Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
19 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,872 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 31 of 38)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #156

May 232013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 47,100 miles


Driving at 70 mph, lost power, check engine light came on and the wrench icon on dash also lit up. Coasted to stop and it ran very rough but wouldn't move. If you turned it off and restarted it, it would run for a couple of miles and then it would happen again. Diagnostic code 2111 showed meaning throttle body malfunction. The Ford dealer, [xxx] (tampa) reported that Ford is having widespread throttle body malfunctions on the 2010, 2011 and 2012 2.5 liter cars. They didn't have the part in stock and they told me it was on back order and they didn't know when to expect it. They said Ford has ordered it's supplier to make at least 1,000 replacement throttle bodies to address this problem apparently for cars still under warranty.. I'm reading that the Ford escapes are having this type of problem. Too. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #155

May 202013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
My car's engine cut off at 70 mph going down the interstate. Luckily no one was harmed as I was able to drift with my flashers to the side of the road. I called my local Ford dealership, and they stated this was a common problem in the Fusion. My car has cut off several times while driving around town also. It's extremely scary and dangerous to have no acceleration in 65 mph traffic.

- Tuscumbia, AL, USA

problem #154

May 222013


  • 52,000 miles
While turning into a parking lot at a speed less than 25 mph my Ford Fusion 2010 stalled and began slowing down despite pressing the gas pedal and the wrench light appeared. The car was put into park and turned off. When the car was turned back on, the light was gone and began running normal. Car was then parked. After 45 minutes the car was started again and driven at 25 mph for about 1 mile, after stopping at a stop sign and then turning onto a 2 lane road the car encountered the same problem and was unable to accelerate despite pressing the gas. The car was again turned off and back on, with all lights disappearing and running normal. I began drive down the road to move out of traffic, the car the encountered the same problem 3 more times in less than one half mile. A tow truck was called and car was towed to a Ford dealership. The following day the Ford dealership called to inform us that the problem was the fuel throttle body that needed to be replaced. They informed us that the part needed to be order but did not know when it would be in. Later in the day upon talking to the dealership again they informed us that this particular part was currently on back order until June 18th/ indefinitely.

- Chester, VA, USA

problem #153

Feb 202013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 37,000 miles


1st incident: Pulled into traffic, lost all power. Car began to run rough. Coasted to side road to pull off. After sat idle for 5 minutes, car started and drove fine. Ford claimed could not find anything wrong. 2nd incident (5/21/2013): Lost all power while in passing lane going 75 mph on I-75, just South of ocala, fl. After sat idle for 5 minutes, car started and drove fine remainder of trip. Did not take car in. 3rd, 4th & 5th incidents (5/24/2013), lost all power when doing in-town driving. Ran vehicle health report said issue with trottle control (?). again sat idle a few minutes restarted car and drove fine for short period of time. 4th & 5th incidents happened in 15-20 drive to dealership.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #152

May 212013


  • 40,600 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while accelerating from a stop, the vehicle suddenly lost acceleration power. The vehicle was moved to the shoulder where it was shut down and restarted. The vehicle then functioned normally. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was determined that the throttle body needed to be cleaned. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 40,600.

- Jackson, MS, USA

problem #151

May 172013


  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was able to be restarted. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The contact independently performed a diagnostic and retrieved an error code that indicated there was a failure with the throttle body assembly. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure was reported to the manufacturer. The failure and current mileage was 76,000.

- Crestview, FL, USA

problem #150

May 102013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 49,000 miles


Fusion cut power because of a faulty throttle body at around 45 mph. This returned a code P2112 and P2111 on my code reader. Once put into the shop, the Ford dealer told me it may be weeks or months before a part is available and I am currently without a vehicle. My warranty only covered for 3 days for rental so now I do not have a car. Very frustrating.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #149

May 172013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
As I was driving southbound outer drive barely crossing pelham my Fusion lost power as described by all other thottle body failures I have read. I was almost rearended by a truck behind me that was trying to make the light. Currently, there is a backorder on the throttle body assmblies and I am out of a vehicle until they deliver..

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #148

May 182013


  • 67,000 miles
When driving my car on the interstate, it would shake really bad anytime we got above 60 mphs. At 65, it would shut off. The engine was still running the rpms would not go above 1000. We could put the car in neutral and restart the car - no go. To get driving again, we had to stop the car completely. Wait 5 minutes. And start again. This happened 5 times. The Ford dealer found a problem with the electronic throttle body and is replacing it. The car is out of warranty though...

- Brunswick, GA, USA

problem #147

May 192013


  • 53,000 miles
My Fusion was towed to the Ford dealership in anaheim ca. I am having to replace my 2 year old cars: Electronic throttle malfunctioned while I was driving on the freeway it kept stalling even though the engine is still running, this also happened a month ago and I took it in and a diagnostic was done finding nothing wrong it showed no problems, I also video taped the event. This happened both at speeds of 60-65 and 40 miles per hour. I am on disability and it is now going to cost over $400 that I cannot afford.

- Carlsbad, CA, USA

problem #146

Apr 122013


  • 48,000 miles


This has happened several times. As I am driving down the road both accelerating or at a constant speed, the wrench light will come on and the vehicle with no longer have throttle abilities. I have to pull off to the shoulder of the road because nothing works. As the vehicle stops and I shift into neutral, the vehicle shakes excessively. I shut the vehicle off, wait a minute, turn it back on and the wrench is gone and the vehicle runs properly until the next occurrence. Ford has been notified about this for years and refuses to put out a recall on the throttle body which is the problem.

- Rockford, MI, USA

problem #145

May 252012


  • 60,000 miles
While making a turn my car lost all power. I coasted to the side of the road and had to wait a few minutes for my car to be able to start again. No error codes were posted. Since then I have been having intermittent and significant power losses while driving and while idling. Driving in reverse is difficult and I have to practically burn my clutch just to back up. I took my car to the dealer who said that the spark plugs had gone bad and they replaced them. The car ran smoothly for a few weeks but the power loss returned. I have not taken it back to the dealership since they have proven to be incompetent. I suspect the problem is the throttle body.

- Sandston, VA, USA

problem #144

May 142013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, the vehicle started to shake as it reduced power independently. The contact stated that the failure was recurring and that once she powered off the engine and restarted, the vehicle resumed normally. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was advised that the electronic throttle body needed to be replaced. The contact took the vehicle to a mechanic and the electronic throttle body was replaced. The failure mileage was unknown, but the failure mileage was 39,000.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #143

Mar 152013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The maintenance warning light was illuminated. The contact had to turn off and restart the vehicle in order to temporarily remedy the failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who stated that the failure was caused by the ethanol and gasoline in the throttle body. As a result, the throttle body needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but offered no further assistance. The failure mileage was 40,000. The current mileage was 50,000. Updated 7/15/13 the consumer stated the vehicle would lose power while driving down the highway.

- Hawkinsville, GA, USA

problem #142

May 102013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,645 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 15 mph, the vehicle failed to accelerate upon engaging the pedal. The engine and wrench symbol warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The failure occurred on two occasions. The throttle body assembly and actuator were replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 44,645....updated 06-19-13 updated 06/28/2013

- Ramona, CA, USA

problem #141

Apr 152013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 66,348 miles
1st incident: Car stalled in traffic while going 40 mph, coasted into parking lot, restarted car and drove fine - no warning lights 2nd incident: 6 weeks later with no issues or warning lights car stalled again late at night while going 35 mph up a small rise 3rd incident: 2 days later - still no warning lights, car suddenly lost power, did not stall, but would not go over 5 mph while entering attempting to enter interstate. Sat on side of interstate for 45 minutes waiting on a tow truck. I had the car towed to a Ford dealership. They replaced the throttle body which cost $385. The notes on the invoice state they "retrieved code P2111 throttle system stuck open." I feel certain Ford has some serious issues with these cars as the transmission has already had to be rebuilt.

- Hendersonville, TN, USA

problem #140

May 042013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 45,504 miles
Was driving for about 1 mile, then all of a sudden car was still running but no throttle on a very busy road lucky was able to get pull over. I feel that a car with only 45,504 miles should not done that. I keep my maintenance up to date. And was not cover under my warranty. That's $ $450 I didn't have { throttle body} that's is the first time I have felt unsafe driving my car. For being a woman that could have been on the interstate at a faster speed it could have been a disaster for everyone. Thank you.

- Kingsport, TN, USA

problem #139

May 042013


  • 39,500 miles
The throttle body in my 2010 Ford Fusion has been malfunctioning. It will not allow me to accelerate. My incident happened on a hill, I had to go into reverse to find a safe plave to turn off my car to restart. Seeking a recall for this part as I've read online this has happened to many 2010 Fusion owners.

- Reston, VA, USA

problem #138

May 022013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 36,900 miles
Driving on interstate at highway speeds (65mph+), car suddenly lost power and slowed, shuddering as it stopped. Difficult to restart, able to continue on driving for several miles before occurring again. Had vehicle towed to Ford dealer in the area for service. Diagnosed as throttle body failure; dealer service has replaced throttle body as of 5/3/2013.

- Wake Forest, NC, USA

problem #137

Apr 302013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 45,450 miles
Advisory mechanical wrench lit up on dash - loss all acceleration power. Had to coast off side of road and place transmission in park - and turn off low idle engine. This occurred 3 X's all similar this same day. Prior, had complained to auto dealership about 1st couple incidents (approx) 4 other times; they indicated they found no issue. I will have codes read 1st thing in the morning, by autozone looking for P2111 and P2112 - then take it to the dealership. This is very unsafe - and now I am worried to have my wife drive alone with this vehicle. Its our only car.

- Florissant, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?