Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,463 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 13 of 30)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #357

Oct 052015

Fusion

  • 107,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering is defaulted while driving. It became so hard to turn. Thanks god there is no crash. It happened 3 days ago in winston salem nc and I now parked the vehicle in my driveway thinking about where to find money to fix

- Winston Salem, NC, USA

problem #356

Mar 152015

Fusion

  • 100,000 miles
Power steering assist is not working

- Helenwood, TN, USA

problem #355

Sep 202015

Fusion

  • 83,000 miles
Power steering assist and check advance trac came on! had to drive home with no power steering. It appears there are several Fusion that have the same problem. It cost $1300 to fix. Ford should reimburse for parts or and at least have a recall on these cars. I was parked when it happened! the power assist has came on before but they couldn't find the problem until it actually quit working. I helped my granddaughter out so she had a way to get to school! who could I contact to see if Ford will help with the cost?

- Moab, UT, USA

problem #354

Sep 272015

Fusion

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 65 mph, the steering wheel seized. In addition, the advanced track and power steering assist warning indicators illuminated. The contact also stated that the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of failure. The failure mileage was 85,000. The VIN was not available.

- Gilbert, SC, USA

problem #353

Sep 192015

Fusion

  • 89,000 miles
My 8 month pregnant wife was driving the Fusion and the power steering failed on her. The vehicle was difficult to control and felt very unsafe. The dash reported, "service power steering now." This is the third catastrophic failure with my 2010 Ford Fusion, you can read more about the problems here: fordpowersteering.com/

- Fairhope, AL, USA

problem #352

Aug 232015

Fusion

  • 60,402 miles
While driving a message appeared on the instrument panel, "have power steering serviced", within a few seconds "have advance trac system serviced" warning appeared. I shut off the car. Upon restarting the car there was a total failure of the power steering system. It was impossible to drive the car due to the difficulty of turning the steering wheel. I detected a slight burning smell. The car had to be towed to the dealer. Repair invoice states an internal fault of electric power steering. Rack and pinion system had to be replaced. Mileage at the time was 60,402. If this would have happened on the highway or on a busy road there would have been great potential for an accident.

- Port St Lucie, FL, USA

problem #351

Sep 202015

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Complete loss of steering assist fault. Luckily my wife and daughter were parked when this fault popped up otherwise something bad could have happened. 2011 through 2012 Fusion have been recalled for the same exact issue. It is completely unfair for me to have to pay for this safety issue.

- Sapulpa, OK, USA

problem #350

Sep 232015

Fusion

  • 82,000 miles
There is a problem with my power steering. It failed on me when parallel parking. An error referring to advancetrac appeared on the dash. I had to turn my car off in order to reset it, but I fear it may happen when driving on a freeway.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #349

Sep 152015

Fusion

  • 132,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While the vehicle was in reverse, the steering wheel became inoperable and the power steering warning indicator illuminated. The failure recurred on two other occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V340000 (steering). The approximate failure mileage was 132,000.

- Ft. Worth, TX, USA

problem #348

Aug 222015

Fusion

  • 74,726 miles
While on a road trip I received a message that read "power steering assist fault" as soon as I started the car and at the exact same time I lost the power steering. Turn out that corroded wires fried the rack & pinion. I had to have it towed over a 100 miles to get it home. Ford tried to tell me that the wires were damaged by rodents. They conveniently left out the important fact that my car (built 04/07/2010) was not built with an epas gear heat shield on the rack & pinion. The heat shield would have prevented the wires from incinerating & frying the rack & pinion. Ford knew that the lack of the heat shield was a problem and took steps to correct this on the future cars. Fusion built after 04/12/2010 had the heat shield added to the rack & pinion. But they have made no attempt to correct the error on the cars built before 04/12/2010 that were built without the heat shield. I am blessed that I was not on the road at the time that I lost my power steering since I was just starting back home on country roads in the middle of the night. In the past 5yrs I have now had 3 potentially dangerous car malfunctions. 1. Aug. 2013 - engine shaking. Not safe to drive. Needed new engine & trans. Mounts. 2. Oct. 2013 - throttle body failure while in rush hour traffic. 3. Aug. 2015 - power steering assist fault.

- Brunswick, OH, USA

problem #347

Sep 202015

Fusion

  • 50,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While driving at any speed, the steering seized and the dashboard displayed a "power steering assist fault" error message. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V340000 (steering). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 50,200.

- Newark, DE, USA

problem #346

Sep 162015

Fusion

  • 85,000 miles
Was driving on I75 from Michigan at highway speeds when I went to change lanes to exit and had no power steering. Needless to say this car steers like a very big truck without to power assist.. it also has a power steering assist fault light and service acutrac light. Have shut it off and restarted several time fault doesn't clear and steering has not returned!

- Alger, OH, USA

problem #345

Sep 172015

Fusion

  • 120,000 miles
I was driving on three occasions and turned a corner. My steering locked up causing me to almost get hit from behind. I went to a repair shop to get the power steering added. However, I was told no fluid is necessary. My car has electronic power steering, which may be malfunctioning. Ford states my car isn't part of any recall. However, this issue creates a danger when driving.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #344

Sep 112015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,900 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while turning into a parking space, the steering wheel became very difficult to turn and the power steering warning message displayed on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who replaced the entire power steering mechanism. No further information on the repair was available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 38,900. Updated 11/09/15

- Winter Park, FL, USA

problem #343

Sep 112015

Fusion

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While driving at 30 mph, the steering wheel failed. In addition, the service power steering and the track warning lights illuminated. In addition, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that there was a mechanical failure of the epas steering gear. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 140,000.

- Gulf Breeze , FL, USA

problem #342

Sep 122015

Fusion

  • 55,000 miles
Driving down the road and lost power steering light came on dash saying service power steering now

- East Liverpool, OH, USA

problem #341

Sep 132015

Fusion

  • 133,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 40 mph, the steering wheel was extremely difficult to turn and the power steering warning indicator illuminated. The failure occurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 133,000.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #340

Sep 022015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 0 miles
My name is [xxx]. I have a 2010 Ford Fusion. I was driving on September 2,2015 when I went to turn a corner my steering wheel was very hard to turn and it still is. I took it to the Ford place to find out what was wrong and they said that it would cost $1800 to fix my vehicle. I thought that it might need some power steering fluid, but they told me that it does not use power steering fluid. I am filing this complaint because I know that there are recalls on the 2011 for a steering problem, and I don't have any power steering at all and would like to know if there have been anymore complaints about this problem with the 2010 Ford Fusion. Thank you [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Deland, FL, USA

problem #339

Sep 072015

Fusion

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 10 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn after the steering assist and the advanced traction control warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was restarted, but the failure persisted. The failure recurred each time the vehicle was driven. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 115,000.

- Hyrum, UT, USA

problem #338

Jul 062015

Fusion

  • 72,575 miles
Power stering went out on 2010 Ford Fusion. Dash notifications: Service advance trac & power steering assist fault. Seeing too many posts on the same issue.

- Murrieta, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?