Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
88,588 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 4 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #151

May 302013


  • 75,000 miles


Every time engine starts, Ford Fusion dash displays two (2) fault codes: Cross traffic system fault, and check rear park aid. Both fault alerts clear after pressing controls on the steering wheel. However, both, the rear park aid, and the cross traffic system stopped working. Each provides unique audible buzzing alerts when auto is in reverse to warn of an impending crash/contact with a person or object. Two safety system features that no longer work.

- Harrisonville, MO, USA

problem #150

Mar 032014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 145,000 miles
Twice in parking lot message appeared -power steering assist fault. At first appeared to be power (battery) related, because the car was in park and when I turned car off then on again message is gone, car was driving fine. - about an hour later, same message appeared and power steering no longer works. Turning on and off no longer correcting the problem. This is the second potentially very dangerous problem I have had with this car in the last 6 months.

- Chico, CA, USA

problem #149

Dec 162013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 8,400 miles
Every time engine starts, Ford Fusion dash displays two (2) fault codes: Cross traffic system fault, and check rear park aid. Both fault alerts clear after pressing controls on the steering wheel. However, both, the rear park aid, and the cross traffic system stopped working. Each provides unique audible buzzing alerts when auto is in reverse to warn of an impending crash/contact with a person or object. Two safety system features that no longer worked. The 2010 Ford Fusion was out of warranty, (4 years old, less than 8,500 miles on odometer) so I had to pay the dealership about $150 to diagnose the problem. The dealership diagnosed the problem as a broken, and non-working speaker in the top of the rear seat. The cost to replace this speaker would be approximately, $350, and there would be no guarantee that this will fix the 2 problems, although the mechanic said he was 98% sure the diagnostic was correct. Ford Motor Company offered to pay $200 toward the repair. Result: Two safety systems are now working, but I had to pay $300 of the $500 cost to diagnose and repair these safety system features. A speaker in the top of the rear seat¿ is a part of an auto that an owner expects would last for the life of the auto, and certainly more than 8,500 miles on an odometer. Since this speaker is an integral part of both safety systems, not subject to any wear and tear, its failure to work/operate as designed is an obvious design or product fault, and something that Ford motor should repair at its expense.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #148

Feb 202012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles


It is the typical throttle body issue everyone else is complaining about. It would randomly stall completely out on the main road. Occasionally, I could turn off the car and then turn it back on and it would drive me a few more miles before stalling out again. Car would randomly accelerate while applying the brakes. Car would violently "jump" like it was missing gears while accelerating. Almost impossible to accelerate speed without putting my foot to the floor. I bought a new throttle body for about $400 I think in September 2012 and within a year it was already doing the same things mentioned above. I just received an extended warranty from Ford in the mail and will get a refund for my previous expense on a new throttle body. It pretty much seems like a recall but without actually saying it is. I don't know if there is any further action that can be taken but if so then please do. This is a dangerous car with a short shelf life. I almost got blasted from my side twice because I would be turning off a 4 lane route with plenty of distance from oncoming traffic and the car would stall. I was basically a sitting duck sideways hoping it would roll me fast enough to get out of the way. I hope this helps.

- Logan, WV, USA

problem #147

Jan 242014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 83,381 miles
I have just had this fixed 2 weeks ago for the same problem. January 24, 2013 my power steering and advance trac light came on again. I took it to the mechanics today and they tell me that the tires may need to be replaced and I have even done 60,000 miles on the tires-yet they are worn out already. I knew I needed tires, my inspection is due next month. I have only had this car for 3 years and I am already having problems with it. I'm angry! I thought Ford were better built now-A-days. Wrong............I'm so disappointed with this car. Fairly new and having what I consider major problem.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #146

Dec 072013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 90,100 miles
In the middle of driving approx 25mph, service advancetrac light came on and then off very quickly, thought maybe it was an electrical glitch. Arrived at destination 5 minutes later and shut off car. A half an hour later, went to turn on car and the service advancetrac/service power steering now lights were on. When I tried to drive the car to the nearest gas station, the car would barely move at all let alone turn. Had to put hazards on and continue driving while almost hitting about 5 cars due to no power steering. Extremely dangerous and extremely costly problem. After having this happen to me I have been researching and very many cases of this occurred, I am very shocked that Ford has not issued a recall for the 2010 Fusion.

- Clinton, CT, USA

problem #145

Dec 312013


  • 89,000 miles


While driving my 2010 Ford Fusion sel on a back wrong I lost pressure to the throttle. My car had lost all of its speed. Luckily I was able to pull over before a car could hit me. Even if I pushed the gas it would not budge. I believe this is the electronic throttle body causing the problem. This is not the first time it has happened. This the 4 time. I am a college student traveling every day to school and back. Not only on back roads but also on the highway where if I lose my acceleration I could be serious hurt. This is a problem with the car and it needs to be recalled and fixed. My own life is at risk driving this vehicle.

- Southbridge , MA, USA

problem #144

Dec 182013


  • 18,176 miles
Yesterday, 12-18-13 while driving at approx. 65 mph on highway car throttle stopped responding and went into rough idle. Did same thing 4 times and I narrowly escaped being rear ended. Had to get to side of road and turn off engine. After letting car set for approximately 2 minutes car restarted and seemed to run fine until the next unpredictable incident. Today 12-19-13 on way to dealership pulled into traffic and was almost broadsided. Almost being killed 4 times in 24 hrs. Suggests a major safety issue. Dealership was aware of problem as soon as I mentioned it indicating this was not first time. Dealership fixed issue even before discussing price as they said I could not drive car if this part was not replaced (again indicating a major safety issue that they were already aware of). According to NHTSA action # PE13003 this complaint has been under investigation since Feb. 21, 2013. I feel this issue needs to be addressed before it leads to fatalities. Called Ford customer service on this date and was given very little assistance on the issue other than they would report it for internal investigation. Feel that an immediate recall should be issued.

- Haines City, FL, USA

problem #143

Dec 022013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Driving on straight away about 35 to 40 mph. Lost power in the middle of the road with no time to pull over, push on gas pedal nothing happened motor never died completely but had no power to move.then put shifter into park shut off vehicle waited a minute then restarted it, ran fine after this for this 5 mile trip, but this is happening every different trip made, every day, sometimes more than once a trip, at different speeds.

- Carlisle, OH, USA

problem #142

Sep 122013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 73,521 miles
Driving down the interstate and the car jerks and then decelerates, cannot push the gas as it will do nothing, the transmission light comes on and you have to pull over shut the car off and let it sit for a minute and crank it back up. This happened only once at first, however, now occurs very frequently during interstate driving. So I called the Ford dealership, to get a price check on the part as computer threw code P2111, who advised that this is a common issue with this car and cannot understand why Ford has not done a re-call on the throttle body issue. I really think someone needs to do something about this before someone gets seriously hurt or killed from their vehicle just deciding it wants to decelerate while driving.

- Lexington, NC, USA

problem #141

Nov 272013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 25,780 miles


Driving on highway at approximately 60 mph when all power to the engine was lost. The vehicle decelerated quickly as I pulled over to the side of the road. An orange "wrench" light was illuminated on the dash, but no check engine light. Engine was idling roughly and a loud misfiring sound was coming from the exhaust. No matter how hard I pushed the gas pedal, I could not get above 3 mph. I re-started the car, and the engine ran normally. However, the messages "service advancetrac" and "check brake system" appeared on the screen while two yellow traction control lights and the red brake light were illuminated. Upon restarting the vehicle once more, both of these indicators were gone. I was able to drive safely to the dealer who didn't perform any diagnostics nor drive the vehicle, but was still "90% sure" that the problem is the throttle body. Ford does not cover the throttle body under the 5 yr/60,000 mi powertrain warranty, nor will my aftermarket "exclusionary coverage" warranty by portfolio. The estimated cost to install a new throttle body is $321 without diagnostics. No repair has been done yet at this time, as I am waiting to hear back from Ford Motor Company as well as the dealer that sold me the vehicle used.

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

problem #140

Nov 162013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 56,708 miles
Going down 4 lane road at 45-50 mph. Vehicle lost power & idle ability. Shut it off & after a few minutes, it started up again but continued to repeat this malfunction several times. Dealer checked codes & replaced electronic throttle body control & emissions purge valve. Informed that this was common problem, but not covered by warranty.

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

problem #139

Nov 012013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
While trying to accelerate for a green light the car began to vibrate and would not accelerate at all. I was able to move to a safe place at idle only speed. The car was towed to a Ford dealer who told me that the car could not be looked at until Monday. The car is under a Ford extended warranty. I was told by the Ford warranty program, by phone, that I could rent a car and the cost would be covered for three days under the Ford insurance program. I was billed for $359.24 for replacing a throttle body and motor asy which was not covered by the extended Ford warranty and therefore the rental was not covered either. This included $119.95 for a pin points test which was completely unnecessary since Ford has had to replace thousands of these parts and Ford has sent bulletins to Ford dealers about this problem.

- Bedford, MA, USA

problem #138

Nov 042013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 40,500 miles
While driving approximately 45mph the car suddenly started running rough and lost all power. RPM decreased dramatically and the car would not accelerate, however the engine did not stop running. The wrench indicator came on as I managed to safely get to a parking lot. I turned off the engine and waited several minutes. I re-started the engine and drove home with no further incident. Since the incident I took the car into a reputable shop for proper diagnostic which resulted in no indication or failure codes from the tests. There was no forewarning for the failure incident and I will say that I was in a precarious and dangerous traffic condition when the failure occurred. Through further research I found the following: Unfortunately this failure seems to be occurring more frequently and linked to a throttle body problem. The diagnostic codes for this failure apparently get erased when the car engine is cycled off then on, preventing a diagnostic test from capturing the code necessary for analysis (unless a diagnostic is performed while the incident is occurring). If the problem is a faulty throttle body the failure code should be P2111 or P2112. Ford has changed the part number of the throttle body replacement part from the original part causing suspicion to be cast on the original part. This warrants a safety recall due to the nature of the failure and possible injury potential when failure occurs in traffic, but has not been recognized by Ford.....yet.

- New Smyrna Beach, FL, USA

problem #137

Nov 062013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 39,026 miles
Throttle response stopped entirely at an intersection, resulting in a near rear-end collision. Subsequent extreme rough idle, bogged-down engine behavior, and difficulty to start engine. Faulty part is electronic throttle body, per NHTSA action number PE13003.

- Royal Oak, MI, USA

problem #136

Nov 052013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 98,700 miles
We were traveling on highway at 65 mph when suddenly lost power, car was shuttering and "wrench" light came on. Since we were going uphill at the time, we lost speed incredibly fast but managed to make it out of traffic lane and onto the shoulder. The car was turned off and then after a minute it restarted and ran ok but we're afraid that it isn't safe to drive until this problem is fixed. It would appear to be a faulty throttle body.

- Bemidji, MN, USA

problem #135

Oct 282013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 68,500 miles
My 2010 Ford Fusion SE V6 flex fuel has quit about six times over the past ten days. The first distressing incident occurred about 9 P.M. on an isolated county road with my 4-year-old grandson in the car. We were traveling about 50 mph when without warning the car stalled & seemed to lose power in the middle of the road. The car quit pulling, a wrench indicator light lit up on the dash, then starting bucking & idling erratically. I pulled onto the shoulder & turned off the key. I retried the ignition & car restarted. After making sure it would continue to run, I pulled back out & continued home. The Ford dealership had just checked this car 3 wks before for "fuel inlet light" issue. Told that the neck of the gas line leaks air/water (car was designed/sold w/out a gas cap which causes that light & check engine to light up). We believed that this was the cause of problem, once again, or perhaps I had gotten some bad gas. We had been to town, added fuel cleaner, filled the tank & had no problems with it. Then my mother-in-law passed away two days later & the car quit out of state on a busy interstate hwy! we almost didn't get it out of the road & acted like it was not going to restart that time. Latest episode was on the way home from funeral (abt 40 mls away), it quit again at 11 P.M. that night. Now we've been informed that throttle body is going out. This is not only outrageous for mileage on it, but incredibly hazardous to me, my family, and other drivers on the road! given the shear number of recorded complaints/incidents (for the same problem) seen here as well as in researching online, Ford should recall these vehicles before someone is seriously hurt or killed. I have been a faithful Ford customer all my life, but I am thinking of trading it in on another make & model altogether! I have just about lost faith and trust in Ford Motor Company.

- Louisville, MS, USA

problem #134

Sep 252013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 66,500 miles
The throttle body on my 2010 Ford Fusion SE failed. My car lost power and stalled out four times while driving in traffic. I have replaced the part and would certainly like to see Ford recall this part.

- Auburn, NY, USA

problem #133

Oct 052013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 44,900 miles
Driving down the street got up to 30mph when the wrench light came on. Once the wrench light came & I pressed on the gas pedal I could not accelerate. Turned the car off waited a few minutes turned the car back on started up fine. Didn't happen again until a week later, some problem happened again.

- Joliet, IL, USA

problem #132

Oct 182013


  • 32,000 miles
I was driving on a main road and after accelerating through a light, my car stopped accelerating and my "wrench" light came on. I could no longer accelerate and the car began jumping back and forth as if it were trying to switch gears. Luckily I wasn't on a major highway. I shut the car off and turned it back on and the light went away briefly. After pulling onto a side road it happened again and when I put it in park, my RPM gauge began fluctuating and I was not pressing the gas also began hard shifting and it seemed as though the transmission was going to drop. Not sure if this is a computer issue, but it is clearly not safe. It stalled several more times on the way home. It's definitely not safe to drive and thankfully I was not on a major highway where lives could have been at risk. I researched this weekend and clearly other people have had the same issue. I can't believe this isn't a recall. Hopefully Ford takes care of this before someone gets seriously hurt.

- Everett , MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?