Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,866 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 3 of 27)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #491

Jun 012016


  • 3 miles


This first happened to me on June 1, 2016. My 2010 Ford Fusion loses power once in a while when driving. A wrench light appears on the dash board and the car starts to slow down, accelerator does not work and sometimes the car starts to shake. You will have to pull over, turn the car off for a few minutes and then turn it off in order to drive it until the light comes back on again. It is very dangerous to drive it in the highway and specially when speed limit its 50 and trucks or other cars are coming at a high speed behind you because you do not know when this is going to happen to you again. I have this problem for a few weeks. I took my car for a recall for something else on June 24, 2016 and I mentioned to them about this issue and they said everything was fine. But I'm sure it will not be fine if I get into a car accident after complaining about this issue. The dealer will ask if the light its on in order for them to check it. But I have mention that the light goes on and as soon as you lose power and turn the car off and on it disappears.

- Briarwood, NY, USA

problem #490

Jun 012016


  • 130,000 miles
Complete power steering failure same as described with 2011 and later models.

- Atlantic Beach, SC, USA

problem #489

Jul 302016


  • 117,000 miles
While driving on a state highway in SC (speed limit was 55), the low tire pressure light came on followed by "service power steering now" and service advancetrack. Let me note the car was being driven by my 21 year old daughter. The power steering stopped working. My daughter had to drive/wrestle the car without power steering. After getting the tire pressure issued fixed, I took the car to a Ford dealership to have the warnings diagnosed. The car produced code P07ae-09. According to a NHTSA investigation report (PE14030) this has been a problem on 2010 Fusion. The Ford dealer states the car's VIN does not provide for a repair as directed in the NHTSA investigation report and wants $1,870 to correct the problem. They are stating it needs a new steering system which is what is described in the NHTSA investigation report.

- Lexington, SC, USA

problem #488

Jul 212016


  • 115,151 miles


Came out to my car to go out and when I turned it on the dashboard started beeping and an error message came up "service power steering now". the power steering went out and the wheel is stiff now. Last year, I paid 1800 to replace the rack and pinion and now this is happening. I took it to the Ford dealer and they want 2000 to fix this problem.

- Wesley Chapel, FL, USA

problem #487

Jul 282016


  • 117,000 miles
I had just arrived at my destination and the car had displayed a "service power steering now." I left and went in the store; when I came back out and turned on the car the wheel wouldn't budge. I had it towed to the dealership today to see what is wrong with the power steering.

- Diberville, MS, USA

problem #486

Jul 222016


  • 174,600 miles
I continuously have power steering failure and have to steer manually. I started the car got a low tire pressure notice and went to get air. On the way to the air pump, I got a service power steering message. I put air in the tire. When I got back into the vehicle, the steering wheel wouldn't turn. I changed the tire and still no power steering. I've seen numerous complaints about it and the cost being around $1500. Ford's dealership is the only place in my area that can fix it.

- Henrico, VA, USA

problem #485

Jul 262016


  • 61,300 miles


The orange warning light for stability control system came on once perhaps 6 weeks ago, but in a short period of time went off, while I was on the freeway. Nothing else until 10 days ago when steering locked as I turned left to leave a parallel parking place--along with an "advancetrac service needed" message on dash. Ford service did analysis, found "the electronic steering gear is bad and estimate to repair $1900." Part #61358; codes they retrieved were U3000-49 and U3000-72. Car is serviced regularly and very recently had its 60K servicing. I can't afford the $1900 so wanted to get estimates from other automotive service see if I could duplicate what had happened, I did a test drive around my block this morning and parallel parked again where I would need to turn left again after turning engine off and restarting. A "power assist fault" message came on and again there were several seconds when the steering was not under my control. This appears to be a too-common problem.

- Pacific Grove, CA, USA

problem #484

Jul 202016


  • 61,000 miles
After turning the ignition on power steering failed to work. I turned ignition off and on again and power steering worked. Faulty power steering rack.

- Mclean, VA, USA

problem #483

Jul 152016


  • 73,000 miles
I just had to pay 1900. To have my 2010 Ford Fusion power steering fault assist repaired, although it appears the 2011-2012 models are included in the recall. The power steering goes out, and the car is then not able to be driven. If this happens when you are driving you lose complete control of the car. I have owned and driven Ford for over 15 years (Taurus and Fusion) that I bought brand new, and I maintain my garage kept cars. My Fusion has 73,000 miles so the power steering should not go out on my car at no fault of my own. This power steering fault should be covered under a recall before more accidents and occurrences happen endangering peoples safety. I drive with little children in my car regularly and I am thankful I was alone when my steering went out. Please consider including this power steering fault assist problem in 2010 Ford Fusion to be a recall. It is dangerous and very costly to be fixed as I have learned. Thanks for your consideration.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #482

Jul 232016


  • 100,575 miles
Power steering assist fails. Power steering assist failure flashes on the display and the vehicle becomes nearly impossible to steer. I was backing out of my driveway when the alarm chimed, power steering assist failure flashed on the dash display, and the car was suddenly without steering. I was able to pull back into the driveway without an accident but if this had happened on the highway going to work this would have been a catastrophe. After checking for loose wires or other obvious defect under the hood, I decided to restart the car. When it started there was no problem. I decided not to drive it that day ( I also own a 2007 F-150) and took our other Ford vehicle. Today when I went out to check it again the problem has returned and I can no longer drive it.

- North Augusta, SC, USA

problem #481

Jul 072016


  • 69,000 miles


The electronic power steering fails, requiring the vehicle to be shut off in order to reset it. The vehicle was stationary.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #480

Jul 082016


  • 120,000 miles
Power steering recall - receiving "power steering assist fault". when in park and putting vehcile into drive, we're getting the fault message. It is my understanding there is the same recall for 2011 Ford Fusion. We have 2010 Ford Fusion. We are now down one vehicle as we were told it will be $2,500 to repair.

- Jackson, WI, USA

problem #479

Jul 092016


  • 130,000 miles
Twice now a power stearing assist fault has appeared on the dash. When this happens, the vehicle becomes un-steerable. This is very dangerous, and has many complaints filed already. This happens in motion, under normal driving conditions.

- Dublkin, OH, USA

problem #478

Jul 132016


  • 129,000 miles
I have a customer with a 2010 Fusion that has a failed steering rack, not included in recall since it is not between 2011 and 2016.customer narrowly missed ramming into my shop because was unable to steer.we called dealer and fomoco and was told they could not do anything even though this is a serious safety issue.there is currently a class action lawsuit involving these cars and people have been hurt.the repair is 1600 dollars at my shop and over 2000 dollars at the dealership. I think I'm going to go the local news media and see if they can help-do you have any recourse? my name is [xxx] -owner of L&S automotive Inc. My phone number is [xxx].the customers name is [xxx] and her phone is [xxx].please see if you can investigate this case, thank you information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Charlotte, MI, USA

problem #477

Feb 162016


  • 110,000 miles
I was driving on interstate 77 South just before edens fork exit, charleston wv 25312. The road was downhill and curved to the left. Without any sign of trouble the steering wheel jerked to the right I had temporarily lost control of vehicle which made the car swerve off road and headed toward concrete drainage ditch and off interstate into the woods. I was lucky I got both hands on steering wheel and having lost the power steering was driving manually so to speak was able to get car turned partially sideways and slid in the gravel into the concrete drainage ditch which was well enough beveled to allow me to slowly slide into the ditch, where my car came to a stop. I was traveling in the right cruising lane so nothing was to my right. Had I been in the passing lane and passing traffic I would have ended up causing an accident, no doubt in my mind. I have found out that there has been a recall of the 2011-12 Ford Fusion because of the failure of the electric motor that were placed into those Fusion to power assist the steering. I have since learned that some if not all of the 2010 Ford Fusion have the same steering mechanism as the 2011 and 2012 Ford Fusion. I do know that if you order the complete rack and pinion unit for 2010 Ford Fusion it is the same replacement as the 2011 and 2012 uses. So I would like to file my own complaint about my experience with the power assist steering mechanism on my 2010 Ford Fusion. I think the 2010 Ford Fusion should included on the recall. I could have very easily been involved in a serious single or multiple car accident. I am old enough to have driven vehicles that didn't have power steering and that helped me also in avoiding an accident. I was driving my daughters 2010 Ford Fusion when it happened. I am not sure if she could have avoided an accident if she had been driving it.

- Charleston, WV, USA

problem #476

Jul 102016


  • 72,669 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While operating the vehicle, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. In addition, the service power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but the cause of the failure was undetermined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 72,669. The VIN was not provided.

- Yazoo, MS, USA

problem #475

Jul 112016


  • 134,236 miles
Was driving car and power steering just quit working this is very dangerous!!!!. had to have car towed.

- Marlbrough, MA, USA

problem #474

Jun 102016


  • 120,000 miles
Power steering assist fault appeared on dash and then car lost power steering.

- Dyess, AR, USA

problem #473

May 012013


  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While operating the vehicle at various speeds, the power steering suddenly malfunctioned and caused the steering wheel to become very difficult to turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering gear assembly was faulty. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The steering gear assembly was replaced a second time in August of 2014, but the failure recurred in July of 2016. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 110,000.

- Harper Wood, MI, USA

problem #472

Jul 052016


  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While turning the vehicle, the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the power steering assist motor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Bolivia, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?