Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Fusion builds off the 2010's reputation. That's not a good thing.

The first thing that jumps out is the ridiculous amount of power steering complaints. It grinds, it squeals, and it eventually just fails.

And if losing power steering isn’t enough for you, how about a sudden loss of engine power? That combination is enough to achieve clunker status.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,385 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Fusion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 11 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #46

Jun 062013

Fusion

  • 55,450 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was in fast lane on rte 78 in NJ.. sudden loss of engine power. Could not get to the shoulder. Drove into grass medium. Came close to having a catastrophic accident. I got vehicle restarted and brought it to nazareth Ford. As we run a fleet of Fusion, I consulted a co-worker who had the same issue and Ford confirmed it was a bad throttle body. This is a dangerous situation and these vehicles should be recalled. I spoke to my company's fleet mgr. And she said this was the third failure this month.

- Nazareth, PA, USA

problem #45

May 112013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
Stopped at an intersection and went to accelerate and had no throttle control the wrench light came on. Car idled through intersection and rolled into gas station. When I then turned it off and then restarted it and the wrench light was gone. Car seemed fine for approximately two weeks, and then the same thing happened again. This is a very big safety issue.

- Stanton, MI, USA

problem #44

Jun 052013

Fusion

  • 42,600 miles
Vehicle loses all power while driving. Wrench light appeared the first 7 times, but after turning the vehicle off and restarting, it goes away and car drives like normal. Today while driving it happened at around 60mph. Both the wrench light and check engine light came on and after a restart the check engine light stays on. Vehicle barely limped the rest of the 5 miles to my house. This has happened at high speeds on the freeway as well nearly causing multiple accidents. Currently waiting on dealership to come back with a quote to replace the throttle body. Ford needs to issue a recall notice and warranty the cost of the replacement before someone gets killed due to this issue. They are just weighing the cost of a lawsuit due to fatality vs. The cost of warranting the malfunctioning part. Paying a few million to a family is cheaper than paying to fix ~725,000 vehicles. Work with the throttle body supplier, get your qa/qc under control, and fix the issue guys. ## VIN failed ##

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #43

Feb 072013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 38,281 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On the morning of February 7th 2013, I noticed the vehicle's acceleration and deceleration was ridged and jumpy. Prior to this problem, the vehicle has shut off randomly approximately three times while in drive and in motion. This prompted me to bring the vehicle in for maintenance at a Ford dealer auto center. They determined the power takeoff unit and drive shaft were faulty, replaced both parts and returned the vehicle to me on February 15th 2013. On March 18th 2013, the vehicle shut off again while driving at highway speeds on a busy road, forcing me to navigate cautiously to a shoulder. The engine light and wrench light were illuminated this time. I shut the vehicle off, waited 5 minutes, and restarted. The engine light remained on and the vehicle was drivable. I quickly returned the vehicle to the previous Ford auto center, in which they discovered the throttle body was faulty. They replaced the throttle body and returned the car to me on March 21st 2013. On March 22nd 2013, the engine cover fell off while the car was in motion, I immediately returned vehicle to the previous Ford auto center, they replaced with new engine cover. As of today, the vehicle is again showing hesitation at acceleration and deceleration, RPM dash meter needle bounces plus minus 500rpms during acceleration and deceleration. Breaking is not smooth or instant, the vehicle tends to jump during breaking. At coasting speeds, the vehicle also jumps. These are similar problems that occurred prior to the vehicle spontaneously shutting off. This problem is alarming and an extreme safety hazard to yourself and others around you, notably at high highway speeds. Ford has been presented with the issue and has claimed that the issues are all unrelated, even though the vehicle shuts off each time. I am concerned for my safety and the safety of others driving this model, 2011 Ford Fusion sel AWD.

- Gainesville, VA, USA

problem #42

Jun 032013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 44,496 miles
I was driving 30mph down a busy street, with back-to-back traffic, when the car jolted forwarded at which time the wrench light became illuminated on the dashboard, the car immediately started bucking (going forward and backward) and I lost all control of the accelerator. The car immediately slowed to a crawl while continuing to "buck." This incident forced everyone behind me to slam on their breaks and I was nearly hit from behind. I was able to maneuver the car to the side of the road safely. My children were in the car and had I been going any faster, they may have suffered from whiplash when the car jolted forward, started bucking and slowed to a crawl simultaneously or this incident could have lead to a several car pile up since this happened during the busiest time of day. A tow truck was dispatched and towed the car to the nearest dealer. The dealer advised that the throttle body motor failed and when it did, the throttle was forced shut (error code: P2112).

- Rome, NY, USA

problem #41

May 302013

Fusion

  • 71,296 miles
I was driving home from school (this has happened before, just not as bad) and my car stopped responding. The wrench light came on and the check engine light came on. I was on a really busy road, so I had to pray that I would not get hit. I turned off the car, and tried to restart it, but it did not want to restart. I sat for a few seconds and was finally able to get it restarted. This happened numerous (probably 6-8 times) on my 12 mile trip home. I took it to the shop this morning and found out it is the throttle body. I just looked it up online and have found out this is a common issue, and that the dealerships (when the car is under warranty) act like they don't know what it wrong. This is not right. There needs to be a recall! I don't have a warranty now, and I took my car to the dealership before the warranty was up and they said there was nothing wrong with it multiple times!!!!

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #40

May 102013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Friday evening (5/10/2013), I had just exited the interstate when the wrench light came on and the car suddenly appeared to stall (engine was running, but had no acceleration). With traffic stacking up behind me, I managed to get the car off the road and turned it off. After sitting for a minute or two, I restarted the car and continued down the road. The car died again less than two miles later. Vehicle was taken to the dealer the on following Monday 5/13/2013 (after sitting all weekend). The dealer checked the car and determined the throttle body was bad. As of today, 5/26/2013, the car is still at the dealer waiting on a replacement part.

- Walton, KY, USA

problem #39

May 232013

Fusion

  • 53,000 miles
While driving roughly 45 mph vehicle suddenly began shaking and dropped speed quickly and drastically to less than 15 mph. This happened repeatedly after turning car off and back on. Car would still run no problems under 25.

- Scottsdale , AZ, USA

problem #38

Jan 092012

Fusion

  • 37,000 miles
While driving around town car would cut off completely going about 35 to 40 mph. Most recent incident happened on mothers day driving 35 mph car shuttered when driving through a traffic light and when I hit the gas the RPM would go very high but the car would not move. I had to coast to the side of very busy road put my car in park and shut the engine off. When I tried to restart the car it would take longer than normal for the car to flip over and start. I had my fiance and 7 year old in the car and according to my fiance the car did the same thing to him a couple days prior. The car only has 40K miles on it and this is a very dangerous issue. I drive on the interstate everyday to and from work at 70 mph and I do not feel safe in this car. At 40K miles there should be no issues and this is 5th time the car has either shuttered like this or shut completely down. Also have had issues with the turn signal lights, just replaced the left side and now the issue is with the right side. My car is currently at the dealership being fixed for $500 and apparently im not the only person with this issue. I believe Ford should be held accountable for this problem and not us as this seems like and ongoing issue with this make and model of car.

- Hopewell, VA, USA

problem #37

May 112013

Fusion

  • 60,000 miles
Driving 70 mph on road heading home, car stalled/no power, gauges died, was in right lane and able to pull off to right shoulder without getting rear ended. Once stopped, put car in park and turned off key. Wrench light also showed in dash before turned off. Sat for a few minutes with car off, then restarted car. No lights in dash when restarted, so put car in drive and took off down the road. As I accelerated, car stalled/lost power again, gauges died, dash lights of engine and wrench appeared this time, steered to right shoulder and again was able to get off without being rear ended. Turned key off again. Sat for awhile. Started car again, engine and wrench light were on in dash, pulled out onto the road again, driving slowly. Turned car around and headed to repair facility. Drove slowly without going above 50 mph, lights stayed on in dash and made to repair facility that was about 3 or 4 miles away, driving slowly, not the usual speed limit for the road. Repair facility read the code which came up throttle body and suggested contacting the Ford dealer. Waiting for return call from Ford service manager at this time. Found investigation opened by NHTSA in March of this year regarding faulty circuit board for the throttle body.

- Sandia, TX, USA

problem #36

May 132013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 103,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was on the expressway with the cruise set at 72. The car itself shut off the cruise and began immediately de-accelerating. Pressing the gas pedal had no effect - the engine remained in idle. The wrench bar indicator lit up. I pulled off the side (huge potential safety issue had there been traffic around) and shut the car down in neutral. Restarted - same issue - would not accelerate - it was as if the throttle was disconnected. I put the car in park, shut down, waited 2 minutes, and restarted. All functioned normally. Ran the vehicle health report test and no indication was made of an electrical issue..

- Allenton, MI, USA

problem #35

May 082013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 41,123 miles
I was stopped at a light and when the light changed the car got up to around 15mph when the car stalled. I then put the car in park and was able to restart it. It ran fine for a few days and then there was another incident. I was at another stoplight and made a right hand turn. The car stalled again and was able to be restarted after placing the gear in park.

- Riviera Beach, FL, USA

problem #34

May 012012

Fusion 4-cyl Diesel

  • 8,000 miles
Anytime vehicle slows to a speed of approx. 20 mph.,it seems to want to stall then seconds later without touching gas pedal, speeds up and accelerates. I have had the vehicle in for service to village Ford / dearborn Michigan and they continually tell me no problem is detected. I have had several individuals drive my vehicle and have experienced the same issue. I have also located an article from my local news chanel wxyz speaking of this issue, stating it was not yet serious enough for recall. With Ford motor's history I would say this needs to be looked into before serious injury does occur.

- Dearborn, MI, USA

problem #33

May 012013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 9,800 miles
Accelerating from a stop at green traffic signal, my 6 cylinder Fusion accelerated to approximately 25 mph and the engine stopped. I had no problem coasting into a nearby parking lot on my right. I turned the ignition off and after 10 seconds I restarted the engine. I drove home without incident afterwards.

- Hollywood, FL, USA

problem #32

Apr 092013

Fusion

  • 39,000 miles
Driving on highway at 65 miles went car would lose power and couldn't accelerate and car started to shake when came to a stop, cut car off, waited a min, cut car on, took a couple extra cranks before turning over, and car worked fine this had happened 3 times and is very random and dangerous.

- Pompano Beach, FL, USA

problem #31

Mar 222013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 26,800 miles
Had the vehicle for about 2 months but had only driven it about 1500 miles. (Mar. 22, 2013 - 26,800 miles) I was driving along a lane road doing about 50 mph when the car suddenly lost power. Almost got rear ended. Was able to barely limp the vehicle to a stop on the right shoulder but it would not move even when the gas pedal was depressed. The mechanics light came on and the rpms began floating between 800 and 1200 but with no power to the transmission. Turned the key off and restarted it and it regained power but then it happened one mile later. Same symptoms. Restarted it again and lasted another 2 miles where it happened again. The third time I restarted the car it took about 20 secs of cranking before it turned over. I then drove it 15 miles directly to the Ford dealership I purchased it without incident. Ford ran a diagnostic sweep on the car and could not find anything wrong. They told me it would have to br brought in with the problem showing since the black box does not record these types of issues. I had the impression they have not seen this type of error or could not recall it. Have now driven the car additional 40 miles withoout incidents but makes me wonder about the manufacturer if they aren't concerned about safety issues. I thought the recession and past decade taught them a lesson in doing it right for the consumer/?

- La Habra, CA, USA

problem #30

Mar 082013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
Driving the car, it will have sudden loss of all power. The throttle control/transmission light indicator comes on. You have to turn the car off and restart. Owners manual states to take to the dealer if it stays on or continues to come on.this has happened numerous times over the last six months. Friday 3/8 it happened twice. Took to the dealer. State they are unable to repair due to no code in the computer. They had it 5 days, put 100 miles on it trying to get it to do this again. Safety issue is this occurring while in an intersection of on the interstate. No solution offered by Ford. States have to have a code. No instruction on making sure the code is recorded by the computer. When engine restated clears computer.

- Crockett, TX, USA

problem #29

Mar 152013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 23,000 miles
While driving on cruise control approximately 70 mph, the car lost all acceleration. The engine is 4 cyl. Engine light came on. Coasted to right of freeway and came to a stop. Turned ignition key to off and then restarted car. Placed in drive and drove and accelerated fine there after.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #28

Mar 122013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 38,800 miles
I was going through a school zone on my way to work. When I reached the end of school zone I attempted to accelerate but the engine would not. There was no throttle response and the engine was in a very rough idle. I pulled over, shut the car off, waited about 5 min and started it back up. On start-up, the engine cranked a few extra times before it finally turned over. I was able to drive again after that but noticed that the rpms jumped around when I was in third gear between 1500-2000 RPM. Seeing the rpms jump around like that made me think that the engine was going to lose power again, as it is characteristic of this problem. This is third time this has happened to the car.

- Oviedo, FL, USA

problem #27

Feb 212013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 21,700 miles
Had the vehicle for about a month but had only driven it about 600 miles. (Feb. 21, 2013 - 21,700 miles) my wife was driving along a 4 lane road doing about 50 mph when she noticed the car suddenly losing power. She was in the left hand lane with no shoulder or room to move to the right lane because of traffic and was almost rear-ended by a dump truck who had no idea she was rapidly slowing down because she wasn't putting on any brake to indicate this. She brought the vehicle to a stop but it would not move even when the gas pedal was depressed. She thought it had stalled but later told me she didn't notice any dash lights on. She turned the key off and restarted it and it ran fine the rest of the way home. Called Ford dealership where it was purchased and he asked about engine code lights (of which none were showing ). he said without a code he couldn't do anything. ( March 7, 2013 - 22,400 miles ) turning a corner from a stop the car accelerated and then lost power, engine seemed to sputter and run rough, pulled over and stopped. Wrench light on dash was on, depressed accelerator pedal but nothing happened. Engine was running but tachometer didn't move at all when accelerator was depressed. Turned engine off, restarted, wrench light went off and ran ok. Have also noted that transmission shifting is not always shifting as smooth as when we first started driving it. It seems to jump or lurch in at least one of the gears but this is just an intermittent problem right now. I will take note of this and report back. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hamlin, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?