Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
19 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,959 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 37 of 38)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #38

Mar 172012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The throttle body assembly failed after 70,000 miles. The vehicle would stall at speed, have to be pulled over, stopped, engine turned off and completely restarted. The vehicle had multiple incidences of this nature, and I have been told the problem is a common problem with this year/make/model, that being the throttle body assembly which required replacement.

- Mebane, NC, USA

problem #37

Nov 022011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Car had a faulty throttle body, which would cause the car to lose power. You could be running any speed and the car would jerk and you would have no power car would coast to the side of the road. Very dangerous on the interstate or any heavy traffic. The dealer knew exactly what the problem was when I described it to him, which led me to believe they have seen this problem many times. Checked online and saw where many others had the same problem. Ford told me it was my problem and were sorry it had happened but there was nothing they could do. Case #[xxx]. this is a very dangerous problem if the vehicle is in traffic.Ford has had a recall on the transmission which was due to holes being drilled wrong on the throttle body. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Olive Branch, MS, USA

problem #36

Dec 232011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle began to jerk, shake and decelerate abnormally. The contact shut off the vehicle and after restarting, was able to drive without a failure. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing or repairs. The approximate failure mileage was 28,000. Updated 02/15/12 the vehicle was taken to the dealer on Dec 28th and was returned to the consumer the next day. The dealer was unable to diagnose the problem. The second time the incident occurred. The dealer was able to pull up code from the vehicle's computer, which stated the throttle body needed to be replaced, along with a new battery. Updated 02/29/12

- St Louis, MO, USA

problem #35

Jul 062011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact started the ignition and pressure applied to the brake pedal, the vehicle began to unexpectedly surge forward. The contact applied the brake pedal repeatedly before coming to a stop. The similar failure occurred on two separate occasions. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer three different times where they were unable to duplicate the problem. The manufacturer was made aware of the unintended acceleration. The approximate failure mileage was 22,000. Updated 02/03/12 the consumer stated after the floor mats were removed, the sudden acceleration occurred again. Updated 02/10/12

- Machias, NY, USA

problem #34

Dec 012011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle decelerated abnormally. The contact stopped the vehicle and shifted into park as the vehicle began to shake vigorously and stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostics and stalled a second time on while in route. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure because the computer was not providing a failure code. The failure recurred three times. The third time, the vehicle was towed to the dealer and the technician advised that the computer was not reading a failure code but the electronic throttle body would likely have to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 43,000. Updated 03/02/12 the consumer stated the rear window, weather stripping on the doors, and door handles had to be replaced. The consumer stated there have been numerous problems with the transmission. Updated 03/08/12

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #33

Nov 302011

Fusion

  • 11,200 miles
The vehicle lost power, the gas pedal had no effect, and it would surge forward by itself. Created a very scary and unsafe situation for my wife. I went to the gas station where she had managed to get pulled into and shut it off, I looked it over and restarted it. It seemed to have power and throttle response, so I attempted to drive it on home since it was within a mile. It again failed on me within 100 yards but I was able to limp it on home. The dealership towed it into service and they thought the throttle body was bad...so they replaced it and now it is working. They said this is happening to a lot of throttle bodies! I am not sure why there isn't a recall or more investigations happening here. This was totally unexpected from a vehicle with only 11K miles on it.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #32

Nov 022011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When driving the vehicle the throttle body fails putting the car into "limp mode". acceleration is impossible and the car will stall while attempting to safely pull off the road. After a single search online for "Ford Fusion throttle body" numerous instances of similar failures appear beginning in approximately 2005. The vehicle will lose all ability to accelerate but maintain electrical power until the vehicle stalls. This occurred to me while traveling on the highway at 75 mph and is extremely unsafe. The problem is so widespread that the local Ford dealers maintain a stock of throttle body units to replace. The risk of an accident very high because of the possibility of stalling out and losing control of the vehicle.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #31

Sep 102011

Fusion

  • 62,800 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact was driving 45 mph when the vehicle decelerated and the throttle mission control failure switch illuminated. The failure recurred fifteen times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they confirmed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not contacted and the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 62,800 and the current mileage was 62,882.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #30

Oct 122011

Fusion

  • 35,265 miles
While driving down the interstate in rush hour traffic, my 2010 Fusion (35,265 mi) lost acceleration. Jerked car into the median and put into park, it immediately began idling very rough and almost sputtering to cut off. The wrench light displayed. I cut the car off and let it sit for a moment and then cut the car back on. I pressed the gas and the cars RPM shot up to over 5000 RPM. It then idled normally and I merged back in traffic just hoping to get it to my office. I made it another 2-3 miles and it did it again, this time both the engine light and wrench lit up. I immediately cut it off, restarted it and it seemed fine. I decided to get off at the exit I was close too and park the car as I knew I was going to cause a major accident if I did not get it off the road. I came to the top of the exit ramp and sat in traffic for a few minutes, the car seemed okay, no rough idle nothing strange except the engine light was still displayed. I merged into traffic off the ramp and in the middle of the road same thing occurred, no acceleration, I had my foot to the floor. I got it into a parking lot and called the dealership. I had the car towed in got a loaner to drive into work. The Ford dealership called about an hour later and said the car is fixed and I can come get it. They said their was an issue in my electronic throttle body and they have replaced the throttle body. I love this car but at 35,000 miles I should not have already had a bad battery and now this issue. I am starting to not trust the car. I hope the issue is fixed, but I am almost scared to go pick it up tonight. I had no idea of these issues until I looked it up online after the this morning.

- Concord, NC, USA

problem #29

Oct 012011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
On October 1, 2011, while pulling into a parking space, going less than a few miles an hour and applying the brake, the car suddenly lurched forward and accelerated on its on - jumped the curb and crashed through the window of a business.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #28

Sep 202011

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While traveling 45 mph lost acceleration and coasted to side of the road. Wrench or service light came on. Shut car off and waited about 30 seconds and restarted car and service light went off and car operated normally. Took the car to nearest dealer and they said they couldn't pull up any diagnostic codes and for me to wait for the problem to occur again and bring it back. Car only has 37000 miles and after doing some research I have found multiple complaints about the very same issue with other Fusion owners. All the cars that have been repaired had to replace the throttle body.

- Griffin, GA, USA

problem #27

Sep 162010

Fusion 6-cyl

  • miles
While traveling in my new Ford Fusion approximately between 55 - 60 mph on the expressway, without any warning my car speed dropped instantly from 55-60 mph down to 5 mph, at the same time the wrench on the dashboard illuminated. Unable to accelerate I immediately hit my hazards barely making it across two lanes to the shoulder and to safety, I turned the car off, and then back on, all seem well. Thank god, the traffic was not heavy. I took the car to Ford, after only one day in the shop I was informed, that they were unable to duplicate the problem and that it was hooked to and tested with the diagnostics machine. I was told that maybe it was just a glitch, or fluke, reluctant, I accepted my car back. But, needless to say exactly one week later it happened again, this time I was on the entrance ramp to a very crowded expressway, traveling approximately 30 mph, speed suddenly dropped to less than 5 mph, acceleration was not possible wrench light illuminated. Next morning back in Ford shop. After having my car for eight days and 40+ miles added to my Ford Fusion I was informed that the problem could not be duplicated. I contacted Ford customer service and voiced my concern, one day later I was informed my car was ready and that the problem was identified, and the throttle had to be replaced.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #26

Aug 282011

Fusion

  • 39,500 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated while driving approximately 45 mph with pressure applied to the accelerator pedal there was no power response and the rpms began to decrease. The contact coasted to the side of the road and turned the engine off. Upon restarting the engine the vehicle operated normally. The failure recurred twelve times. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the throttle body was replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 39,500. The VIN was unavailable.

- Evans, GA, USA

problem #25

Sep 032011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 27,000 miles
There was a recall on the 2010 Ford Fusion transmissions. I took the car in on 12/31/10 to automax Ford, killeen, tx. They told me that nothing was wrong with it and it is fine. On 3 August 2011 my car felt like it did a downshift while going down the highway. At this point my accelerator fails to work. The car is not in any gear and even when I give the car gas the engine will not rev. I then have to come to a complete stop and put the car in park. While in park the car idles really heavy like and stuttters to keep going so I have to turn the car off. When I turn the car back on it will turn over about 6 or 7 times before it starts. I have to do this process every time the car does this which has been about 6 times in the past two days. The incident happens on the highway and in regular city driving. I believe automax Ford has failed to do the inspection right and now the recall letter is expired as of April 2011. I was also deployed overseas during that time period of expiration.

- Fort Hood, TX, USA

problem #24

Jul 242011

Fusion

  • miles
I was driving on the freeway 101. I accelerated to change lanes and the gas pedal stuck in that position. I put on the brakes to slow me down as soon as I took my foot off the brake the car started to speed again, I braked again and exited the freeway and pulled to the side of road, put it in neutral and turned of the engine. When I looked at the gas pedal, the rubber mat had stuck on top of the accelerator. I called my Ford dealer today they had no knowledge of this problem, however I noted on the web today you had issued a warning about this problem in June of 2010, we bought our car in Oct. 2010, and I guess Ford didn't tell dealers not to put this all weather mat on top of an existing mat, as per their printed instructions on the mat itself.

- Canoga Park, CA, USA

problem #23

May 082011

Fusion

  • 10,000 miles
Traveling at high speed with cruise control on. Applied brake to slow down for traffic, vehicle continued to slow and would not respond when I applied the accelerator. I had to put the transmission in neutral and had to push gas pedal several times hard before engine would respond. This happened twice while traveling from Florida to Canada. I had the Ford dealership in wetaskiwin, alberta, Canada check the vehicle, they could find nothing wrong. I continue to drive the car, but I am fearful that, if it happens again, I could be rear-ended.

- Parrish, FL, USA

problem #22

Jun 072011

Fusion

  • 12,815 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While attempting to park traveling 2 mph, the contact stated that the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning, causing her to crash into a concrete barrier. She was able to apply pressure to the brakes and shift into park to bring the vehicle to a stop. The dealer or manufacturer had not been notified nor was the vehicle repaired. The current and failure mileages were 12,815. A police report was not filed.

- Mount Vernon, WA, USA

problem #21

Dec 182010

Fusion

  • 13,900 miles
I have a 2010 Ford Fusion with 13K miles on it, that has been providing me with tremendous amount of heartache. The vehicle will automatically slip into random gears while driving, even to the extent of shifting from 6 gear all the way down to 1st. I was driving down I-17 in Arizona doing the speed limit of 75mph when for the second time it slipped all the way in to 1st gear. Both times this occurred it nearly caused an accident because my speed decreased so suddenly I was almost rear end at 75mph. I am actually fearful for my wife, who primarily drives it, and my son safely. I have brought the vehicle in before and they can¿T find anything wrong with it, but yet there are numerous customers with the same complaint. A simple online search will reveal that. Ford is aware of this problem, but individual dealers are only treating the symptoms and not actually fixing the problem. This has to be corrected before someone dies.

- Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #20

Oct 292010

Fusion

  • 66,273 miles
No crashes or injuries yet! I drive a 2006 Ford Fusion>>> well driving down the highway while on cruise control the cruise control totally stops and it the speed when from 70 down to I don't know what right away.. the reason I don't know is because the odometer error came up causing the speedometer to stop working. And to add to the confusion... the starter stopped working... all this happened on the day my dad died leaving me without a car to see my family which live 200 miles away...

- Maryville, MO, USA

problem #19

Jul 182010

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 75 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that when she moved toward a stop sign and attempted to stop, the vehicle suddenly accelerated forward. She attempted to brake but the vehicle would not slow down. She also noticed that the rpms were increasing rapidly and the vehicle vibrated. At the next stop, the failure occurred again. After that stop sign, the vehicle seemed to function correctly. The failure occurred another time so the contact turned the vehicle off and restarted it. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that someone would get back with her. The current mileage was approximately 1,800. The failure mileage was 75. Updated 3/21/11 the consumer stated as she approached a stop sign, the engine started making a loud noise and vibrating. The consumer put the vehicle in neutral and put both of her feet on the brake, but the vehicle kept pulling around the corner as she was trying to make a right. She tried to turn the vehicle off, but the vehicle accelerated out of control, hit a fence, spun around and headed toward a tree, dragging fence and poles. The vehicle finally cut off. Updated 08/05/11 updated 11/22/11

- Charlotte, NC, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?