Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
19 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,849 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 15 of 38)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #475

Aug 142013


  • 67,000 miles


Most recently, while I was driving my 2010 Ford Fusion around 25 mph, my car slowed down, but did not shut off, and I couldn't accelerate. My RPM's dropped and my wrench light came on, so I pulled over and shut the car off. After a few minutes, I turned the car back on and it appeared fine. This happened 2 times in one week. My understanding is that I need a new throttle body. This car is a brand new 2010 Ford Fusion with 68,000 miles. I would not expect this type of problem/expense and am very frustrated. Side note: I have had many other issues with this vehicle since the time I bought it. The other problem related to transmission "revving" that occurred when decelerating around 25-40 mph or between gears. I had my vehicle in multiple times at a Ford dealership for this issue. They completed computer resets and ran other tests. The problem still continued. We escalated to the BBB and was awarded a Ford field service engineer inspection and had a vehicle data recorder installed. The issues I described could not be replicated.

- Jefferson, WI, USA

problem #474

Aug 262013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 49,728 miles
As I made a left hand turn into my neighborhood, I felt the car sort of slip out of gear. It began slowing down so I pressed on the gas pedal and nothing happened. Then, the engine light went on and shortly after, the transmission light appeared. I coasted down the hill and pulled over. I shut off the car and turned it back on. It seemed to be fine for 5 seconds and then the two lights reappeared. The gas pedal stopped working and the car began shaking and lunging forward. I was close to home, luckily, so I coasted into the driveway and got it towed to the dealer the next day. The throttle body needed to be replaced, which after doing some research, is a major known problem with the Fusion. I'm wondering why there is no recall.

- Livingston, NJ, USA

problem #473

Aug 262013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 70,470 miles
Going down road about 45 mph accelerate stop responding. Couldn't give any gas. RPM drop to around idle [ idle was rough] all most got rear ended. Got over to side of road. Turn car off. Then restarted drove it home [ about 3 mile] and parked this has happen twice in the last 4 days. Both times driving about 45 mph. First time 8/23/2013 second time 8/26/2013

- Hixson, TN, USA

problem #472

Aug 212013


  • 698,500 miles


I was driving about 45 on straight stretch of road car felt like it went into neutral but it did not lost all power pressing on the gas did nothing was able to pull off road yellow-wrench light came on car started missing real bad so hard the car was jumping a little so I cut the car off and then it started back up and ran ok for about 10 miles did the same thing again-I took it to local Ford dealership rented a car they told me on Friday as it did not happen with them and did not throw a code they could find nothing wrong with it and I needed to drive it again and if it happened again to bring it back on Monday- I picked car up drove it Saturday about 40 miles and same thing again I drove it on home as the Ford place was closed I am afraid to drive it as it is very dangerous -Sunday a friend of mine drove behind me to take it back to same dealership and about 10-12 miles car did same thing (4th time) was able to restart it and then drove it to the dealership with a note about the problem. Spoke to dealership yesterday and today and once again they tell me as the code was alerted and they drove it 20 miles and it was fine -the car is not fine it is dangerous to myself and others -I expressed this to them and was told there was nothing they could do as they don't know what the problem is to drive it and if it happens again to come back? I looked on the internet and found many other examples of the same problem -if there are a lot of concerns what can be done to get Ford to admit this is a safety problem -I talked to them about the throttle body assembly problems but was told it may be the problem but would not recommend replacing it because they don't know.

- Atkins, VA, USA

problem #471

Aug 242013

Fusion 4-cyl Diesel

  • 56,615 miles
Turned onto side street traveling at about 30 mph. Suddenly lost power and car began to buck and chug. Car stalled twice and re-started but only could go between 5 and 10 mph, bucking all the way about a mile or so to a service station where I left it to be repaired. Had to call friends for a ride home. It actually bucked more going downhill where I was able to get up to 10 mph. Mechanic replaced throttle body housing at a cost of $543.56, parts, labor and tax. Running the car like that also fouled spark plugs and it cost me another $285 for a tune up.

- Wayland, MA, USA

problem #470

Aug 232013


  • 47,600 miles
Basically the car shut down driving down the Pennsylvania turnpike on Friday morning at 65 mph, the car totally shut down. This happened 2 times at 65 mph and one time at about 25 mph while entering the turnpike. I was very lucky that the tractor trailer behind me going about 70 mph, saw something was wrong with my car and had time moved over into the passing or he would have hit my car and killed me. This happen one more time during my morning commute at that speed. I took my car yesterday to the Ford dealer and he repaired the throttle body motor assembly. I have notified Ford customer service case # cas-#[xxx], but I believe this is an immediate life & health safety recall issue. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Exton, PA, USA

problem #469

Aug 132013


  • 66,000 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving 50 mph, the vehicle jerked and lost acceleration. The wrench icon and the check engine warning light illuminated after the failure occurred. The contact was able to coast the vehicle to her destination. The failure was experienced numerous. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and a diagnostic was performed, which located the failure at the throttle body. The throttle body was not replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure and current mileage was 66,000.

- Covington, GA, USA

problem #468

Aug 072013


  • miles
For the last couple of weeks I have been having an issue with my 3 year old Ford Fusion (2010) started stalling out at random times for no apparent reason. When this happened the first time I called my local dealer and asked him what may be wrong with my vehicle and he said that there was a common issue with the throttle body, which causes the car to stall occasionally and that it would cost me around $350 for the part alone. I believe this to a major safety problem because one time this happened to me I was traveling on the highway at 60mph with a semi-truck behind me and the trucker came very close to hitting me. I also had this happen to me at an intersection while taking off from a red light, turning left. I have done some online research about this issue and it does seem to be a problem amongst many Ford Fusion owners in cars that are only 2 or 3 years old. If this is such a common occurrence that Ford dealers know that this issue exists then I ask why hasn't this part been recalled?

- New Carlisle, IN, USA

problem #467

Aug 092013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 45,174 miles
Friday August 9, 2013 turning right on green light and lost all forward power, but engine did not stall car would move very slowly on engine idle. Turned key off then car started back up ran ok. Sunday August 11, 2013 driving in traffic a 45mph lost all forward power was able to stop at the side of the road without being rear ended in traffic. Monday August 12, 2013 turning left out of driveway into traffic lost all forward power was able to get to curb before being T-boned in traffic. On Monday August 12, 2013 had throttle body assembly replaced at a cost of $488.56. $324.34 for a part that should last longer then 45,000 miles.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #466

Aug 222013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 19,383 miles
I was driving my car on the expressway and suddenly my engine died with no warning and the rpms dropped. I came very close to an accident and luckily was able to get it off the road. People drive very fast and I feel lucky to be unhurt. I have a defective throttle body and I can no longer drive my car till it is fixed. This is very dangerous and should be recalled. They say the circuit board is faulty and is sending the engine the wrong signal. Someone is going to get seriously hurt or killed. Please add this to your list of other complaints. I bought my car on July 11, 2009 thank U

- Davie, FL, USA

problem #465

Aug 132013


  • miles


I was driving home doing about 50 mph, and all of a sudden the car lost power and I was unable to accelerate. The car started shaking violently and it finally stopped down to about 2-3 mph. I took it to the Ford dealership and had to pay $824 to replace the throttle body. Ford never mentioned anything about this being a problem. I have seen numerous news stories about this very problem.

- Lithonia, GA, USA

problem #464

Aug 232013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
The car would not accelerate after coming to a stop. I pushed on the accelerator and no power. It also goes from 60 and drops down instantly while driving almost as if it lost power.

- Acworth, GA, USA

problem #463

Aug 172013


  • 76,127 miles
I was driving about 60 mph on the highway, and the engine stopped. I coasted to the side of the road, and turned off the key to reset the alarm code. The car started and drove normally for about 2 miles, then the engine stopped again. Within 5 miles the car would barely run at all, the engine was mis-firing and clunking along at 2 mph and stalling every few feet. I had no previous indications of a problem. The car was running fine, and then within 5 miles it was completely un-drivable. The problem was failure of the throttle body, cost $525 to repair. There are many reports of this problem on the internet.

- Arena, WI, USA

problem #462

Aug 152013


  • miles
My 18 year old son was getting ready to get on the freeway and the vehicle suddenly slowed to 30 mph. We took the vehicle to the dealer and they replaced the throttle body at our expense. This issue is so common that Ford is having a hard time producing enough throttle bodies. The part is on national back order and this particular dealer had a car in the shop that had waited 1 month for this part. This is a serious safety issue. One minute later and my son would have been doing 65mph on the freeway. Imagine if he was in traffic and suddenly could not travel faster than 30 mph. In addition, since this event the Ford sync and bluetooth features no longer work.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #461

Aug 202013


  • 60,238 miles
I was traveling at about 45 mph and without any warning my car stalled. It would not accelerate at all. I had to just let it coast and attempt to get out of the road. The car was still running, but very rough. After I cut the engine off, in a few minutes it did restart. But by this time a deputy had shown up. He would not let me try to drive the car, because it could happen again and would be a safety issue. I had to have the car towed. When they checked the computer nothing showed up. I then took my car my car to a local Ford dealer. And without even checking the car the service person told me that it was the throttle body. As this is a common problem with my car. Ford needs to recall this part. This is going to cost me around $600 to repair my car. This is extremely dangerous, if I had been in heavy traffic someone could have been injured.

- Dahlonega, GA, USA

problem #460

Aug 212013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 44,965 miles
Without warning, engine stalled on highway at 60 mph causing rapid deceleration. After restart, continued intermittent stalling without warning creating a hazardous situation.

- West Monroe, NY, USA

problem #459

Aug 212013


  • 99,308 miles
I was driving home from the local store and came up to a light. As I started to turn right and accelerate, the engine suddenly stopped accelerating. The incident occurred at about 1000 RPM's. the "service engine soon" light appeared. I quickly pulled over to the side of the street and turned the car off. I turned the car back on and got no more then 100 yards without the same thing happening again. I repeatedly did this until I managed to get home. A tow truck took it into the dealership and they said the throttle body was bad so they replaced it. I'm thankful this didn't happen when I was turning left with oncoming traffic which could have easily resulted in an accident.

- Midland, MI, USA

problem #458

Jul 082013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
Traveling down the road at 60 mph on a major highway and the car stalls....this has been repeatedly happening in the last two months. At least 6 times in July and so far 4 times in August. What has to happen for Ford to do a[xxx] recall on this part (throttle body and circuit board) that is causing this, a death"??? I pray its not mine! we just bought this car from widricks auto sales in watertown New York in March of this year and this is whats happening....I will not drive the car until it is fixed because whether Ford cares or not it is an accident waiting to happen!!!! I am so frustrated that a company this big doesnt give a[xxx] about people that buy their products enough to do a recall on this part and replace it for nothingwhen Ford knows about the problem!!!!!!...seriously what is the difference between one complaint and a thousand???? what about the lives of drivers and passengers of vehicles that Ford know have this problem??" can you say law suit Ford people\ information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Canton, NY, USA

problem #457

Aug 212013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 29,900 miles
Upon accelerating from a dead stop at a traffic signal, I could not accelerate past 15 mph. I pulled over to the side of the road an the car was idling very roughly and on the verge of stalling. I turned the car off, waited 1-2 minutes, restarted the car and the car was running "normally". I don't recall if any of the dashboard lights came on. I took the vehicle into my local Ford dealer and was told that the issue is the throttle body and it needs to be replaced and that the stalling could happen at any given time. Unfortunately the part id on back-order for 1-2 months so I need to live with this dangerous issue for some time. The car is a 2010 Ford Fusion. I am the original owner (purchased in Dec '09) and this is the first occurrence of this stalling issue.

- Fullerton, CA, USA

problem #456

Aug 232013


  • 57,013 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while traveling various speeds, the mil warning light illuminated as the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 57,013.

- Mount Vernon, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?