Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,128 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 37 of 38)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #22

Sep 062011

Fusion

  • 40,052 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car has went out 3 times in week twice on the freeway with oncoming traffic. It slows down then a wrench symbol comes on. I purchased my vehicle 3 weeks ago. Took it back to the dealer and was told by the service dept that I need to have the throttle body repaired, . they ordered the part and said I need to pay $100 deductible. I just purchased this car I shouldn't have to pay anything if it would have been checked out correctly I wouldn't have had this problem. They also told me I need a new battery!! three weeks after I purchased it!! this should have been replaced by them for free, they said I would need to buy a new battery and it would be $109 more plus the deductible. I am very disappointed in this car. I love the way it looks but am so unsatisfied with the performance. If I get into an accident I hold Ford co completely responsible for any damages, as I see they have had many complaints and they are not doing anything about it. I am looking into an attorney because this car should not be sold if it has this defect, it is putting peoples lives in danger!! what are they waiting for to see how many deaths will occur before they let people know not to buy it. I plan on telling everyone not to purchase I Ford. I should have purchased a Honda/like before.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #21

May 172011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 7,800 miles
When driving along, the rpms shot up to over 4500 with no increase in speed or increase in pressure on the accelerator pedal. The cruise control was also on at the time.

- Bellevue, NE, USA

problem #20

Sep 072011

Fusion

  • 42,000 miles
Car stop responding to accelerator, just coast along wrench symbol came on dash. Picked up car today paid 200,17 for repair got 4 miles away from shop car stopped again.

- Ollivette, MO, USA

problem #19

Apr 012010

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is the 4 cylinder version of the 2010 Fusion. Since the car was only a few months old, the transmission has been slipping in low gear. As the mileage has gone up it has occurred more often but mainly in low gears. The problem has been that it does not set off any service lights so they had not been able to find anything to fix. After driving the car for about a year, it finally happened at high speed and turned on the service light. It was bad enough that I had to pull off the road. By this time, the transmission was damaged and they had to rebuild many of the parts. Ford knew this was occurring and had a bulletin all about it. This shows that prior to the rebuild, Ford already knew the transmission has had issues. Prior to the rebuild, the transmission had been through multiple tests, a reprogramming of the transmission, and other changes to the transmission from their technical service bulletins. I did open a case with Ford customer service. They admitted to me that the transmission has had issues in other cars and they are working on how to resolve them. Soon after I was told that, I was assigned to a different customer service representative who denied this fact. After a few months more, I got a call from Ford stating that they have no idea how to fix the problem so they are just closing the case with no resolution. I asked for a replacement transmission and they have said no. If you look in the forums for the 2010 Ford Fusion 4 cylinder, you will see how common the issue is. On top of all this, my gas mileage has dropped since the rebuild of the transmission.

- Phoenixville, PA, USA

problem #18

Aug 282011

Fusion 6-cyl

  • miles
While pulling into traffic, my Ford Fusion lost power, would not allow me to accelerate and started thrusting forward and jerking and the wrench warning light came on. I coasted to safety, put it into park, turned the car off and waited about 30 seconds, turned the car back on and the wrench light was gone and the car seemed fine. Four days later, the same thing happened again. I took my car to a Ford dealership, they told me they couldn't get any codes and had me come and get it. About two miles down the road, in middle of busy traffic, it happened again. I was lucky enough to get to safety, I called the dealership and they told me to drive it back. They still could not get it to duplicate the problem, there were no codes being thrown, so they told me to come and get the car. I told them about the numerous online complaints I found online about this problem and every time, it was a bad throttle body. He said they can't just replace the throttle body until they get the codes. He told me to drive it until it dies again, turn the car off but not back on and get it towed to them, then maybe they can get the codes. I am scared and feel unsafe driving it. Looking at past times it died, it was while driving for a while, then shut off then ran shortly after. It seems to only be an issue with the 2010's, and always happens between 30-40 thousand miles, and it's always a bad throttle body. I can't even tell you how many complaints I read online and I personally know of two owners that had the same exact problem. Obviously it is a design defect that needs to be recalled/repaired. I am scared and feel unsafe driving a car that I am just waiting on dying; I have never been placed in danger with a vehicle like this. No one should be required to drive in middle of busy traffic just waiting for it to die so they can try and get a code.

- Covington, LA, USA

problem #17

Sep 072011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 23,500 miles
Severe transmission slippage when trying to accelerate. Engine RPM's increased rapidly but vehicle did not speed up. Caused a near collision when trying to cut across several lanes of traffic.

- Riverview, MI, USA

problem #16

Aug 082011

Fusion

  • 13,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on the highway, my 2010 Ford Fusion suddenly slipped gears on its own. The car started to slow down. I was stepping on the gas pedal, the engine was turning but the car wasn't accelerating. I was nearly rear ended. I managed to coast to the emergency lane. I put it in park and turned the car off. I was afraid to continue but thought I would give it a try. The car started ok and accelerated normally. The next week, my husband had the same experience. My husband took the car to Ford dealership the next day. The dealership called and told us that they can't duplicate the transmission problem and their computer tests did not detect any problems. I told them of the numerous complaints I found online about this problem and that I didn't feel safe driving my car. They said they haven't heard of any complaints nor any tsbs on this car! I sent them a link to this website and told them to read it. Will they still say nothing was wrong because their computers can't duplicate it" or do they think I like being without a vehicle and wasting everyone's time"

- Niles, IL, USA

problem #15

Sep 032011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 27,000 miles
There was a recall on the 2010 Ford Fusion transmissions. I took the car in on 12/31/10 to automax Ford, killeen, tx. They told me that nothing was wrong with it and it is fine. On 3 August 2011 my car felt like it did a downshift while going down the highway. At this point my accelerator fails to work. The car is not in any gear and even when I give the car gas the engine will not rev. I then have to come to a complete stop and put the car in park. While in park the car idles really heavy like and stuttters to keep going so I have to turn the car off. When I turn the car back on it will turn over about 6 or 7 times before it starts. I have to do this process every time the car does this which has been about 6 times in the past two days. The incident happens on the highway and in regular city driving. I believe automax Ford has failed to do the inspection right and now the recall letter is expired as of April 2011. I was also deployed overseas during that time period of expiration.

- Fort Hood, TX, USA

problem #14

Apr 142011

Fusion

  • 20,923 miles
We had a problem with a transmission leak early on due to a bad seal in the trans axle. It was replaced and all seemed well fro awhile. Then we started to experience problems with the transmission "slipping" between 2nd and 3rd gears. Took it to the dealership and they said it was a "computer problem" that need an update and that it should be ok now. It happened again at a later date. Technician took it for a drive and then told my wife that there was nothing wrong, that is the way it's supposed to shift. At times it jerks really bad when shifting. Not sure if the transmission problem can affect my fuel in-efficiency but, the car is far from the mileage advertised for this make. Transmission problem is intermittent at this point. I'm afraid we are going to get pushed right through our warranty period, then that is when they will find the problem! we have insisted on a new transmission from the start, just to be stopped dead in our tracks with a flat refusal. Hoping I can unload this car before something big happens. Seems a shame that Ford is the only automaker to keep it's head above water and not have to be bailed out. The sooner they admit they have a problem here and rectify it the better for everyone. If not, Ford will join the others as a modern american failure! if you have any problem like this please post it right away! in the meantime, we are shopping for a nice solid Japanese model.

- Logansport, IN, USA

problem #13

Aug 272011

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 37,700 miles
While driving down a very busy road at 45 mph, my accelerator cut out, reducing engine power to idle and causing me to almost be hit by 3 different vehicles while trying to find a place to stop. I had my wife and my infant son in the car. This was unacceptable for a vehicle this new! the maintenance light (wrench) came on..but went off after I shut the vehicle down and restarted, to which the car then ran normal. I then had it accelerate uncommanded, at that point a shut it down and had it towed to the dealership. I am waiting to hear what they say about it. 37,000 miles seems terribly low to be having these types of "issues" it is a 2010 Ford Fusion SE 3.0L, and I am not happy!

- Cypress, TX, USA

problem #12

Jul 022010

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

To begin with I was only having problems when shifting from reverse to forward. I took my car in for the recall and I am still having problems: My car will jerk violently and then slow down to 0. the wrench light comes on and sometimes the transmission light. It has happened going slow as in making a turn, going fast, and going slow in a straight pattern. I have documented the gas because the service tech said it might not be the transmission but something with the fuel. It happens on full, 3/4, half and a quarter of a tank, early morning, after I have driven it for a while. Yesterday it happened 4 times in 4 miles each time I have to shut the engine off, which apparently resets it, because the lights will go off, but then come on when it happens again. This car is dangerous to drive, someone is going to be killed. I have advised my family that if I am rear-ended and death occurs to seek legal council. The service people say they can not do anything unless they can get the car to mimic the problem, or something shows up on the computer. Meanwhile this is my only means of transportation, I also use my car everyday for business. They have not provided me with an alternate means of transportation yet want to keep my car for 4 days. Please do something, there are complaints all over the internet, I am sure you would have more complaints if people knew about you. Can you pull Ford's service records to get a more accurate record of the magnitude of problems. Do something before someone dies.

- Semmes, , AL, USA

problem #11

Jul 032011

Fusion

  • 24,000 miles
Own a 2010 Ford Fusion SE with 24V 3.0 V6 with 6 speed select shift transmission. When car was new, had hard shifts, and in mid 2010 Ford issues a recall to reprogram these issues. After this repair, dealership stated they ran a load test and the transmission was fine. In late 2010, the hard shifts returned and the dealership "reprogrammed" the transmission. In late June 2011 while on a road trip, received a transmission/drive train code (the wrench symbol) but no noticeable issues. Approximately one week later, started getting hard shifts. The next day, as I was pulling on a major road way, the transmission dropped out of gear, engine acted it was in neutral, and the car came to a complete stop. When I was able to get the car moving, it was revving poorly, shifting extremely hard, and had a terrible vibration. Had the car at the dealership for two days, they had a very hard diagnosing the issue (even though the system sent codes). They reprogrammed the transmission, and said the issue was fixed. Today, five days later, the issues returned, but worse. Every time the vehicle was at a stop, as you would begin to accelerate, the car would shudder and rev to 7000 RPM. You have to completely let off the throttle, and once it would drop to about 1500 RPM, and the transmission would reengage. In gear 5 or 6 at speed, it would try and down shift and would kick out of gear and rev to close to red line. I was almost rear ended on several occasions today as I was trying to get the vehicle home. As I've researched the issue, this seems to be a common issue with several near accidents.

- Myerstown, PA, USA

problem #10

May 182010

Fusion

  • 8,767 miles
Engine hesitates from a stop and bucks and jerks while driving. Hard pick-up. RPM's up to max without vehicle acceleration. Feels like transmission slips into neutral. First visit, 5/18/2010 (8767 miles-bought new at 15 miles-10/10)/ presently, July, 2011, car with 22,000 is in for 4th return to dealer: 10/2010 car 1 year old, 14,000 miles, local oil repair shop notices both lower ball joints boots split, returned to dealer to resolve. Still hesitating and jerking and bucking, particularly during gear shifts. Second visit, 11/2010 returned for same driving problems. Third visit 6/30/11 service shop notices leak under carriage, returned to dealer. Service manager and I check under carriage, still obvious leak, he told me it wasn't a leak, we both had grease/oil/something on our hands. Refused to extend rental car coverage as car is "completely fixed", left with car, wrote on ticket, "leak still unresolved". returned for forth visit 7/8/2011 admits leak "somewhere". also, sealant around windshield melts and becomes tacky in hot weather (Texas). Had dealer reseal last summer. Now, area is getting tacky again. Will this occur each summer and will seal hold during hard rain?

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #9

May 082011

Fusion

  • 10,000 miles
Traveling at high speed with cruise control on. Applied brake to slow down for traffic, vehicle continued to slow and would not respond when I applied the accelerator. I had to put the transmission in neutral and had to push gas pedal several times hard before engine would respond. This happened twice while traveling from Florida to Canada. I had the Ford dealership in wetaskiwin, alberta, Canada check the vehicle, they could find nothing wrong. I continue to drive the car, but I am fearful that, if it happens again, I could be rear-ended.

- Parrish, FL, USA

problem #8

Apr 272011

Fusion

  • 11,900 miles
While traveling at highway speed on a 4-lane divided highway, a slow-moving vehicle merged in front of our Fusion forcing a hard braking event (there was somebody coming up from behind in the left lane, preventing a lane change at that instant). The Fusion was slowed down to 50-55 mph as the car from behind passed. This allowed a lane change to avoid hitting the car that pulled in front to begin with. However, in order to keep up with the flow of traffic, 100% accelerator pedal was required. As the Fusion accelerated up to near the original speed, there was a whining sound coming from under the hood, then a violent jolt. This jolt severely shook the car, caused a sudden deceleration and to swerve on the highway. Luckily, my wife was able to keep control of the car. The seat belt grabbed. Had my wife not been wearing the seat belt, she is convinced that she would have been thrown into the steering wheel. The car was taken to a nearby Ford dealership. No problems were found. (however, a fault code specific to hybrid vehicles was logged in the PCM memory.) this appears to be a continuation of the transmission problems this car has been experiencing since the day after I purchased the car in August, 2010 - and Ford has been unable to correct. This vehicle has been into the Ford dealer numerous times for transmission issues. The car is now at my local dealership.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #7

Jan 202011

Fusion

  • 14,959 miles
This vehicle was recalled for a known transmission issue in June 2010. Ford appears to have reprogrammed the computer to change shift points. Shifting is smoother but still it does not perform like a normal Ford transmission (I have driven Ford since 1964). Time out of service was one day. Jan 20, 2011 while my wife was driving at approximately 55 mph, the transmission completely disengaged. There was no power and car had to coast to a stop on the side of the road. After sitting for the amount of time that was required for me to reach her I was able to drive the vehicle to the dealership about four miles away. The transaxle seal was leaking and fluid was low. The required parts were on backorder at Ford and we had to wait for parts. The vehicle was returned on Jan. 31, 2011 (11 days out of service). On Feb.12, 2011, the vehicle was being driven by me at approximately 55 mph when the transmission again disengaged. I had to coast to the side of the road and call Ford road service for a tow. I parked the vehicle and turned the ignition off. I tried to start the engine to record the mileage and the engine would not run, acting as if the timing was completely out of sync. It bucked and missed fired as if the timing was not correct (I had experienced this once before when starting the vehicle one morning in late Sept. 2010 but had not experienced it since that time thought we had gotten some bas gasoline). On both occasions when the transmission has disengaged, the check engine, maintenance required and transmission service required was displayed on the dash by the computer but the dealer claims there was no error code recorded by the computer system. The transmission disengaged again ant highway on March 11, 2011. This is well documented on the web and will cause a death if Ford does not correct the problem.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #6

Jan 202011

Fusion

  • 14,959 miles
This vehicle was recalled for a known transmission issue in June 2010. Ford appears to have reprogrammed the computer to change shift points. Shifting is smoother but still it does not perform like a normal Ford transmission (I have driven Ford since 1964). Time out of service was one day. Jan 20, 2011 while my wife was driving at approximately 55 mph, the transmission completely disengaged. There was no power and car had to coast to a stop on the side of the road. After sitting for the amount of time that was required for me to reach her I was able to drive the vehicle to the dealership about four miles away. The transaxle seal was leaking and fluid was low. The required parts were on backorder at Ford and we had to wait for parts. The vehicle was returned on Jan. 31, 2011 (11 days out of service). On Feb.12, 2011, the vehicle was being driven by me at approximately 55 mph when the transmission again disengaged. I had to coast to the side of the road and call Ford road service for a tow. I parked the vehicle and turned the ignition off. I tried to start the engine to record the mileage and the engine would not run, acting as if the timing was completely out of sync. It bucked and missed fired as if the timing was not correct (I had experienced this once before when starting the vehicle one morning in late Sept. 2010 but had not experienced it since that time thought we had gotten some bas gasoline). On both occasions when the transmission has disengaged, the check engine, maintenance required and transmission service required was displayed on the dash by the computer but the dealer claims there was no error code recorded by the computer system. The transmission disengaged again ant highway on March 11, 2011. This is well documented on the web and will cause a death if Ford does not correct the problem.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #5

Jan 202011

Fusion

  • 14,959 miles
This vehicle was recalled for a known transmission issue in June 2010. Ford appears to have reprogrammed the computer to change shift points. Shifting is smoother but still it does not perform like a normal Ford transmission (I have driven Ford since 1964). Time out of service was one day. Jan 20, 2011 while my wife was driving at approximately 55 mph, the transmission completely disengaged. There was no power and car had to coast to a stop on the side of the road. After sitting for the amount of time that was required for me to reach her I was able to drive the vehicle to the dealership about four miles away. The transaxle seal was leaking and fluid was low. The required parts were on backorder at Ford and we had to wait for parts. The vehicle was returned on Jan. 31, 2011 (11 days out of service). On Feb.12, 2011, the vehicle was being driven by me at approximately 55 mph when the transmission again disengaged. I had to coast to the side of the road and call Ford road service for a tow. I parked the vehicle and turned the ignition off. I tried to start the engine to record the mileage and the engine would not run, acting as if the timing was completely out of sync. It bucked and missed fired as if the timing was not correct (I had experienced this once before when starting the vehicle one morning in late Sept. 2010 but had not experienced it since that time thought we had gotten some bas gasoline). On both occasions when the transmission has disengaged, the check engine, maintenance required and transmission service required was displayed on the dash by the computer but the dealer claims there was no error code recorded by the computer system. The transmission disengaged again ant highway on March 11, 2011. This is well documented on the web and will cause a death if Ford does not correct the problem.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #4

Oct 122010

Fusion

  • 2,400 miles
This vehicle has been serviced nine times at dealer with symptoms of transmission slipping between 2nd and 3rd gear. It continues to do the same with harsh transmission engagements, slipping causing RPM's greater than 5000. A vehicle event recorder was installed into the vehicle and problem identified. Valve body has been cleaned, new transmission solenoid, "re-flashed" 2 times with no changes. Ford customer service involved from beginning. At one point received call from customer service district manager stating it is "normal" for the car to shift this way and there is no problem even after the problem has been identified. This continues to be a huge safety issue as the car slips at any time in any traffic. There has not been a solution to fix this problem nor any guarantee. Something has to be done to fix the problem that affects many owners with this 6 speed automatic transmission. Previous complaint ODI 10369166.

- Temperance, MI, USA

problem #3

Oct 122010

Fusion

  • 2,400 miles
This vehicle has been serviced nine times at dealer with symptoms of transmission slipping between 2nd and 3rd gear. It continues to do the same with harsh transmission engagements, slipping causing RPM's greater than 5000. A vehicle event recorder was installed into the vehicle and problem identified. Valve body has been cleaned, new transmission solenoid, "re-flashed" 2 times with no changes. Ford customer service involved from beginning. At one point received call from customer service district manager stating it is "normal" for the car to shift this way and there is no problem even after the problem has been identified. This continues to be a huge safety issue as the car slips at any time in any traffic. There has not been a solution to fix this problem nor any guarantee. Something has to be done to fix the problem that affects many owners with this 6 speed automatic transmission. Previous complaint ODI 10369166.

- Temperance, MI, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?