Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
88,170 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 11 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #12

Feb 092011

Fusion

  • 14,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After driving about 1.5 miles from home, my wife came to a set of lights and stepped on the brake to stop. The brake pedal went nearly to the floor and several dash lights came on including the brakes & anti-swerve. The vehicle slowed to a stop as she entered the intersection. Fortunately 2 things were in her favor, there was no one ahead of her and there was no cross traffic at the light. Either could have resulted in an accident. She drove the vehicle back home since she considered that the brakes had failed and she may not be able to stop the vehicle. She called me. I told her to call the dealership. She left the vehicle running thinking that perhaps as it warmed up it would work and tested it several times over an hour's time in the driveway. She pulled out the car's manual to see if there was anything listed regarding the brake failure. She read in another part of the manual about resetting the car's computer by shutting off the engine. When she restarted the vehicle, the dash lights went out and brakes returned to normal. The dealer said they "never heard of this problem" and said the earliest they could see the vehicle was 5 days later. We dropped the vehicle off the night before with a description of what was experienced. The dealer said they "could not verify the concern" and Ford does not provide any guidance regarding the issue. I was able to find quite of few instances by simply doing a "google" search including a video by 'consumer reports' who experienced the exact same problem. Ford assured them it was a 'software' issue and claimed that all 2010 Fusion hybrid owners would be notified to have the software updated. My car was a newer model 2010 and apparently not under this notification since we did not receive anything from Ford. The 'Ford customer care' suggested taking the vehicle to another dealer for service who said, "there is nothing we can do."

- Appleton, WI, USA

problem #11

May 102010

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the reprogramming of the computer for shift modification was affecting the overall fuel mileage and performance of the vehicle. The contact informed the dealer who was not willing to address the issue and ignored the failure. The vehicle had not been repaired. The current mileage was 32,000 and the failure mileage was 14,000. Updated 04/15/11 the transmission was replaced. Updated 11/18/11

- Redlands, CA, USA

problem #10

Jan 242011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,700 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion hybrid. While the vehicle was parked the ignition would not start. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The technicians replaced the battery. The contact stated that the failure occurred a second time and the vehicle was towed to the dealer. The technicians were able to duplicate the failure but could not diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 10,700. Updated 04/15/11 updated 5/2/11 updated 05/13/11 updated 12/28/2011

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #9

Jun 212010

Fusion

  • 2,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased my vehicle on May 15, 2010. The vehicle began to stall almost 1 month later at 2100 miles. I was coming to a stop at a red light when I noticed that my vehicle had lost all power when I began to apply the brake. I took the vehicle into the dealer and they told me that they were not able to replicate the problem and no codes were showing up when diagnosed. After the first time the vehicle stalled on me I started to notice an acceleration problem prior to the vehicle stalling again. It feels like the vehicle is not shifting gears correctly when I'm pressing the gas for acceleration. The vehicle has trouble accelerating properly and I fear that I may get rear ended. When the vehicle stalls it does not give me any warning signs and just looses power. I have to turn off the ignition and turn it back on. The vehicle starts up right away like if nothing happened. Meanwhile I loose power in the middle of the freeway or on the street, fearing that I will get rear ended. The vehicle has stalled on me numerous times and each time I take it into the dealer they are not able to replicate the problem. The dealer placed a flight recorder to monitor the vehicle and they still weren't able to capture anything when the vehicle stalled, so they say. I have contact Ford corporation and have notified them of the problem but they are not working to fix the problem. They keep changing me from dealer to dealer and they have not sent out a Ford technician as promised to look at the vehicle. This is a huge safety concern that Ford is not addressing. I have put in numerous calls to Ford corporation and they have not fixed the problem to this day.

- Cerritos, CA, USA

problem #8

Jun 302010

Fusion

  • 4,500 miles
Stopped at a traffic light, waiting to make left turn. Upon accelerating car lurched forward like it was going to come off it's chasis and then lost all acceleration. Car rolled to stop and needed towing dealership had car for 25 days. Claims to have replaced a throttle module which corrected the issue. Ford claimed all defective parts and indicated they had no responsibility to inform me of the defect which caused the incident.

- Oxford, OH, USA

problem #7

Aug 072010

Fusion

  • 197 miles
Purchased the Ford Fusion SE 2010 on 8/4/10 drove it 100 miles and on 8/7/10 it was dead in my drive way. Called road service and it was jumped and towed to dealership. There two days was told there was nothing wrong with the vehicle other than the battery was no good - they replaced the battery. Drove it approximately 900 miles and on 9/5/10 it was dead in the driveway again. Roadservice came jumped the car and I drove it into the dealership they replaced the battery and asked me to bring the car into service after the weekend. On 9/7/10 at 8am I dropped the car at the dealership as per their request. I received a call on 9/14/10 from the service department to tell me that they can't resolve the matter and that an engineer is coming out from Ford Corp to look at the car. Not sure what to think at this point maybe I should ask for my money back or another car? also, I have noticed the drivers headrest is really not at all comfortable but that is really the least of my troubles with my new car.

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #6

Feb 152010

Fusion

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the vehicle shut off when she drove over a pothole in the road prefaced by a chiming sound. The contact was driving approximately 20 mph when the failure occurred. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership where the contact was informed that the vehicle needed an upload for the computer system; however, the upload did not remedy the failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealer a second time but the vehicle stalled again when the contact was driving it home. The contact took the vehicle to the dealership where it remained for two weeks before it was returned. The contact was unaware of how the vehicle was repaired but stated that the failure had not occurred since it was repaired the third time. The failure mileage was approximately 10,000. The current mileage was approximately 11,300.

- Seneca, MO, USA

problem #5

Mar 152010

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 7,500 miles
My 2010 Ford Fusion sel 6cyl. Has stalled twice once during a rolling stop and the second time fully stopped. Both times the car just lost all power and the electronics inside the car quit working when restarted. After turning the car off a second time and restarting again the electronics started working again. Nothing has been done to fix it yet as the dealer has not heard of the complaint and will charge me a service call if they can not find the problem even though the car has only 7500 miles on it.

- Adrian, MI, USA

problem #4

Feb 262010

Fusion

  • miles
My 2010 Ford Fusion, has a problem not notice the car not starting up. When you start the car up, so I think I start the car up. Put in drive, in actually not on.

- Forestville , MD, USA

problem #3

Aug 012009

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 11,300 miles
Ford Fusion 2010 S - when the brake was depressed the car accelerated until I depressed a second time much harder. The consumer first began to notice the vehicle would intermittently not start in August. He took the vehicle to the dealer, but they were unable to duplicate the problem. The consumer insisted there was a problem and eventually, they found a technical service bulletin that addressed the issue. The problem was attributed to radio frequency intermittently corrupting the crankshaft position sensor and a new ground strip was installed. The problem seemed to be rectified. The weather stripping surrounding the rear window was loose, there was loose metal around the passenger rear wheel.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #2

Feb 202010

Fusion

  • 6,700 miles
While under normal driving conditions and habits, we experienced a complete instrument cluster failure in our 2010 Ford Fusion hybrid this past Saturday, Feb 20. 2010. During the same incident we experienced a symptom of diminished power while accelerating as well as overly sensitive and /or mushy brakes. There have been other reported instances where the brake system has glitched as well during regenerative braking causing an abrupt application of hydraulic system over riding the regenerative system, brake system continues to have issues even after recall repair reprogramwas performed. We have had several instrument cluster glitches while driving the vehicle since purchase date of October 26, 2009. First incident was reported October 27, 2009. Several. Instrument cluster resets while driving since purchase date. First incident reported same date as previous.. on February 22, 2010 car stalled for no reason while driving 45mph in traffic to dealership to have instrument cluster and other issues addressed. Restarted when car came ro a complete stop and placed in park. Car is at dealer now and no codes were reported in systems. Ford engineers state that with no codes reported there can't be any problems.

- Colonial Heights, VA, USA

problem #1

Oct 152009

Fusion

  • 2,000 miles
Our 2010 Ford Fusion is starting to split to split at the seams literally. On the passenger front door on the armrest where the window switch is, the panel is starting to separate & come apart. The top of the panel bulges upwards as if something in the door is pushing it up. My concern is especially here in NJ with the recent snow & rain, moisture & dust could come in through the crack & either short out or disable the electrical wiring in the door (speakers, window, etc). The failure stared at 2000 miles & the split gets bigger each day & current mileage is 5300 miles. I'm sorry but I've bought Ford for the last 15 years & this is probably the worst quality I've seen in Ford cars.

- Barnegat, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?