Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,054 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 4 of 37)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #680

Jan 202015

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles


Vehicle started leaking transmission fluid. It remained as small drips and not in any heavy volume. Took the vehicle to Ford to be diagnosed and mechanic stated that a bushel needed to be added to the transmission and the seal needed to be replaced. Mechanic also stated that the bushel is not currently installed in the vehicle (stock) but that Ford recommends that one be added. Total cost of the repair was around $1100. It doesn't seem very fair that Ford recognized that they needed to add that additional part to the car to keep it from leaking transmission fluid but hasn't issued a recall for the installation of the part. Instead they expect hard working americans to pay out of pocket for their mess up. One more reason to buy foreign - if american car companies want the support of the american consumer they should stop screwing them over for a profit and take care of their needs.

- San Angelo , TX, USA

problem #679

Jan 192015


  • 31,522 miles
I own a 2010 Ford Fusion with only 31,500 miles. The LH half axle stated to hemorrhage transmission fluid. It was about 3 weeks out of warranty. This is a common issue from what my research shows.

- Pawtucket , RI, USA

problem #678

Jun 022010


  • 1,899 miles
Since the vehicle was new the transmission slips or jumps into gear. The engine also hesitates when the gas pedal is pushed and then starts to go. Visits to three Ford dealerships over the years and calls to Ford have been useless. Ford dealers will charge for reprogramming of computer which does not fix the problem, there is what Ford calls a recall but they will only fix the problem if the dash light comes on because their oil change people can't tell if there is a problem unless the light comes on. Ford has given me numerous "work tickets" but they are unwilling to fix the vehicle or don't know how. I know this is a common problem with Ford vehicles after sitting in dealership waiting rooms with others who have the same issues. If you own a Ford be careful when merging onto a highway because your vehicle may not go when you want it to.

- Mount Kisco, NY, USA

problem #677

Jun 252014


  • 71,287 miles


The car when I mash on the gas the car jerks, and I get of gas and then get back on it will go then but it starts back jerking, I am scared I am going to have an accident from that and it is getting worst.

- Stonewall, LA, USA

problem #676

Dec 172014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
I have a 4-year new Ford Fusion 2010, manual shift transmission. On 12/17/14, while I was driving at approx. 40 mph on a busy road putting my car on gear 4, all of a sudden, the wrench light lit up, and the car jumped violently as if it was at gear 1 or something. Startled, I gently pushed the gas pedal a bit more, that didn't help; tried again, still violently jump. I hit the clutch, pressed the break pedal just enough to steer my car off the road to a parking lot. After turned off the engine, checked the car, then started the engine again, the wrench wasn't lit, and I drove away. -- this was the first time the trouble occurred. Before the problem re-occurred on 12/20/14, I noticed several sudden accelerations, and sudden stalls while I was driving. The 2nd time the wrench light lit up, same problem: Car jump, felt like on gear 1 while actually on gear 3 for a while, have to stop in the middle of the road and re-ignite the engine to get the car moving again. Local Ford dealer did diagnosis and concluded the throttle control body was bad, to fix the problem they must replace the throttle control body and charge me $450. They said there is no warranty on the throttle control body, and parts do go bad sometimes. Really, in 4 years" for a well maintained, garaged car at 34K mileage? the problem smells like a defect, not a standard wear and tear, why should I pay for replacing a defect part? how do I know whether the new part is not a defect again" I'm scared of driving on high way.

- Palo Alto, CA, USA

problem #675

Dec 012014


  • 78,000 miles
Wrench light comes on. Ford is trying to say it's covered because the wrench light is on, and then bring you in to the shop to pay $2000 for a valve body in the transmission. They are pulling the wool over the NHTSA by making it seem like they have covered it when it's something entirely different. Should have bought a Nissan. Basically the car doesn't accelerate. Come the time I might get hit by a car, I wont be able to accelerate properly.

- Royersford, PA, USA

problem #674

Dec 152014


  • 78,744 miles


Wrench light comes on and the car does not accelerate! whole vehicle shakes. Feels like the car is going to just die. Not happy with the car!!!

- Royersford, PA, USA

problem #673

Jul 182011

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 500 miles
The transmission would seem like it would go into neutral between 1-2 shifts and also on the highway it would sometimes act the same in gear 6. the transmission was changed once by Ford. Reprogrammed 4-5 times, and multiple parts changed and still poor performance exist. This vehicle was purchased new from the same dealer that has serviced it and I would like to claim this as a lemon in the state of fl while still under the factory power train warranty.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #672

Nov 292014


  • 88,500 miles
Traveling at 55mph I suddenly lost power in engine and was unable to shift into another gear. My engine slowed to a rough idle. I safely was able to pull to roadside and turned off the car. I restarted the vehicle noting a rough start but the car performed normally after I began driving it down the road. About a half hr later I was traveling at 35mph with the same thing occurring, I was able again to pull safely off the road and able to turn off and restart the car noting again a rough start but the car performed again normally and the wrench went away again. I went to a service center and hooked my car to a computer finding P code 2111 with actuator stuck open. Ford initially told me this was my issue to fix when I called. The second time I called I spoke to a different rep and informed them of the known NHTSA investigation and the customer service program already established. A case number was started with them. I am unable to get to a Ford dealership until tues due to work.

- Murrells Inlet, SC, USA

problem #671

Nov 172014


  • 51,200 miles
I was driving home from work last night and my car shut off. It shook violently and decelerated to a stop. I read online about the 13N09 consumer satisfaction program and since my car is exhibiting the same symptoms I decided to limp into the dealer. It appears that Ford has decided to extend the warranty on these defective throttle body parts but for some reason my 2010 Ford Fusion with a faulty throttle body position sensor is not covered" if it has been determined that the part is defective in the Ford Fusion then shouldn't all of them be covered" I don't feel that I should have to pay for a faulty part that just happens to also be a safety issue. Ford needs to step up and own up to this issue not profit from it.

- Ellisville, MO, USA

problem #670

May 182014


  • 100,010 miles


Several incident over the past two years power steering would default, service advancetrac, power steering default would appear on dash. I would turn car off and turn it back on the power steering would be back on. This happened on multiple occasions. On May 15th I parked my car. Went to church, came out of church, moved my car to a different parking spot, turned car off. When I restarted it the power steering went out and has been ever since. I was quoted at 1800 to get it fixed by dealership.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #669

Oct 222014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
Shame on you Ford! hard working middle class family purchased a 2010 Ford Fusion for our son to use while he's in college. While driving the car on 1-95 the check engine light came on and also service power steering. The steering wheel locked and the car was impossible to drive luckily it was a week day so we were able to find a Ford dealership. Well they told us it was a evap pump $340, they reset the power steering sensor and thought they fixed it. Few days later the same thing happened again. Another mechanic told us it was uneven tire pressure that set the sensors off the car drove for an hour and the sensors went off again.there should be a recall too many people are having this problem. This is horrible Ford so many family's rely on your cars for the safety of their family! I will never buy Ford again! power steering warning message as the failure occurred again. Took the car to another Ford dealership and now I was told the front axle has to be replaced $2300. Money pit!! this should not be happening to a 2010 car with 48000 miles on it.

- Ny, NY, USA

problem #668

Jun 122013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 50,008 miles
On June 12th 2013 my 2010 Ford Fusion lost all power while I was driving. This occurred at approximately 35 mph. Total miles on vehicle 50008. The vehicle was unable to drive and I was forced to tow the car. It was towed to a local Ford dealership. The dealership informed me the throttle body was defective. I was informed that this part was not covered under the drive train warranty. The cost of this was out of pocket at this point. Parts and labor totaling $409 paid in full at the dealership. I was told by Ford representative at the dealership to keep the receipt for a potential and likely recall. Under Ford "customer satisfaction program? they supposedly mailed out letters to affected customers in early 2014 for warranty extensions and potential refunds. However I didn't receive anything from Ford even though they had my correct mailing address and phone number. Ford was aware of my warranty claim at the time as I contacted them by phone on 06/13/2013. On 10/01/2014 I contacted Ford Motor Company via phone after I read a news article about the "customer satisfaction program". I was informed at this point by a csr and a supervisor that they could no longer help me because deadline date for refunds was 07/31/2014. I feel this is completely unfair to me the consumer. I was forced to pay out of pocket for a defective part that Ford was completely aware of even before my issue. This is a major safety issue for Ford. When the incident occurred I was driving in traffic and lost all power to my vehicle. Luckily I was only traveling roughly 35 mph and was able to pull over safely. I can only imagine the results if I was driving on a major highway. I would like to file a complaint towards Ford Motor Company for safety concerns with the defective throttle body and the poor customer service that was provided to me.

- Morgantown, WV, USA

problem #667

Sep 292014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
I have had this car for 2 years now. I first had issues with the throttle body and my car shutting off at intersections and had that replaced within a year of buying the car. I have been having issues with the transmission slipping between 1st and 2nd gear for almost a year now. I first had seals replaced. The second time I had my cv joint boots replaced and found out they are wearing out the seals that are causing transmission leaks. The car is in the shop for the 3rd time because of the same transmission leaks and difficult shifting between 1st and 2nd gear and will most likely be getting a new transmission because the cv joints and seals have failed again within the 3 months of being replaced.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #666

Sep 222014


  • 99,400 miles
Received a letter a couple months ago to get the PCM updated on my vehicle. And I have much pride in my vehicle and try to take good care of it, because it's my first one I've ever purchased. So I take it to the Ford service center within 24hrs of the first day I noticed the wrench coming on. But, it has been some time now and maybe two and a half weeks ago the 'wrench light' has started to come back on and it has been nothing but havoc.. my vehicle will do a slight jerk once this happens and I try to get to somewhere I can pull over safe because when this happens if I continue driving the RPM will slightly go over where it was when the car was driving normally. Now when this happens and I pull over, 9 times out of 10 when I decide to start the car, the wrench immediately illuminates after putting the car in gear and pulling off. Sometimes the car will crank and immediately shut off. Sometimes it will not illuminate or shut off but when I put the car in gear and pull off, but, I will have a rough take off or it will shut off in the midst of driving.

- Holly Springs, MS, USA

problem #665

Jun 112013


  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the fifth and sixth gear slipped. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Five Points, AL, USA

problem #664

Sep 052014


  • 76,285 miles
My vehicle suffered the Ford customer satisfaction program for throttle body failure. The vehicle will idel rough there will be a surge and then the vehicle will go into "limp home mode". this happened while turning at lightfrom a stop. The vehicle accelerated then hesitated the a complete loss of power with the engine light coming on. Att hat point the car was in "limp home mode" the throttle position sensor inside the throttle body was the problem. Contacted Ford and my vehicle is not covered under their customer satisfaction program which extended the warranty on over 1 million for vehicles. I believe Ford needs to extend this "csp" to a larger range of VIN numbers and assembly plants.

- Lititz, PA, USA

problem #663

Sep 082014


  • 109,925 miles
Car lost power at 70 while on cruise on the highway lost speed and dropped down to 40, went into limp mode check engine light came on scanned car code P2119 present Ford replaced (no charge) throttle body and motor assembly under a customer satisfaction program 13B17.

- Brooklyn Park , MN, USA

problem #662

Sep 052014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
Was driving on a busy city street when the car suddenly lost power. No response when I gave it gas. Turned on hazard lights, turned off engine. Restarted engine, put in drive, tried to move - it shook violently and noisily. With no shoulder to street, I was stranded in traffic lane until towtruck arrived. Had to go to Ford dealership, where they performed "field service action 13B17." Service order said "replace throttle body and reflash PCM." Since they did not charge for the repair, I asked if there is a recall on this issue. The technician said there was a recall for recalibration of the PCM, but with a field service action they only replace the throttle body if it fails. Internet research, including this site, revealed that Ford was aware of a throttle body problem but responded only by extending the warranty on it. The company claimed that in the event of a problem, the car would go into "limp home mode." Whatever that means, my experience was that the car suddenly stopped in traffic. Had I been on an interstate, people might have been killed. And I see, from the hundreds of complaints about the same problem, that it has indeed happened on major highways and at high speeds. It is unconscionable for Ford to ignore a known safety problem such as this until after an incident. Upon further inquiry, the service writer at the dealership claimed that there is now a recall for the throttle body problem, that the notices were "just sent out" and I just happened to arrive before getting one. As you know, as of today, September 9, 2014, there is no such recall shown on the Ford site (could not find any recall info) or the NHTSA site. A vehicle's stopping dead without warning is a serious safety hazard. Why are the affected vehicles not being recalled?

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #661

Aug 042014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 49,422 miles
Took car in to tropical Ford in orlando for driveability recall. They claimed to reprogram the PCM. Now on Sept. 6 the car is losing power and stalling out. Also the wrench icon is showing on the dash which in the manual states the issue is the throttle control/transmission. I will have the car towed back to the dealer Sept. 8 to have repaired. I suspect is etb connectivity problem, a lot of similar complaints/recall repairs online.

- Orlando, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?