Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,054 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 6 of 37)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #640

Jun 202014


  • 62,000 miles


Driving down highway and car sputters and engine brakes. Almost rear ended. Took to dealership and they said it was a bad throttle body. Looked up issue and found the is already a recall Ford warranty program number 13N03 but dealership stated my car is not covered. Called Ford they also said my car is not covered. My 2010 Ford Fusion sport has they same issues as cars covered under warranty program but is not covered under said program. Dealership had to replace the throttle body at significant expense to myself. More cars are affected by this program and recall should be expanded for the safety of other drivers.

- Wasilla, AK, USA

problem #639

Jul 102014


  • 73,000 miles
As I pulled out onto a busy street going to work my car would not respond to gas, I had the pedal to the floor with no response other than a weak attempt at a lurch. I had to pull over (partially off of the road) into a neighbor's yard to avoid being hit by a large Transport truck coming up on me rapidly. I pushed it into a "turned around" position and between pushing an the lurching got back home. The road I was on was too narrow and too busy to just leave it. I have a history of back surgery and this did not help!!!! after I got it to the hill near my home I coasted in still with no response to the gas. There was an orange light on with a wrench picture. I looked this up online and found numerous sites with others having the same problem with no help from Ford! some were actually rear-ended on the interstates so I was fortunate in that aspect! (so far!) there is no recall on this issue and it seems that Ford cannot diagnose it unless the light is currently on! the code erases once the engine is turned off and restarted so they "cannot" diagnose it and therefore send us back out in the defective vehicle. There is no warning that this is about to happen and there is no way to "move fast" enough to get out of the way of traffic. This could be fatal in fast moving thick traffic with larger vehicles coming up from behind at speed limits of 70 mph. The car will not move when it does this and rpms do not go above 1000rpm. Are recalls only done when someone dies? if so, I need to trade this car in asap!

- Ellisville, MS, USA

problem #638

Jun 022014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 49,700 miles
Experiencing transmission problems. In attempting to get up to 60 mph on a local 4 lane highway, the vehicle hesitated and lurched when attempting to change gears. The vehicle cannot accelerate smoothly and revs inconsistently. The vehicle experienced similar issues at 30,000 miles and the transmission was overhauled.

- Bondurant, IA, USA

problem #637

Jun 282014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 69,000 miles


For several months the vehicle has been randomly shutting off mid-drive. Followed by that the check engine light and a wrench light would light up. A week ago we received letter in the mail from Ford saying that our vehicle is eligible for new throttle body since there has been issues since manufactured, which perfectly explained our problem. We took it to Ford, where they replaced the throttle body. However, only a week later the car is back to the same throttle body part problem. On Saturday, 6/28/14 at around 11:40pm the car turns off mid-drive right before I cross over a major intersection, rt 130 and rt 30 in collingswood, NJ area. I quickly braked and turned the engine completely off before I passed the white line. I sat through an entire green and red light. Once the light turned green again, I started the car back up and pressed my gas pedal. The car instantly turned off again, where I was now caught in the intersection. There was no momentum, so I very slowly coasted through during the green light, yellow light, and possibly some of the red light. Luckily, I made it through the intersection out of harm, but I was at a great risk of getting T-boned by oncoming traffic on a major street such as route 130 especially late at night. Obviously, the new throttles do not fix the problem. I no longer feel safe driving this car after this near fatal incident. Is Ford going to wait until there is fatalities from this manufactured malfunction before they act and recall this make and model?

- Oaklyn, NJ, USA

problem #636

Jun 272014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
I was driving to get lunch and experienced a complete loss of power in my car and say the wrench light and engine light illuminate. I managed to pull off the road and after lurching to a stop, I shut the car off, waited a moment and started it again. After picking up my lunch, the same thing happened and I barely got off the roadway. I plugged a diagnostic machine into the car which informed me that the throttle body was "stuck open."

- Parkersburg, WV, USA

problem #635

Jun 202014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
Going 70 mph on I-75 and the car engine suddenly sputters and drops to idle at 1000 RPM. Gas pedal did not work and it was like the car went into neutral on its own. After having to try to get to the shoulder without getting hit from behind, I had to put car into park and restart the ignition. The car vibrated and jerked right before coming to a complete stop. Restarting the car corrected the issue, at least for the time being. Pretty scary.

- Calhoun, GA, USA

problem #634

Jun 182014


  • 57,000 miles


We had been driving for 175 miles on the highway with the cruise control set. The car suddenly lost power with no warning and started slowing down. The service engine light came on as did the symbol of a wrench. I pulled off to shoulder. The car was idling very rough. Stepping on the gas did not raise the engine speed. I shut the engine off and looked under the hood. There was nothing obviously wrong. I tried to restart the engine. It started and ran just fine. The warning lights were off. About 16 miles later the same thing happened. There was a small Ford dealer a few miles away so I took it in. The person I spoke with was aware of this issue and indicated there was a service bulletin about it. Apparently the problem is with the throttle body. They did not have one available. He said the car should always restart and we should be able to make it home. We drove the next 300 miles wondering what would happen. The car was fine for the rest of the trip. When we got home I looked this up on the internet and found countless postings of the same issue. It is obviously well known. Given this, I think there should be a recall. This is very dangerous. We were on vacation (myself, wife, children) on a rural highway when the engine failed the first time. A semi truck was behind us and started catching up fast as I drifted off to the shoulder. They were blowing the air horn at me because there was another truck coming the other way and he could not move over.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #633

May 302014


  • 106,000 miles
I bought my 2010 Ford Fusion sel V6 with 12000 miles and drive it daily 120 miles/day to work. It has 106,000 miles now. Last week, for the third time, the "service power steering now" and "service advancetrac" indicators flashed on while driving 70 mph at night, using cruise control. Arrived home safely, next morning, no power steering. Drove car to Ford dealership, who hooked it up to diagnostic machine, and cleared messages, power steering now functioning again. The second time this occurred the dealership looked at something to do with the wheel on the passenger side. I have not used cruise control with this car since the second episode, nearly a year ago. Last week, when the third failure occurred, my friend was driving the car and had activated the cruise control, and I had warned him that I believed there was some relationship factor with using cruise control and the loss of power steering. I drive quite roughly, aggressively, and have hit many bumps with no loss of power steering. During the first and second occurrence the cruise control was activated, a rough spot was encountered, and the "service power steering now -advancetrac" messages came on, with consequential loss of power steering. No mechanical work seems to matter, only effective action is clearing the messages and reestablishing power steering by hooking up to diagnostic machine. I believe it is a software glitch maybe involving a sensor. I am not a mechanic. Will the recall/replacement of throttle assembly solve this problem?? Ford needs to step up and respond to this problem.

- Gillespie, IL, USA

problem #632

Dec 242013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
I noticed several times that the car tends to shift hard (automatic transmission). Now I've had a problem with the transmission light coming on, the car stalling, and starts shimmying and shaking. Had it back to the dealer on Monday and they said they fixed it. However, this morning, I had the same incident occur. It is now back at the dealer to have it checked and hopefully fixed without any cost to me. I will be trading this Ford for another make of car. I had similar problems when I owned a Ford edge and traded it in. I also had problems with the Ford edge mytouch screen going out on me as well.

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #631

Jun 042014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 54,800 miles
I am filing this complaint in hopes that Ford will be forced to issue a recall regarding the dangerous acceleration issue the Fusion are having. My car will lose power when driving. I have to press the gas pedal almost to the floor to get the car to accelerate once I have lost power and the car jerks and sputters. The issue began on June 3, 2014 and worsened today, June 4, 2014. I do not have any check engine lights or wrenches. I have only traveled back roads and have not driven the car at a high speed due to fear of having an accident. I have read multiple complaints regarding a throttle body issue. So, I am taking my car to a Ford dealership on tomorrow, June 5th to have my similar issue diagnosed. I am concerned because the service advisor said that the extended warranty will only be for an update to my power train system; which is not what I read in the letter. I want to have my throttle body replaced and the power train update so to prevent any future and more dangerous failures. I am also fearful because of the 'one-time' repair program, I will be out of luck and a bunch of money should my throttlebody fail after the power train update.

- La Vergne, TN, USA

problem #630

May 272014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles


While driving on interstate, car suddenly lost power. Check engine light and wrench came on. Turned the car off and started it back up and the car acted fine but repeated this process 5 more times on the way home.causing cars to almost run in to the back of the car. Found on line where, Ford was extending a warranty on 2010 Fusion throttle body for 150,000 miles. Took the car in to the keith hawthorne Ford dealership in belmont, nc and service manager said this was true if it was indeed the throttle body. Called back later to check and said that it was indeed the throttle body but my car even though itis a 2010 Ford Fusion with low miles is not covered but had no reason why.

- Mount Holly, NC, USA

problem #629

May 272014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
The throttle body failed on my 2010 Ford Fusion that I purchased last month. The car felt as if it simply stopped working and would not accelerate. Thankfully, it occurred at a low speed, though it was very frightening. Apparently, this is a known issue and Ford says it isn't covered under the powertrain warranty. I am concerned about driving the car, and I feel as though this known defective part will fail again.

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #628

Aug 172013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 44,558 miles
While driving at 65 mph the engine drops to idle. You have to pull over on the shoulder and restart the car.

- St. Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #627

May 042014


  • 72,000 miles
Ford issued an extended warranty for the throttle body for my 2010 Ford Fusion. I received multiple letters in the mail letting me know that my car was receiving this warranty. Yesterday, my car suddenly stopped acceleration and made an extreme jerk multiple times on the freeway- this could have killed myself, my passengers and anyone who may have hit me. Today, I was told that because my vehicle has a salvaged title, Ford would not fix the throttle body component. I am not covered for their stupid extended warranty program. Ford needs a full recall for the throttle body, for people like me who are beyond warranty coverage. They already conned me into an unnecessary $1400 repair before, now I feel that I am only being conned again. Own up to your mistakes Ford! I'm tired of having my safety at risk because of you!

- Chula Vista , CA, USA

problem #626

Apr 092014


  • 65,000 miles
The throttle body failed causing the car to lose all power. I made it to the side of the road and turned the car off. Turned the car off and left it off for a few minutes. Turned the car back on and it ran. I took it to a dealer, where Ford refused to fix the issue even though the part is under warranty. Drove the car for three weeks after that when it occurred again while driving. Took the car back to the Ford dealer where once again Ford has refused to fix the issue.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #625

Apr 202014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 760,553 miles
As I was pulling out into traffic from the driveway of the grocery store my car seemed as if it stalled as I was driving. It would not move as I pressed the gas pedal. It did not go off. It just would not move. I put my hazard lights on so the approaching cars could go around me. I then turned the car off and restarted it. It seemed to hesitate a bit but then started and I proceeded to go home. This was the scariest thing I have ever experienced. I am just thankful that my kids and I were not hurt. This is the second time this has happened to me. The first incident occurred about 3 to 4 months ago. I did not know about the recall at that time. Both incidents occurred without notice and while I was pulling into traffic.

- Ft Worth, TX, USA

problem #624

Feb 012014


  • 70,000 miles
Transmission leak in the front left axle. Mechanic at Ford dealership told me this is the 5th one he's seen in the last week (on various 2010 Fusion's and 2010 escape's), and he's fixed many of those vehicles with the same problem over the last few years. Upon, looking online, I see many other people who own those 2 vehicles with the same problem. This costs about $500 to fix (and from reports online, many times it's needed to be fixed again). Mechanic told me Ford is on their 4th version of the part to try and get it right. This seems like a recall is needed! the public is getting screwed.

- Saginaw, MI, USA

problem #623

Jan 012014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Axle seal on drivers side had failed. I had to have seal and axle replaced, leaking large amounts of transmission fluid next to tire. Axle was replaced with redesigned part at my cost.

- Monrovia, IN, USA

problem #622

Apr 022014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 76,500 miles
Driving to work car had a thump then loss of power(couldn't accelerate ) and amber wrench light came on. Pulled over to side of highway as quickly and safely as I could. Engine was idling rough. Put in park and turned off car for 2 seconds, and turned back on. Car ran fine, until 3 days later when exact same problem occurred.

- Maple Grove, MN, USA

problem #621

Sep 092012


  • 27,000 miles
The transmission has been jerking since we bought it I believe in 2012. It jerks at 25 to 35 (est...) and not all the time. It also does it when you put it into drive coming out of reverse. I have nerves problems and I feel it more than most people. My husband it healthy and he is now seeing what I have been talking about. It is doing it pretty frequently now. Its April 2014. Going to the owners manual we found out it was replaced at 8000 miles (est) with prior owner. Also are tail lights edging keeps chipping or breaking off. I see it on most Ford Fusion. And lastly our gas tank lid is beyond loose. It is always blowing open. We hope it doesn't never get ripped off or that water doesn't in to the gas. Simple but major problems. This new of car should not keep having problems.

- Grand River, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?