Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.

5.8

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,609 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #43

Oct 242010

Fusion

  • 27,522 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Oct 24, 2010 while driving approximately 75-80 mph (left lane) of a major freeway, tachometer revved to 4,000 RPM and stuck there. Vehicle RPM's would not go up or down and transmission appeared to be slipping in 6th gear. This incident occurred at 27,522 miles. Managed to get car to side of road, where RPM's returned to normal for idling condition. At this point, the little "wrench" light appeared on the dash. The car was shut off and restarted in an attempt to reset the code. All appeared well, and I proceeded to re-enter the freeway. At approximately 27,533 miles (11 miles later), the vehicle experienced the same thing. Please note that on June 14, 2010 the vehicle was taken to dealership and the "customer satisfaction program (program number 10B15) was performed on vehicle (mileage: 19,936 miles). As it appears that something is major wrong with this transmission, the vehicle was once again taken to the dealership (Oct. 29, 2010: Mileage: 27,760 miles) to have this issue re-evaluated. At this time, the dealership performed tsb 10-21-9. there was a noticeable difference in the shift quality of the vehicle. This same problem occurred again on Dec. 1, 2010 (mileage: 30,138 miles) while driving 70 mph; the transmission appeared to slip and RPM's revved up to 4,000 RPM. The vehicle has not been taken back to the dealership at this time as problem is not reproducible and is unpredictable. This is a potential safety hazard as transmission could fail at any time while traveling on the freeway.

- Novi, MI, USA

problem #42

Jan 052010

Fusion

  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact was driving approximately 55 mph when she noticed that the vehicle was jumping gears abnormally. The vehicle was also exhibiting an unusual increase in engine rpms and loud roaring noise. The contact stated that the failure would occur whether sitting idle, in park or in drive. The vehicle was inspected by the dealer who informed the contact that they were unable to diagnose the problem. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 14,000.

- Mission Hills, CA, USA

problem #41

Dec 052010

Fusion

  • 12,500 miles
I have a 2010 for Fusion that was part of the transmission recall, which has been taken care of. I have been experiencing slow delays of acceleration after pressing the gas pedal. Twice I have experienced where my car won't shift out of gear. The last time I was on the highway and the RPM was stuck at 4 with a speed of 60. The car finally switched gears, but the car then raced forward. Luckily no one was in front of me. I feel that this is a major safety risk for the owners of these cars. I have an appt scheduled on 12/13 with the dealer.

- Parma Hts, OH, USA

problem #40

Oct 102010

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased a new 2010 Ford Fusion SE, 4 cyl with 6 speed auto trans. Transmission started slipping within 2 months of purchase. The car has been taken back to dealer 3 times. 10/12/10 at dealer-they stated they could not duplicate the problem. 2nd time 10/25/10 dropped car off at dealer. Same problem, transmission slipping between 2nd and 3rd gear-safety issue with pulling out on busy streets. Dealer performed "reinstall valve body codes and clear tcm. Learn road test performed." They stated they could not duplicate the problem. End of November wife and kids in car and slipped between 2nd and 3rd gear on while on busy road-huge safety concern due to almost rear-ended. Took car back to dealer on 11/29/10 with the same problem. Dealer kept for several days but "could not duplicate the problem." I have contacted Ford Motor Company several times and spoke with customer service. They have documented these complaints also. This is a major safety issue as this problem can happen at any time. I does not happen everyday, but the last time was on a busy road and could have been involved in an accident due to mechanical failure.

- Temperance, MI, USA

problem #39

Feb 212010

Fusion

  • 9,700 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While the contact was driving approximately 45 mph, the transmission began to exhibit erratic and violent shifting. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the transmission was replaced for the third time. The failure mileage was 9,700.

- Lake Wales, FL, USA

problem #38

Oct 012010

Fusion

  • miles
Within two weeks of the April, 2010 purchase date, we noticed transmission problems in our 2010 Ford Fusion (6F35 transmission) on a cold start, namely rough shifting, transmission slipping, engine revving excessively but the car not accelerating, and the vehicle lurching forward before slamming into gear. Normally, after the engine warms, the transmission smoothes out and we do not experience further problems that day. However, one episode, which recently occurred after we had driven the car continuously for 180 miles, leads us to believe that we simply cannot trust the vehicle to Transport us safely. When we took off in heavy traffic after stopping for a red light, the transmission seemed to shift into neutral. After several seconds, the car slammed into gear. We were lucky to avoid being hit from the rear. The vehicle has been in for multiple transmission repair attempts--including PCM reprogramming, replacement of valve body, and rebuilding the transmission. On the last repair attempt, Ford brought in a field service engineer who again "captured" the problem. Yet the flaring continues. We can replicate it every day by driving the vehicle cold and accelerating normally from 0 to 55 mph on the first shifting sequence. We are convinced that a major design flaw exists in the transmission of the 2010 Ford Fusion. Ford needs to address this serious safety issue immediately!

- Greenville, NC, USA

problem #37

Sep 282010

Fusion

  • 9,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2010 Ford Fusion sel is in the shop for the 4th time due to transmission issues. The first time was based on my observation that something was wrong with the reverse gear. The dealer could find nothing. Then several weeks later we received a service bulletin that something needed to be reprogrammed to fix a reverse issue--surprise! 2nd visit to service. Since then, the transmission has had hard shifts from 2nd to 3rd (around 25 mph) and sometimes it feels like the gears are slipping. Was in shop for the 3rd time for 5 days but "they could not re-create the problem", car returned and the same problem has continued. Today, the car stopped accelerating while on the road, started to idle roughly and "shudder" and then the wrench light came on. Dealer claims it is a defective throttle body.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #36

Sep 142010

Fusion

  • 14,600 miles
2010 Ford Fusion reference ODI # 10351655 since the first registered complaint of rough and erratic shifting (ODI 10351655) my transmission has completely failed. The Ford service manager where we are waiting repair said he had not seen one in such a physical state, anything that could have melted was melted. Ford has a problem with this tranmission as it is recommended for recreational towing. The unit had been adjusted and "fixed" twice before according to Ford specifications and the information in bulliten (Ford tsb 09-20-13) was followed. While traveling at a speed of approximately 62 mph the transmission malfunctioned and became totally disabled. If we weren't towing this vehicle securely behind a motorhome but rather driving at that rate and the cars transmission self-destructs what possible damage to life and property might have occurred"??" this faulty transmission is not the only isolated incident! other dealers have been waiting for weeks for replacement parts to rebuild transmissions as a remedy to the problem. I've been assured that I will be receiving another transmission (possibly a remanufactured unit) that has received modifications for flat/ recreational towing. I would hope your Agency investigates this situation thoroughly before anyone is seriously injured or killed as a result of a malfunctioning transmission in the Ford Fusion and 2009-2010 escape along with the Mercury 2010 Milan and 2009-2010 mariner. I was also lead to believe that Ford had distributed information through their fmc dealer network concerning the remanufactured transmission units that had been modified for flat towing. If this information is not released publically anyone is at risk, whether driving the vehicle or traveling on the roadways along with vehicles that have the defective transmissions. Please contact me at [xxx] regarding this matter. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lake Wales, FL, USA

problem #35

Aug 012010

Fusion

  • 14,000 miles
2010 Ford Fusion. Hard shift with second gear, taken to dealership and recall work done. They reprogrammed the transmission twice. The car remained with hard shift in second gear and high pitch sound under the hood, heard in the vehicle any time over 100 rpms. They replaced the transmission. I had the car back 2 days and the car did not engage in second gear this morning for 2 sec. Loud sound from under the hood. This is the third time back to the shop in less than a month for the transmission.

- Valatie, NY, USA

problem #34

Feb 152010

Fusion

  • miles
2010 Ford Fusion SE, transmission problems jerking slipping this is the second time I have had the car in the shop. First time they put a new part on who knows what is going on now. I bought a new car not a car with rebuilt items. This is ridiculous and unfair. Ford did well this year off the hard earned money of americans and they should be ashamed for the unprofessional and down right nasty way they have treated this problem. And from what I have read it has been an on going problem for a few year.

- Lebanon, OH, USA

problem #33

Aug 122010

Fusion

  • 14,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a Ford Fusion in March 2010. About 2 months after I received a recall notice stating the transmission needed some type of new valve and if it did not get it the clutch on my car could wear out. I immediately brought my car in and had the recall work done. Soon after I starting feeling the transmission "slip" between gears. This issue almost caused an accident on the highway. I brought my car back to the dealer after having the transmission light turn on while driving to work and experiencing slippage between gears again. I was told they would check it out and try to duplicate the issue. They had the car for 8 days and said they could not find anything wrong. Research on transmission problems with Ford Fusion proved this is a wide spread issue. After having my car for 2 days the transmission slipped again. I would appreciate any help I can get! [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Jackson, NJ, USA

problem #32

May 142010

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,056 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving at freeway speeds the vehicle would shift out of gear, making the vehicle coast as if it were in neutral then it would lock into third gear making the RPM's increase and the vehicle accelerate. The failure occurred four times. The dealer stated that the service manager test drove the vehicle; however, there were no codes and the service manager determined that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. The failure happened again and the contact stated the dealer determined that it was a main computer failure, which was repaired. (PCM reprogram) on September 1, 2010, the failure happened again and the vehicle was taken back to the dealer while it was locked into third gear. The mechanic found an ABS code and a coolant refrigerator code. He drove the vehicle 20 miles and again stated that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle that would cause the failure. The failure happened again the same day. The wrench light was illuminated and the vehicle was taken back to the dealer. The vehicle was at the dealership waiting for repairs. The contact stated that this was a severe safety issue because of the way the vehicle lost and gained power in heavy traffic. He does not believe that the vehicle is safe to drive. The contact wanted Ford to buy the vehicle back. The failure mileage was approximately 20, 056. The current mileage was 24,100. Updated 12/23/10 updated 01/04/11

- Redlands , CA, USA

problem #31

Aug 252010

Fusion

  • 6,700 miles
My car went to a Ford dealership back in April of 2010 to have recall 10B15 (powertrain control module reprogramming) performed. Ever since the recall has been performed the car is experiencing a problem with a pause in acceleration around 25 mph. Whenever I am driving at or just around 25 mph in city driving conditions the car will experience a long delay between the time I push the gas pedal and the time it actually takes the car to move forward. There have been several occurrences where I have almost been rear ended due to my car not moving forward immediately like it is suppose to during normal gas pedal operation. My car was taken back to the same dealership regarding this problem and after test driving they said the car was working properly at this time. I wish a recall would be forced upon Ford to remedy this problem before someone gets injured or killed!

- Beverly Hills, MI, USA

problem #30

Mar 102010

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,900 miles
Incident: 2010 Ford Fusion, 4 cyl, 6 spd auto. Vehicle experiencing harsh shifting at low speeds or initially shifting into gear. Violent shifting when accelerating to enter a highway. High rpms when resuming the 60 mph set cruise control speed from 35 mph, the transmission cannot seem to finally shift into 6 spd. The vehicle computer has been reset by Ford service and the problem has gotten worse. The car is again being looked at by Ford. Service manager commented that the computer remedy might not work if not done prior to 7000 miles. Why then has Ford waited to inform owners about their known transmission problem? Ford needs to take responsibility and work with the transmission supplier to remedy and replace the defective transmissions. Transmission breakdowns will become move prevalent as more of these highly touted vehicles are sold and driven if Ford doesn't own up to the problem. Please intercede on behalf of consumers that own these vehicles and have had no luck with Ford fixing the problematic transmission. I presently have 13000+ miles on the car and purchased it to provide safe transportation and Ford assured me it could be recreational towed with no problems as long as the manual instructions were followed. Updated 09/23/10 the consumer stated since filing the complaint, the transmission in his vehicle was totally destroyed. The damage occurred while the vehicle was being towed. Updated IVOQ 09/24/10

- Lake Wales, FL, USA

problem #29

May 192010

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,900 miles
2010 Ford Fusion 4 cylinder, 6 speed automatic transmission. Problem: Automatic transmission. Engine speeds-up, between up-shifts 3-4 and 4-5. problem started within 1st week of ownership. Vehicle has been in for transmission related problems 2-times, waiting to schedule 3rd. All 3000 miles or less.

- Owensboro, KY, USA

problem #28

Jul 202010

Fusion

  • 15,783 miles
I believe I was sold a defective 2010 Ford Fusion. I believe the transmission wa faulty and they knew about it. The car was slow to shift bolted when put into reverse. The car was recalled.

- Auburn, WA, USA

problem #27

Aug 062010

Fusion

  • 16,458 miles
Transmission was reprogrammed at a Ford dealership. A week later, the transmission exhibited periods of not wanting to engage and when it did the car would lunge forward. You could step on the gas pedal and your engine RPM's would increase but you would just sit there, not moving then suddenly the car will lunge forward. There are also instances where when slowing down for a stop sign the car would start to jerk. It's a dangerous situation since there were other cars at the intersection when the car decided to lunge forward after applying pressure to the accelerator and having the transmission not engage immediately. It occurs after the transmission is at full operating temperature. It is currently sitting at a dealership awaiting diagnosis and repair.

- Osceola, IA, USA

problem #26

Aug 072010

Fusion

  • 7,600 miles
Car had not been driven for one week. Experienced a jerky transmission shift, most severely when accelerating to about 35, then letting off the gas to maintain speed. Feels like the transmission shift for not good reason, and the engine jerks.

- Quakertown, PA, USA

problem #25

Jul 132010

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 4,989 miles
I own a 2010 Ford Fusion SE V4, the car is having transmission problem and not fixed even after it was at the dealership for 2 weeks. After all the arguments I manage to get the rental car (Focus) for only 5 days. I wrote letter to both company and the dealership but I don't know how serious they are taking this matter. Please have them replace the transmission or fix the problem asap before car breaks down in middle of no where and somebody ends up getting hurt. Thank you

- Rochester Hills , MI, USA

problem #24

Apr 032010

Fusion

  • 10,000 miles
I purchased a 2010 Ford Fusion in August of 2009. The car always shifted out of park and into gear very hard, especially after sitting for several hours. I thought nothing of it. Then the transmission began to "flare" between gear shifts. Essentially the car would shift out of gear (into neutral) and then hard shift into the next gear. A Ford engineer gave me the term they use "flaring". Ford reflashed the transmission without resolving the problem and then reflashed it again without resolving the problem. This is a safety issue.

- South Lyon, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?