CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,463 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 6 of 30)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #497

Aug 172016

Fusion

  • 131,055 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The power steering column went out when attempting to pull out of driveway. When I started the car and put the car into reverse I immediately had an alert on the dash that stated "power steering assist failed" then flashed to "service autotrac". those warnings kept flashing and I had no power steering while attempting to drive my car 4 miles to the dealership for a diagnostic test. I was informed the power steering was non-repairable and must be replaced. The repair cost me approximately $2000 and despite being a single mother I did not have my car for three days.

- Bowling Green, KY, USA

problem #496

Jun 052016

Fusion

  • 138,000 miles
The power steering on my 2010 Ford Fusion went out while my husband was driving. My husband was on his way home from work when the power steering completely stopped working causing him to almost crash into a car when he was attemping to turn.

- Jonesboro, GA, USA

problem #495

Jan 042016

Fusion

  • 145,000 miles
Power steering goes in and out power steering gear bad due to internal friction in motor. Sensor code comes on to fix asap took to dealer will not honor recall because not right year. Recall for 2011 not 2010 this problem needs to be recalled for all years having problem around those dates. Vehicle was in motion when this problem started was lucky I was not on the high way I was able to pull into a parking lot and had to have towed home.

- Belleville, MI, USA

problem #494

Jan 012015

Fusion

  • 114,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the steering wheel failed while driving in reverse. The driver was able to restart the engine and regain normal steering function. The failure was experienced several times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing, but was unable to locate a failure code. The manufacturer was notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 114,000.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #493

Aug 142016

Fusion

  • 112,300 miles
Started the car this morning and a message popped up saying power steering assist fault tried to move the car but could not move the wheels. The car can only go straight. So I turned the car off and back on and it seemed to fix. Glad I was not driving the car.

- Currie, NC, USA

problem #492

Aug 122016

Fusion

  • 103,000 miles
I was pulling out of the bank drive thru and power steering quit working at all while I was turning onto the street.

- Meadville, PA, USA

problem #491

Jun 012016

Fusion

  • 3 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This first happened to me on June 1, 2016. My 2010 Ford Fusion loses power once in a while when driving. A wrench light appears on the dash board and the car starts to slow down, accelerator does not work and sometimes the car starts to shake. You will have to pull over, turn the car off for a few minutes and then turn it off in order to drive it until the light comes back on again. It is very dangerous to drive it in the highway and specially when speed limit its 50 and trucks or other cars are coming at a high speed behind you because you do not know when this is going to happen to you again. I have this problem for a few weeks. I took my car for a recall for something else on June 24, 2016 and I mentioned to them about this issue and they said everything was fine. But I'm sure it will not be fine if I get into a car accident after complaining about this issue. The dealer will ask if the light its on in order for them to check it. But I have mention that the light goes on and as soon as you lose power and turn the car off and on it disappears.

- Briarwood, NY, USA

problem #490

Jun 012016

Fusion

  • 130,000 miles
Complete power steering failure same as described with 2011 and later models.

- Atlantic Beach, SC, USA

problem #489

Jul 302016

Fusion

  • 117,000 miles
While driving on a state highway in SC (speed limit was 55), the low tire pressure light came on followed by "service power steering now" and service advancetrack. Let me note the car was being driven by my 21 year old daughter. The power steering stopped working. My daughter had to drive/wrestle the car without power steering. After getting the tire pressure issued fixed, I took the car to a Ford dealership to have the warnings diagnosed. The car produced code P07ae-09. According to a NHTSA investigation report (PE14030) this has been a problem on 2010 Fusion. The Ford dealer states the car's VIN does not provide for a repair as directed in the NHTSA investigation report and wants $1,870 to correct the problem. They are stating it needs a new steering system which is what is described in the NHTSA investigation report.

- Lexington, SC, USA

problem #488

Jul 212016

Fusion

  • 115,151 miles
Came out to my car to go out and when I turned it on the dashboard started beeping and an error message came up "service power steering now". the power steering went out and the wheel is stiff now. Last year, I paid 1800 to replace the rack and pinion and now this is happening. I took it to the Ford dealer and they want 2000 to fix this problem.

- Wesley Chapel, FL, USA

problem #487

Jul 282016

Fusion

  • 117,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had just arrived at my destination and the car had displayed a "service power steering now." I left and went in the store; when I came back out and turned on the car the wheel wouldn't budge. I had it towed to the dealership today to see what is wrong with the power steering.

- Diberville, MS, USA

problem #486

Jul 222016

Fusion

  • 174,600 miles
I continuously have power steering failure and have to steer manually. I started the car got a low tire pressure notice and went to get air. On the way to the air pump, I got a service power steering message. I put air in the tire. When I got back into the vehicle, the steering wheel wouldn't turn. I changed the tire and still no power steering. I've seen numerous complaints about it and the cost being around $1500. Ford's dealership is the only place in my area that can fix it.

- Henrico, VA, USA

problem #485

Jul 262016

Fusion

  • 61,300 miles
The orange warning light for stability control system came on once perhaps 6 weeks ago, but in a short period of time went off, while I was on the freeway. Nothing else until 10 days ago when steering locked as I turned left to leave a parallel parking place--along with an "advancetrac service needed" message on dash. Ford service did analysis, found "the electronic steering gear is bad and estimate to repair $1900." Part #61358; codes they retrieved were U3000-49 and U3000-72. Car is serviced regularly and very recently had its 60K servicing. I can't afford the $1900 so wanted to get estimates from other automotive service providers.to see if I could duplicate what had happened, I did a test drive around my block this morning and parallel parked again where I would need to turn left again after turning engine off and restarting. A "power assist fault" message came on and again there were several seconds when the steering was not under my control. This appears to be a too-common problem.

- Pacific Grove, CA, USA

problem #484

Jul 202016

Fusion

  • 61,000 miles
After turning the ignition on power steering failed to work. I turned ignition off and on again and power steering worked. Faulty power steering rack.

- Mclean, VA, USA

problem #483

Jul 152016

Fusion

  • 73,000 miles
I just had to pay 1900. To have my 2010 Ford Fusion power steering fault assist repaired, although it appears the 2011-2012 models are included in the recall. The power steering goes out, and the car is then not able to be driven. If this happens when you are driving you lose complete control of the car. I have owned and driven Ford for over 15 years (Taurus and Fusion) that I bought brand new, and I maintain my garage kept cars. My Fusion has 73,000 miles so the power steering should not go out on my car at no fault of my own. This power steering fault should be covered under a recall before more accidents and occurrences happen endangering peoples safety. I drive with little children in my car regularly and I am thankful I was alone when my steering went out. Please consider including this power steering fault assist problem in 2010 Ford Fusion to be a recall. It is dangerous and very costly to be fixed as I have learned. Thanks for your consideration.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #482

Jul 232016

Fusion

  • 100,575 miles
Power steering assist fails. Power steering assist failure flashes on the display and the vehicle becomes nearly impossible to steer. I was backing out of my driveway when the alarm chimed, power steering assist failure flashed on the dash display, and the car was suddenly without steering. I was able to pull back into the driveway without an accident but if this had happened on the highway going to work this would have been a catastrophe. After checking for loose wires or other obvious defect under the hood, I decided to restart the car. When it started there was no problem. I decided not to drive it that day ( I also own a 2007 F-150) and took our other Ford vehicle. Today when I went out to check it again the problem has returned and I can no longer drive it.

- North Augusta, SC, USA

problem #481

Jul 072016

Fusion

  • 69,000 miles
The electronic power steering fails, requiring the vehicle to be shut off in order to reset it. The vehicle was stationary.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #480

Jul 082016

Fusion

  • 120,000 miles
Power steering recall - receiving "power steering assist fault". when in park and putting vehcile into drive, we're getting the fault message. It is my understanding there is the same recall for 2011 Ford Fusion. We have 2010 Ford Fusion. We are now down one vehicle as we were told it will be $2,500 to repair.

- Jackson, WI, USA

problem #479

Jul 092016

Fusion

  • 130,000 miles
Twice now a power stearing assist fault has appeared on the dash. When this happens, the vehicle becomes un-steerable. This is very dangerous, and has many complaints filed already. This happens in motion, under normal driving conditions.

- Dublkin, OH, USA

problem #478

Jul 132016

Fusion

  • 129,000 miles
I have a customer with a 2010 Fusion that has a failed steering rack, not included in recall since it is not between 2011 and 2016.customer narrowly missed ramming into my shop because was unable to steer.we called dealer and fomoco and was told they could not do anything even though this is a serious safety issue.there is currently a class action lawsuit involving these cars and people have been hurt.the repair is 1600 dollars at my shop and over 2000 dollars at the dealership. I think I'm going to go the local news media and see if they can help-do you have any recourse? my name is [xxx] -owner of L&S automotive Inc. My phone number is [xxx].the customers name is [xxx] and her phone is [xxx].please see if you can investigate this case, thank you information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Charlotte, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?