Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.

3.7

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,812 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments

problem #12

Nov 212014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 70,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving down a highway, my low tire pressure light came on and I could tell it was very low due to my ability to steer. I pulled in a gas station and tried to fill the tire with air, but it was blown out on the inside wall and remained flat. I put the spare tire on and when I began to pull away, I realized I had no power steering. Warning lights came on in succession for low tire pressure (still?), service power steering and service advancetrac. I was about 40 miles from home and had to drive in slow lanes as steering was very difficult. I read some message boards regarding an investigation into this issue, but can't find a common solution that has worked. Some say to just turn off and restart, others are saying they spend $1500+. I am worried that I will spend the money and the problem may still exist as it sounds like many have experienced. I have cleaned the battery, disconnected it as some have said also. Still the same for now, will have to take it in.

- Clermont, FL, USA

problem #11

Nov 162014

Fusion

  • 48,763 miles
The service advanced auto traction, service power steering and low tire pressure alarms all came same time and unable to turn steering all of sudden.the pressure on tire was good but still showing low tire pressure.

- Wixom, MI, USA

problem #10

Jul 072014

Fusion

  • 91,000 miles
When my tire pressure gets low -not accompanied by the low tire pressure light- the advanctrac light as well as service power steering light come on the command center. I am able to drive it safely, but the next time that I turn my car on after that, the power steering has always been out.

- Salt Lake City, MI, USA

problem #9

Jan 242014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 83,381 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have just had this fixed 2 weeks ago for the same problem. January 24, 2013 my power steering and advance trac light came on again. I took it to the mechanics today and they tell me that the tires may need to be replaced and I have even done 60,000 miles on the tires-yet they are worn out already. I knew I needed tires, my inspection is due next month. I have only had this car for 3 years and I am already having problems with it. I'm angry! I thought Ford were better built now-A-days. Wrong............I'm so disappointed with this car. Fairly new and having what I consider major problem.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #8

Jan 102010

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2010 Ford Fusion sel. Customer writes in regards to continued transmission problems. The consumer stated the transmission would slip harshly and hesitate on acceleration. The recall repair did not correct the transmission problems. It was determined that the valve body and solenoid body were defective. Also, one of the tires was leaking air, there was an issue with the traction and brakes. There were noises coming from the front of the vehicle. The steering wheel would not lock into place, the cd player did not work at times, the driver side visor did not stay in place, the gas over flow tube was inoperative, the vehicle would pull hard when the brake was applied. The rear driver's side door had to be slammed extremely hard, in order to close it. The driver's side seat belt was backwards. The passenger side windshield wiper dragged on the windshield and the vehicle would sometimes surge on its own. Each time the consumer went to the dealer about certain problems, she was told no problems were found.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #7

Aug 312012

Fusion

  • 6,300 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The vehicle was equipped with Michelin energy saver A/S green X tires, size 225/50/17. The contact noticed that all four tires exhibited numerous cracks and were completely dry rotted. The vehicle was taken to an independent tire shop where the contact was advised that the tires were not under warranty. The four tires were not replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the defective tires. The approximate failure mileage was 6,300.

- Cape Coral , FL, USA

problem #6

May 022012

Fusion

  • 35,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion equipped with Michelin hydro-edge tires, size 215/60/R16. The dot number was apxn4xx0110. The contact stated that the sidewalls of all four tires were cracked. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for routine maintenance when the failure was diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified and the contact was awiating a reply. The failure mileage on the tires was 17,000. The failure mileage of the vehicle was 35,100. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 7/23/12 Michelin refused to adjust the defective tires under workmanship and material warranty. They referred to defect as cosmetic cracking

- Redlands, CA, USA

problem #5

May 072012

Fusion

  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns Michelin energy saver tires, size P225/50/R17, that were equipped on a 2010 Ford Fusion. While examining the tires, the contact noticed that all four tires were experiencing dry rot around the sidewall. The tires had not been diagnosed or repaired. The current and failure mielages were 28,000.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #4

Jan 302012

Fusion

  • 18,001 miles
I have a 2010 Ford Fusion hybrid which I love driving and I believe it is one of the best cars out there. The problem is with 12,000 miles on the car the tires were wearing out very fast and at 18,000 they were worn where it wasn't safe to drive the car. I had to buy new tires. The dealer said there was no warranty on the tires and they wanted $1182 for replacement ones. Mind you, I buy the three year full maintenance on the vehicle as well. I heard from other Fusion drivers that even buying new tires, the wear is very fast. Something is very wrong here and Ford is not admitting it.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #3

Jun 272011

Fusion

  • miles
I purchased a new 2010 Ford Fusion and have been having issues with one tire losing air for several months now but they had been unable to find the leak until recently. Finally after going to two tire centers on Friday they were able to find that, as I understand it, there is a defect in the tire/rim that caused an indent in the tire at the inner bead that caused a slow seeping leak. I have a statement from the owner of that tire center that in no way would a seal be a permanent fix. I then had to take it into the Ford service center were it was confirmed that the beads were not sealing to the actual rim. A bead seal was done on all four tires but neither the tire or the rim was replaced. I requested a new tire but was told that this was what was being done for this problem and to come back if the problem continues. I have read other complaints about this problem and statements that others have even experienced blow-outs at very low mileage. I have a 16 year old daughter with a learner's permit and am very concerned about her driving this vehicle. She needs driving hours on the highway but this is going to be very difficult to do since I am worried about there being a problem with my tires. This is a vehicle that we had planned on possibly passing down to her, but if there is not a recall on this before then, we may have to purchase new tires and rims just to feel comfortable doing so. I don't think that we should have to pay to replace four tires and rims after purchasing a brand new vehicle, at just approximately 12,000 miles.

- Thornton, CO, USA

problem #2

Jun 192010

Fusion

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion with Michelin energy saver tires P225/ 50 R17. The contact stated while traveling 60 mph the rear drivers side tire blew out. The contact replaced the tire with spare tire and was able to drive to home. The failure was not diagnosed by a dealer. The contact was concerned, since there was not a lot of mileage on the vehicle. The failure and current tire mileage was 15,500.

- Fords , NJ, USA

problem #1

Nov 172010

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
Leased a new 2010 Ford Fusion on 1/30/10. I had 2 tire issued with this vehicle. Flat left rear on about 5/17/11 with 5349 miles which was plugged and a blow out on a highway on about 11/17/2010 which was so bad I had to replace the tire (not over 10,000 miles) I believe there is a problem with this group of tires.

- Westport, CT, USA

Not what you are looking for?