Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,243 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 8 of 31)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #477

Nov 212013


  • 41,590 miles


Driver was driving vehicle home from work when the acceleration stopped working while she was driving. Driver stated that she heard a clunking noise when the acceleration stopped working that sounded almost like the vehicle was running out of gas, only the tank was full at the time. Vehicle was towed to Ford dealership where it was determined that the throttle body had failed.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #476

Nov 232013


  • miles
Saturday afternoon on 11/23/13 we were driving 57 mph when the car buckled and the little wrench came on. We were barely able to get off side of the road since there was a ditch beside us and we were on a state route so there were cars coming towards us and vehicles behind us. We waited a few minutes started the car and headed on our way. Later on that same day around 10pm the car did the same thing and we had no power while trying to accelerate in the middle of the night and the little wrench comes on. This time there was less traffic at night so we were able to somewhat get off the road. Again we sat there for awhile, started it back up and headed straight back to our house. Since we know what the problem is already due to my wife having the same make, model, year of the car and her own mother having to replace the same thing. The dealership said it was the throttle body that needed replace. We are able to call the same dealership that my car was originally purchased from the same place where my wife got her car from and get the part needed. My wife's story with her car is a bit more intense while I was driving on the highway of 70 mph the car buckled and lost all power and cars were flying by almost not allowing me to get off the side of the road. Almost got into an accident because of it. If they really want me to be a happy Ford customer I would hope they would recall this knowing peoples lives and safety are at risk when the car loses all control while driving. Only time will tell if I have to come back and voice another complaint. I come from a family of Ford owners and I'm thinking it will stop with us.

- Pandora, OH, USA

problem #475

Oct 312012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 31,000 miles
I purchased a 2010 Ford Fusion sel with 29,493 miles. I had under 2,000 miles when I began having trouble. This day I had only driven about six miles from home when I came up to a stop sign. While trying to accelerate, around 15 mph, the wrench light came on and I lost all power, the engine dropped speed rapidly bucking, surging and chattering as if it jumped time. Since I had no power, I dropped into neutral and coasted on to the shoulder of the road. At that point, it would only go forward with the same symptoms, so I put it in reverse and backed onto a side road and turned it off. I turned the flashers on and called a tow truck. They took the car back to the dealership. I called the mechanic the next day, then after waiting 24 hours with no response, I called back again, and the mechanic said they couldn't find nothing wrong with it. I then spent hours on line looking for what might be causing these symptoms and found hundreds of complaints about the exact same issues determined to be a defective electronic throttle body failure (etb). I found out since the engine was off, and check engine light never came on, the computer reset itself so there was no code. Then I also saw a video of another Ford reacting with the exact same symptoms as mine and learned Ford has modified the design of defective etb. After citing what I found to my mechanic, he decided to replace the defective part with the updated, modified part number ds7Z 9E926 D. the car was manufactured January 2010 so by November 2013 the warranty was up by 10 months. ( 3 year or 36,000 miles). I paid the amount $285.36 in full on November 02, 2013. Regarding Ford, why are they ignoring to acknowledge this as a safety issue " if I had a tractor trailer behind me going 65 mph and my car lost all power with no brake lights" there could have had been a very different outcome.

- Lockport, NY, USA

problem #474

Oct 302013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 55,961 miles


During the month of September, my car began suddenly shutting off while I was driving. This happened multiple times on the highway and surface roads. I would pull over, turn the car off and wait a few minutes. The car would work fine afterwards. I first had the battery checked which revealed a bad battery, I had it replaced. The car continued to have symptoms after the new battery was installed. I also noticed the stalling happened more when I filled the gas tank completely. I finally took the car back to the place I purchased it for diagnostics. I discovered that the throttle body was defective. I was told by a tech that the manufacturer had assembled new throttle bodies to replace the originals as the original throttle body did not work properly. Apparently, the intake was not opening/closing properly therefore the engine was not getting enough gas at times. The shop was able to pull codes from the previous stall events, P2111 & P2112. They replaced the throttle body assembly, ~ $300. I see many complaints regarding this issue and expect/hope a recall will be issued in the near future. As a side note, my ABS light was on as well. There was a known recall on the driver's side air bag assembly, shorted to ground. Ford replaced the air bag assembly at no charge. I hope this information is helpful.

- Richardson, TX, USA

problem #473

Nov 012013


  • 48,000 miles
Car stalled on highway- had to pull over to shoulder and restart auto ran for at about 5 mph- did not react to accelerator.

- Ladue, MO, USA

problem #472

Nov 152013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
The car started to run rough, the engine light went on, there was no response to the gas pedal. I had enough speed to move to the shoulder. I turned off the car and the issue seemed to resolve itself. I happened two more times in the last three miles to my house.

- Nesconset, NY, USA

problem #471

Nov 112013


  • 69,690 miles


The Fusion will stall at highway speed. When driving the "wrench" light will come on and the gas pedal becomes useless and it is left to coast down the road. The only thing you can do is pull over, if possible and put it in park and shut it off. Then the car shakes like crazy like the engine will explode if you don't shut if off fast enough. There entire time the tachometer is bouncing up and down and gas pedal is useless. Putting it in park does not fix the problem. You have to shut down the car. Once shut off, you can wait a few seconds and restart the car. This will usually start decent but sometimes will be hard to start. Then it will drive normal. This has happened multiple times and 2 X today while on the interstate. There is no chugging or warning, it will just stop letting you use the gas pedal and starts shaking violently. I found out it is a problem with the throttle body. This is expensive to fix and dangerous if you don't as you can not always simply pull to the side and restart your car. Not safe for me or my pregnant wife. Fix the problem Ford.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #470

Nov 012013


  • 58,530 miles
Owner was driving a 2010 Ford Fusion on a multi-lane highway in stop and go traffic approaching a two lane tunnel on Friday, November 1, 2013. Vehicle was non-responsive when pressuring the accelerator, so had to pull over onto shoulder of highway. Even after turning the car off and then restarting the ignition, car would not move when pressing the accelerator, although it began to shake. The dashboard light displayed as wrench icon, which according to the owner's manual meant a potential transmission problem. Aaa towed car to residential neighborhood. The next morning, Saturday November 2, a third party towing company hired by Ford roadside assistance arrived to tow vehicle to the nearest Ford dealership. The tow truck urged driver to drive the car to dealership, and followed behind. After about 2 miles of driving on residential surface streets, car became nonresponsive to accelerator while driving around 10 mi/hr. The tow truck driver towed the vehicle the remaining distance to Ford dealership in colma, California. After waiting for an hr, dealer mechanic reported that the throttle body needed to be replaced, and advised that the powertrain warranty was inapplicable despite vehicle being within the 5 yr / 60,000 mi window. The Ford dealership performed the repair and collected payment the same day. After returning home with the vehicle, I discovered that pg 19 of the 2010 Ford owner's manual showed that the throttle body was a covered part that Ford should have replaced at no charge as an emissions-related component so long as the vehicle was within 8 yrs / 80,000 mi. Ford customer service agreed that pg 19 showed that this part should have been covered under warranty. However, they advised that their internal Ford computer database indicated that this part was only covered for hybrid vehicles despite the written manual making no such distinction.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #469

Nov 142013


  • 36,200 miles
Nov 14, 2013 - burleson, tx - power train I had almost the exact same issue as the person who posted on 11/14 from burleson, tx. While driving home from work, the wrench light came on and the car seemed to go into neutral and stopped accelerating. I pressed the gas, but it didn't help. I turned on my flashers and did manage to pull into a nearby hotel parking lot. Shifting it into manual, 2nd gear, as I was doing this seemed to provide a little power. I shut off the car and sat for a couple of minutes. When I restarted the car, it drove like normal, then repeated the issue after I made another stop on the way home about 10 minutes later. I have scheduled it for service for Monday, 11/18 so I don't yet have the dealer diagnosis, but given the number of similar issues I'm seeing on this site, I wanted to get my incident in as well as it appears that this may be a recall issue, so my complaint very much mirrors the one from burleson, tx, where he or she found 10's of thousands of 2010 Ford Fusion owners facing or having faced this same issue.

- Trumbull, CT, USA

problem #468

Sep 072013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The first time the incident occurred I was riding down the interstate and just out of no where the car cuts off without the middle of traffic!!! the orange wrench light came on and then the engine light. I was able to get to the side of the road and restart the car. I was able to get a diagnostic test done at oreilys and the code P1121 (or something like that) indicated that the throttle control was stuck open. I was able to drive the car on without incident. It has cut off several times since then without warning, but I continue to drive because this is my only form of transportation. It is totally unpredictable and dangerous!!! after talking to other Ford owners and doing my research online I see this is not an isolated problem. This is unsafe and the part should be recalled!!!! I have continued to drive and make sure that I am very cautious and I try not to go over 60mph, but after it happened again yesterday in a very compromising scenario... I'm going to have to buckle down and get it fixed.$$$$$$$$$$ I will never buy a Ford again!

- Daphne, AL, USA

problem #467

Nov 042013


  • 94,000 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact was driving 35 mph when the vehicle suddenly stalled. The contact placed the vehicle in park and restarted the vehicle after several attempts. The vehicle performed normally once restarted but the failure later recurred. The contact also stated that she had an issue with the vehicle jerking and failing to increase speed despite the accelerator pedal being depressed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic but the failure could not be duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 94,000.

- Fort Hood , TX, USA

problem #466

Nov 042013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 40,500 miles
While driving approximately 45mph the car suddenly started running rough and lost all power. RPM decreased dramatically and the car would not accelerate, however the engine did not stop running. The wrench indicator came on as I managed to safely get to a parking lot. I turned off the engine and waited several minutes. I re-started the engine and drove home with no further incident. Since the incident I took the car into a reputable shop for proper diagnostic which resulted in no indication or failure codes from the tests. There was no forewarning for the failure incident and I will say that I was in a precarious and dangerous traffic condition when the failure occurred. Through further research I found the following: Unfortunately this failure seems to be occurring more frequently and linked to a throttle body problem. The diagnostic codes for this failure apparently get erased when the car engine is cycled off then on, preventing a diagnostic test from capturing the code necessary for analysis (unless a diagnostic is performed while the incident is occurring). If the problem is a faulty throttle body the failure code should be P2111 or P2112. Ford has changed the part number of the throttle body replacement part from the original part causing suspicion to be cast on the original part. This warrants a safety recall due to the nature of the failure and possible injury potential when failure occurs in traffic, but has not been recognized by Ford.....yet.

- New Smyrna Beach, FL, USA

problem #465

Nov 062013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
I was in rush hour traffic (approx 20mph) when out of no where the engine mechanical light came on and the car lost power. I put the car into neutral and tried to move to across three lanes to the emergency lane with no power. I almost got the car to the emergency lane when it stopped. I had to get out on the interstate and push the car to the side of the road. I turned the car off and sat for a few minutes. Then I tried to start the car when it fired right up like there was never an issue. I continued on to work. After leaving work I was driving home at about 70mph and again out of no where the car lost power and I again pulled to the emergency lane, turned the car off and started it again, and continued home. This is a dangerous malfunction that is going to kill someone if it already hasn't.... I almost got hit trying to move my car off the interstate!!!!

- New Braunfels, TX, USA

problem #464

Nov 062013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 39,026 miles
Throttle response stopped entirely at an intersection, resulting in a near rear-end collision. Subsequent extreme rough idle, bogged-down engine behavior, and difficulty to start engine. Faulty part is electronic throttle body, per NHTSA action number PE13003.

- Royal Oak, MI, USA

problem #463

Oct 302013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
Transmission fluid leaks seal at left cv joint. I took it to have it serviced due to slipping/ jerking when changing gears. Total of repairs cost me over $500, 4 days later, seal is broken again and needs to be replaced again. Ford needs to recall this vehicle...after seeing hundreds of exact same issue!

- Powder Springs, GA, USA

problem #462

Jun 142013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 49,876 miles
This is a complaint for an issue that has an existing preliminary evaluation - NHTSA PE13003. I purchased a 2010 Ford Fusion sel in July 2010. It was purchased new. In may of 2013, while driving on city streets with my 3 year old daughter, my vehicle appeared to stall as I was turning at a traffic light. While the vehicle was still powered, my ability to control the vehicle or accelerate to speeds over 5 mph was instantly removed. I was able to limp to the side of the road and restart the car, which drove normally until the next day when I was driving across town to meet the person providing me a ride to and from the Ford dealership. Over the course of an hour, my vehicle exhibited the same symptoms 4 separate times while trying to get to a Ford dealership. The dealership reported to me the next ay that I would have to have the throttle body replaced, at a cost of $486. None of the cost would be covered under warranty, and that I would be advised to have the work done immediately as the necessary replacement part was in shortage nationwide, and the dealership only had 1 on hand. I had the part replaced, and the vehicle has functioned normally since.

- Sugar Hill, GA, USA

problem #461

Nov 022013


  • 40,000 miles
Vehicle just stopped, couldn't accelerate, loss of power, couldn't get any speed.

- Shelby Township, MI, USA

problem #460

Nov 032013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 65,312 miles
I was driving my fairly new and well taken care of Ford Fusion up a hill with my fiance' and 1 month old baby coming home. The car all of a sudden stalled and cause cars to almost crash into me. I had to hurry pull over and push the car out of traffic. Thank god I was not making a turn through traffic or else a tragedies could have happened. I traded my other Ford for this new one thinking it was safer choice. The engine tool came on then went off as I shut the car off. Today I was driving again on 11/4/13 and I was going through the green light and boom car stalled again!! this time traffic rushing to me on the side where they can't see my hazards on. Again with my baby in the car!!! I had to run out to stop traffic. Please NHTSA have Ford fix this asap or many people may be at risk of serious injury or death!!! they are putting babies at risk too!!!

- Sanford , FL, USA

problem #459

Sep 252013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 66,500 miles
The throttle body on my 2010 Ford Fusion SE failed. My car lost power and stalled out four times while driving in traffic. I have replaced the part and would certainly like to see Ford recall this part.

- Auburn, NY, USA

problem #458

Oct 292013


  • 107,425 miles
Accelerating from a complete stop at a stop light and the car started to shake violently and the wrench light came on, no acceleration occurred. Turned the car off and on again and everything was fine except for the occasional jerky acceleration now. Identified as probably the throttle body.

- St. Charles, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?