Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
19 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,959 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 3 of 38)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #718

Jun 022010

Fusion

  • 1,899 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since the vehicle was new the transmission slips or jumps into gear. The engine also hesitates when the gas pedal is pushed and then starts to go. Visits to three Ford dealerships over the years and calls to Ford have been useless. Ford dealers will charge for reprogramming of computer which does not fix the problem, there is what Ford calls a recall but they will only fix the problem if the dash light comes on because their oil change people can't tell if there is a problem unless the light comes on. Ford has given me numerous "work tickets" but they are unwilling to fix the vehicle or don't know how. I know this is a common problem with Ford vehicles after sitting in dealership waiting rooms with others who have the same issues. If you own a Ford be careful when merging onto a highway because your vehicle may not go when you want it to.

- Mount Kisco, NY, USA

problem #717

Nov 172014

Fusion

  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that when the vehicle was started, it accelerated without the accelerator pedal being depressed. The vehicle went down an embankment and across four lanes. As a result, the vehicle crashed into a brick wall. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries reported. The vehicle was towed to a dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 14,000.

- Charolette, NC, USA

problem #716

Dec 172014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
I have a 4-year new Ford Fusion 2010, manual shift transmission. On 12/17/14, while I was driving at approx. 40 mph on a busy road putting my car on gear 4, all of a sudden, the wrench light lit up, and the car jumped violently as if it was at gear 1 or something. Startled, I gently pushed the gas pedal a bit more, that didn't help; tried again, still violently jump. I hit the clutch, pressed the break pedal just enough to steer my car off the road to a parking lot. After turned off the engine, checked the car, then started the engine again, the wrench wasn't lit, and I drove away. -- this was the first time the trouble occurred. Before the problem re-occurred on 12/20/14, I noticed several sudden accelerations, and sudden stalls while I was driving. The 2nd time the wrench light lit up, same problem: Car jump, felt like on gear 1 while actually on gear 3 for a while, have to stop in the middle of the road and re-ignite the engine to get the car moving again. Local Ford dealer did diagnosis and concluded the throttle control body was bad, to fix the problem they must replace the throttle control body and charge me $450. They said there is no warranty on the throttle control body, and parts do go bad sometimes. Really, in 4 years" for a well maintained, garaged car at 34K mileage? the problem smells like a defect, not a standard wear and tear, why should I pay for replacing a defect part? how do I know whether the new part is not a defect again" I'm scared of driving on high way.

- Palo Alto, CA, USA

problem #715

Sep 292013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 35,575 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I filed an original complaint regarding sudden failure of my vehicle to move or produce any power back on 10-05-2013 under NHTSA id number 10546865. At that time I described the following: Summary: I was at a stop light. The light turned green and I began to accelerate to about 10 mph when the car suddenly began running rough and I could not increase speed. It slowed down to about 3 mph and the wrench light came on and no matter how far I pushed the pedal it would not move past 700 RPM. This repeated itself several times more that day. Did it again and it seemed it was increasing in frequency. Took the car to the dealership and they said the throttle body failed and that it is a common occurrence. It had an error code of P2111. Filed original complaint because I was informed that there was a large number of these failing prematurely and to document my vehicle. I paid the repair in October 2013 for exactly same symptoms P2111 and same conditions as all of the other vehicles in this investigation were experiencing. I kept track of NHTSA's investigation came to find out that Ford had issued a "customer service campaign" earlier this year that extended the warranty on the throttle body to 10 years/150K miles and a letter would be sent out. I never received one. Contacted my dealership who said they did not see anything under my VIN but would send the request to Ford. Ford says that NHTSA determines which vehicles fall under the issue. So just contacted NHTSA via telephone speaking to [xxx] who said that since I already filed a complaint with NHTSA that she could not help me but said for me to go online and update my complaint so that the NHTSA engineers would investigate further. In warranty database I found many 2010 Ford Fusion produced before and after mine (**/**) with the same problem. I would like a call from a NHTSA engineer please. Thank you. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #714

Nov 142014

Fusion

  • 66,500 miles
Car was at a complete stop. Engine began to race (sudden unintended acceleration). Car began to lurch forward. Applying brake full pressure would not stop - had to place in park. Incident continued for 30 seconds. Had happened over 20 times since July of 2014. Took car to local dealer and ran diagnostic on ecs. No codes reported. Filed case with Ford Motor Company. They will not address problem because no fault codes are being reported. Have case number but did not include as could be security risk. Incident has not occurred since.

- Pueblo, CO, USA

problem #713

Nov 172014

Fusion

  • 51,200 miles
I was driving home from work last night and my car shut off. It shook violently and decelerated to a stop. I read online about the 13N09 consumer satisfaction program and since my car is exhibiting the same symptoms I decided to limp into the dealer. It appears that Ford has decided to extend the warranty on these defective throttle body parts but for some reason my 2010 Ford Fusion with a faulty throttle body position sensor is not covered" if it has been determined that the part is defective in the Ford Fusion then shouldn't all of them be covered" I don't feel that I should have to pay for a faulty part that just happens to also be a safety issue. Ford needs to step up and own up to this issue not profit from it.

- Ellisville, MO, USA

problem #712

Aug 012014

Fusion

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 70 mph, the vehicle suddenly shut off. The contact was able to merge the vehicle to the side of the road and restarted the engine. The vehicle resumed normal operation. The contact indicated that during the incident the check engine and service sensor lights illuminated. The dealer replaced a computer, but the failure persisted. Later, while driving approximately 60 mph, the speed suddenly decelerated. The vehicle would not accelerate. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 150,000.

- Rolling Prairie, IN, USA

problem #711

Jul 082014

Fusion

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated while driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle accelerated and jerked without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the technician diagnosed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. However, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 98,000...updated 12/11/14 *

- Coraopolis, PA, USA

problem #710

Oct 082014

Fusion

  • 128,500 miles
There were two events with the electronic throttle cutting off while driving, though, engine did not stall, requiring reset by turning off the ignition then restarting the car. At the time the throttle cutting off there was a yellow wrench indicator light light on my dash. This mimics NHTSA action number: PE13003, however, this action number does not include my VIN number.

- Mullica Hill, NJ, USA

problem #709

Oct 102014

Fusion

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated while driving approximately 70 mph using the cruise control, the vehicle stalled as the wrench warning light and the brake light illuminated. The vehicle was merged to the side of the road where it was restarted. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the electronic throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 69,000.

- Albany , NY, USA

problem #708

Sep 262014

Fusion

  • 84,632 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Throttle body failed and required replacement. This is a known issue and there is an extended warranty on the part, but because the repair was done at a private service center and not a Ford dealership, Ford refuses to pay for the repair. Guess I won't be buying a Ford ever again!

- Ephrata, PA, USA

problem #707

Sep 212014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
Sudden loss of throttle response at 30mph driving speed. Vehicle soon stalled losing engine power. Check engine light illuminated. Ford obd code P2111, throttle actuator stuck open. Replaced faulty throttle body with new to remedy situation. Erased obd codes. No further problems. This complaint will also be forwarded to Ford consumer relations.

- Lake Zurich, IL, USA

problem #706

Sep 042014

Fusion

  • 84,000 miles
While driving on the interstate, the vehicle completely lost power under acceleration. I took it to a Ford dealer and they fixed it free of charge. They said that they are aware of the issue, but have not had time to send out a recall yet.

- Milford, OH, USA

problem #705

Aug 152014

Fusion

  • 57,150 miles
On 8/15/14 car sputtered while driving at 30-35 mph and slowed to a stop. Would not re-start immediately but eventually did after 10 minutes. It then sputtered and stopped a couple times within a mile or two. The auto mechanic did not find any bad computer codes. He did clean the throttle body and replaced the air filter. The car ran well without any problem for 3 weeks and 1,100 miles. On 9/11/14 the car again sputtered and slowed to a stop. My wife was able to re-start it. The auto mechanic again found no bad computer codes. He could not explain the cause. Web search revealed many other drivers with similar issues with 2010 Ford Fusion fuel system. Definitely a dangerous condition.

- Mt. Prospect, IL, USA

problem #704

Aug 282014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 46,020 miles
While driving on the highway at 65 mph, the engine suddenly went into idle and it was not possible to accelerate. I was fortunately able to make my way over to the shoulder without causing an accident before the car came to a shaking halt. This then happened 3 more times as I made my way on local roads to a Ford dealer. Also fortunately, the dealer repaired my car (replaced throttle body and reprogrammed), which was no longer under warranty, free of charge. I don't know why such a potentially life threatening defect has not been the subject of a recall.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #703

Aug 252014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
Been noticing the car would idle rough from time to time. Was driving home on August 25, 2014 and the wrench light came on, had no acceleration, even put the pedal to the floor board. Pulled off shut car down, and restarted and everything was good. Did notice some more sputtering on the drive home. Took it in August 27, 2014 and dealer stated it was the throttle body sensor. $485 to repair this. I have a 2005 Ford F150 also and stuck $3,700 into it last year. Thinking these will be the last Ford products I will ever own. I have a 2002 Toyota Camry with 225,000, only thing I ever replaced, other than regular maintenance items, was the water pump.

- Sun Prairie, WI, USA

problem #702

Aug 222014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,212 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the vehicle was violently jerking and was extremely difficult to drive. The sensor illuminated for the throttle body on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who diagnosed and replaced the electronic throttle body. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 66,212. Updated 10/8/14 the consumer stated the vehicle model was not included in the recall. Updated 3/26/2015

- Perham, MN, USA

problem #701

Aug 072014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
I was driving on the interstate at approx. 55 mph, with cruise control activated. The vehicle suddenly deactivated T he cruise control and started slowing down. Wrench light came on, and it stopped responding to pressing of the accelerator. I steered the vehicle off the interstate and on to an exit ramp, with brakes and steering unaffected. When I put it in park, the engine was sputtering and the car shaking. After shutting off the engine and restarting, the vehicle ran normally without warning lights. Repair shop employees said it was probably the throttle body, but because the car computer had not recorded the codes, they weren't sure.

- Fargo, ND, USA

problem #700

Aug 042014

Fusion

  • miles
2010 Ford Fusion. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle throttle body malfunction. The consumer stated if the throttle body malfunctioned, it could cause the vehicle to stall.

- Imperial, MO, USA

problem #699

Jul 192014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 64,865 miles
I was driving on an interstate going 70+ mph when my gas peddle stopped working, it would not make my car accelerate. The rpms dropped down to 1000-1500 and my car immediately started to slow down. I pulled to the side of the road and as I slowed down the car jumped and acted like it was stalling out. The wrench light on the dash also illuminated. I put the car in park and turned off the ignition, thinking that my car was broken down and I was going to have to get it towed. I thought to restart the car and when I did, it ran fine. Until 3 days later when it repeated the same symptoms, 3 times in one day. It has now been a week and I have had countless times where this has happened, many times on the interstate, or busy roads. Just today in a 2 mile stretch this happened 4 times!

- Madison , TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?