Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,054 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 28 of 37)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #200

Nov 012012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 56,000 miles


While driving under normal conditions, at approximately 45 mph, engine suddenly stalls, wrench light comes on dash board, no power to engine whatsoever. Pulled the car over onto shoulder, engine is shaking violently at this point, shut the car off. Waited approx. Five minutes, turn car back on, no problem. No more wrench light, no longer stalls. I took the car into a Ford dealer and they said I had a bad O2 sensor. So they replace it and say that will fix the problem. When I dropped it off I told them to look at the electronic throttle body because a lot of people online had posted about the same type of problem and the throttle body was to blame. The dealer told me they checked the throttle body and it was fine. ha!! however approximately 1-2 weeks go by and the same thing happens again with no warning. Driving down the road everything is fine and then suddenly the car stalls, no power to engine, shaking, wrench light comes on again. This happens 3 times in a span of about 7 miles. I bring the car back to Ford and tell them what happened. They call me back a few hours later and say yeah you've got a bad throttle body (but it was "fine" two weeks ago?) they then proceed to tell me that it will cost approx. $465 and it's not covered by any warranty. I also spoke with the dealer that I purchased the car from and they told me over the phone that they were getting a lot of these 2010 Fusion with faulty throttle body parts and that if I had it replaced it would actually be a different design than the original factory installed version. Yet I had to pay to have it replaced.

- Spring Valley, NY, USA

problem #199

Sep 252012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 45,400 miles
Driving 55-60 mph on freeway when car suddenly lost all power. It did not stall. It would jump ahead inches at a time if I pressed the accelerator but very dangerous situation as cars behind me had no warning that I was going to suddenly just stop. It took me 10 minutes at least to pull over to the side of the freeway and this only because a long haul trucker finally realized what was happening and blocked traffic for me to limp to the side of the freeway. This happened on 9/25/12, then again on 9/26/12. The only immediate fix is to turn the car off, let it sit a few minutes then start it up again. It seems to reset whatever is causing the problem. Through private contacts I was put in touch with a Ford plant manager who had me go to a certain dealership and had a recorder put on the car. It never did it while the recorder was on the car. They told me they felt it was a throttle valve problem but that my car was out of warranty and if it kept happening I would probably have a very expensive repair if the car kept doing this. It did it once more after the recorder was taken off and has not done it since November 2012.

- Huntington Woods , MI, USA

problem #198

Feb 132013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 21,850 miles
I was slowing down as the traffic light turned red. The engine stalled and cut out. The wrench warning light came on. It took several tries to get the car started. Over the next several days, the car stalled while we were driving on a major highway in traffic at 45 to 50 miles an hour. We took the car to a Ford dealer who diagnosed the problem as a short circuit in the throttle body and motor assembly. They replaced the parts at a cost of $438.64. We have since learned of other Ford of the same age having the same problem.

- Venice, FL, USA

problem #197

Dec 192012


  • 52,000 miles


At approx. 52K while drive approx. 40mph, all fuel power was lost and 'wrench' light came on. Had to coast to a stop, car sputtering. Put in park and killed the engine. Waited a minute, car started with some hesitation. Ran diagnostic, nothing. About an hour later, ran some B-12 through fuel; cured. Twice again at approx. 56K, same thing (once at 70mph on the interstate and the other at 55mph on a busy highway); ran B-12 both times. On third event, it finally gave a reading - throttle body stuck in open position. Brought vehicle to Ford dealership, they got the same reading and changed the throttle body to the tune of $350. Ford stated there was no technical service manual indication of problem forcing a possible recall. How lucky for me and my kids that we weren't in a high-traffic situation and I could safely maneuver to the shoulder...all three times!

- Rayne, LA, USA

problem #196

Feb 082013


  • 74,000 miles
Had my oil changed Jan 2013 and was told my transmission fluid was completely empty after having it changed prior 3 months before and told it was fine. Then noticed Feb 09 ish 2013 that there was a good amount of transmission fluid on my garage floor. Was told this happens alot on the 2010 Fusion and it needs to be a recall with the problems it continues to have.

- Sioux Falls , SD, USA

problem #195

Dec 312012


  • 58,000 miles
I have a I4 2010 Fusion, started to notice in the city that it wanted to chug forward. Started to get worse and worse and then the light came on, once the light came on totally down will. When I was sitting at the light I would just take it out of gear because the car was shaking violently. I did look online and someone mentioned unplugging the battery and letting it reset. Well it actually worked for a little bit and its starting to do it every now and then.

- Delafield, WI, USA

problem #194

Feb 072013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles


We were driving around 50 mph when the car stopped accelerating and we slowed down to 5 mph.the wrench light and check engine light lit up. Luckily, there was nobody on the road behind us or we might have been killed from the sudden change in acceleration. We were told by our dealer that the throttle body needed replacing. They replaced it but the check engine light is still on. It was not covered by warranty (I was told by Ford customer service that no warranty covers that part). How convenient that they specifically don't cover a part that is clearly defective. I am not sure if anyone has died from this problem, but I have two teenage sons who drive that car and I don't trust it anymore. After reading all of the complaints on this site, and elsewhere, I demand that an investigation be done into this faulty part before someone is injured or killed. Thank you.

- Copake, NY, USA

problem #193

Jan 312013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
I was traveling on a highway going approximately 70 mph and my accelerator became unresponsive. The RPM's dropped to idle, engine did not stop running but would only coast. The wrench warning light icon came on and later the check engine light came on. I coasted to a stop and put the car in park which is when the car began jerking. I shut the car off and put on my hazard lights on the highway. I was able to restart the car, but it was a rough restart. I was able to drive off and it appeared to run fine. I did some research online and found that many owners of the Ford Fusion have had this recurring problem with their throttle body. This also is affected by other models of 4 cylinder engines. My Ford customer service stated that they had no customer service complaints about this problem. I informed them of all the complaints online, they told me that the throttle was not covered by warranty and this was not a recalled part. This happened numerous times after this, resulting in two near traffic crashes and almost getting tboned while making a left turn through an intersection. The problem is that the vehicle will run fine for a day or say, but with no warning stop running, sometimes at the most inconvenient times. I cleaned the throttle body, but it did not solve the problem. I purchased a new throttle body from my dealership for $185 with tax and replaced the part myself because it was very simple. I am in no means a mechanic, I am a cop and it took me only 5 minutes to replace it. I hope Ford identifies this problem before a traffic crash occurs due to the vehicle stalling without warning.

- College Station, TX, USA

problem #192

Jan 242013


  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving 50 mph, the vehicle lost acceleration power and then stalled. The throttle/ transmission warning light illuminated. The vehicle was moved to the shoulder while still in drive but failed to properly accelerate. The vehicle was shut down and took over a minute to restart. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be diagnosed. The contact also stated that the failure recurred several times. The contact personally repaired the vehicle by replacing the throttle body. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 53,000.

- Hampton, GA, USA

problem #191

Jan 222013


  • 81,528 miles
There was a pool of oil on floor, under car ( left front side) coming from the bushing of the half shaft axel assembly. The leaking was from the half shaft seal. Repair was performed by Ford per tsb 12-11-6 Ford replaced half shaft seal and bushing. Also joint and stub shaft assembly.

- Brooklyn Park , MN, USA

problem #190

Feb 012012


  • 31,000 miles


The 2010 Ford Fusion will, at random, lose power. Accelerator is non responsive and the throttle body/transmission indicator light comes on. It begins to idle rough at approx. 1000rpm and will not respond to the accelerator. I've had the car for just over 1 year and this incident has happened dozens of times. It has happened while at freeway speeds, as well as trying to accelerate from a stop light. I've had numerous close calls and literally fear for my safety while driving the car. The dealership claims to not be able to replicate the problem, however as soon as I've picked it up from them its done it within several miles, only for me to take it back to them and get the same response a week or two later. Ford needs to solve this huge problem by issuing a recall and they needed to do it last year. I've literally seen thousands of people in forums with this same exact problem, yet nothing seems to be done about it. It's almost as if the only thing that will open Ford's eyes will be a serious tragedy to occur. Isn't the point of a recall to prevent that from happening?

- Merced, CA, USA

problem #189

Jan 042013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 41,042 miles
My 2010 Ford Fusion failed me and my family yesterday in highway traffic. The car went into an idle mode and would not accelerate. I had to coast across three lanes of traffic and run up the curb to get my family to a safe area. I turned the car off, and then back on and the car started. The problem was the throttle body and the dealer replaced the failed unit at my cost. I see on the web, that a failed throttle body is a recurring problem for the Ford Fusion. The vehicle was only 15 days or 5000 miles out of warranty. My cost of the repair was $328.50.

- Cocoa Beach, FL, USA

problem #188

Dec 282012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 32,400 miles
My car is a Ford Fusion bought in March 2010 with only 33,400 miles, still under full warranty. I was driving in city traffic, going about 50 mph, when my accelerator stop working. The wrench and check engine light came on as well. I was able to coast into a parking lot safety, thank goodness. When I started to hit my brakes to stop, the car jerked a bit like it did not want to stop. I stopped, shut off the engine, and it started back up ok. No lights on the dash. I then pulled out into traffic again and not even 5 mins later, it happened again. I coasted into another parking lot, turned the engine off and back on. This time the check engine light stayed on. This proceeded to happen 5 more times before making it to the dealership. The dealership said it was due to a dirty throttle body and that it needed cleaning. I spent $250 to clean it because cleaning is not covered under warranty. Two weeks later, I was on the interstate going about 75mph when this all happened again, thank goodness I was not in heavy traffic or I would have been hit from behind. I was able to coast over to the shoulder and restart my car. I drove it straight to the dealership. They called some hotline and were told to replace the throttle body altogether. I have not had any problems since but I wish I had known this earlier. I was terrified of getting into an accident and wish Ford would have recalled it before this happened. I pray that no one is killed because of this simple part that should be replaced on all Fusion.

- Denham Springs, LA, USA

problem #187

Jan 052013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
When driving down the interstate the RPM's drop to 0 with no throttle response with trying to accelerate, the wrench symbol illuminates on the dash. At the time of the throttle failure there was a semi to my right and a semi behind me, which made it extremely difficult to pull to the right of the road while decreasing speeds. Upon pulling over and putting the car in park and shutting off the car the car starts up as usual.

- West Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #186

Mar 012011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
Transmission started going out after only two or three months of purchasing it. I couldn't believe it. Ford dealership took care of it.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #185

Jan 052013


  • 52,000 miles
Had 2 separate incidents, 1st was driving down highway going 70mph when car jerked, cruise control disengaged, lost acceleration, wrench symbol apperead on dash and trying to accelerate made car jerk even more. Fortunately I wasnt attempting to pass another car. I pulled over and shut car off, read manual for what the symbol meant than I started car and symbol was gone. I decided to go ahead and finish trip home and everything was fine. Next day going to local grocery store going about 10mph had exact same thing happen. I just spoke with dealership I bought car from and its to be looked at tomorrow. I had just bought this car 3wks ago, so pretty disappointed in Ford and pray that nobody gets injured with this mechanical issue, I definitely wont be allowing my child to ride in the car until its completing repaired, and by reading other consumers issues may be never.

- Lyons, KS, USA

problem #184

Nov 282012


  • 16,700 miles
First event was while exiting a mall parking lot; stepped on gas pedal, and instead of accelerating the car seemed just about to stall. I got off to the side of the road, and before shutting off the engine noticed the "wrench" symbol illuminated on the instrument cluster. I waited a few minutes and started the car, noting the "wrench" was no longer on, put it in gear and drove off. The car ran fine until 12/28/12, when while traveling at approx 70mph on I-90 the engine began to again down shift and lose power. The third occurrence was the morning of 12/29/12; in each above incident I was able to get off the traffic way, park, shut off the car, restart it and drive away. The wrench was illuminated each time. On 01/03/13 my car was serviced by the dealer from where I purchased it, and they said the problem was the throttle body. They had one in stock and replaced it. Kudos to them, but, more than a little unnerving. And if it was replaced with the same style unit, how do I know it won't happen again, perhaps at a most inopportune time? at the time of writing this I don't have the VIN available, however, fwiw, the build date is June 2010. It is the sel AWD with the V-6 engine, 3.0L I believe.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #183

Jan 012013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 46,666 miles
While traveling at 70mph on the freeway in my 2010 Ford Fusion SE (46,000 miles), I felt a bump as if was hit from the rear or the transmission locked up. The wrench symbol lit up. The car lost all acceleration. I pulled the car over. While parked on the emergency lane the car kept surging and the RPM bounced between 500 and 1000 rpms. I turned off the car and after several minutes I restarted the car as if there were no issues. Approx. 8 miles later still traveling at 70 mph it did the exact same thing as before. This time when restarting, the starter stayed engaged for approx 10 seconds after releasing the key. The car had the same stalling issue 12 more times for the next 15 miles to my home. I spoke to the dealer, he said it is a defective throttle body and needs to be replaced. He acknowledged it is a known issue, but not a recall so my out of warranty cost would be around $600. This is a major safety issue and needs to be addressed by Ford before someone gets killed, if they haven't already.

- Crestwood, KY, USA

problem #182

Dec 102012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 33,864 miles
I was driving down a local road at the limit when the wrench light warning indicator came on, after the indicator was on there was not throttle response, engine was still running and yet no power going to the wheels. I was able to roll over to the side of the road and put on hazard warning lights, car while at idle was jerking and bucking. I then limped the vehicle to a parking lot, placed it in drive and filmed the issue with a cell phone in a parking lot and narrated as to what was happening. Once the vehicle was shut down and then restarted the light went out and the problem did not persist. I took it to the dealership and no codes showed up in a diagnostic and the dealership "could not reproduce the problem" but suspected it was the throttle body controller as this was a common occurrence.

- Norfolk, AA, USA

problem #181

Jul 152012


  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to respond to acceleration attempts. The contact shut down the vehicle and then restarted. The vehicle then functioned properly. The vehicle was not taken to a mechanic. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and advised the contact to take the vehicle to an authorized dealer for inspection. The failure mileage was 55,000.

- Ruck, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?