Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,073 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #34

Sep 112015

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving he from work when the wrench light turned on and my car completely shut down. After a few minutes it started back up however this has happened everyday since. My vehicle has less than 60000 miles and I have only had it for 3 months.

- Atlantic City, NJ, USA

problem #33

Aug 292015

Fusion

  • 44,000 miles
On 8/29/15 vehicle suddenly lost power as I was travelling down road approximately 40 - 45mph. I continued down road going slower and slower. Car stalled several times, but I was able to restart and get to gas station. It stalled repeatedly until then. Called tow truck and they thought it could be water in gas line. Added dry gas solution and more gasoline and car ran ok for 3 more days and then the same thing occurred. Car stalled several times. Was able to turn off and restart. When hitting brakes completely, it seemed to lose power quicker. I took it to palmer Ford in chelsea, mi on 9/4 and they couldn't recreate issue, but found throttle light when they checked computer panel. They did not know what was wrong with throttle though. On 9/7/15, car lost power again. We also own a 2011 Ford Fusion and found that there was a recall for it for a throttle issue that has exact same symptoms as this vehicle.

- Gregory, MI, USA

problem #32

Jul 012015

Fusion

  • 51,000 miles
Vehicle was just parked in the driveway and as I exited the car I noticed something odd across the top of the windshield. It was yellowish in color and appeared to have a dripping bubble look to it. Contacted my Ford dealership and Ford Motor Co., to see about having this obviously defective, unsafe windshield replaced. Apparently, it's not their problem. Spoke with reputable windshield installers and they stated that the windshield is separating and will be a safety issue when this separation continues to worsen, especially with winter just around the corner. The windshield will splinter and crack, weaken and eventually break. According to the gentleman I spoke with he stated that he has had numerous Ford Fusion coming in all the time for windshield replacement due to this separation problem. I drive this car with other passengers and my grandchild. I consider this to be a huge safety issue factor. I'm now forced to install a new windshield, because Ford Motor Company does not feel this is their problem and will only put an offer on the table if you play by their rules! where is the righteousness and safety concern with this windshield problem. Folks if you own a Fusion check the top of your windshield and make sure it's not separating and becoming a safety issue.

- Lewisberry, PA, USA

problem #31

Mar 172010

Fusion

  • 50 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Shortly after purchase of brand new 2010 Ford Fusion owner noticed a strange "grinding" type sound upon accelerating between 35 mph and 40 mph while engine rpms are approximately 1500. Sound only occurs while accelerating or climbing grade at 35-40 mph. During periods when grinding sound occurs, release of accelerator causes noise to stop. Vehicle has been brought to dealer at least six times since purchase. They have been unable to positively diagnose and determine reason or cause of noise. Attempted remedies have been 1) replacement of catalytic convertor and subsequently 2) replacement of "flex pipe" behind cat. Con. Neither remedy cured the noise. To date (7/27/2015), noise still occurs and was verified by an employee of the alliance for consumer protection, beaver county, pa.

- Beaver Falls, PA, USA

problem #30

Jul 162015

Fusion

  • 108,900 miles
As I was driving about 70mph on the interstate, I lost acceleration. The rpms dropped and I wasn't able to get any response from the gas pedal. Luckily, traffic was light and I was able to make my way over to the shoulder and turn the car off. After doing this, the car started back up and I had acceleration again. Once I returned home, I looked this up online and found many references to the recall on the electronic throttle body. I only drove it a couple more times while waiting for the part to come in and I stayed in town. The incident occurred one other time in the 6 days it took for my part to be ordered, delivered, and repaired. Since Ford only wanted to reset the throttle body rather than replace it, I paid for it myself and had my dad do the work. I'm very lucky that the interstate wasn't crowded and that I wasn't in the busy city when this happened.

- Manteno, IL, USA

problem #29

May 302015

Fusion

  • 48,695 miles
On May 30, 2015 the driver of the vehicle left the gear shift in drive; turn off the vehicle; removed the ignition key and exited the vehicle. The vehicle then rolled down a grassy hill running over a park bench and the hitting a building causing damage. The ignition key should not have been able to be remove while the vehicle was in drive and off.

- Fairfield , CT, USA

problem #28

May 312015

Fusion

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Interior door handle on the driver's side has broken twice in 2 years.

- Ellicott City, MD, USA

problem #27

Dec 152014

Fusion

  • 57,527 miles
Power steering quit working shortly after pulling out of the driveway. Thankfully, I was not going fast and was able to get it over to the curb without an accident. The power steering gear assembley had to be replaced. Atchley Ford in omaha agreed to do the work for $864.17.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #26

May 152014

Fusion

  • 65,000 miles
While filling the car with fuel, it was noticed the strong oder of gasoline present. Upon parking at home, it was noticed the presents of gasoline leaking from the fuel tank. This had been repeaded all summer of 2014. I had been able to determine the leak was coming from the passenger side, about 6 inches forward of the rear tire. If the tank was full, in a matter of hours there would be a pool of gasoline and the fumes around the vehicle. The fumes are present even outside on the open air. On January 20, 2014 I had the Fusion into the Ford dealership where the car was purchased, auto park Ford, sturgis Michigan. The main reason was for the throttle body recall. I asked the service manager to drop the fuel tank and take a look to see why it was leaking. We hoped it would be a seal, which would not be a big deal. However, they found a hole in the tank, rusted through 1/4 of the way down from the top of the tank. The cost of fixing the tank is over $1700, this is beyond acceptable. I have a 2003 Ford Expedition and a 2006 Chevy Impala and do not have fuel leaks. I do noy understand why a newer vehicle would have such a dangerous issue. A simple spark could ignite the fumes present and kill my family. I do not know what to do except hope that Ford looks into this issue. I have not contacted Ford. If you want any follow up conversation, please do not hesitate to call me. Respectfully keith fisher (269) 625-3761

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #25

Jun 282014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 127,754 miles
On June 28, 2014 while backing up my 2010 Ford Fusion hybrid in a parking lot I had complete brake failure. Brakes went to the floor. Warning lights did go on as I was backing up. The vehicle was towed. The repair that was done was an "overlay of harness and installation of a cutoff pressure sensor." The part was C jumper wiring. No injuries were sustained. This had never happened before.

- Mattapoisett, MA, USA

problem #24

Jun 232014

Fusion

  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Slowed down on highway to make right turn into shopping center. Lost power. Had to turn off car and restart. Happened again one week later.

- Mays Landing, NJ, USA

problem #23

Jun 132014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
I was in a line of traffic to turn left at a turn signal. The cars in front of me went when the light turned green. When the light turned yellow, the truck in front of me stopped. I went from accelerating to braking, and the brake was pushed to the floor, but the car was still accelerating. I obviously rear-ended the car in front of me. He said he could see me and let off his brake when he realized my car wasn't stopping. Luckily, no one was injured. I have scheduled an appointment to have the car looked at tonight at a dealership. This has happened before without incident, and I thought I was just imagining it.

- Delta, OH, USA

problem #22

Sep 112013

Fusion

  • 43,485 miles
We left our home in North fort myers, fl, Friday morning and traveled North on route 75. Around mile marker 217, and driving in the middle lane of the 3 lane highway, the engine suddenly died. We coasted over to the side of the road. After several on-off attempts we limped off the highway via the exit and into the tire choice car care shop in bradenton, fl. Their computer determined the problem to be the throttle body motor assembly, which they replaced along with the throttle body switch. If a vehicle had been behind us at the time on rt. 75, we would have been seriously injured or killed!!!

- North Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #21

Sep 072013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The first time the incident occurred I was riding down the interstate and just out of no where the car cuts off without warning....in the middle of traffic!!! the orange wrench light came on and then the engine light. I was able to get to the side of the road and restart the car. I was able to get a diagnostic test done at oreilys and the code P1121 (or something like that) indicated that the throttle control was stuck open. I was able to drive the car on without incident. It has cut off several times since then without warning, but I continue to drive because this is my only form of transportation. It is totally unpredictable and dangerous!!! after talking to other Ford owners and doing my research online I see this is not an isolated problem. This is unsafe and the part should be recalled!!!! I have continued to drive and make sure that I am very cautious and I try not to go over 60mph, but after it happened again yesterday in a very compromising scenario... I'm going to have to buckle down and get it fixed.$$$$$$$$$$ I will never buy a Ford again!

- Daphne, AL, USA

problem #20

Sep 212013

Fusion

  • 58,467 miles
I was merging onto the highway and when I hit approximately 65 mph, I felt the lose momentum and by the time I looked down, I was around 55-60 mph. I then tried to give it gas while watching my RPM's and saw that it was erratically jumping around between the 1000 and 1500 marks. So I pull over to the should and off the road and as I start coming to a stop, my car beings to shake violently. So I throw it in park and immediately turned off the car. After about 10 minutes on the phone with the closest Ford dealer I know, I turn on the car and it's running like nothing ever happened. However, it did take a little long to start, like as if the battery was on the verge of dying. I managed to get my car to the Ford dealership where I had them run a diagnostics test on it and sure enough, they didn't find a code. They even had me come out and watch the test be done, and everything was showing a passing mark.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #19

Sep 202013

Fusion

  • 98,000 miles
I was driving 20mph & suddenly the wrench lights turns on & my car slows down & starts shaking. I turned it off. Then waited a few seconds and turned it back on. I started driving again and was at a red light. Once it turned green, I step in the gas I was at maybe 10mph when my car starts to slow down M starts shaking badly. I had my 17 month old with me and I'm just glad this happened before I entered the freeway

- Alhambra, CA, USA

problem #18

Aug 082013

Fusion

  • 79,550 miles
While on my way out of town from columbia, mo to Chicago, il on 08/09/2013 when the first throttle problem started. While my husband and I were on the road driving 60mph, the wrench light came on and while on the highway the car slowed all the way down with my doing it. I had to hurry over to the side of the highway in order to not get into an accident. The state trooper for Missouri pulled behind us to find out what the problem was. We didn't know so we looked in our handbook. Then we noticed that it means that there was a problem with the throttle and to service it if the problem persist. During the week of 09/09/2013-0913/2013 while my husband was driving the same problem happened again. He took the car to the Ford dealership where we bought it and they stated that they have received complaints but no recall order. Our mechanic estimated the cost to fix the throttle issue to be between $500-$600. Today 09/18/2013 while on the highway to go to work, the car stalled and stopped on me 3 times. I find this unacceptable especially because this has been a constant complaint with other owner of the vehicle and no recall or reimbursement has been made as of yet.

- Columbia, MO, USA

problem #17

Aug 152013

Fusion

  • 57,000 miles
Driving down the road, 65 mph and my car just loses power. Called Ford and told them what happened, took it in and they said the throttle body, it's been 3 weeks and still no part, this seems to be a common problem and the part is on back order.

- Holts Summit, MO, USA

problem #16

Aug 282013

Fusion

  • 67,000 miles
I experienced a sudden and dramatic loss of power, such that it instantly felt that the vehicle was going to stall. I was only on a city street so it was easy to pull over but had I been going 70mph on the highway this could have been extremely dangerous in the wrong situation. Turned the car off and back on and all was fine. A mile or so later the same problem occurred and check engine came on. My mechanic pulled the code P2111 which indicates a defective throttle body. I searched the internet and there is an enormous amount of buzz regarding this problem and several accidents have been caused. This should clearly be a recall.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #15

Aug 272013

Fusion

  • 42,132 miles
I was driving on interstate 71 and the car felt as if it was loosing power. The wrench light came on and the engine light came on. I pulled over to the side of the interstate and turned the vehicle off. I waited a minute and started the vehicle. It started and I accelerated and I pulled onto the interstate. About a mile down the road the same thing happened and the vehicle lost power. I pulled over, waited and restarted the vehicle. I again pulled onto the interstate and the vehicle seemed to be okay to drive although the engine light was still on. I drove it directly to john nolan auto service. They checked the vehicle and stated that the eec. Diag. P02111 stored in the computer for throttle body stuck open. They removed and replaced the throttle body assy and re-programmed the PCM.

- Norwood, OH, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?