Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,195 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 28 of 31)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #79

Jan 312013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 53,000 miles


I was traveling on a highway going approximately 70 mph and my accelerator became unresponsive. The RPM's dropped to idle, engine did not stop running but would only coast. The wrench warning light icon came on and later the check engine light came on. I coasted to a stop and put the car in park which is when the car began jerking. I shut the car off and put on my hazard lights on the highway. I was able to restart the car, but it was a rough restart. I was able to drive off and it appeared to run fine. I did some research online and found that many owners of the Ford Fusion have had this recurring problem with their throttle body. This also is affected by other models of 4 cylinder engines. My Ford customer service stated that they had no customer service complaints about this problem. I informed them of all the complaints online, they told me that the throttle was not covered by warranty and this was not a recalled part. This happened numerous times after this, resulting in two near traffic crashes and almost getting tboned while making a left turn through an intersection. The problem is that the vehicle will run fine for a day or say, but with no warning stop running, sometimes at the most inconvenient times. I cleaned the throttle body, but it did not solve the problem. I purchased a new throttle body from my dealership for $185 with tax and replaced the part myself because it was very simple. I am in no means a mechanic, I am a cop and it took me only 5 minutes to replace it. I hope Ford identifies this problem before a traffic crash occurs due to the vehicle stalling without warning.

- College Station, TX, USA

problem #78

Jan 192013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 47,800 miles
While turning left on a green arrow my accelerator became unresponsive, engine did not stop running but would only coast @ about 2 mph, wrench light icon and check engine light came on. The car was jerking during this slow coast to the side of the intersection. I had to put the car in park and completely shut it off.(as I was hitting my hazard lights and praying I didn't get hit by oncoming traffic as the light had changed by this time.) after a rough restart, it appeared to run fine. I took it to the mechanic and had my fuel system cleaned, but after doing research and finding many owners of the Ford Fusion have had this recurring problem, seemingly with their throttle body, I am very afraid to drive my car as this problem occurs with no warning beforehand and at all different speeds. I did notify Ford customer service and was told that they had no customer service complaints about this problem. When I informed them of all the complaints online, they explained that they only acknowledge "official Ford websites". I pray that Ford will issue a recall and fix this problem before somebody dies.

- Grovetown, GA, USA

problem #77

Jan 042013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 41,042 miles
My 2010 Ford Fusion failed me and my family yesterday in highway traffic. The car went into an idle mode and would not accelerate. I had to coast across three lanes of traffic and run up the curb to get my family to a safe area. I turned the car off, and then back on and the car started. The problem was the throttle body and the dealer replaced the failed unit at my cost. I see on the web, that a failed throttle body is a recurring problem for the Ford Fusion. The vehicle was only 15 days or 5000 miles out of warranty. My cost of the repair was $328.50.

- Cocoa Beach, FL, USA

problem #76

Jan 112013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 63,297 miles


I was traveling at 60 mph and the lost all power. I was in the middle of three lanes so it proved difficult to get to the right break down lane. I turned the engine off and after about ten seconds I was able to restart the engine and return to the highway. The same problem occurred again about a half a mile further down the road. Once again I turned the engine off and restarted it. The problem did not happen again that day. I had the problem looked at later that afternoon at a local Ford dealer who diagnosed it as a faulty throttle body assembly. The car was 3,000 miles out of warranty. Ford corporate customer service did not feel they should pay for the repair. This has occurred twice in the past in December and each time I was traveling 60 mph in heavy traffic. This could have resulted in a very serious accident. Something needs to done.

- Simsbury , CT, USA

problem #75

Nov 282012


  • 16,700 miles
First event was while exiting a mall parking lot; stepped on gas pedal, and instead of accelerating the car seemed just about to stall. I got off to the side of the road, and before shutting off the engine noticed the "wrench" symbol illuminated on the instrument cluster. I waited a few minutes and started the car, noting the "wrench" was no longer on, put it in gear and drove off. The car ran fine until 12/28/12, when while traveling at approx 70mph on I-90 the engine began to again down shift and lose power. The third occurrence was the morning of 12/29/12; in each above incident I was able to get off the traffic way, park, shut off the car, restart it and drive away. The wrench was illuminated each time. On 01/03/13 my car was serviced by the dealer from where I purchased it, and they said the problem was the throttle body. They had one in stock and replaced it. Kudos to them, but, more than a little unnerving. And if it was replaced with the same style unit, how do I know it won't happen again, perhaps at a most inopportune time? at the time of writing this I don't have the VIN available, however, fwiw, the build date is June 2010. It is the sel AWD with the V-6 engine, 3.0L I believe.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #74

Jul 012012


  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that when driving approximately 5 -60 mph, the vehicle would shake violently and then stall without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle however, the failure would recur on an intermittent basis. The vehicle was not inspected by a dealer or an independent mechanic. The manufacturer was later contacted but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 55,000. The current mileage was approximately 63,000.

- Rusk, TX, USA

problem #73

Dec 052012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 43,400 miles


Vehicle would lose all response to the accelerator pedal. It would happen at any time without warning, but first happened after speeding up after going over a speed bump. The next day it happened 3 times. On that last day, the day of the appointment at the dealership, it happened 4 times. The vehicle would not react to the input from the accelerator pedal. You would have to pull over, assuming there was a safe place to pull over, and shut the car off in park then restart it. Everything would be normal until it acted up again, anywhere from 1 mile to 5 miles later. Obvious safety issue, you can't power the vehicle to get out of the way of oncoming traffic it were to happen on a turn or merging on a freeway. A wreck could very easily have happened from this failure. It ended up being a bad electronic throttle body. This was not covered under the powertrain warranty and the total cost to replace was $352.40.

- Statesboro, GA, USA

problem #72

Nov 282012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 46,583 miles
Ford Fusion 2012 3.0L V6 sel goes into "limp-mode" without warning at highway speeds. A slight shudder immediately before tripping the "limp-mode" where the accelerator becomes disabled. No or minimal power is available to pull out of traffic safely. Wrench light comes on, however, the engine is still running. Once the car turned off and restarted, the car runs normally until the symptom happens again. No other symptoms are present prior to going into "limp-mode". brought the car to a mechanic and they could not find any saved engine codes and could not reproduce the problem. No work was done to correct the problem due to no evidence of it in the computer. Has happened three times at highway speeds, without any warning, and creates a hazardous driving experience.

- Santa Monica, CA, USA

problem #71

Sep 302011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
While driving the car to get on freeway it boggled down like it was going to turn off and check engine light turned on and wrench symbol so pulled to the side and car was shaking as if it had no gas so turned off for 3 min and turned back on and drove not even a mile down the road and it did the same thing so turned off and on again and it ran as if was fine not even a month later started doing the same thing once you drive and it starts to accelerate it boggles down and lights come on. Got it checked and was told it was the throttle body which is happening in a lot of Ford Fusion 2010 cars.

- Slaton, TX, USA

problem #70

Nov 222012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 42,630 miles
We were driving back from shopping, had the cruise set at 65 mph. The car lost power and would not accelerate. I looked down at the dash and notice the wrench light had come on. We pulled off the road and I notice that the vehicle was running rough and still would not accelerate even after putting the car in park. We were contemplating who we could call at such a late hour. I decided to turn the car off and see if would restart, it in fact did and the engine seem to be running normally. We continued to our destination with out further incident. The car has remained in the driveway since the incident. This is the first problem we have had with this vehicle, we bought it used in February of this year. It had 29,700 miles on it and had no issues reported to car fax. It was a one owner vehicle and that was a rental car from initial sale of car in Hawaii.

- Bertram, TX, USA

problem #69

Aug 122012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 55,033 miles


Tell us what happened: My husband and I had purchased a 2010 Ford Fusion in July 2012. About 20 some days after purchase. I got into the car and started the car trying to go up my driveway and the car lost all acceleration and the wrench light came on. I called the dealership explained what happened they picked the car up and gave us a loaner to drive. The dealership replaced the throttle body. Around August of 2012 my husband, my grandson and I were driving and went to make a turn onto the highway and without warning the car lost all acceleration again placing my family in a dangerous safety situation. We called the dealership and told them what happened and they picked up the car again. This time they mentioned there was issue with wiring and the PCV valve which also dealt with the throttle body was replaced and assured me the problem was fixed. Last week my husband was driving the car on a highway and proceeded to pass an eighteen wheeler when out of nowhere the car lost all acceleration, the check engine light came on for about 15 or 20 seconds and thankfully went back into gear. My husband was going over 70 miles an hour and lost all acceleration without warning! this is an extremely dangerous safety concern. This now would be the second time it placed our lives in danger. We no longer have the car but I fear that someone else will buy this car and something worse could happen the throttle body in this car was replaced three times. Once through the manufacture, car fax reported it replaced, and once when I purchased the car. Something needs to be done to ensure the safety of these vehicles very soon before someone gets seriously injured or killed. My concern is it is very likely this car will be sold again to someone else since we took it back to the dealership where we purchased it from without having this issue fixed.

- Garner, NC, USA

problem #68

Sep 122012


  • 65,500 miles
Driving down the road my car started shaking really bad and had no power pushing on the gas and would do nothing I had no where to pull off finally coasted to a drive and shut it off and started back up and it ran find for about a month then as I was going across the highway I gave it gas and it would do nothing and I nearly got hit by a semi truck. There's a lot of people having the same trouble and Ford won't put a recall on it. Someone is going to get killed. I'm currently trying to get them to fix it after my warranty just ran out. Thank you for your time this is a serious issue and hope Ford resolves this issue.

- Harrodsburg, KY, USA

problem #67

Nov 082012


  • 74,500 miles
2010 Ford Fusion on Nov 8 2012 driving approximately 67 miles per hour with cruise control on and set, vehicle suddenly lost all engine power. Repair light (lighted wrench) came on, cruise control went from green to amber. Engine remained on but accelerator no longer worked. When accelerator depressed, engine did not respond. Vehicle coasted to a stop. Brakes, steering, and lights still worked. Once stopped, shifted to park and depressed the accelerator and still no response from the engine. Turned car off. Restarted car. Restart took a few extra seconds but did start. Car operation returned to normal. Cruise control worked. No further issues. Weather was clear, no rain or wind, road was smooth.

- Belleville, MI, USA

problem #66

Nov 072012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 111,380 miles
While starting a left turn into an intersection car lost ability to go more than 2-5 mph. After managing to coast down small hill. Car had to be turned off and started again. Did similar loss speed, twice in same day. Suspected part that needs to be replaced is on back order!!!!

- Chico, CA, USA

problem #65

Oct 292012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 106,000 miles
Each time (8 times) traveling at 40-67 mph and with traffic around and wrench light comes on along with check engine light; car then loses speed rapidly to only a few miles per hour. Barely able to pull over before completely stopping. Been in shop twice and both times, codes do not show anything nor have they seen the warning light and it happen to them after driving it for a total of 150 miles testing it. After each time it happens able to sit for 10-15 minutes and it start back up and run. Very concerned for my family's safety as we have had several near miss accidents due to the car drastically dropping speed (out of our control) with each occurrence. After research on internet reading several stories of exact scenario (blaming throttle body)and Ford has done nothing about it. Please please please recall the parts and prevent a bad accident happening.

- Duncanville, TX, USA

problem #64

Oct 302012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 42,135 miles
The car would not accelerate. It did not lose its braking or steering, but we had no choice but to pull over. Updated 11/07/12 updated 11/15/12

- Fitzgerald, GA, USA

problem #63

Oct 022012


  • 45,000 miles
This is the second time car lost power and the wrench light came on also shuddered pull to the side of the road and restarted the car. Fault cleared after this.

- Bushnell, IL, USA

problem #62

Oct 022012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
While driving my 2010 3.0 Ford Fusion on secondary roads, the car suddenly lost power. After 5 minutes, it could be restarted and driven but after approximately 30 seconds, it would lose power again and coast to a stop. It stranded my wife and daughter until towed to a dealer. The dealer diagnosed a bad throttle body, and charged approximately $700 to replace the part and perform a recommended fuel system cleaning. Repeated email to Ford customer service resulted in a denial of responsibility because they were under no warranty or recall obligation. I spoke with a service writer who told me that this problem appeared to be consistent for Fusion.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #61

Oct 042012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
At 11:45 pm, I was traveling West on I-64, at 68 mph, when my car quickly decelerated. Despite my applying more gas, my car continued to lose power rapidly and began shuddering. It was then that the "wrench" warning light came on. I immediately pulled over to the side of the road, turned my vehicle off and put my hazard lights on. I waited for a 5 minutes before starting the car again. The car started roughly but did not have any power and could/would not accelerate. It was at this time that both the wrench and engine warning lights came on. Again I turned off the car and waited. After another 10-15 minutes, I turned the car on again. This time it started without incident. The wrench warning light did not come back on but the engine light remained on. I kept my hazard lights on and remained in the breakdown lane while I drove approximately 5 miles to the closest exit off the interstate where I promptly parked my car.

- Sandy Hook, VA, USA

problem #60

Sep 252012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 27,150 miles
I pulled out of my works parking lot and got 50 ft. Car began to slow down, shake/ vibrate violently, and emergency wrench lite lit up. While driving and while in park, it shook. I went to pull off to the side of the rode safely. Thank good ness I was on a downhill and could coast to a side road (but still not safe where I was). Once I was pulled off major road, I put the car in park. I turned the car off and was too afraid to do anything else. I called for a tow. 24 hours later, I was told my car's computer code said it had a bad throttle body. It was replaced with a brand new, revised throttle body - under warranty which ends in 37 days. It happens to many Ford Fusion. It's time for Ford to own up and send out the recall notices before someone gets hurt/killed.

- Hamilton, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?