Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,054 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 25 of 37)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #260

May 132013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 59,993 miles


On May 13, 2013, at approximatley 8:30am, on I-40 westbound at 70mph the engine suddenly completly lost power/thrust and the "wrench" light (throttle body indicator). All electrical components were still on, but the gas pedal would not respond. The engine was sputtering and seemed to be "choking". I put on the hazard indicators, pulled over to the side of the road and immediately turned the car off. I checked my owners manual and it stated that if the light remained on I had an issue with the throttle body. I turned the car on and the light did not come on or demonstrate any indication of trouble, so I continued driving to my destination. Upon reaching my destination, I contacted the local dealership in the area, explained what happened and dropped it off for them to diagnose. After leaving it with the dealership for two days, the dealership could not replicate the problem but stated that it was the throttle body and that specific part was back-ordered unti June. With no options available, I paid the diagnostic fee of $130.71 and decided to try to drive it home. On May 16th, 2013, at approximately 10:30am, on I-81 southbound at 70mph the same exact issue occured again. I put on the hazard indicators, pulled over to the side of the road and immediately turned the car off. This time when I turned the car back on, the "engine" light came on (no "wrench" light). Leaving the car running, I checked my owners manual and it stated to drive it to the closes dealership. Upon reaching the dealership, I explained the repeated trouble I had had, what the previous delaership had stated and that the car was still running so they could diagnise it without having to replicate the problem. The dagnostic indicated code P2111 (throttle body stuck open-replace throttle body). They installed it, I paid the total service fee of $381.91 and drove the rest of the way home.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #259

Apr 122013


  • 48,000 miles
This has happened several times. As I am driving down the road both accelerating or at a constant speed, the wrench light will come on and the vehicle with no longer have throttle abilities. I have to pull off to the shoulder of the road because nothing works. As the vehicle stops and I shift into neutral, the vehicle shakes excessively. I shut the vehicle off, wait a minute, turn it back on and the wrench is gone and the vehicle runs properly until the next occurrence. Ford has been notified about this for years and refuses to put out a recall on the throttle body which is the problem.

- Rockford, MI, USA

problem #258

May 042013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 45,400 miles
I have already filed a complaint about this issue - previous ODI # 10499938. The car is in a forward motion when it all of a sudden loses all power when pressing on the gas pedal. It jerks, shimmies etc. And moves forward by inches or not at all. Previously this has happened and I took the car to a dealer who put a "recorder" on it, and over 2-3 weeks went by and it never did it again. This was in late 2012, early 2013. Now the weather has warmed up and starting on May 4, 2013 the car has done this same behavior every day at least 2X per day or more. We have it at the dealership who previously put the recorder on it ( and whom had a service person working there at the time hat told me he felt it was defective throttle body). They just called us and told us they have now been able to get codes for the problem and it is a defective throttle body and it will cost us close to $700 to fix the problem. This is my first Ford car and it will be my last if they don't take care of this under warranty. This problem is all over car websites and has been for some time.

- Huntington Woods, MI, USA

problem #257

May 132013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 71,125 miles


Transmission is shifting very hard and slipping. It will jerk the whole car and sometimes not move at all and rev up to 4000rpm. I have called my local dealership to setup an appointment and they wont even look at it.

- Duluth, MN, USA

problem #256

May 102013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,645 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 15 mph, the vehicle failed to accelerate upon engaging the pedal. The engine and wrench symbol warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The failure occurred on two occasions. The throttle body assembly and actuator were replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 44,645....updated 06-19-13 updated 06/28/2013

- Ramona, CA, USA

problem #255

Apr 172012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 44,655 miles
Vehicle was travelling approximately 20-25 mph when power was abruptly reduced and the engine went into a rough idle. The wrench light on the dash illuminated. There was no response from the accelerator pedal. Power steering and power brakes were not affected. I pulled over to the side of the road and turned off the engine. Upon restarting, the car ran fine and I proceeded home without incident. The next morning, the car started fine, but a half mile later the car's power was again reduced with a rough idle. The wrench light illuminated again. I stopped safely and turned off the engine. I restarted the car several times; each time power was reduced and the car was shaking and shuddering. I limped back home and called a tow company to tow the car to the dealer. The diagnosis was a failed throttle body. Dealership replaced throttle body.

- Bonaire, GA, USA

problem #254

May 082013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 61,400 miles


Traveling approximately 70-75 mph on us highway vehicle lost power and entered into a limited power "limp home" mode, dropping engine to idle speed and causing a wrench light to activate on the dash and activation of "check engine" light. Vehicle losing power nearly resulted in motor vehicle collision with other vehicles. After moving to shoulder of roadway and shutting off vehicle and turning it back on the problem corrected for approximately 2 miles where issue occurred again, this time at speeds approximately 60 mph. After shutting off and powering back on vehicle the problem again corrected for less than a mile. Vehicle continued same problem after shutdown another 8 times within 5 miles. Only roadside correction to issue was to remove negative battery cable to reset computer. After completing this task vehicle would run normally for approximately 10 miles where issue would return. Vehicle was taken to shop where a diagnostic computer showed codes of P2112 and P2111, throttle actuator stuck open and throttle actuator stuck closed. Required repair appears to be complete removal and replacement of electronic throttle body assembly.

- Sedalia, MO, USA

problem #253

May 082013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
Driving on expressway the car quickly and randomly lost acceleration and jerked violently. I was driving in the middle lane and nearly was rear ended by vehicle behind me. I was able to put car in neutral and move over to the shoulder. Turned car off, then back on and the problem seemed to be fixed. Called Ford dealership and they said it sounds like my electronic throttle control as this is a common issue in my vehicle. This fix is not covered by warranty or recalled by Ford. Not only that but I was not notified by Ford that this is a known issue and should get it fixed (as it nearly caused an accident on expressway). Two days later same issue happened again. Luckily no traffic was nearby as this may have caused yet another accident.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #252

May 102013


  • 34,500 miles
Started to accelerate after being stopped at a stop light when the car made a loud noise, shuddered, and then lost all power and would not accelerate no matter how hard the gas was pressed causing me to be stuck in the middle of the intersection. A wrench light indicating a transmission failure was indicated on the dash. I was able to limp along at <5 mph to the side of the road. Turning the car off and then restarting cleared the error code on the dash and I was able to drive the remaining 0.5 miles to work. Calling Ford they indicated there was nothing they could do because the error code was cleared.

- Jamesville, NY, USA

problem #251

Apr 152013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 66,348 miles
1st incident: Car stalled in traffic while going 40 mph, coasted into parking lot, restarted car and drove fine - no warning lights 2nd incident: 6 weeks later with no issues or warning lights car stalled again late at night while going 35 mph up a small rise 3rd incident: 2 days later - still no warning lights, car suddenly lost power, did not stall, but would not go over 5 mph while entering attempting to enter interstate. Sat on side of interstate for 45 minutes waiting on a tow truck. I had the car towed to a Ford dealership. They replaced the throttle body which cost $385. The notes on the invoice state they "retrieved code P2111 throttle system stuck open." I feel certain Ford has some serious issues with these cars as the transmission has already had to be rebuilt.

- Hendersonville, TN, USA

problem #250

May 172010

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 688 miles


We were trapped on an interstate out of state after flat towing per Ford's specs and Ford's recommendations. Transmission failed. Had to trailer Fusion home after dealer said it would be six days before one was available. Transmission was replaced. Was trapped on interstate a second time on 5/23/12 while flat towing, the 2nd transmission failed. This transmission had 15,707 miles on it. It was obvious that this transmission was not made for flat towing. We asked Ford customer service to buy back the Fusion since the only reason we bought it was they recommended it for flat towing. They refused. On 4/25/13 I took the Fusion in to check fluid level for flat towing and with only about 8000 miles on fluid since 2nd replacement the report recommended the transmission be flushed and refilled because the fluid was burnt. Ford would not pay for it even though I had an extended warranty and my car only had 24215 mi. The service writer told me not to flush and refill with only 8000 mi on the fluid even though that was the main reason I went in. I heard Ford was working with remco and had developed a transmission cooler that they were installing to keep these transmissions from failing but the dealer knew nothing about this. Ford seems happy to have customers trapped on dangerous freeways and then continue to replace the transmissions at the inconvenience and danger to the occupants of the Fusion. Many consumers with this 6F35 transmission have had many experiences like ours as evidenced on the internet (Ford forum). Please help.

- Sun City West, AZ, USA

problem #249

May 062013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
I was accelerating after going through a traffic light and the car was not responsive to the acceleration. I looked down at instrument panel and noticed that the throttle controller/transmission light was lit up. I stepped on the gas more but the car just slowed down to the point where I had to move to the side of the road. I put the car in park, put the emergency flashers on and shut it off. When I turned the car on again, the instrument panel light was off and the car seemed to operate normally. On a separate note, I have noticed that the car clunks when reversing (once clunked so violently that the can of soda in the door flew up and splashed up the door) and occasionally there is acceleration hesitation from 2nd to third gear.

- Pottstown, PA, USA

problem #248

May 052013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 60,700 miles
I was traveling at 65mph down the freeway when there was a sudden jolt and the accelerator pedal stopped responding and the engine idled at 500-600 RPM. The engine and wrench lights came on. I slowly pulled over to the side of the road. The car was shaking badly. I turned the car off and restarted again and the problem went away. I took off but in less than 2 minutes it happened again. I had to tow the car to the dealer. Turns out it's the electronic throttle body (part# ds7Z9E926A) and they charged me $380 to replace it. This is a known issue with this make and model vehicle. I'm surprised Ford issued a recall on "suspected" faulty wheel studs but not an issue as big as throttle body with numerous complaints. This is a very dangerous problem especially if it happens in heavy traffic or in the middle of an intersection.

- Canoga Park, CA, USA

problem #247

May 032013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
Vehicle seemed to stall, wrench warning light came on and then went off, shut off vehicle and restarted. Could not get vehicle up to speed, seeming to stall again. Called tow truck.

- Downingtown, PA, USA

problem #246

Nov 062012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
I was traveling down the freeway at approx 70 mph and there was a sudden shuttering of the engine/car and loss of power. The"wrench" light turned on. I seemed as though the engine was still on but when I pushed on the accelerator nothing happened. This happened in the middle of a 4 lane freeway. Thank god I was traveling down hill so I was able to get over to the shoulder. I turned the car off, waited a moment and tried to restart. It started back up and drove for another month or two when it did the exact same thing. Seems like this is happening to quite a few people who own Ford Fusion. I've taken it in and it is the throttle body, same as many other peoples complaints with the exact same story. Very dangerous problem.

- La Mesa, CA, USA

problem #245

May 022013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 36,900 miles
Driving on interstate at highway speeds (65mph+), car suddenly lost power and slowed, shuddering as it stopped. Difficult to restart, able to continue on driving for several miles before occurring again. Had vehicle towed to Ford dealer in the area for service. Diagnosed as throttle body failure; dealer service has replaced throttle body as of 5/3/2013.

- Wake Forest, NC, USA

problem #244

May 012013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 80,079 miles
I was just leaving the street from our subdivision during morning rush hour, made a right hand turn when there was a break in traffic and just as I was accelerating the engine just seemed to die. I was able to steer the car to the side of the street to get out of traffic and discovered that the car was still running at a rough idle and a "wrench" symbol showed up on my dash. When the traffic cleared I was able to back up into the street into our subdivision, got the car turned around and drove back to my house at less than 5mph. After letting the car set for a while I started it up and it ran fine. I then called a mechanic and explained what happened and asked him to check it out, which he agreed to do. During the drive to the mechanic the same problem occurred about 1/2 mile from his location and I was again able to get out of the flow of traffic and made it to his location. After leaving the car at his location I went on line to research if any other 2010 Fusion owners had experienced the same problem and found that there were hundreds that had, many of whom contacted Ford with no luck in getting them to acknowledge the problem. The problem appears to be associated with the throttle body assembly. I also called Ford to discuss this with them and asked why they had not initiated a recall on this vehicle since so many people had this problem and it was what I considered to be an extreme safety hazards for drivers when this happened. I was told that this was not an issue for which a recall notice had been initiated. I have had Ford products for over 40 years and was very surprised that this was the kind of response I got. I am surprised that someone has not initiated a class action suit against them for this problem since it is such a serious safety hazard.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #243

Apr 272013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
My wife was accelerating through an intersection and car stalled. Luckily an oncoming vehicle was able to swerve out of way and my wife was able to steer the car to the shoulder. It would not restart and I came and switched cars with her. After 5 minutes it started and I was able to drive home after 4-5 more stalls on my 2 mile ride home. Stalled on way to dealer on Monday and they advised needed to replace a throttle body at a cost of over $500. Only had car for 35 mths but since over miles the warranty wouldn't cover it. After checking with other mechanics was able to see about 32 other incidents that required same repair on 2010 Fusion 2.5L engine. But when spoke with a Ford area mgr they claimed would do nothing and there is no issues with this car or part?

- West Bloomfield, MI, USA

problem #242

Apr 302013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
The first incident occurred a few months ago. As I was accelerating from a stopped position at a stop light, the car's engine seemed to lose power and wrench light came on. I rolled to a stop at the corner of the intersection, and put the vehicle in park. In park, the engine began to shake so, I turned the vehicle off. After a minute I turned the vehicle back on, the car seemed to run fine afterwards with no check engine light. Yesterday (4/30/13), the car stalled again. This time I was going 40 mph and had to pull promptly to shoulder to avoid being hit by the unsuspecting driver behind me. I turned off the engine and restarted the car. I was able to go a few feet before the car stalled again. This time the check engine light came on, and I was unable to operate the vehicle above 900 rpms. I had the car towed to a Ford dealership who said I needed a new throttle body assembly. The car had around 38,000 miles at the time of incident. Upon research, I discovered this is a know problem, and Ford has yet to issue a recall to prevent future crashes and injury. Something needs to be done!!

- Thibodaux , LA, USA

problem #241

Apr 302013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 45,450 miles
Advisory mechanical wrench lit up on dash - loss all acceleration power. Had to coast off side of road and place transmission in park - and turn off low idle engine. This occurred 3 X's all similar this same day. Prior, had complained to auto dealership about 1st couple incidents (approx) 4 other times; they indicated they found no issue. I will have codes read 1st thing in the morning, by autozone looking for P2111 and P2112 - then take it to the dealership. This is very unsafe - and now I am worried to have my wife drive alone with this vehicle. Its our only car.

- Florissant, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?