Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,098 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 21 of 29)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #162

Oct 102014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 100,450 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As I was driving down the road, a message appeared that said to service power steering and advancetrac. I managed to make it home, turned off the car, restarted it, the error message read service power steering now/service advancetrac now. We were traveling about 40mph when the message first appeared and I lost power steering.

- Crown Point, NY, USA

problem #161

Nov 042013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 74,500 miles
When traveling home from work on November 4th, 2013. Vehicle's advancetrac system failed.this made it difficult to turn car as it made the steering wheel very stiff. This caused an accident when entering a parking lot. I took the vehicle to the dealership and was notified that the vehicle just became "out of warranty" at 75,000 miles. The estimated cost of repair was $1762 having the vehicle without its power steering has also affected my tires. Which needed to be constantly replaced.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #160

Jan 152010

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 20,525 miles
I bought this car new. In 2010 I lost power steering, at low speed, several times. I took it to the dealer and they did not fix the car as they couldn't find an issue. On the forth occasion I lost power steering and they decided to replace the power steering rack, which was done under warranty. On 10/11/2014 I again lost power steering, at low speed, and now the power steering rack has to be replaced yet again. The mileage at the time of this failure was approximately 78,380 miles. I understand an investigation has been opened by NHTSA regarding this matter and I would like my information/experiences added. This time it is costing me over $1,800.

- West Chester, PA, USA

problem #159

Sep 192014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 135,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving from an social event with my young children, they warning system in my Fusion indicated that power steering system required service. As I was attempting to pull into the gas station, the power steering on my vehicle went out. The car became inoperable requiring a significant amount of strength to turn the vehicle. I looked under the hood to check for any visible signs of damage, only to realize they power steering is electric. I waited a few minutes and restarted the car, the light went out and I started my car to drive home. However maybe a few miles from my house, the steering went out again and the car was not able to be easily steered. The warning light now stated that power steering system required service now as well as secondary warning discussing the service of the advancetrac system requiring service too. When I went to Ford they explained that there was an internal rack failure with parts that costs $1500 because if one part fails then the entire system fails. This is ridiculous and extremely dangerous to happen unexpectedly while driving with my children in the car.

- Henrico, VA, USA

problem #158

Oct 022014

Fusion

  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated while driving approximately 70 mph, the service power steering soon and service advance traction now warning lights illuminated. The contact mentioned that the steering wheel seized and excessive force on the steering wheel was required. The contact merged to the side of the road and shut the vehicle off. The contact restarted the vehicle and attempted to continue to drive but the steering wheel had continuously required excessive force. The vehicle was not taken to a mechanic for a diagnosis. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 84,000.

- South Gate , MI, USA

problem #157

Aug 012014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
The electric power assisted steering (epas) suddenly fail while driving, resulting in increased steering effort and at times it's will turn way to easy.

- Holt, MI, USA

problem #156

Aug 142014

Fusion

  • 62,269 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Started vehicle, steering assist light came on indicating power steering failure. Tried to turn steering wheel, extremely difficult. Had vehicle towed to Ford dealership, cost of repair $ $1706.74.

- River Falls, WI, USA

problem #155

Jul 072014

Fusion

  • 91,000 miles
When my tire pressure gets low -not accompanied by the low tire pressure light- the advanctrac light as well as service power steering light come on the command center. I am able to drive it safely, but the next time that I turn my car on after that, the power steering has always been out.

- Salt Lake City, MI, USA

problem #154

Sep 022014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 53,680 miles
My wife and I were driving on a surface street, and the power steering and trac warning light came on. The steering immediately was extremely difficult, and required great effort to get the two miles home. I then had the car towed to the Ford dealership. They also observed the warning lights and the extreme steering effort required. The car still had the problem even after being shut off and on three times. Once the dealership cleared the computer generated warning light, the problem was not able to be duplicated. I requested that they call Ford motor to discuss problem, and potential solution. Hotline assistance request #107811552 and ro# 376828 dated 9/4/14. Ford came back with recommendations on 9/5/14. The dealer kept my vehicle for 7 days, trying to get the problem to re-occur. Finally they gave me a front end alignment and sent me home.

- Laguna Niguel, CA, USA

problem #153

Oct 032014

Fusion

  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated while driving approximately 10 mph and making a turn, there was a loss of power steering without warning. The steering wheel was extremely difficult to turn. The vehicle was driven to the residence cautiously. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacture was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 74,000.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #152

Sep 202014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 62,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had a message pop up that said "advancetrac power steering needs service soon" the night before without any issues but with the thought "I guess I need to call Ford to get a service appointment. The following day I hopped in my car and to my surprise, the message now read "advancetrac power steering needs serviced now" (it was a Saturday afternoon). The car was now undriveable. I am now still waiting for my car to be serviced because the cost to replace the rack and pinion (electronic power steering) will cost over $1800. Ford will not cover it and I have complained to them several times and all they can tell me is that my warranty expired. Should that had gone out on me Friday night on my way home with my kids in the car, we would've been in big trouble. Major safety issue and cannot understand why a company would not stand behind their product.

- Gardners, PA, USA

problem #151

Oct 042014

Fusion

  • 97,000 miles
Power steering failure began during driving trip on 10-4-14 with warning light "service power steering now" with delayed steering failure after driving approx 5 minutes longer then parking for 1.5 hours. Upon restart, same warning reading and power steering failure occurred. Power steering failure continued until vehicle was delivered to the Ford dealership in St johns, mi on 10-5-14. Dealer confirmed this issue was still present on receipt on 10-6-14, and advised that new electronic steering module was needed (no recall on file).

- Dewitt, MI, USA

problem #150

Jul 282014

Fusion

  • 50,795 miles
My son was driving and his power steering failed. I took the car into huntington Ford and had to have the steering gear replaced. I opened a case with Ford customer relations (case # [xxx]) and never heard back from them. I had to pay $1675.18 for the part to be replaced. I found that this is occurring in all Ford Fusion from 2010 - 2014 models. I feel this is very very dangerous and amazed that a recall has not already occurred! I would like to see action taken against the Ford company. If they are ordered for a recall on this part; I would like re-imbursement for what I had to pay for the repair and labor. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #149

Sep 252014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 33,800 miles
Upon leaving a stop sign during a left hand turn, I experienced complete power steering failure. I was able to get off the car road where a restart of the engine returned the steering. A "power steering assist failure" and "check advance trac" illuminated on the dash. It happened twice more without the check advance trac light. A trouble code of " C200D" motor rotation angle sensor was set. Ford remedies the problem by erasing the trouble code. The problem returned once more on October 6th, 2014.

- Warsaw, KY, USA

problem #148

Jul 152014

Fusion

  • 67,000 miles
Sitting with the vehicle in park, in a parking lot. When the shifter was moved into drive, a power steering fault error flashed in the messaged center along with a "service advancetrac" error. Ultimately lost full function of the power steering. The car sat in my drive way while I first tried to see if there was an easy fix I could do myself. After 3 days of sitting in my drive way the cars power steering was mechanically frozen, and I was unable to drive the vehicle at all, even without power steering. I towed the vehicle to a shop where the entire steering rack was replaced, after parts labor and a new alignment the total cost was between 1600 and 1700 dollars.

- Allen Park, MI, USA

problem #147

Oct 192013

Fusion

  • 10,200 miles
I lost my power steering in my 2010 Fusion. I took it to the dealer (thinking I had a warranty on it) to get it fixed. They told me that they flashed the computer and it came back with a hard fault and the whole rack need to be replace. Not having the money I picked up the car and it worked fine. Drove it for a week then at the same spot in the road it went out again. Called another dealer closer to work too see if I could have it reflashed to hopefully reset it again but they told me once it was flashed that they couldn't do it again. I really hope this gets resolved. Now I replaced it with a used one and have not had a problem since.

- Waterford, MI, USA

problem #146

Oct 042014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 943,070 miles
I was driving to the movie store when the service power steering light came on. I pulled off the road into family video parking lot to read the owner the manual.when I went to back out my cars steering wheel wouldn't turn and someone had to push me out the parking spot. My car is not drivable at all it's almost impossible to turn the steering wheel. I will have to get my car towed come Monday morning.

- Warsaw, IN, USA

problem #145

Sep 182014

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 50 mph, the power steering failed and the steering wheel became extremely difficult to turn. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road where the engine was turned off. After restarting the vehicle, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Cottonport, LA, USA

problem #144

Sep 292014

Fusion

  • 71,000 miles
While driving car on interstate 85 near auburn Alabama in a construction zone on un even pavement my car suddenly lost power steering. Light came on and says service power steering now along with service advance trac. I was able to get it under control with out incident, but this poses a serious safety hazard.

- Buford, GA, USA

problem #143

Sep 222014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
While I was driving all of a sudden I had no control of my steering wheel. I almost lost all control of my car. I justj missed hitting another car as I struggled to pull my car to the side of the road. Where is the recall on this, I could of been killed for a defect I had no control of. Is Ford going to wait till there is a bunch of fatalities?

- Taylor, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?