Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,258 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 7 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #82

Jul 242013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 47,000 miles


While accelerating up a hill or incline, the motor powered down to the point of stalling, whereby I was almost involved in an accident. This has happened twice today, and on one occasion in December 2012, but the specifics I cannot recall.

- Kettering, OH, USA

problem #81

Jul 202013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 42,400 miles
I was very worried when my car appeared to just turn off as I was slowing down from the interstate. I thought it was a fluke, bad connection and hoped it would never do it again. Car did start back up with no issues, that day. Unfortunately, it happened a lot on Saturday 7/20/13. I parked the car and never drove it Sunday. Called Ford first thing Monday - 7/22/13 and they were too busy to help. I had to take my car to a non dealership and they confirmed it was the throttle body. I had previously researched and wrote down the codes that would possibly come up. As the other company stated this is a known issue, I thankfully have an extended warranty to cover cost but I was advised that this is around $1,000. Ford is charging me my deductible for a known safely issue that has not been recalled" why? when" im hoping by adding to the list we can make sure they take care of their customers before they issue arises rather than after we are stuck on the side of the road. I've been without a car for 2 days and no concern of Ford. I need a reliable car, as im still paying for it. All of the issues are exactly following these articles - and I've had horrible service from Ford and would prefer a non partisan company to fix but I am forced to go back to them to take car of issue.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #80

Jul 202013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 24,000 miles
Stopped at red light, light turns green I push the gas pedal and the car has no power- I moved to the side of the street and it crawled along an inch at a time until I could safely pull into a church yard and turn it off, I lifted the hood to check everything and decided to crank the car to see if I could hear anything and it ran fine and has been fine for the past three days. Afraid to drive my car because of this.

- Rockmart, GA, USA

problem #79

Jul 162013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles


While driving on city streets the gas pedal stopped responding. The car slowed and the engine surged.

- Quarryville, PA, USA

problem #78

Jun 062013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
I bought a 2010 Ford Fusion, 4 months ago in March, 2 months after purchase the car began shutting off while driving, the problem was only happening every once in a while, but has progressed more and more to the point that I was unable to drive at all. I took the car to the dealership, who sent it to be serviced. Then I find out that it is the throttle body and would cost me 600 dollars to get repaired and that it is not covered under warranty. I liked the Fusion until I began having these issues, but I fear for the life myself and my kids in this vehicle and don't think that I should be having these problems right after the purchase of a new vehicle.

- Monroe, LA, USA

problem #77

Jul 112013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Faulty throttle body has caused several engine stall events on and off highway. Car in shop awaiting replacement part. Ford service acknowledged that this is a well known defect without a recall yet announced. They advised not driving the car again until part is replaced as that would be "very dangerous." Why would this not be a recall yet?

- Rochester, MN, USA

problem #76

Jun 192013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 44,000 miles


The first time the problem occurred I was a 4 lane with the cruise set a 65. The car lost all power and at the same time! the wrench light came on. I braked the car and pulled over off the road, the cars engine was running extremely rough so I turned of the ignition. After waiting a few minutes restarted the car got back to speed and the same thing happened- lucky for me no traffic around at the time. The forth try the car ran fine the rest of the 6 miles left to work. That night going home from work- same thing- loss of all power and wrench light- made it off the road again safely. Restarted the car and it ran fine- about 3 miles to home. Over the next few days it did the same thing several more times then ran fine for about a week. Turns out that was just the start of the fun! : [ now it started losing power at busy intersections in town, as I was pulling into traffic on a 4 lane that traffic was moving 55mph.

- Colchester, IL, USA

problem #75

Jul 192013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
As I was driving to pick my wife up from work. The car suddenly lost all throttle control. I was not able to get any throttle response. There was no warning that this was about to happen, the incident just happened without warning. Since I was in the slow lane of traffic I was able to coast the car off the road. After a min. I was able to start the car and go another 2 miles when it happened again. The error code that came up was P2111. Ford is lucky that no one has been hurt or killed as a car just stops working with no warning.what if I was making a left turn on a busy road when this happened? all power to no power in a blink of a eye.

- Valley View, TX, USA

problem #74

Jun 212013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 20,500 miles
Cruise control on 65mph@2000rpm with no input from driver, RPM suddenly jumps to 3500 no speed change, loss of power or jerking of car. Turn off cruise control, RPM drops to 2000 smoothly, all seems fine. Turn on cruise control again, RPM jumps immediately to 2700, again smoothly. Turn off cruise control, RPM drops again to 2000. Drive home w/O cruise control no problem. On trip to dealer for diagnosis the wrench icon appears on dash when the accelerator becomes suddenly completely unresponsive. Motor runs smoothly but doesn't react to accelerator. Pull over, turn off motor, wait 1-2 min. Wrench icon is gone, all seems okay, drove on to dealer.

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #73

Jul 192013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 63,745 miles
While accelerating, cruising or at idle, the engine stalls then dies. When restarting engine stumbles badly and dies. This happens in traffic, accelerating into intersections, at highway speeds, etc. Mil is now on constantly. Vehicle is completely unusable because it is past the warranty period. We will be replacing the throttle body at our own expense, but would like Ford to reimburse us.

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #72

Jul 122013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 38,300 miles


I was driving on my way to work when my car lost power I pulled over turned the car off. Upon restarting it the check engine light was on, I preceded to work. When I got off of work and went home the check engine light was off. A week later the symptoms happened again this time it was more then once. Close to a total of 10 times in a one hour period.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #71

Dec 052012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Date and mileage of incident are guesses. Has happened on multiple occasions. When driving vehicle on highway or local roads, engine stalls as if it had no power, however, the tachometer indicates engine still running. Each time this occurs, vehicle has to be steered on to shoulder. When pulling onto shoulder, it vibrates tremendously. After it stops, you must put it into park, then restart the engine. Brought vehicle to Goodyear where it was identified as a P2111 fault. It was suggested that it be brought to a local Ford dealer for servicing. Brought to the local Ford dealership a week ago. Confirmed as P2111 fault. Part had to be ordered which took approximately 6 days to receive. As of this complaint, still waiting on service to be completed.

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #70

Jul 172013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 49,749 miles
Driving on 295 N bound at approximately 70 mph the engine just stalled...the little wrench light came on along with the engine light. I tried giving it gas but I could not get it to go so I had to fight the traffic to get over to the shoulder and shut it off. I attempted to start it and on the second try it did but felt like it was running on 2 I let it sputter along the shoulder to the exit where I shut it off and let it sit for a few minutes then tried it again, it started and I was able to get it to a advanced auto parts store where they plugged in the tester and got a throttle actuator error code.I got it started and it drove ok till I got home but haven't used it yet. This car did have a problem a few weeks ago but I thought it was just a glitch because it just ran rough and then went back to normal. Now I'm reading about other Fusion having the same problem.

- Jacksonville , FL, USA

problem #69

Jul 162013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 15,300 miles
Throttle body quit working while driving at 65 mph. Engine dropped to idle and would not respond to accelerator pedal. Wrench light came on at instrument panel. Coasted across 5 lanes of high speed traffic to reach the road shoulder. After turning off the car and turning it back on the throttle started working again. Dealer says that there is a nationwide back order for the replacement throttle body to fix this problem but there is no recall active.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #68

Mar 312012


  • 74,080 miles
We bought our 2010 Ford Fusion used and the day we purchased the car we had a problem. The check engine light was on and when we asked the dealership we were told it was because they had just changed the oil and needed to reset the computer. We noticed that when we stopped the car would jump forward and stall. We called the dealership and were told to bring the car back and they would fix it and provide us with a loaner in the meantime. When I called back to schedule the service I was then told they would not fulfill there statement. We called, sent email and never received and response. I had pretty much given up on help until by mistake they had called us about our recent purchase and they had stated they had called the wrong person, I voiced my concern as the car had been getting worse and the stalling, especially when driving on the interstate was becoming more frequent and dangerous. We have had the car diagnosed, and some repair. We were recently informed that the problem in the throttle body which I have found out is on back order and was told the manufacturer is no longer making. I have found many complaints about the issue on the same make/model. This is a big safety hazard. Unfortunately when you are a one car family you cannot just set your car aside and not go to work or other necessary places. I do not understand why after at least 2 yrs of complaints on this issue it has not been taken care of so far. Someone will, if they have not already be seriously injured or killed due to this problem Ford and others are definitely aware of this issue since it cannot be repaired due to no part. These cars need to be recalled immediately,

- Riverview, FL, USA

problem #67

Jul 132013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 50,250 miles
While driving my car lost all acceleration. The wrench light came on and the check engine light came on. I had to quickly pull over to avoid traffic coming up from behind me. I sat on the side of the road turned the car off and waited a couple of minutes before turning it back on. This reset the gauges and I could begin driving home (less than a mile away). On the way home it happened again. Called my Ford dealership, veterans Ford in tampa, fl. I spoke with a service advisor named [xxx], who through my description of the symptoms said that it is the throttle body. They had just fixed three Fusion that very day with the same problem. He said it is a know issue with the 2010 Fusion model and they fix many of these. Seems to me that Ford should realize their is a wide spread issue with this part and it is unsafe. This should be a recalled part in my opinion as it is now going to cost me between 400-700 dollars to repair. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hudson, FL, USA

problem #66

Jul 062013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Car engine unexpectedly jerked and rpms locked at 1000 no matter what was done with gas pedal. Did not recover until turned off and then on. Repeated over the next several days. Also engine would stall when trying to idle. Resolution was replacement of faulty throttle body assembly.

- Point Pleasant, NJ, USA

problem #65

Jun 292012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 50,066 miles
Driving in heavy traffic the car lost power going up a hill, as if the gas pedal had been disconnected. Luckily I was able to avoid being hit and pulled out of the way. After a few minutes the car did start again but the shifting is strange and it dies a lot. I called Ford dealership and they stated it was probably the throttle body as they had been replacing them left and right. This would not be covered by any warranty and would cost around $500. I then had a private mechanic look at it. He drove it around and the car died on him 3 times in this one trip. So after checking...he confirmed it is the throttle body but the part is on a national back order and would take up to 6 weeks. The manager of the service department at the Ford dealership is very aware of the problem with the Fusion and advised me to contact Ford corporate. I did and their response to the problem was "we apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you.we highly recommend that your vehicle be inspected by your servicing Ford dealership to determine the cause of any symptoms your vehicle may be experiencing. They have factory trained technicians, comprehensive service information and specialized equipment to help diagnose your vehicle." Right, more money for them. Someone needs to do something about this before someone gets hurt in an accident. Ford needs to stand behind their product. It's obvious by the national back order that there is a problem somewhere.

- Clarksville, AR, USA

problem #64

Jul 112013

Fusion 4-cyl Diesel

  • 56,900 miles
Lost power while driving on freeway. Engine would only idle, very rough. Wrench symbol lit. Shut car off, opened/closed door and car was ok until next incident. Failure occurred several more times while driving home on freeway and at slower speed. Diagnostic at the dealer was a throttle body failure.

- Keego Harbor, MI, USA

problem #63

Jul 102013


  • 77,233 miles
Driving car approx. 50 to 60 miles an hour, engine just stops, no accelerator pedal pressure. Wrench light comes on(Ford owners manual shows it to be throttle body/drive-train). This has happened several times previous to yesterday's occurrence. We brought the car from drivetime and took it to their mechanic and he said he could not find a stored code, was I do not believe to be true. After searching online concerning some incident, we noticed that owners of the same model car have had the same problem. Very dangerous while traveling and the car just quits. Apparently Ford knows about because a car a local dealer and the parts department has parts on back order. Yesterday, 7/10 the check engine light came on and the code was P2112(throttle body stuck closed). Something needs to be done about this problem. Thanks for your time.

- Austin, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?