn the car on and off.

- Owasso, OK, USA

problem #323

Jun 192013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
As I drove my 2010 Ford Fusion SE 6 speed manual transmission up to a speed of 50 mph, I was noticing a couple jerks of acceleration and then completely loosing power.I was able to pull over, come to a complete stop and turn the vehicle off and restart it. App-on restarting I was able to make it to auto zone where I was informed that my fuel injectors probably needed a good cleaning. So I bought some cleaner and ran I through my engine. That seemed to have worked until 3 days later I was coming home with my sister and her friend on the freeway, during rush hour driving 75mph this time, and my car didn't only stall once, but three times on my drive home. However, this time my check engine light came on so when I arrived back how and dropped of my sister and her friend I drove to auto zone and advanced auto parts to get an obd II reading. Both readings were P2111, meaning that my throttle actuator was stuck open and not responding to the gas peddle. Now both companies suggested that I just clean my throttle body and that would fix the problem. Before I did this I call my Ford dealer to see if this part was under warranty or any kind of recall and was informed that it was not under warranty or recall. They also suggested that I just clean the throttle body and that would fix my problem. So I cleaned the throttle body, but now the car is stalling more than before. I tried looking up the part so that I could replace it but found out that Ford has already discontinued that part and is telling people to by the new part, but they never did a recall for the part. This particular part controls the air flow into the engine, if it malfunctions the throttle body closes up and the car idles, no matter how fast you are going. This is a sever safety issue that Ford needs to take responsibility for. If they don't someone can be seriously injured, or worse, killed.

- Bonaire, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?