Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
55,338 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 17 of 20)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #62

Jan 112013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 63,297 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was traveling at 60 mph and the lost all power. I was in the middle of three lanes so it proved difficult to get to the right break down lane. I turned the engine off and after about ten seconds I was able to restart the engine and return to the highway. The same problem occurred again about a half a mile further down the road. Once again I turned the engine off and restarted it. The problem did not happen again that day. I had the problem looked at later that afternoon at a local Ford dealer who diagnosed it as a faulty throttle body assembly. The car was 3,000 miles out of warranty. Ford corporate customer service did not feel they should pay for the repair. This has occurred twice in the past in December and each time I was traveling 60 mph in heavy traffic. This could have resulted in a very serious accident. Something needs to done.

- Simsbury , CT, USA

problem #61

Dec 282012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 32,400 miles
My car is a Ford Fusion bought in March 2010 with only 33,400 miles, still under full warranty. I was driving in city traffic, going about 50 mph, when my accelerator stop working. The wrench and check engine light came on as well. I was able to coast into a parking lot safety, thank goodness. When I started to hit my brakes to stop, the car jerked a bit like it did not want to stop. I stopped, shut off the engine, and it started back up ok. No lights on the dash. I then pulled out into traffic again and not even 5 mins later, it happened again. I coasted into another parking lot, turned the engine off and back on. This time the check engine light stayed on. This proceeded to happen 5 more times before making it to the dealership. The dealership said it was due to a dirty throttle body and that it needed cleaning. I spent $250 to clean it because cleaning is not covered under warranty. Two weeks later, I was on the interstate going about 75mph when this all happened again, thank goodness I was not in heavy traffic or I would have been hit from behind. I was able to coast over to the shoulder and restart my car. I drove it straight to the dealership. They called some hotline and were told to replace the throttle body altogether. I have not had any problems since but I wish I had known this earlier. I was terrified of getting into an accident and wish Ford would have recalled it before this happened. I pray that no one is killed because of this simple part that should be replaced on all Fusion.

- Denham Springs, LA, USA

problem #60

Nov 282012

Fusion

  • 16,700 miles
First event was while exiting a mall parking lot; stepped on gas pedal, and instead of accelerating the car seemed just about to stall. I got off to the side of the road, and before shutting off the engine noticed the "wrench" symbol illuminated on the instrument cluster. I waited a few minutes and started the car, noting the "wrench" was no longer on, put it in gear and drove off. The car ran fine until 12/28/12, when while traveling at approx 70mph on I-90 the engine began to again down shift and lose power. The third occurrence was the morning of 12/29/12; in each above incident I was able to get off the traffic way, park, shut off the car, restart it and drive away. The wrench was illuminated each time. On 01/03/13 my car was serviced by the dealer from where I purchased it, and they said the problem was the throttle body. They had one in stock and replaced it. Kudos to them, but, more than a little unnerving. And if it was replaced with the same style unit, how do I know it won't happen again, perhaps at a most inopportune time? at the time of writing this I don't have the VIN available, however, fwiw, the build date is June 2010. It is the sel AWD with the V-6 engine, 3.0L I believe.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #59

Nov 282012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 46,583 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ford Fusion 2012 3.0L V6 sel goes into "limp-mode" without warning at highway speeds. A slight shudder immediately before tripping the "limp-mode" where the accelerator becomes disabled. No or minimal power is available to pull out of traffic safely. Wrench light comes on, however, the engine is still running. Once the car turned off and restarted, the car runs normally until the symptom happens again. No other symptoms are present prior to going into "limp-mode". brought the car to a mechanic and they could not find any saved engine codes and could not reproduce the problem. No work was done to correct the problem due to no evidence of it in the computer. Has happened three times at highway speeds, without any warning, and creates a hazardous driving experience.

- Santa Monica, CA, USA

problem #58

Nov 202012

Fusion

  • 165,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that he noticed a puddle of liquid near the front passenger side of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for inspection where they advised that there was a hairline fracture on the fuel tank, which would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and stated that the vehicle was no longer under warranty. The failure mileage was 165,000.

- Howell, MI, USA

problem #57

Nov 182012

Fusion

  • miles
This is the second time in a month that we have had to have the throttle body repaired. The first time, there were error codes that could be used to correct the problem but in less than a month the same problem occurred and this time the entire throttle body has to be replaced. While driving the car lost the ability to accelerate and all propulsion systems did not work. The brakes worked fine but there was no response from the car when I pressed down on the accelerator. This problem needs to be fixed and a recall should be ordered. I have had to pay for this problem 2X and could have been hurt when I was unable to accelerate on the highway and just able to get off the road in time.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #56

Nov 082012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 29,550 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving down freeway, my speed around 65 mph. The car starting stalling, there was no response from the gas pedal. I manage to get my car to the shoulder after crossing 4 lanes. I put the car in park and the car eventually stalled out. I restarted the car; it took a few extra seconds than usual. The car drove fine to work. It happen again when I left work at an intersection (pretty scary) 35mph. I pulled to the right lane and put car in park, shut down sputtering engine. I restarted and made it home through rush hour. The next day, Friday morning, I pulled out of my garage the stalling started within 20 yards from garage at 5mph. Then again when I got off work but this time it occurred multiple times; once as I was entering the freeway on ramp. Stalled 3 times on freeway, I manage to get off the freeway on next off ramp after 3 restarts. The car kept stalling over and over no response from gas pedal every few feet I had to restart. There was no way I was going to make it home. I didn't trust my car for safe driving. I managed to get my Ford Fusion to a Ford dealership close by. The Ford personnel said they never heard of Ford Fusion stalling. They punched in my VIN in the computer and found no recalls. Since it"S a holiday weekend, car won?T be looked at until Tuesday. No loaners cars available from Ford, I had to rent a car for the time being. I goggled 2010 Ford Fusion stalling and it popped up right away. I found out that it has been happening for quit awhile to Ford Fusion. Many other Ford Fusion owners are describing exactly what was happening to my 2010 Ford Fusion. I"M surprised Ford has not come out with any recalls. Someone can get hurt or even killed in traffic if this discrepancy isn't addressed by Ford.

- Ewa Beach, HI, USA

problem #55

Oct 272012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 27,100 miles
Throttle body failure: Fist occurrence- driving on highway all of a sudden no power. Pressing on the gas nothing happens. No check engine light came on. Pulled off to the side of highway and put the car in park. The car starting shaking and the wrench light came on. Turned car off, then back on and everything was okay. About 6 hours later this happened again as I was passing in the fast lane, then suddenly lost power. Again, no check engine light. Same scenario as the first. Took it to my mechanic and no error codes register. He checked twice. So for a week and a half the car was fine. Then happened twice again, no warning, just lost power. This time a check engine light came on after I put the car in park. Had it towed to the auto shop and a code did register this time. Had it taken for Ford and they had to replace the throttle body. This was a very dangerous situation especially when speeding up to pass as the speed limit on that part of the highway is 75 so cars were coming up fast behind me. If I had caused an accident and injuries occurred the fist or second time it happened on the highway, it would have seemed my fault and there would have been no error codes to at least validate what happened. Please, please, issue a recall for the throttle body before someone is hurt. Not to mention the people just out of warranty that have to pay for this repair.

- Helotes, TX, USA

problem #54

Oct 272012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 82,646 miles
Car would not accelerate engine light came on I turned car off started and it ran for about 100 feet and would not accelerate towed to dealership and they replaced the throttle body and motor assembly I'm glad we were not on the highway.

- Berea, OH, USA

problem #53

Oct 082012

Fusion

  • 43,000 miles
Engine shut down to very slow idle when starting from intersection. Barely able to get vehicle out of road. This has now happened 4 times, each time when moving thru intersection. This is very dangerous when traffic is approaching from all directions. After engine has been shut off a few minutes it runs ok. It happened twice on the first occasion then ran good for 5 days when it shut down again, then ran good for 6 days when shut down once more.I see on the internet that this is happening to lots of other Fusion owners. It's just a matter of time until someone is crashed into because of this stalling. The problem seems to be the throtte body needs replacing. I think Ford needs to recall these vehicles now before a tragedy occurs.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #52

Oct 202012

Fusion

  • 77,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2010 Ford Fusion loses throttle control. Engine nearly stalls then begins to rattle violently. Ford dealer says the throttle body must be replaced.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #51

Sep 142012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 61,200 miles
On freeway going 65mph with cruise control in pause mode. When I tried to accelerate I heard a noise, the wrench light went on & I lost all power although the motor continued to idle at very low RPM. After being towed, the car started right up and seemed fine. Took it to Ford and they found no codes coming up. 3 weeks later the exact same thing happened. Ford again said no codes. I read all of the reports about the bad electronic throttle body problems people were having, I told the dealer to replace it even if they were not going to pay for it. The dealer insisted he had never heard about this problem even though I gave him 11 pages of complaints from the NHTSA website. Ford did not pay for the repair. This can be a very dangerous safety issue. I was lucky enough to get off to the side of the freeway in time before getting hit. There should be a recall.

- San Mateo, CA, USA

problem #50

Oct 042012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 94,500 miles
Driving along. Car suddenly seemed to loose power. I seemed to kick out of gear and stopped responding to the gas pedal. I had to cost to a stop. The "wrench" light came on when the problem started, but after I cut the key off and restarted the "wrench" light was off and all worked fine. This happened 1 time the first day and twice the next. Nothing else happened for 3 more days but on the fourth day the same thing happened. Each time I had to coast to a stop. One time I was in a very dangerous situation, since the coast stopped in the middle of a curve on a very dark road.

- Gwynn, VA, USA

problem #49

Jan 102012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 47,355 miles
I was driving about 70mph when I realized, the gas pedal wasn't working. There was no acceleration then the car starting knocking like it was out of gas so I coasted over to the side of the road. I turned the car off, waited about 5 mins and tried to start the car. It started up fine and drove fine the rest of the way home. A few days later, I was turning at a light and it the acceleration stopped again. Fortunately, there was a median for turn lanes that I coated in to. Otherwise, this could have been an accident. I took the car in to Ford, they replaced the throttle body and motor assembly. It took several days because I was told that the part was on back order and that Ford had changed manufacturers. This made me wonder why was the part on back order - it seemed like such an odd thing to happen on a fairly new car and why would Ford have changed manufacturers. I googled my year and model and discussed this same thing has happened to a lot of people. My son started driving a couple of months ago and thank goodness this happened with me in the car and not an inexperienced driver. With the car suddenly dying and no gas, this presents with a very dangerous situation depending on the road and traffic you may be in. I think Ford needs to recall this and make repairs before someone is injured or killed.

- Peachtree City, GA, USA

problem #48

Jun 072012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 55,125 miles
While driving at a low speed (10-35 mph) the car quickly gains speed (the RPM does not increase) and then slows down again and it feels like the gears shift down although it doesn't seem possible. The gas pedal stops working and a wrench shows on the dash board, the car slowly decreases in speed. As I come to a stop the car jumps and lurches violently. I turn the car off, wait a few minutes and turn the car back on. The wrench goes away however after this happens 5 more time the engine light comes on. This happens intermittently. I read in the forum people describing issues similar and exactly that same as mine and it seemed as thou it was the throttle body. Could not afford the part so I waited and it went away. This stopped for roughly 5 months and then starts again (Oct 2012). Now it happens at any speed. Very, very dangerous! I spoke to a mechanic at a local Ford dealership who said that he is not aware of any issues similar to mine.....I find it a little hard to believe that I am the only person in my area with this problem. I suggested he look at the forum. I have 3 children and cannot believe that the powers that be at Ford have no concern for our safety, the safety of other drivers on the road, their reputation and refuse to stand behind a product that reportedly won safety awards. Very unfortunate. I hope the thousands of postings on the multitude of forums reaches someone at Ford (before someone is killed) who has a conscience and is concerned about the safety of those who still believe in buying american. This ignored, dangerous issue and the Ford attitude of not caring will make anyone never purchase a Ford product again. I have owned 3 different models and have had issues with all 3.

- Ventura, CA, USA

problem #47

Oct 022012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
While driving my 2010 3.0 Ford Fusion on secondary roads, the car suddenly lost power. After 5 minutes, it could be restarted and driven but after approximately 30 seconds, it would lose power again and coast to a stop. It stranded my wife and daughter until towed to a dealer. The dealer diagnosed a bad throttle body, and charged approximately $700 to replace the part and perform a recommended fuel system cleaning. Repeated email to Ford customer service resulted in a denial of responsibility because they were under no warranty or recall obligation. I spoke with a service writer who told me that this problem appeared to be consistent for Fusion.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #46

Sep 172012

Fusion

  • 90,000 miles
75 while driving at highway speed car would stop being responsive to the accelerator pedal being depressed. The car would go into limp mode and shake violently. The obd system's & the wrench(powertrain light became illuminated. I proceeded to pull off on to the shoulder of the road and turned the car off. Lights reset and car would run okay. This occurred 12 times prior to the obd codes could be determined. Code P2111 and various related codes. Throttle body stuck open. This problem could potentially have caused a fatal collision in heavy traffic.

- Frankfort, NY, USA

problem #45

Oct 012011

Fusion

  • 60,000 miles
Traveling on the street at about 40 mph, car shuddered to a stop. Engine light came on. Had car towed home. Car started the next day. Carefully drove the car to the Ford dealer. They replaced the throttle body. The throttle body should not be failing at 60000 miles. This should be a recall.

- Carlsbad, CA, USA

problem #44

Oct 042012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 19,000 miles
I own a 2010 Ford Fusion with 19000 miles. I haven't even had it a month yet. It is a certified pre-owned vehicle. Driving home from work yesterday, I stopped in a line of traffic at a red light. The light turned green and I accelerated. During acceleration, the car jerked then lost all forward momentum and "puttered". I was able to "putter" to the side of the road out of traffic. I put it in park and noticed that the wrench light was lit up, so I pulled out the owner's manual to see what it meant...powertrain. I turned the car off for about 5 minutes then restarted it with no other incidents on my way home. Thank god I wasn't in any heavier traffic or multiple lanes! from what I've been reading, some people have lost acceleration going 50+ mph in interstate/highway traffic! if this problem isn't addressed, and soon, someone will be seriously injured or worse due to a defect in Ford's design.

- Medina, OH, USA

problem #43

Oct 042012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
At 11:45 pm, I was traveling West on I-64, at 68 mph, when my car quickly decelerated. Despite my applying more gas, my car continued to lose power rapidly and began shuddering. It was then that the "wrench" warning light came on. I immediately pulled over to the side of the road, turned my vehicle off and put my hazard lights on. I waited for a 5 minutes before starting the car again. The car started roughly but did not have any power and could/would not accelerate. It was at this time that both the wrench and engine warning lights came on. Again I turned off the car and waited. After another 10-15 minutes, I turned the car on again. This time it started without incident. The wrench warning light did not come back on but the engine light remained on. I kept my hazard lights on and remained in the breakdown lane while I drove approximately 5 miles to the closest exit off the interstate where I promptly parked my car.

- Sandy Hook, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?