Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,196 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #44

May 162011

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 19,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased my car on 1/24/10. Beginning in April/may of 2011 my car began to stall without warning. At first it would happen at stoplights. I began to bring it to the dealer who was unable to capture an error code or replicate the issue. They sent me away. It then escalated to stalling uphill going 35 mph on a curvy one lane road. Again, brought it back to the dealer with the same result, no error code couldn't replicate, so no fix. At this time I began to investigate online only to find numerous forums of other 2010 Ford Fusion (sport AWD) owners experiencing the same spontaneous stalling issues. Again, Ford said they didn't know how to fix because no error and couldn't replicate. Over the past 3 years we have brought the vehicle in 5 times for the same issue (currently at dealer now for three weeks). This stalling issue has happened at stoplights, going 35 mph uphill and 75 mph on the freeway. There is no warning except the car will jerk then the engine shuts off. We have been lucky so far that we've been able to pull off the road while avoiding an accident, but it's been close sometimes. In December 2012 I contacted Ford directly to request a repurchase or replacement. They have denied my claim because it was not repaired or diagnosed enough during a set period of time. I have expressed repeatedly to them my concern not only for the safety of my family but of other motorists on the road and all those other owners experiencing the exact same issue. I am beyond frustrated with Ford's lack of concern and accountability for this issue. I am afraid to drive my car, it's unpredictable and unsafe. This is serious and someone, someday will get into an accident whether minor or major. The issue is it can be avoided if Ford would only step up, own the issue and place their customers safety first over profit and protecting their reputation. Please help!

- Renton, WA, USA

problem #43

Nov 012012

Fusion

  • 46,000 miles
I left my house to pick up my child from school and about 30 seconds into my trip my car suddenly shut off, mid-driving. I was in the middle of making a turn going approximately 20-25 mph and it just died. The battery light, oil drip container and the bright orange wrench came on all at the same time. I had no power to move the car. My A/C went warm and my gas pedal no longer worked. I managed to coast to a stop on the side of the road and then I had to call for someone to come get me so I could be at my sons school on time. Have to turn the key back all the way and wait a minute before being able to restart the vehicle. There are way too many complaints and dangers with driving a vehicle that randomly decides to shut itself off when your driving for this to be allowed to go on. I am worried to death that I might get run over/hit from behind the next time this happens and I sincerely hope that my children aren't injured as a result.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #42

Aug 192012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 48,365 miles
On 8/19/12, we were traveling on I-96 in the left lane at 70 mph when the car suddenly lost power and I could barely drive to the right shoulder. The motor sputtered and seemingly try to die. The wrench light came on. I turned off the motor, called for help, when help arrived, the technician asked me to start the car. It started. My wife and I were able to get home. On 8/20/12, I took it to a Ford dealer to get the matter checked as well as get an oil change. The dealer "scoped" the computer and could find nothing wrong. This evening, 8/20/12, I was driving at 35 miles an hour when there was a lurch and I lost power. I could not accelerate so I turned off the ignition, waited a few seconds, and turned on the motor. I was able to drive home. I've checked a website that indicates there have been quite a few other problems along the same lines as I experienced. I will take the car back to the dealer for a check again but based upon what I read about other complaints, I doubt if the dealer will figure out the issue. This is a very dangerous situation particularly while driving on a freeway at 70 mph and losing total power. Had we not been driving on a Sunday when traffic was relatively light, we would undoubtedly have been in a serious accident.

- Plymouth, MI, USA

problem #41

Jul 152012

Fusion

  • 19,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Returning to tn from vacation in fl on 7/15/12. Traveling before birmingham, al - heard a loud boom sound (like a tire blow out), then heard a roar. As we signaled to move from the fast lane to the emergency lane - flames were over the back window of the car. By the time that we reached the emergency lane, the entire car was engulfed in flames both inside and outside. The car was entirely engulfed in flames within 10 to 20 seconds. I had purchased the car from moss motor company in South pittsburgh, tn on 6/4/12. The car had issues within two weeks that required the car to be towed back to the dealer for powertrain issue. Dealer did not share the ticket with me on repairs that were completed two weeks before the car exploded. But they kept the car for over one week to fix the issue that caused it to stop pulling while driving. This was the first long trip that I had taken in the car. My two passengers experienced mild burns but we lost all personal items in the car due to the speed that the car burned. Alabama highway patrol worked the explosion and fire department had to work the fire. State farm assured me that they would investigate the cause of the fire but has just informed me that they did not do a thorough investigation. I have witness names and contact information as well as photographs that they took as the car burned if needed.

- Jasper, TN, USA

problem #40

Aug 132012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 65,500 miles
2010 Ford Fusion has pinhole in evaporator core/valve. The cheapest estimate is over $900 and this car is 3 yrs old with 65,000 miles.

- Lexington, SC, USA

problem #39

Jul 262012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 40 mph the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle began to shake when the contact attempted to start the vehicle. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The failure recurred four different times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated that the throttle body would have to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 54,000. Updated 10/10/12

- Florence, AL, USA

problem #38

Jul 162012

Fusion

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on the highway at 70 mph my car cuts off. I merge to the side of the road and after a few minutes it restarts. I put it in drive and continue driving. The next morning it does the same thing. When it looses power the wrench light, check engine light, and traction control lights come on and it says service advancetrac in the service bar on the dash panel. I have taken it to Ford several times and there are no codes stored for them to go by. They made me a new key and stated they thought it was my key going bad. I am sure that it is something more as it has done it again even with the new key. There is definitely something going on with the throttle bodies on these cars. It is very scary and unsafe when the car loses power in rush hour traffic. I have 3 children that I Transport in this car everyday. I honestly hope Ford investigates this and fixes the problem. I also had the problem with the lug nuts and wheel studs snapping off. There is a recall for that but I was told my car did not fall under that recall even though it was having the same issues? this is the first Ford I have ever owned and I will never buy another one. Not just the quality of the vehicle, but the tech's at the shops don't know anything, and Ford does not stand behind their products!!

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

problem #37

Jun 152012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
I will never buy a Ford vehicle again. My 2010 Fusion is currently in the shop. It has been hesitating like there was water in the gas. We ruled that out. We checked transmission fluid, it was a little low so we added some. A little better but did not fix it. We were traveling on a major interstate when we had to coast to the shoulder when it would not pull anymore. Check engine light came on. After sitting idle it finally leveled out and light went off but still was hesitating. The light continued to go off and on the remainder of the drive. When we reached our destination we located a Ford dealership. They kept our car for a couple of hours and called us and said it reported a misfire code but that was all and that we needed to change the spark plugs. So we picked our car up and drove it back home to our regular dealership. Our dealership kept it for 1 day and said the same thing, misfire code and to change the spark plugs and swap the coils around. So we did. Didn't fix it. Brought it back to our dealership where they kept it for exactly 2 weeks with no results. Said they could not get it to do anything for them and if it started back to bring it back. 2 hours later we were back at the dealership. That was 3 days ago and still no explanation. They are stumped!!! so where does that leave me? with a $400 note on a car that is in the shop. Ford needs to accept some responsibility. It's no coincidence everyone is having pretty much the same issues.

- Coushatta, LA, USA

problem #36

May 012012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
I was sitting at a red light when the light turned green and I put on the gas the car jumped. The engine light came on. I pulled over to the side of the road. The car had no acceleration but still had power. I turned off the vehicle and turned it back on. The car started back up and the light went off. I took the car to a auto repair shop. The diagnostic test stated it is the throttle body going bad. The mechanic cleaned this part good and the sensors. The car has run fine for about three weeks with out any problems until 06/11/12 then it started again it has done it four times since and the engine light will not go off. I have used high test gas in it.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #35

Mar 102012

Fusion

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact was driving 60 mph when the vehicle began to decelerate independently. The contact shut off the vehicle, and the vehicle regained normal operation once restarted. The contact stated that the failure was recurring and would be experienced several times throughout any given day. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who advised that the mass air flow sensor needed to be replaced. The repair was performed but did not permanently correct the failure. The manufacturer was notified who advised the contact that there were no recalls and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 47,000.

- Albany, LA, USA

problem #34

May 022012

Fusion

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2010 Ford Fusion: While driving at 65mph on a highway with cruise control set the car lost power and stalled. Tachometer dropped to 1000 rpms and fluctuated between 500 - 1000 rpms. Wrench light (throttle / transmission) illuminated and the car coasted to a crawl at less than 5mph. The car's throttle was unresponsive and I was unable to accelerate. I became a serious rear-end hazard in a construction zone and had to pull off to the side of the road. I put the car in park, restarted it and the car ran fine. I am just barely under warranty (and just bought the car 1 week ago) so I brought it to a Ford dealer - they "checked" the car and found "nothing wrong" with their computer scan and stated that there was no error code - so there was nothing that they could do. The day after I picked the car up from the dealer the car did the same thing, twice. This time it did it after a cold start in the morning and again when I left work in the afternoon - again the wrench light came on and shut off once I restarted the car. Bringing the car in tomorrow again...we'll see what happens. What a safety risk - my wife refuses to drive the car!

- Schofield, WI, USA

problem #33

May 012012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 51,342 miles
2010 Ford Fusion car stalled and engine shut off in heavy traffic 2 mths ago. Had to pull over. Cranked it was fine. Days later, engine begins to crank every few days, slow at first but will start. Been going on since. 3 wks today, car powers down while driving 65 mph this morning on main int. Hwy.the wrench light came on dashboard. Car would not accelerate when I pressed the gas peddle. Had to "coast" to er lane. Car was running, but could not accelerate at all. When stopped, turned car off. Recranked engine. Wrench light went off, and drove to work fine. Took to dealer today. While explaining the issue, an employee overheard and said "do you drive a Fusion"" I said yes, he said its your throttle body. He says this without even looking at the car! confirmed it was throttle body part after inspection. Part was not in stock. Told I could drive car home. They would call when part comes in. Dealer called this evening and said my manf. Warranty was past time, and additional warranty tech would not cover throttle body part. Part expense $261 plus taxes and 30 minutes labor time to install. I'm disturbed to know Ford is aware and others are having this problem and I am extremely scared to drive this car knowing it stalled at 65 miles an hour!!! someone needs to pull these cars off the road and make the repairs to these vehicles. I have never owned an american made car. This is my first one. Some first impression. I will be trading this car as soon as I can. I am just so disappointed in Ford claiming the "built Ford tough" motto. This isn't tough, its dangerous! I've never owned a car where being less than 2yrs old, a part already has to be replaced? seriously?? Ford should pay attention to their complaints. How many complaints does it take to get a recall??????????" mine makes number 320........ a recall should be after 2 people are claiming the same thing.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #32

Apr 302012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 26,554 miles
I was going down the highway at 55 mph car started to run rough then lost all power. I was able to get over to the side of the road. At place on the highway where car stop running there was no breakdown lane. Turned engine off waited a minute attempted to restart car it was still running rough and would not accelerate also wrench light came on. Shut car off waited a couple of more minutes car started and accelerated but now the check engine light came on. This is not the first time the car lost power but when I call service they said it was nothing just a computer glitch. The first time the car lost power I was able to turn it off and back on with no problems.

- Dorchester, MA, USA

problem #31

Apr 162012

Fusion

  • 52,956 miles
I was driving down the highway at 70 mph when my car shut off I was almost hit by another car then a semi truck because I didn't know what had happened. My car had no throttle response. After having my car looked at it, it was diagnosed to have a bad throttle body. So I did some research and its a common thong with 2010 Ford Fusion, but for some reason Ford won't either find a way to figure out why they seem to have throttle bodies that are malfunctioning and putting their drivers lives in danger. They need to recall this before it causes someone to lose their life. For people who don't know it cost about $500 to get it fixed if your vehicle isn't under warranty.

- Albany , GA, USA

problem #30

Apr 262012

Fusion

  • 12,000 miles
The transmission of the 2010 Ford Fusion slips and resulted in my inability to accelerate the vehicle in heavy traffic while traveling over the george Washington bridge in New York city. The dealer, van bortel in rochester, NY, has had the vehicle for a transmission re-build and two additional times for a seal that leaked transmission fluid. I had another incident where I brought the vehicle to another dealer and they replaced additional components pursuant to a program fix from Ford (the van bortel should have performed, but did not). This is dangerous as I was lucky not to have been rear-ended by the 18 wheeler behind me at the time my transmission failed on the bridge!

- Canandaigua, NY, USA

problem #29

Apr 192012

Fusion

  • 69,785 miles
I was pulling out of my driveway and accelerating, when the car jerked and would not go over 1 mph. The car would not accelerate. It would go in reverse fine. The wrench light illuminated on the dash board. I turned the car off and started it back up a few minutes later and it was running ok. The light went off on the dash. I took it to the dealership and they could not get any codes or duplicate the problem. They suggested changing the throttle body, because they had seen this before on other Fusion.

- Washignton, PA, USA

problem #28

Apr 192012

Fusion

  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving 50 mph there was a loss of engine power, but the vehicle did not stall. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, where the contact was informed that the failure could not be duplicated. No repairs were performed on the vehicle. The failure and current mileages were 54,000.

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #27

Apr 122012

Fusion

  • 41,000 miles
The vehicle began to jerk when driving or between automatic shifting. Specifically when it shifts into third, it jerks extremely hard. The engine and maintenance light will come on as the vehicle stalls. There is no response from the accelerator and I have to put it in park, stop the car and restart it in order for it to move again. I was almost rear ended due to the vehicle dying in the middle of the street.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #26

Apr 102012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 17,000 miles
While exiting from the expressway on the exit ramp the car suddenly stalled. This was in heavy traffic. I had to try to get the car stopped, put it in park and turn the ignition off and then on again to get it restarted. Will take it to be evaluated tomorrow morning.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #25

Feb 292012

Fusion

  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle would lose power and fail to accelerate. The vehicle was merged to the shoulder where the maintenance warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer at least three times but they were unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 54,000 and the current mileage was 56,000.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?