Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
55,508 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 18 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #40

Sep 242012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 45,467 miles


I have a 2010 Fusion. I purchased the car as a certified pre-owned. The car stalled 6 times on the way home last night. The wrench light would go on and there was no throttle response. The car would shake and sputter. I would shut the car off and restart and could proceed for a short distance. The last time it stall on the freeway on ramp. I took it in and let the dealer know what had occurred and they called back indicating it is the throttle body. I am out of manufacturers warranty. The cost is $500. The power train system is covered but the throttle body is not (even though the throttle body causes the power train to go into stall)" at what point will they make the choice that the throttle body that is in these cars are not up to par and a safety hazard and make it a recalled item"

- Fitchburg , WI, USA

problem #39

Sep 102012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Was driving in morning traffic on the highway and the car lurched and stalled. Car was dead and accelerator would not work. I was able to coast to the shoulder.

- Cypress, TX, USA

problem #38

Jul 122012


  • miles
I purchased a 2010 Ford Fusion in June and about 3 weeks later, it decelerated and the wrench lit up on the dashboard, while I was driving. Luckily, I was not on the highway or this could have caused a serious accident. I pulled over started the car up and it was fine. A few weeks later, I was 2 blocks from my home and the same thing happened 4 times and continues to randomly happen. The time between instances of this occurring can be minutes, hours, days or weeks apart. I have researched the issue and found hundreds if not thousands of complaints and questions regarding the same issue. I was amazed and appalled that such a common and very dangerous issue has not been addressed with a recall. I did purchase the extended warranty only to find out that the warranty does not cover anything that has to do with what is likely to be causing this issue, which is the throttle body. So until I can afford to get this fixed, I am stuck with a car that I am terrified to drive for fear of causing an accident due to the sudden drop in speed.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #37

Sep 012012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 55,187 miles


My 22 year old son and I had made a roundtrip from tallahassee, Florida to thomasville, Georgia. Approximately one and a half or so miles from my house, the rpms on the car began waving wildly, the car jerked slightly, and came to almost a complete stop on the road, with a truck traveling right behind me. I pressed my foot on the accelerator to the floorboard, but the car slowed to a crawl. The truck behind me passed. I managed to keep the car going to my house; we could have walked there faster. Again, this was with the accelerator pressed to the floorboard. The "wrench" light came on the dash. I had 55, 187.1 miles on my car, which I bought in April, 2010, new. I researched this (it was labor day weekend and I had no transportation to speak of!). I called the Ford dealership; they closed on Saturday at 2:00 P.M. they towed my car in on Tuesday morning. I told them I suspected a throttle/transmission problem based on what I saw re similar complaints on the internet. I reported this to the national Ford website. They took my complaint. The dealer told me the next day that my throttle had failed, and Ford would not assist in any payment for replacement. I advised them I was a lawyer, and they are looking at a products liability design defect or tort lawsuit (if someone gets killed when the car dies on the highway). Ford could care less. I had to pay $394 for the labor and part. I will never buy another of their cars. This was my 3rd Ford. It is not necessarily the money I was concerned about; it seems like there is a design defect that could cause serious personal injury or death, but Ford is engaged in a beancounting exercise at this point. Remember the pinto?

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #36

Aug 312012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
Loss of accelerator control. Wrench and check engine light came on. Car entered emergency mode and had to be pulled over and restarted. Died 2 more times at highway speed. Codes on car from check engine light read P2111 and P2112. Dealer completed a throttle body replacement on September 5th, 2012. Common problem with these particular vehicles. Dealer was awesome with the repair and help with situation.

- Vandalia, IL, USA

problem #35

Mar 202012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
While driving on the highway at about 40 mph the car stalled. All power went off but the electricity stayed on. I rolled to the side and was able to restart after 2-3 tries. The same thing happened when I pulled out of my driveway the same day. Ford rebuilt my transmission and gave me a new throttle body. The car ran roughly the other day the engine light came on but it didn't stall.

- Great Neck, NY, USA

problem #34

Aug 192012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 48,365 miles


On 8/19/12, we were traveling on I-96 in the left lane at 70 mph when the car suddenly lost power and I could barely drive to the right shoulder. The motor sputtered and seemingly try to die. The wrench light came on. I turned off the motor, called for help, when help arrived, the technician asked me to start the car. It started. My wife and I were able to get home. On 8/20/12, I took it to a Ford dealer to get the matter checked as well as get an oil change. The dealer "scoped" the computer and could find nothing wrong. This evening, 8/20/12, I was driving at 35 miles an hour when there was a lurch and I lost power. I could not accelerate so I turned off the ignition, waited a few seconds, and turned on the motor. I was able to drive home. I've checked a website that indicates there have been quite a few other problems along the same lines as I experienced. I will take the car back to the dealer for a check again but based upon what I read about other complaints, I doubt if the dealer will figure out the issue. This is a very dangerous situation particularly while driving on a freeway at 70 mph and losing total power. Had we not been driving on a Sunday when traffic was relatively light, we would undoubtedly have been in a serious accident.

- Plymouth, MI, USA

problem #33

Aug 012012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
My cars transmission shut off, a wrench light came on and I couldn't accelerate. Car started shaking violently. Had to restart it to drive again. Car does it at random. Its my only car and its my life line with out it I cant get to work.

- Lake Worth, FL, USA

problem #32

Aug 112012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
Driving down the road at 45mph and the car starts vibrating. All of a sudden I lose acceleration while my foot is still on the gas. Luckily I was able to pull over before the car lost momentum and stalled out. The wrench light was on. Had no warning at all. I shut the car off, waited about 2-3 minutes and tried to start it again. It turned over but after it struggled to. The wrench light then went off. This has happened four more times! each with no warning! I have looked on a number of sited that have the same complaint about this. There are hundreds of near crash cases and all with no warning. I love how this website says "your complaint information will be entered into NHTSA-ODI's vehicle owner's complaint database and used with other complaints to determine if a safety-related defect trend exists" after numerous complaints and an obvious faulty part you still haven't seen a trend" are you kidding me"! today I just missed getting into an accident as the car decided to lose acceleration again as I was pulling out to make a turn across 4 lanes. The lanes were clear to go but oncoming traffic was coming. I was lucky that the person saw my flashers and had the room to move over and get out of the way. Apparently Ford wants a lawsuit on their hands because as soon as someone gets into an accident(if they have not already) you better bet they'll go after Ford. Especially since it is apparent that Ford has been made aware of this problem and still will not take responsibility for the fact something is wrong. You better believe that if I get hit because there product was not recalled because of a faulty part I'll be front and center with my lawyer and a news crew.

- Glendale , AZ, USA

problem #31

Aug 032012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 36,877 miles
First incident happened in May 26 2012- was exiting freeway, let off gas and car went into "limp mode" pulled car over and turned off and restarted 5 min later second Inc. May 26 2012 - same as above. Third Inc. Aug 3 2012 - sitting at a stop light, when light turned green hit the gas then it switches to "limp mode" idle, we coasted through the light to park on side of road. It started back up fine a few minutes later. Fourth Inc. Aug 3 2012 - driving down freeway at 65mph when let off the gas car switched to "limp mode" again. Had to turn car off then turn back on. Few minutes later it happened again and turned car off and on again, would not go out of "limp mode" and had to drive home in idle on side of freeway.

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #30

Aug 042012


  • 54,000 miles


Driving on highway the accelerator stopped working. Pulled the car off the road avoiding accident. Turned car off. Turned car back on working normally. 1 mile later same problem occurred. This happened 12 times in 12 mile stretch. Throttle body is bad. This is common problem and needs to be recalled.

- South Point, OH, USA

problem #29

Jul 252012


  • 40,000 miles
Driving on Florida turnpike, just got on highway and at high speed the check engine light came on, diagnosed as code P2111, throttle stuck open by dtc reader. Immediately lost power and about grinded to a halt, had to pull off road and limp to next exit. Vehicle stuck in idle until restarted and had no further problems for a few miles but keeps coming up. Cannot drive car on highway for fear of another dangerous failure. Ford says throttle body is bad, no warrantied after 36,000 miles.

- Cutler Bay, FL, USA

problem #28

Jul 052012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
Had noticed several times that the vehicle hesitated to accelerate after pushing the gas. Later that afternoon, while accelerating from a stoplight, the vehicle started shaking and lost all power. I was able to get the vehicle into a parking lot and turned it off. When I restarted, the engine seemed to run normally but still hesitated to go when the gas was pressed. I got the car to a dealership and they explained that the throttle body was bad - "a common thing on these cars". Ford is refusing to cover the replacement under warranty, claiming that this is not part of the drive train - though admitting that the car will not function without the part.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #27

Jul 302012


  • 62,107 miles
All of a sudden the RPM's immediately dropped to a rough idle. All throttle response was lost, I pulled over on the highway, where the vehicle was in limp mode with the check engine and wrench lights illuminated. The engine was idling very erratically and shaking, there was no response when pressing the accelerator. After shutting down the car, it restarted ok and drove. It suddenly did the same thing 2 more times before I was able to get home. The obd2 code was P2111, the drive by wire throttle bodies on these cars are faulty. Seems to be a common problem.

- Cumberland, RI, USA

problem #26

Jul 272012


  • 73,000 miles
I had just schedule to do my 75K maintenance on 7/27/12, which I did. The day before I had driven home from work and my car goes into low RPM's, and the throttle stops working but the car is still on! I immediately put on my hazards in rush hour traffic hoping I can find a shoulder in a construction zone. An 18 wheeler nearly knocked me off a bridge when I was drifting to safety at 15mph. I turned off the ignition as the car idles at 700 RPM's. I start it up again and I am able to drive. In two days it has happen once again, and now my average miles per gallon has gone down from 27.4mpg to 19/20 mpg!!! where is the recall...too common of an issue for a motor trend car of the year!!!

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #25

Jul 242012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 54,546 miles
The vehicle lost all power at 70 mph and a wrench light came on. This was very, very dangerous. I pulled to the side of the road and turned the vehicle off as it would not move forward anyway. It had a rough restart, but then seemed to be better though still running rough. The wrench light went out. It took it in for servicing at the dealer where they diagnosed the throttle body. This was a very scary and dangerous experience.

- Richfield, OH, USA

problem #24

Jul 252012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
Actuator control system: Throttle plate stuck open - vehicle shut down on freeway would not start only after 5 min wait then happened again 10 min later stopped again waited 5 more min next morning car started fine then after a few mins of driving stopped again having trouble staying on...

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #23

Jul 192012


  • 40,000 miles
I was driving on a busy highway going about 70 mph and all of a sudden I had no gas peddle. I had my 3 year old daughter in the car at the time. I had no clue what was going on and almost got hit from behind bc I had not touched my brake yet. I pulled over and my car did restart but I did not make it far before it did it again. I took got my car to the dealership and they told me the throttle body needed to be replaced. My car has 40,000 miles I got it brand new off the lot and it's not covered in the extended warranty. The dealership acted like it was no big deal. Let me drive off the lot. They also wanted 250 more to repair it. Looking online I'm finding out that this is happening to so many people. Ford needs to have a recall on this part before someone does in an accident. I called Ford myself and filed a formal complaint. Please everyone must do the same that is the only way to prevent this from happening to someone else.

- Derby, KS, USA

problem #22

Jul 232012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
While traveling on the expressway with the cruise control on my engine returned to idle speed and there was no response from the accelerator pedal. I had to coast to a stop on the shoulder, put the car in park, shut it off, and restart it. The next day this happened again twice, the check engine light came on, I read the code and it was P2112 throttle actuator control system stuck shut. I did some research and there are apparently some known problems with the throttle body assembly. My car is out of warranty and the dealer told me this part isn't covered under the extended emissions warranty. I was lucky that this didn't happen while I was turning or merging into traffic.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #21

Jul 222012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 39,500 miles
On 7/22/2012 at approximately 2000 hours my family was traveling southbound on Georgia state route 3 - us hwy. 41 in rocky face, Georgia when our vehicle (2010 Ford Fusion automatic transmission) suddenly without notice went from a solid cruising speed of 40mph to an abrupt halt - nose of the car actually went forward towards the ground so abruptly that it made contact with the ground. The vehicle stalled (still barely running) in the lane of travel and would not get any throttle acceleration. My family and vehicle was almost struck by on coming motorists from the rear due to the abrupt stopping and the vehicle would barely get any throttle acceleration. After the Georgia state patrol trooper came to assist the car would not go above 25 mph without suddenly stalling and the check engine light coming on along with an orange wrench symbol. The vehicle had to be abandoned at the dalton Georgia state patrol post due to this issue until Ford could send a representative to tow the vehicle to the local dealer where we purchased. The local dealer on 7/23/12 informed us that this is an on-going problem that Ford is aware of and that the "throttle body" would have to be replaced. Upon further online investigation I found that this issue is widespread and reported since 2010 & has caused very unsafe conditions for motorists such as it did with my family. I am asking you all to look into recalling the "throttle body" on the 2010 Ford Fusion to be replaced. This is a problem that Ford is aware of and they are blatantly passing the blame off onto the consumer and someone (if not my own family) is going to get hurt. It is unsafe for a late model vehicle that has been serviced as required by the manufacture every 3-5 months to have these abrupt issues and break my family down in the roadway of travel on a major us highway. NHTSA please have Ford correct before someone gets injured!!

- Tunnel Hill, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?